We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Caribe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went to the Barceló resort in Feb. We ended up in the Caribe and as I see from other reviews we too thought we were going to be in the renovated Beach but the Caribe was great. We opted for the premium option so we got a room facing the pools so it was a quick walk to them and premium also allow you to go into any premium lounge in any of the hotels on the resort where we you could pour yourself a top quality drink and have snacks at anytime and not have to tip anyone, not that I mind tipping. One thing is the Caribe Premium Lounge had a bit of a old stale smell to it. Staff was friendly everywhere and the room was very quiet at night. With Premium you also don't need towel cards and you can get them at any of the huts in the resort. It also allows you to book at any Ala Carte in the resort. Tennis courts are great, Pools are big, Beach is beautiful. On snorkeling, if you can find your way through the reef by the wharf on the resort and get to the ocean side of the little island the Pelican are on, the snorkeling is as good as places I paid to go to. Another cool thing to do is walk around the point to the right where you will find the old abandoned resort. There is a huge sheltered lagoon there which may have provided some good snorkeling too but we did not have our gear with us and had no time to go back. Take sandals as you do have to go over rocky terrain to get there. I had no complaints about the food everywhere except my T-bone steak at one of the Ala Cartes one night was not what you would expect from a T-bone. If you want to do Cenotes then there are two options right across the highway from the resort but go the one further to the left or south as they have 4 Cenotes and lunch for only 20 bucks more than the first one. The guy at the little stand right across the street sets you up to go to the first one. I would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Stan H,

Barcelo Maya Caribe and the staff appreciate your preference and we are glad we met your expectations.

Barcelo Maya Caribe is preparing great renovations for your next visit following your kindly comments.

Thank you for your kindly comments and we keep looking forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    408
    130
    58
    45
See reviews for
432
542
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just came back from a week in paradise ;) Booked with Sunwing. Thought we would be on the Maya Beach resort, but they combine Maya Beach and Caribe. Ended up in the Caribe part. A bit outdated (when compared with the beautiful and renovated Maya Beach), but still very nice. Plus, if you are with children, the water slides are at the Colonial, which is right beside the Caribe (and a long walk from the Maya Beach).

Personnally, I prefer not too much animation. Hate hearing dance music all day long. At the Colonial, it was quiet and this is where we spend most of our days (with the kids). Most of the animation was at the Maya Beach pool, so we didn't spend much time there. BUT, they had the nicest beach (no corals).

Food was really good. Nobody got sick either. Didn't see any shows, the children were in bed at 7h p.m., they were really tired! Saw on their web site that their restaurants were opening at 6h30pm (we were a bit concern since it was late with children), but we went as early as 5hpm. No need to worry, there's always food available somewhere for your little ones! Only exception being in the morning breakfast starts at 7ham and our baby wakes up around 5ham. Stock up some cereal boxes from the buffet ;)

Bring enough sunscreen: 35$/bottle for Hawaïn Tropic at the gift shop ;(

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
nadia076; We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Caribe staff involved in your entire satisfaction.

We are sure the entertainment staff will be very glad to have fun on the Barcy Club activities with your little ones!

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from the Caribe last night and wish we were still there.
We had the same confusing issue as other people by booking at the resort and were given the "Beach " section only to arrive and find out you were at the Caribe.
As others stated, the only difference was the Premium rooms, but as for the Superior rooms, everything was the same.
The lobby on the Beach side was much more modern where the Caribe was the typical southern resort. We found this great as you have the option to spend your time where ever you wish. So the best of both worlds.
We have visited resorts many times in the past and to be honest, this resort was one of the best!!
The facilities, grounds, staff and beach were the best. There were plenty of beach loungers available and you could be quiet or in the busy entertainment area, choice was really yours.
The food was very good with plenty of options, drinks were cold and sun was hot!!
Very good holiday and would return today if I could.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Michel Mr L,

Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel and the staff appreciate your preference and we are glad we excceded your expectations.

Thank you for your kindly comments and we keep looking forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here on the recommendation from a friend. My husbands first trip.The hotel was very clean, beach was great. There is a small shopping strip with good prices in the Colonial hotel. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Very clean hotel. Food was plentiful and delicious with a good variety. Lots of activities such as tennis, ping pong, archery, aquasize, pitch & putt, beach volleyball and a great kids area.Loved it!

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room facing the pathway to the theatre and were close to the pools. The view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear guest Jan Gibson2,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
You should try the next new renovations and services on your next trip!

We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were a bit confused about the Beach vs the Caribe thinking we booked the Beach but ended up in the Caribe. In the end, there is no real difference in the rooms (unless you are Premium) and you share the same facilities.

Some of the strong positives:
- balcony was private. Felt comfortable having coffee in PJs in the early morning. (Also, watched the orioles in the palm trees right outside the window)
- water, coffee, and frig were always stocked
- I asked in the buffet for milk for my morning coffee and was given a carton for my frig that kept for the duration of my stay.
- no scrambling for chairs - people moved from chair to chair following the sun or shade depending upon preference
- good mix of quiet and exciting places to sit - both at beach and at bars
- always lots of choice for meals
- fruit includes a selection of whole unpeeled fruit - sweet bananas, apples, oranges, peaches, plums, guavas as well as sliced papaya, melon, etc.
- juice bar for smoothies
- grounds are beautiful - lots of greenery, flowers, birds, and of course iguana and geckos
- everyone working so hard to keep on top of things but always time for a smile and hola!
- no problems with air conditioning or with water
- room was always clean
- never a problem exchanging towels - always lots
- Rancho Grande and Captain Morgan beach/pool grills have reasonable selection for lunches if you don't want to go to either of the buffets for lunch. Buffets have more selection.
- Lattes!
- Decaf coffee at night
- no loud disco music at night. There is the theatre and a bit of noise from there but it finishes at 10:30

Some of the things that may bother you - if you let them.....and we didn't
- some of the bed linens had stains - it was noticed more than once and in different spots. Usually looked like blood or wine. Probably hard to get out of the white linens. Usually in a spot not too noticeable.
- rooms are quiet except if the luggage trolleys come down the hallway at night. The wheels rattle on the tile floor. It may go by once - so rollover and go back to sleep until the birds chirp in the morning. Perhaps they can get rubber wheels?

There is a bus and a tractor pulling a people trolley around the complex. We took a ride simply to get a feel for the place but walked everywhere. The grounds are large but at the same time, you can be in a small familar area with no need to wander too far - everything you need is there - pools, buffets, bars, beach grills....

The people are all so very, very friendly and as mentioned, work very hard. Restaurant staff rush around but are still attentive, get what you need, take time to be friendly but are not intrusive. Thank you Victoria, Javier, Orlando, Abdy, and all of the others we've missed.

Front desk people were always helpful - check-in and out was smooth. They were helfpul in breaking large bills into smaller for tips. We did not convert and currency - we had pesos. There is an ATM in the lobby should you need more cash.

Would go again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear guest YVRTripper,

Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel and the staff appreciates your preference and we're glad we met your expectations. It is great to read so many good things you experienced during your trip; we are very happy you had a good time!
Thank you for your kindly comments and we keep looking forward to your return!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Vacationed February 8-15, 2014 with two adult children, son-in-law and 10 yr old granddaughter.
While many comments I could make about Barceló Caribe echo those of others who liked it there, I was most impressed. Seeing the artistic Mayan tiled and long-legged statutes in the hotel lobby upon arrival to the water pools alongside the walking paths left a great impression from the get-go.
BEACH: awesome! Long beach with white sand, gradual incline into the ocean so good for kids. Plenty of chaise lounge chairs and space.
BARS: the lobby bar is open 24/7 and was comfortable, pretty, and not always crowded. Pool bar service can be a little slow if busy but the mojitos were nummy! Captain Morgan's pool bar where you sit in the water was fun. My adult children and I did that a few times & was great.
RESTAURANTS: my favorite was Don Quixote, the Spanish themed restaurant. Reserve as soon after arrival as possible at the a la carte restaurants or you may miss out on a reservation or be eating rather late.
BUFFET: nice choices for every meal; butter and cream cheese never seemed to be near the breads. Other than that, nice mix of seafood, steaks, burgers. Fruit was ripe and delicious. Nice to have an omelet made for you, if you like that option.
POOLS: all pools were nice, lots of chairs and found enough of them in the shade for people like me who need to protect their skin.
ROOMS: stayed on the first floor in building called Tulum, which was on the end of the property and easy walk to the beach. Nice and quiet. Enjoyed our patio where we watched the coati animals, an armadillo, and Mexican blue-winged jays a few mornings or at dusk.
SAFETY: everyone in our group felt very safe on the property and didn't have any problems. Locked up our valuables in the room safe daily.
HOUSEKEEPING: we had a problem with not being able to obtain washcloths (yes, I still use them) after tossing them on the bathroom floor so we could get clean ones. It took 4 days before we could get another one. Called the housekeeping number twice, no answer. Left a note in Spanish but all they did was ensure our wall-mounted soap dispenser worked in the shower. Better than nothing. Same problem getting a hand towel. Bath towels were plush and HUGE, as big as a beach towel. Even though the room encouraged "green", we found that by hanging up our towels as recommended to avoid daily washing, the housekeeping staff took them anyway and replaced with clean towels. So why encourage using the same towel then? Minor issue, but curious.
FAMILY: this is a great resort for families. There were families with babies and toddlers and my 10 yr old granddaughter had a wonderful time at the Kid's Club (trampoline, made bead iguanas, had a water balloon fight, etc.) and it was well supervised.
SIDE TRIPS: catch the Colectivo bus (actually a 12 passenger air conditioned van; nice) at the highway and pay less than $3 USD per person each way (best to pay in pesos) to go to Playa del Carmen. Same deal to go south to Tulum
LAST COMMENT: all in all, LOVED the Barceló resort and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Tulum building on the end facing the road and not the other hotel complex was quiet with easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Suesuemj,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services.

Your recommendations have been analyzed with the housekeeping department. Let me comment that it is very important to us to follow our standars so for this reason we deeply appreciate your kindly comment.

We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We travelled to Barcelo Maya Caribe in January for a wedding. We had originally been told that we were going to be staying in the newly upgraded Barcelo Maya Beach but, upon arrival, ended up at the Caribe. It wasn't until the middle of our trip that the group found out that we weren't staying in the part of the resort we had been promised. The Caribe is lovely and apparently there is no real difference, aside from the renovations, but if you have your heart set on one or the other, be sure to confirm and reconfirm.
The service was ok. With the exception of the service staff at the wedding itself, no one really went out of their way and there was often a long wait to get a drink...even for people who tip regularly.
The food was typical resort/buffet food. As with any all-inclusive, go off the resort for real Mexican food.
Overall, we had a lovely time with friends and the wedding we attended was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Emma M,

Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
10.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#5 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 5,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#2 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#8 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.