We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in late September” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Redmond WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value in late September”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent a whole week at Barcelo Caribe during the end of September. We got a ridiculously cheap rate from orbitz. This was our first time at an all inclusive resort and we were pleasantly surprised with the value we received for our money. The staff was extremely friendly, the beach was very clean and the room was very decent given what we have seen at other places in Mexico. This is an amazing property with so much to do if you want an action packed vacation. We were with our 2.5 yr old daughter so we took it easy. There is a kids club which has activities for kids everyday from 9-5 and she really enjoyed spending a couple of hours each day there face painting, mask making, drawing and crafts. They have acres and acres of pools with each pool having its own swim up bar with friendly staff and unlimited drinks. You can rent snorkelling gear for the first hour for free. All non motorized water sports are free too. Buffets are lavish. Much better than quality we've seen on cruises. Atleast 10-12 entrees, 10-12 desserts, option for having fresh pasta made for lunch and dinner, fresh omlettes pancakes and crepes for breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit juice options including guvava which was my favorite. The caribe and maya resorts are cheaper and frankly thats where most of the action is. the location of those is also central and closer to most activities. we wanted to go to a resort and not have to worry about anything and this place was just that. overall a great experience and definitely worth visiting

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    318
    102
    48
    27
See reviews for
286
452
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I do speak spanish, so i did not have any trouble with communication.
The good:
this hotel has 5* amenities for sure, from the firm comfy beds in the spacious rooms, and the bathrobes and luxurious towels, the scale (??!), fruit and ice drinks in the lobby, to giant countless pools available to use all over the property. The "happening" pool happend to be out front of the Beach hotel next to the Caribe, which is a + for not needing to walk too far for people in the low ish season.
The pools themselves were clean, but the water bar i noticed did not get cleaned overnight, with day old (at least) cigarettes sogging up across from the lower bar platform where our drinks chill.
Food is a Hit / Miss
After 2 lunches we ate only at the Captains snack bar during the day. Both mexican / spanish restaurant were delish with great service.

Maids did a great job, but came in a bit too much. once to clean room. another guy to stock your fridge, and another visit to ask if we have towels (??!) they already cleaned and stocked our bathroom. I came back another time they were putting a plastic bag into my garbage because they missed that earlier. Also had someone enter our room at 11 am with a DND sign on the door.. they let the light in for a few seconds till we said "hola" and left.

-Golf carts available for $80day sounds fun, they didnt have any available for my last day :( so book early

The bad:
The firm comfy bed had nice white sheets with brown spatter point blank in the middle. thankfully the bf didnt care. That would not happen in the Barcelo "Palace" property. The shower drained a bit too slow, AC felt like it was on energy saver mode, sometimes it would be a bit warm in there but overall manageable. as awesome as the fruit in the lobby sounds, it was mainly old apples and no melons.
Everything else costs money. room cards $5, even though you must leave one in the room at all times to keep the a/c running or it takes way to long to cool down a big room. We were on top floor and had highest ceilings. I checked out lower rooms, they were bug free.

AFTER 10 PM YOU MUST EAT PIZZA, BAD FRUITS, HOT DOGS and some other nonsense, OR if you are sick, room service is $7/plate A PLATE and it has hot dog, watermelon cake, and 1 other item on it. also YOU'RE NOT ALLOWED TO TAKE FOOD OUT OF THE EATERIES which was hard for me to swallow.... bugs I guess.. but why is room service between the drunk hours so limited and expensive!!! I'd settle with $7/ an order not per plate. I dont like pizza or hot dogs and especially not at 2 am!!

ALSO there is quite a bit of walking to do here to get the full experience. My knee was shot the whole time and the walking got tiring.
overall, it was a close $3 collectivo out to Playa del Carmen, 20 mins, $22 taxi ride

Beach is nice. there is seaweed out deeper but it can be avoided if you head further out. lots of water life, you can feed the fishies in the morning and they will swim all around you ! in the morning/early day the water is especially clear and toes are visible. and beds are put in the ocean as it is a minimum-wave wading beach its awesome. white sand.


so for the cheap price it was going for definitely worth it. but I'd prolly give it a 3.5.

Room Tip: second floor, for private balconies, put in any requests before you get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

we have just returnwd home 25th sep after 2 weeks at this hotel .the hotel was excellent the staff are very friendly all except the lady on the spanish retaurant . if she cracked a smile her face would crack.;she was the most miserable person i have ever met .the hotel rooms were lovely they were kept clean maids came in evey day to see if we needed clean towels and the mini bar was re-stocked every day. The food was ok there was something to choose from every meal time even for the pickest person. The pool was lovely there were enough sunbeds to choose from round the quiest pool and the beach was amazing. I would recomend this place to anyone it was fabulous it is the best holiday we have ever had and will definatly return mexico it is a beautifl country.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was so great that we decided to go back. September is low season and an affordable time to go. Check in was a breeze. There were no issues, even though we were early. We upgraded for half the price of what they ask for a night - bargain with them. The resort is beautiful. They all work so hard to make sure everything is perfect. We got a room in the Sayil building that overlooked the ocean. It was a corner room so it had a bigger balcony than the other rooms. We were just a short walk from the pools and ocean, but we had a very long walk to the lobby. The place is HUGE. The upgrade allowed us to eat at a specialty restaurant every night of our stay, we had access to all the pools, bars, and buffets at the beach, caribe, colonial, and tropical, we had internet access, a 10% discount at the gift shops, and we got top shelf alcohol which includes Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, and Don Julio. Well worth the price. The buffets at the beach and colonial are not air conditioned. It was nice to have lunch and dinner in the air conditioned colonial buffet. Plus the food was a little better there. We rarely ate at our caribe buffet. And although the buffet food is not the greatest, it's not horrible either - you won't starve. The beach pool was the place to go for fun. Music and entertainment were always available. The dance lessons they had in the afternoon were extremely enjoyable. Of the specialty restaurants, we liked the Sante Fe Steakhouse and Kyoto Japanese restaurant the best. The theaters were a good way to kill some time in the evenings after dinner and before the disco got underway. The shows are good. There are two theaters which each had a different show. The theater between the beach and caribe resort was much more lively and energetic. Lots of people and lots of energy. The theater between the colonial and tropical resort was consistently empty and dull. I felt bad for the performers there. The beach itself was beautiful. The shore was raked every morning. The ocean had clear water and soft cool sand. We saw a ray and several different kinds of fish. There are so many good things to say about this resort and so few negative. I loved it both times and we will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Yes i know mexico is a Spanish speaking country.... However here is my review

Check-in
Arrived at recpection and was greeted with a nice refreshing drink, given our room key, info pack and A la cart tickets. All very quick and informative.

Room
We requested two rooms together as we were on holiday with another couple. This request was met but we were given a twin room, not wanting to move we accepted it and used one as a "nap bed" and the other as a "night bed".

We tested the maids to see if the could be trusted, so we left some change on the side ontop of book to not be confused with a tip and sure enough it was taken, so everything in the safe from then on.

The room itself was on par with a travel lodge or premier inn, bed was ok. Decent selection of channels which showed English Premier League matches and La Liga matches. There was always movies on. But we didnt spend a great deal of time in the room anyway. Fridge was well stocked with Bottles of Coke, Sprite, Fanta, Juice and water.

We couldnt use the hair dryer and the iron at the same time as this shorted a circuit. The distribution board is in the waredrobe if you need to flip the switch. Takes a while for reception to send someone, just easier to do it yourself.

Grounds
Im not sure how many people work on the grounds but there must be thousands of them, i also think they are all ninja's too as you never see them, The grounds are kept spotless. They also fumigate the whole pathways etc, try not to get caught in the middle of it.

Buffet
Breakfast - Same food everyday, quality was ok. There was enough for you not to get too bored if your there for 14 nights
Lunch - Same food everyday, quality poor. I got very bored of this after a week. Watch out for uncooked chicken
Dinner - Themed nights every night spiced things up a bit, the oriental night was the best. Again watch out for uncooked chicken.

The waiting staff keep you hydrated with a constant bombardment of water.

A la Carte
Spanish - Good choice - Food quality is better than the buffet, definately not cooked to order though - Manuel was our waiter and he earnt his tip with his coffee making skills.
Mexican - Slightly poor considering i was in Mexico.
French - Made to order - good choice of lobster, they speak very good english in this joint.
Seafood - This is in Captain Morgans (Lunch Buffet) not air conditioned, was ok
Steak House - The size of the steaks are like that of a whole baby cow! Good stuff! Sergio Garcia was our waiter here and he is what all waiters aspire too. He cleared the whole table of 6 in one go, he had plates balancing on his head and everything.

Bar / Disco
Lobby Bar - Poor atmosphere, ordering drinks was difficult and always poorly made. They only seemed to serve the spanish speakers quickly.
Jaguars disco - Awful!! being a master of the wheels of steel myself, i was mortified by this place.

Shopping
Good selection of shops in the shopping area, a short trip to playa del carman is advised though. Cost us around £8 each return trip in a taxi.

Excursions
The desk in recpetion is always manned and has some helpful staff waiting to assist you.
Xcel - Ha is a good one
Coco Bongo's - Do not book through Hector, as he will just leave you outside
Wet n Wild - OK not as big as Florida, ok if you combine with the Dolphins

Overall

I felt like all the staff were having a joke at our expense, i found them quite rude and i did try and speak as much Spanish as i could. The rooms are tired and the food poor in the buffets. I would not return to this place again. I have stayed in Cancun before and found this much better for my age range (20 - 30).

Remember this hotel is in the middle of the Jungle and you WILL need bug spray.

Room Tip: You will need bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I went there are a week in May. After reading reviews you never know what you will end up getting yourself into but this place was just amazing. Food was great, weather was amazing. Location was awesome. The staff is tremendous. Those guys there really work their tales off. I will be going back next spring for sure. I had an amazing experiance.

Room Tip: Your not going to be in room too much anyways! Beds are not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I went to the Barcelo on a last minute vacation. It was my first all-inclusive resort experience, which may turn most people away from this review, but I had an amazing time. The Barcelo resorts are grouped as follows: Beach and Caribe, Tropical and Colonial, and the Palace. The Beach and Caribe are on the lower end in terms of price. The lobby and lobby bar are not air-conditioned. They are air-conditioned in the Tropical and Colonial. As the vacation went on, we actually would have preferred that, especially since when you stay at the Beach/Caribe, you cannot drink at the lobby bars of the other resorts. You can however, drink at the Colonial/Tropical pools, which were by far the best pools of all the resorts.

The room at the Caribe was amazing. Everything was clean and crisp. There was a full mini bar in the room that was stocked every day. There was a nice patio and the air-conditioner worked really well.

We ate at 3 of the restaurants (another downside of staying at the Caribe, we were only allowed to choose from like, 4 restaurants as opposed to the 8 we could have with the Colonial/Tropical) the Steakhouse, the Spanish one, and the Mexican one. The Spanish and Mexican one were absolutely delicious. Steakhouse could have just skipped. The buffet was really great. Every day was something different, even for a 7 night stay.

The staff were so friendly. The pool bars were fun, the bartenders were awesome and really played with the guests. Even though the alcohol was watered down, there was never a shortage and I never waited more than a minute or two for a drink.

Jaguars, the nightclub, was pretty fun. The last night we went seemed to be almost a local night. The strobe light is a bit intense and the floor is ridiculously slippery when wet, but it was still a great time and great music.

We spent most of our time at the beach area by the Beach resort (the best-no rocks, always a ton of chairs available), at the pool and pool bar at the Colonial, and at the lobby bar of the Caribe. This resort definitely got me hooked on the all-inclusive style and I would absolutely return to the Barcelo, but probably to the Colonial or Tropical.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.