We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I decided to have a destination wedding. We both love the beach so what better place to have a destination wedding than The Riviera Maya, Mexico. There were about 50 of our closed friends and family who were able to make the trip. Once we arrived we were so elated to see such a beautiful resort that we could share with those most important to us. We arrived and were immediately greeted by a fabulous bellboy named Rogelio Rodriguez. He was so warm and welcoming to the two of us. He was more than happy to help us with our luggage and my wedding gown. He pointed us in the direction of the Club Premium check in lounge and told us that we would have our luggage delivered to our room once we were checked in. All I can say is that IT IS WORTH IT TO UPGRADE at this resort. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and modernized with wonderful amenities. Rogelio was so accommodating to me, my husband and all of our guests throughout our entire trip. If there was an issue or a question we all felt comfortable asking him for his help to point us in the right direction. I truly believe that he is such an asset to Barcelo and want all of the management staff to know this.

Now, on to our wedding. Our wedding planner/coordinator Lillian Vargas has been helping me with all of the wedding details since I had contacted her in late September of 2013. She is an ANGEL. She was such an amazing wedding coordinator to work with and I can honestly say that my wedding day would not have been possible without her. She was organized, detailed, kind and caring throughout the entire process. I felt so special and beautiful on my wedding day and I really believe it is all because of her hard work and dedication that made our dream come true. Thank you again Lillian!

Barcelo Maya Beach is a very lovely resort. Of course anyone can find fault in anything or anywhere they go, but i am telling you that this place is very beautiful and worth every penny. The workers really make this place what it is, a very welcoming and beautiful resort. Without the hard work and dedication of all of the employees i do not feel that our dream would have been able to come true. Also, PLEASE TIP THE WORKERS! I feel it is important to express your gratitude by tipping the employees for all of their hard work. I hope this helps anyone who is considering a destination wedding because i would not have done anything differently. This resort exceeded my expectations. I would like to extend a special Thank You to all who made our trip so memorable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Elizabeth T; Thank you very much por choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your wedding destination and the time you have taken to share your impression with the Tripadvisor users, we are pleased to know we have exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the property and services.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    1,489
    489
    246
    168
See reviews for
1429
1688
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Beach Hotel 13th Aug for 12 days with husband and 2 boys (6 and 14). We all had a fantastic holiday and can wait to return. We flew Thomson Dreamliner flight from Gatwick(11hr flight) which was great and after a lengthy time at Cancun airport we arrived at resort and were checked in so quickly with everything we had requested on previous emails with resort. Main request being 2nd floor room and interconnecting rooms for our boys which were all provided. Even a bottle of liqueur free and flotation treatment for being facebook fan!
We had been told by Thomson there would be some decorating/refurb going on at Caribe but the £45million refurb was a bit more than painting! At first we were a bit worried but need not have been as the screening round all the work was excellent and once we were at the pool/beach we really didn't notice the building noise and if we did it didn't bother us at all. It did not make the resort dirty or dusty which is credit to the staff as it is a huge renovation! Even the workmen on building site had a wave for the kids on the trolley bus!! The only bit that was a shame was we were told we would still have access to Caribe pool,mini golf and Barcy club but pool and mini golf were closed when we arrived and the Barcy club and play area all screened off within a few days of arriving and demolished so no club for Oliver to go to. Will be great when all refurbished and re-opens!
We used the buffet and lunch grill for all meals and were never disappointed. All found something we liked at every meal and great choices available. Again due to Caribe refurb we were told we could only have the Mexican restaurant for al a carte meals and on looking at menu our youngest son was not keen on choices and with no kids menu we couldn't eat there. Would have been nice to have had option to go to the other al a carte's considering when booking we were advised there would be 4 but hopefully that will all be resolved when Caribe opens.
Mini bar in room excellent with brand name soft drinks too and lots of bottled water provided. Had been concerned after a few reviews mentioned illness related to ?food/water during stay but need not have worried as drank bottled water, had ice in drinks and ate wide variety of foods and all of us were fit and well throughout the stay!
Entertainment at night in the big theatre was also great and lots of effort put in to entertain guests. Also the way the theatre is designed seemed to keep noise to minimum outside it and didn't disturb us at all. Outside bar area at Beach is also very trendy and boys delighted to discover popcorn machine there too! Worth checking out the unofficial barcelo web pages for list of cocktails before you go as some had amazing looking drinks but we were not sure what to ask for!!
Fantastic beach - couldn't believe how quiet it was on right past Beach hotel- paradise! We also did Jet Ski's and parasailing and had such fun( fee for this but really reasonable). Canoes were free too and had a few fun outings on them too. Also took chance to swim with dolphins which was a lovely experience and being on site we could always watch each day as not screened off which is great.
Only one regret was we did not get out on the Hobie Cat's as neither my husband and I are confident at sailing them when quite windy and especially with kids on board. When in Cuba we could tip/pay the Hotel staff running beach activities and they would take you out and it would be lovely if the resort could consider this too as sure lots would be happy to pay for sailing trip!
We did not upgrade to premium as having long haul UK flights it is an expensive holiday already and we did not feel the need to at all whilst there. Our rooms were great, drinks good and food great. We all benefitted from no wifi as had holiday free from emails and internet and actually all read lots, played cards/games and chatted!! Even the boys never missed it! We spent most of our time outdoors so really would not have been in an upgraded room much anyway!
Great shops on site and amazed at selection of things you could buy. We never left the site except travelling home - that had not been our plan when we arrived but loved the place so much didn't need to go out and about! Next visit we will make effort to see some sights but it was so hot and humid chilling out was perfect!
Noted before we went that some said service was better when tipping. Being all inclusive we rarely had money on us and tend to tip at the end of the holiday and to the credit of all the staff we thought the service was excellent even without on going tips. We never felt we had not been served or served well because we were not tipping. Even at the pool the waitress happily called on us when in swimming to ask if we needed anything at all. Excellent service and such friendly staff in all areas. Rooms and mini bar also cleaned/stocked fully without instant tip.Again when tipped at end of holiday they were so appreciative too.
Already highly recommending this hotel/resort to friends in the UK and really all cant wait to return- had everything we wanted and more. Just a shame we now cant find any UK tour operator taking bookings for the hotels! Please Barcelo make some links with UK operators again!
We had 28hr delay to our flight home and were taken to the Azul Sensatori hotel for the length of delay and although it was a nice hotel and treated well it was not as good as the Barcelo Beach Resort- even the sea and beach was no where as nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
15Gallagher; Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Barcelo Maya Beach, we are glad we have accomplished your expectations and enjoyed your vacation with us.

Guest feedback is very important for us, as we know they help us to continue improving our services.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have been several times now. We can not get over the great staff and cleanness. Everyone goes out of the way to make you feel at home. The food is different every day, so you don't have to worry about getting the same even night. The pools and pool staff goes out of the way to make sure your drinks are filled. Kid friendly. Lots of things to do for kids and family's. All around a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Shawn D; Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding your stay with us, we appreciate that Barceló Maya Beach remains one of your favorite options.

We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the Barcelo as a family for our daughters graduation along with a group of friends. There were 13 of us total. I have been to Cancun and the Mayan Riviera many times over the years. This beach was absolutely fantastic, the water is perfect for swimming and other water activities. The pool was also very nice to hang out in and around. The room was modest and clean. The patio was nice to sit on and enjoy the grounds. The one thing I didn't like is that this is an all-inclusive but be aware it isn't ALL inclusive. We were allowed to make 2 dinner reservations for the 6 days stay we were there. The rest had to be buffet style. There were certain restaurants where there was an additional cost and we also didn't have exchange privileges with the other Barcelos that were adjacent to this property. The "Caribe" portion of the hotel was closed and this is normally another part of the resort in addition to the "Beach" where you could spend time, eat, use the pools so I personally think that because it was under renovation the resort should have then allowed at least one additional dining reservation at one of the other properties. Also, some of the drinks are not part of the all-inclusive package so you can get them but you have to pay for them. I will say that the buffet, especially breakfast was very good, better than many others I've been to so I was happy with that. I will return to the resort again primarily for the beach and pool area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
SandyTracy; , I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach, we are glad you have enjoyed many aspects of the property and services.

Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriously and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Barceló was a wonderful experience. Our in-laws took our whole extended family which included an age range from 7-70. Everyone was kept busy. The food was excellent. Definitely make reservations in the restaurant as you won't be disappointed. There are activities all over the resort to entertain everyone, snorkeling, sailing, art activities, nightly shows and of course the great pool and beach. There was definitely enough to entertain us so that we wouldn't have to leave but we did have a day at Tulum which was fun. There are shuttles from the hotel that can take you for a premium price but surprisingly we went to the side of the road and these vans come around and can take you for a couple of dollars. It's their bus system and it's very safe. We loved staying here and had a wonderful time. The only downside about the trip was the travel time to get there. It took a full day and a lot of waiting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
familytime00; Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort, we are pleased we have exceeded your expectations and enjoyed your stay at the property and serivces.

We would like to invite you to the Barceló Maya Caribe our sister hotel, which is in renovations and it is preparing new surprises to our guests.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well I am writing this review a little late but I tried to put everything in as we experienced it. This is an amazing resort ,it just keeps getting better and better . We arrived from the west coast of Canada , so a full day of travel and an unbelievable landing with Air transat ..kudos to the pilot who got us down safe in a horrible thunder storm....we made our way quickly to the luggage area and through customs seemless, love the Mexican people so polite and kind...kinda Canadian just a little browner
We were bussed to the resort which was much shorter of a ride since our last time in 2011. The road through Playa Del Carmen now by passes a lot of things that would slow you down and everyone wants to get to there vacation spot quickly. We arrived at the Barcelo maya beach under an hour and were the only ones getting off the bus and checked in fast and got every wish on our list.top floor king bed it was so nice . The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfy. We had a middle resort locale which was convenient for buffets and beach. The food here is so amazing and fresh and inventive we had buffets nearly every meal and it was fantastic ,fruit that was so sweet and fresh it tasted like it was fresh picked that day, we enjoyed the meals ever varied contents and everything served with a smile , we even had our plates carried to our tables and the champagne glass filled as soon as it emptied .Very nice.
The staff on every level here is amazing , smiles every time you pass someone and everyone you encounter was so kind and nice,can't say enough good about this resort and their employees for them it is a job but for us it is a week out of a busy year and they make everyday feel so special, I love the barcelo maya beach also because it has the most amazingly beautiful white sand beaches that are soft clean and warm, never crowded or too busy here a perfect location, while there is a lot to do it just feels good to rest and enjoy this beautiful place. Definitely will return...thank you Barcelo for the happiness

Room Tip: The building Coba and Tulum are good locale
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
tripping19; Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding our services.
We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays and thank you for your continued patronage of Barcelo Maya Beach Resort.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Barcelo Beach resort in July for a week with our two daughters 12 and 8. We were very happy with the resort, the beach and the staff. If you go you definitely want to do the premium club. The room is a suite with two bathrooms and a door to separate the two sleeping areas for some privacy. Best al a carte for us was the Mexican restaurant and seafood. Took a cab down to Akumal to swim with turtles. A must before they build out that area - we saw easily 8-10 turtles. Feed the fish off the pier with the food bought at the store great for snorkeling right at resort. Husband used the dive shop there on property - convenient - we used a private transport from the airport - nice so that you don't have to stop at each place down the coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
StaciinAustin; Thank you very much for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Beach Resort.

We are glad we have accomplished your expectations and enjoyed your vacation with us.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.