We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Caribe from February 16-23. It is a large complex but is well laid out. The room was comfortable and a short walk from the beach. Chairs were plentiful at the beach and pools. The beach was sandy and nice. The staff particularily the entertainment group was very hard working and pleasant. Thanks to Tony for some great 10 a.m. stretching classes on the beach. The restaurant staff were attentive and helpful. Hassim remembered our name daily for breakfast. Food was ok but not spectacular as with most all inclusives. Breakfast and dinner were the better meals. There was something for everyone. Make certain to get speciality restaurant reservations upon arrival as they fill quickly. We stayed in the second floor of the Labana bldg. with a small view of the ocean. Overall, a nice resort. We have been to the Rivera Maya five times and would rate it a comfortable, moderate resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    320
    102
    48
    29
See reviews for
288
457
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive end Jan- Feb 13. We had a great time, staff were very friendly and hard working, no trouble to do anything for you. Check-in was a smooth process, with a welcome drink and we were in our room in 10 mins. The choice of food was very good, especially the a la carte restaurants in your all inclusive deal, our favourite was the Spanish, but you also have a seafood, steakhouse and Mexican, and you can pay extra for more restaurants, but no need to. There are different theme nights in the buffet, and we found the Italian night the food was not that hot, so when we complained the Manager gave us a complaint report that we filled in immediately, when we arrived the following day, there were head Chefs checking the food constantly.
The gardens and grounds were immaculate with plenty of gardeners around everyday tidying up.
Pools were clean and with plenty of sunbeds and with a swim-up bar, this is where we stayed most of the day. Drinks are very good with plenty of choice.
The beach is also great with loads of sunbeds and we took a daily stroll along the white soft sand.
The rooms were kept clean and tidy, we had a coffee maker in our room, which we have never had before, but had to ask the room girl to leave some more coffee as she did not replace when used, we left her a tip, and have never drank so much coffee !!! It is also a good quality ground coffee.
Its a pity that other guests returning to their rooms late at night can't be quiet and respect other people sleeping.
The only issue we had, is why do any hotels allow children into any of the a la carte restaurants ? Excellent quality of food wasted on children and the atmosphere spoilt by screaming children.
We both had a lovely holiday overall, DON'T take the awful reviews too seriously, make your own mind up, you will be surprised as we are. Excellent value for money.
We will return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this property Feb 16, 2013, through Feb 23, 2013. The staff was wonderful from check-in through checkout and everything in between! The property is beautiful and spacious. The pools are great and huge. The beach is amazing. We had fish swimming right up to us in the ocean and we saw turtles swimming with us down near The Palace. The staff at the bars were great and quick. Had two wonderful massages, one at the spa and one on the beach. Our room was quiet and clean and nice. The views from the balcony were private and beautiful. Loved all the iguanas we saw while walking around the property. Most all of the staff would say hello and ask if you needed anything. The staff was very accommodating and eager to please the guests. We had a standard room at the Caribe. We did not upgrade to premium or club or whatever it was. The service we received was great! I love how spacious the resort is and the many places you can walk. We were there for seven days and did not see everything. There is so much to do and see and the walks were wonderful. I went there to relax and get away from it all and this was the perfect place to do it. The buffet did get old after seven days, but that was our own fault because we only made it to one of our three dinner reservations. The meat at the buffet for dinner was always very good. There was a wide selection of food and loved having cheesecake for desert with every lunch and dinner! Our friends who did make their dinner reservations enjoyed Agave the most. Pool-side bar service was great as was the hotel lobby bar service. Some in our group had been there in the past and said the service was terrible in the past but that Barcelo has really stepped up the service this visit. I found nothing to complain about as far as the service. The bed was comfortable, the room was nice and clean, the mini fridge was well stocked. Loved having the balcony. Love that if I called and requested anything, they were quick with a response. I enjoyed my stay here so much we are planning to go back for ten days in 2014.

Room Tip: Make your dinner reservations as soon as you check in to be able to get better times and dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We lost weight because the food was so bad. Be prepared to walk a long way and avoid the plentiful animals and the horrible smell from watering the grass and greenery. The only beer available is corona - was ok at first but haven't had one since.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed February 9-16. This resort is about an hour from the airport. You will have peace and quiet, not the craziness of downtown Cancun. The grounds are beautiful, the lizards are plentiful and the buffets were yummy! Check in was chaotic and they didn't have everything together. I think they were trying to check in too many people at one time. They didn't have enough bracelets or coupon books and had to keep leaving to get things. The nightly entertainment was about a 7/8. We didn't have any problems getting drinks at the bar, yes they were weak. The beer they have is Corona and Corona light. We ate in three of the ala cart restaurants, Mexican in the Beach lobby, none of us cared for it, but order the Mayan coffee for a 'flaming' good show! Also went to Rancho Grand steakhouse, all four of us liked it. Last on the list was Italian. That was my fave, the other three were so so on it. We went to Chitzen- itza. It was a LONG, ALMOST THREE HOUR bus ride.

Our fridge was stocked everyday, but for some reason or another they had a hard time refilling the potato chips.

We were there with another couple and we both had a hard time getting wash cloths. We had to call housekeeping on three of the seven days. Do they not use them? It was weird they would leave one or none. It was just weird.

We were in building 5, Sayil. We were supposed to have ocean view. Well we did if you looked past the pool and between the palm trees. We could hear it, but barely see it. That's ok, view was still beautiful. It was near the pool, the theatre where they have the shows, the buffet and lobby.

We did not make it to the disco
There is a shopping area at the Colonial/Tropical. Lots of handmade and not souvenirs.

No one got 'sick'. They serve bottled water. It was chilled, but not cold. Ask for a glass of ice and they'll bring it. We ate more fresh fruit than we would have at home because its already cut and cleaned. The pineapple was to die for.

We were sad to leave the sun and 80s and come home to snow and 26. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall I was impressed with this hotel. On the plus side: the beach is beautiful, the grounds are very lush and well maintained, the guest rooms are big, the staff are very friendly, the pools are good, the food is delicious. On the down side: the resort is a bit too big and busy for my liking, with lots of noisy activities/music on the beach and around the pool; the corridors in the accommodation blocks are tiled, so there is a lot of noise (kids screaming first thing in the morning, people having loud conversations late at night) which is very annoying; the room wasn't cleaned that well; there isn't a quiet bar you can relax in of an evening - bars were smoky and full of loud drunken guests.

The restaurant and bar waiters/waitresses were excellent. The exception was the staff behind the lobby bar - very surly and unwelcoming.

If you don't mind a busy resort, then you'll be absolutely fine here. It really is beautiful. The hotel ticks a lot of boxes, but I'd just go for a smaller, quieter place next time.

Beach tip: walk further south along the beach, as it is much quieter at the far end. Plenty of sun loungers there, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Regarding the Caribe, I agree with all the positive comments about the lovely grounds, helpful staff, cleanliness etc. but would endorse 747 Mike's comments about the restaurant - couldn't the plates be warmed to start with? Also over-amplification in the theatre spoilt the shows. Nevertheless, being a less-active couple we thoroughly enjoyed our lazy fortnight at this vast resort (plenty to do for the younger generation) and, if necessary, we could always catch the little bus that tours the site.

Room Tip: At least in Sayil bedroom block, the lifts are only at the reception/restaurant end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.