We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The grounds are nice, clean, and beautiful. The buffets are amazing, with incredible selection. There is a great mix of activities and relaxing, which is perfect for a beach vacation. A tip is to venture over to the pools further from the "BEACH" pool if you're looking for some quiet relaxation. The Beach pool is always loud with activities and a loudspeaker.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
rxgirl15; Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach Resort and your comments about the property and service you kindly share with the Tripadvisor users.

Our goal remains that of serving all of our guests to the best of our ability, to ensure that we are creating unforgettable experiences.

We would be glad if you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,242
    1,446
    474
    241
    168
See reviews for
1395
1631
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Most beautiful natural beach. Never crowded. Always plenty of places to choose from. Don't have to run out early in morning to save a place. Pools are huge and never crowded. Buffet has excellent service and food is delicious and a wide variety to choose from. Had a bad experience in Mexico Lindo restaurant. Wouldn't go back there. Terrible service. Will definitely come back to hotel. The beach is spectacular. People very friendly. Had beautiful weather. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
yanci3; We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Beach and we are glad you enjoyed the property and service, however we are sorry you did not have a good experience at Mexico Lindo.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that we take all comments very seriously as we know they help us to improve our services.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Barcelona Maya ( Caribe) is a wonderful resort with good food and lovely staff but I would not return because of their dolphin tank. These beautiful creatures are not meant to be in a pool to entertain people. Watch "the Cove" and then tell me what is happening to these defenceless animals is humane.
Bottom line - so long as tourists are willing to pay for this dog and pony show and someone can make a buck, they will continue teaching dolphins to perform on command.
Stop supporting them...and they will stop capturing them and placing them in a concrete pool so they can do tricks for you! A very sad tourist from Canada.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Jlgordon; First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort and the time you have taken to share your impresions about your stay with us, we are glad that you have enjoyed many aspects of your time with us and you found our staff to be friendly.

Regarding your coments about the Dolphinarium, we do of course respect your opinión, however would like to share the following information:

The Dolphinarium at our resort is run by a profesional company “Dolphinaris” who specialize in the care and well being of marine mammals. They operate 5 dolphin habitats in Cancun, Cozumel, Riviera Maya and Tulum and have an excellent track record wiith 17 years of experience in Dolphin care and habitat maintenance. They are widely considered to be the leading industry experts, funding and promoting different research programs for marine mammals in the wild, and aswell as being members of European Association of Aquatic Mammals. It is also important to mention that Dolphinaris Dolphins are no longer caught in the wild, they born in captivity in accordance with international law.

I can also assure you that the dolphin habitat and the care of the animals is subject to federal law and standards and am happy to confirm that Dolphinaris strictly adhere to these laws and maintain the highest standards.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

We remain at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b.c.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just returned from 12 days at Barceló Maya Beach and we had a great time. The hotel is beautifully renovated and it is very impressive. This was our 6th trip to Mexico and I believe we received the best service yet at this hotel. Even though we did not upgrade to premium status I never felt that we were being treated as less than "premium" as happens in other hotels. Each block of rooms has it's own concierge from 9-5, guest services are open until 11 pm every night, problems seemed to be dealt with very well- we didn't get the coffee package one day for our room and it only took a simple call and it was delivered shortly after.
Buffets were good- we used the Beach and Caribe. The Caribe is now closed for renovations. Part of our package was to be able to use the amenities of the Caribe and we did, I don't know how the hotel is packaging the vacations now. Construction started while we were there and did not seem too intrusive at that point.
The staff were great- especially Abdy at the Beach buffet, Jorge at the Rancho Grande grill and the bar staff at Captain Morgans- thank you Oscar(always smiling) Carlos and Ivan!
Security were great- keeping control of swim up bar problems, impolite theatre patrons etc.
My only complaint was that our room was a little noisy- I believe that it is the way the rooms are constructed to vent into the hallways. We had a noisy neighbour for 2 nights but that is not the hotels fault. Bring earplugs!
Bring lots of sunscreen- expensive in gift shop
Good priced at Playa Mart if you go into town
Great holiday all in all.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Tulum building facing the theatre- not good if you like to turn in early(which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Jill&Michael; Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort, we are glad you and your husband found the property enjoyable and the service exceeded your expectations, also we would like to appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions with the Tripadvisor users.

At Barceló Hotels & Resorts we always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation an unforgetable experience and only trough guest feedback we will be able to improve our services.

We remind at your service and we would be pleased to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo Mayan Beach April 12-22, 2014. This was definitely the nicest resort we've stayed at in the Mayan Rivera. We purchased the premium package which was well worth the extra expense. The checkin and checkout were both really quick. Our room was one of the updated junior suites closest to the beach. Perfect location to go easily back and forth to our room. Although you had to walk to the buffets, they were no more than 5-8 minutes away and a pleasant stroll. The premium bracelet allowed us access to 4 of the 5 hotels on the resort. It was nice being able to try other restaurants and get drinks from any of the bars when walking the resort. Lots of beach chairs available. On some days, we did run into issues with finding pool chairs however only on busy weekend days. If you waited a while, some would generally open up later in the day.

We enjoyed the buffet at the Mayan Beach which had a wide variety of food selection however it had very few outside tables. As we enjoy dining outside, we ate primarily at the Caribe buffet which had fewer food choices. Food was average at the buffets. In many cases, we found the hot food was either cold or lukewarm. Although they had themed dinner nights, the selection was pretty much the same as other evenings with a couple of minor variations. Restaurants near the beach were great for lunch or snacks.

We ate at three specialty restaurants. The Mexican was just okay. The two meals we ordered were over cooked resulting in tough meat. We were seated at the back of the restaurant with one of our seats facing the open kitchen. We found this restaurant very noisy and our overall experience was disappointing. . The seafood restaurant however was excellent. We had a delicious meal of two different types of lobster and great desserts. On our last night, we ate at the Japanese restaurant which was fantastic and highly recommended

Our room was great. Large very comfortable king sized bed and two sofas. Bathroom had a huge walk in shower with a rain type shower head along with a shower wand. The jacuzzi on the terrace was a nice option along with the wind down privacy screen. The only issue was noise on occasion from the hallway as sound seemed to travel as it bounced off the concrete walls. We sometimes put towels at the bottom of our door to try and mask it (didn't work very well).

Overall a great resort. We did have a few issues. One day our maid accidentally took our tv remote that was left on our bed. We assume it got mixed up in the sheets when changing the linens. We reported it that day however 3 days later we still didn't have a remote and had to ask again. This time the new remote was provided promptly. We also reported issues with our terrace light. Although they turn off automatically at 11 pm(which we found inconvenient as you couldn't turn them back on) our light didn't work at all most evenings. Again we reported it but there didn't seem to be any action. After a while, we learned to live without the light when it wasn't working as it seemed it was probably attributed to some type electrical short. Also, we found our refrigerator very warm. Again it was reported twice but we learned to put our drinks on ice to cool them off when needed. This is probably by design to get you out of the room.

The evening entertainment was only okay. The Mexican show was the best however karaoke night was a definite pass. There was also a nice Mexican market on site with entertainment on Monday, Wednesday and Friday which was fun. Prices seemed fairly comparable to Playa del Carmen. Bit more expensive but not much.

The resort staff are extremely hard working. They were relatively friendly however didn't go out of their way to say hello unlike other resorts we have stayed at. We tipped many of the staff but it didn't really result in any service variations but we still wanted to acknowledge their hard work as their salaries are minimal.

We would recommend this resort to both couples and families. Lots of activities available for everyone. We would consider returning for the cappuccinos alone.

Tip - bring lots and lots of sunscreen or expect to pay almost $30 US for one bottle on the resort.

Room Tip: Get the Junior Suite. Worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
CJDP; Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Beach and the time you have taken to share them with the Tripadvisor users.

We are glad you enjoyed the property and found our staff to be hard working, I can assure you that we continue working to improve our services and only trough guest feedback we would be able to achieve our goals.

At Barceló Hotels & Resorts we always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation an unforgetable experience.

We remind at your service and we would be pleased to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

One fun filled day after another! We had a fantastic trip with the two kids, would return tomorrow if we could.

One of the best points at this resort is the Kid's Club, or Barcy Club as it is also known. The people working with the kids are simply amazing in so many ways. They treat the children as their own and go out of their way to make kids feel welcomed and have a great time. The arts and crafts are particularly interesting (they made a tiny pinata) and the bungee trampoline jumping is awesome!!

The snorkeling we decided to participate in was awful, probably the only negative experience during our entire week. I don't like to point fingers, but there are definitely upgrades that are required in that area.

Food was great, people were greater and overall, an absolute amazing time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Alexandra N; Many thanks for spending your vacation at Barceló Maya Beach and the comments your kindly share with the Tripadvisor users, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Ill start with the good!
Check in was a little long but a lot of people arrived at the same time and there were 5 staff members checking people in and there are plenty of things to look at while u wait.
Internet
I paid for the 1st 2 days and they never shut it off. So basically $22 for a week. (I think it should be free tho)
Landscapping/pools
Absolutley beautiful. The pools were great with lots of chairs. My favoeite spot was on a cement island wirh a 2 man hammock

Bars/drinks
Drinks were great. I did not think they were watered down at all. Bartenders were not overly friendly but they were not rude either.
Buffett/ala carts
Buffett was our favorite (oliver and his partner were great. Requested them everyday.
Mexican and spanish restaurants were good but im a steak house kinda girl. So we tried rhe steak house $50 extra charge for 2 people.
We were dissapointed with the food and staff also it was very hot and humid.
Rooms/housekeeping
We had the basic room and it was perfect no spiders always clean
Now to rhw bad stuff which isnt much
Beach
Sand was beAutiful wirh lots of different activities to do. There were a lot of broken shells and a big drop off on the swimming part of the beach and the ocean floor was very rocky. U could find sandy spots but move a few feet in any direction and ur scraping ur feet again. The water was very clear though.
The gift shops were pretty cheap except for sunscreen $33.00 which I thought was shameful. We came pretanned so it wasnt an issue.
One last issue as I was walking around the shopping area or watching the dolphins or just lookibg at the different areas it would have been nice if I could have recieved drinks from the higher tiered areas
A good bang for ur buck but if ur beach people (like I am) u might be dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Amy K; Thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort and the time you have taken to share your comments, we are glad that you found our resort enjoyable.

Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, as we want you back home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again, only trough guest feedback we would be able to improve our services and create unforgettable experiences.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.