We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I hVe to admit, we got this resort by default through a united vacations offering. I was not happy then, but I am thankful that we stayed here. The entire beach resort has been redone, and it is beautiful. We hot an upgrade to our bracelets, no room change but we could do room service and eat at everywhere but the palace. Well worth the $25.00.
This hotel is a bright orange and burnt yellow, and has modern sculptures inside and out. Huge mosaics great you on arrival. Check in was fast and went well.
This hotel is excellent for kids and adults alike. There is a million places for kids to play, and parents toe be close. We have take our grandson on many vacations where there was,one small pool, and here there are literally a dozen! From gradual grade of entry. Perfect for the pre toddlers, to a few with water levels of about a foot. Water spouts abound for the whole kids crew, we even saw a few big boys playing. The rooms are pretty standard, 2 full size beds or a king. We were shown the family suites, but frankly a room with oneq king bed and another living room with 2 huge couches for the kids, no pull outs was not appealing to us, but maybe with teens, this family room had a full size frig, sink and dining area, great to play cards or games at night. Again, if I had smaller children or even before 8-9, I could not see booking it. For a big family traveling together and needing a meeting point in the morning / evening to connect, it's great, lots of room to sit.
We aye ate both the beach and tropical and everyone agreed the food was much better at tropical then beach / caribe. There is also a kids Buffett inside each adult one with meats, hot dogs and foods for the small crowd. It was so good, I even ate off it a time, only place to get jello! Lol
As for the internet it was available in room or lobby, nowhere else. It was pretty stable for the most part. I always travel with a. Few thing to make life easier,. An extent ion cord for charging phones and tablets. A big beach bag with fabric handles big enough to hold lots of stuff for all day at beach. We use a 31 bag and a lands end bag with long handles. Well worth the price of either. The 3- bag has many side pockets for all the stuff we carry, room keys, lotion and hair ties. The lands end bag we find superior to all others, as it has many inside pockets to organize and an outside one to hold securely paperwork and money. We use a large but have a medium also. We do convert American money to pacos most times, but find everyone takes the green stuff. We always tip both waitress's bell boys and room cleaners. A few bucks for each. We also tip gardeners and people that we see working. They don't get tips, and a few bucks will make their day.
I don't give this review 5 stars because of ants. One of our friends had hundreds of ants In the bathroom, and it took 3 days and lots of complaints to get someone to do something. They were crawling on their daughter. We finally meet with Enrique from the front desk who was amazing at making amends, the Barcelo beach is lucky to have him medicate a fair compensation for the trouble they had. He even got a very, very unhappy lady to smile again. That was wonderful. Julianna from front desk was also very professional in explaining what was in our upgrade. All in all, I would stay here again. Iwe travel south to Mexico / Jamicia 2- 3 times a year, usually staying at secrets, Iberostar and Riu. I also had a favorite place Akumal beach resort, amazing snorkeling, but seems it's changed, so we may have found a new home to stay one time, each time we come.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, upgrade on Line to get best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asistentedireccion, Director General at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear murphy1121; Many thanks for your contact, and your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, we are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, as we want you back home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again, we are pleased to see that we succeeded. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,149
    1,369
    453
    234
    161
See reviews for
1327
1534
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

In the past year they have totally renovated the lobby and have added more bars and social areas and have changed the buffet. Unfortunately they have yet to make improvements to the standard rooms. While the staff are wonderful and the grounds, pools and beach are awesome the rooms aren't as clean as they once were. The biggest disappointment for us was the addition of the dolphin pool to the resort :(. They have about 4-5 dolphins in an extremely small area. For those wanting to experience swimming with Dolphins, I suggest that you watch the documentary "The Cove" to see how they are actually harvested for these resorts first. While it is a great resort, I will unfortunately think twice about visiting the Barceló again for this reason alone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asistentedireccion, Director General at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Nedeen B; Many thanks for your contact, and your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, we are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We certainly respect your opinión, however I would like to comment the following about the Dolphin Habitat at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort. This habitat and the care of the animals is subject to international law and their standards; I can also confirm that Dolphinaris strictly adhere to these laws. The equipment used is with the latest technology and the highest standards to continually maintain a habitat of exceptional quality. I can refer you to thier website if you would like to know more about them as a company and thier facilities www.dolphinaris.com.mx Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The resort is nice. It's very big with 4 other hotels on the property. The pools are beautiful and the beach was perfect.

Now on to the rooms. Ours was clean but ok. The bathroom really needs upgrading as the mirror was broken(had a big crack in it). We were on the ground floor so you could hear everything going on above you. One night I thought someone was in our room it was so loud above us. Luckily the people went to bed by 10 every night. The beds were hard and always felt damp. The sheets were very clean but because of the humidity down south, nothing feels dry. There is no fan in bathroom to take moisture out. We cranked up the A/C and that helped a little. You have to put a card in a slot to use electricity so bring along a slot card if you want to use both room cards. We left one in all the time and used only one card. The resort also had a lot of families. There is a special water park for the kids on the property. Swim up bars also had kids(under 5 years old) by them which I thought was inappropriate.
Food? Well, it was OK..Breakfast was the best. Lunch they served hamburgers and hotdogs and a couple salads but not a big variety. Dinner buffets were good. Nothing to write home about. The restaurants on the property were good. Mexican Lindos was really Good.
I liked the time I spent there, but will not stay there again. We had to pay for WI-FI which I thought for the prices we were paying should have been included. If you upgrade, then you get free WI-FI. If we were to upgrade it would have been 85 dollars per day per room. I thought that was a little steep. They give you a 400 dollar credit towards an upgrade but you still had to pay another 600 bucks. No thanks.
The Beach was the best and you never had a problem finding lounge chairs. They have tons of them. Be warned some of the customers do go topless on the beach.
The drive from Cancun to the resort took about an hour.
The day staff at the front counter was awesome. At least two girls spoke really great English, but the night staff seemed clueless when we wanted to prepay our bill so we didn't have to do it the morning we left.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asistentedireccion, Director General at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
dapinkbird; First of all I would like to thank you for spending your vacation at the Barceló Maya Beach Resort, we appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share your comments, we take all comments very seriously as we know they help us to improve our services. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Going back to the Barcelo Maya Beach the beginning of March for the third time - we know what to expect, what the food is like, what the beach is like, the rooms, the ammenities, and the service. All top notch as far as we are concerned. Snorkling is great, walking the long beach is great, day excursions offered is a good selection. Even if you don't leave the resort there is plenty to do. I love love love the beach!

Room Tip: We always select "ocean view" - can't go wrong there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asistentedireccion, Director General at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Rose H; Thank you very much for choosing us as your vacation Hotel, it is always a pleasure to serve our repetitive guests, kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went to Varadaro for an 8 day vacation with Sunwing. First of all , it's not an 8 day vacation. We didn't get there until 4:00 a.m on Monday morning. A week later we left at midnight to catch a plane at 4:00 a.m. We had to vacate our room at noon on Sunday and put our luggage in the lock-up room. We could have kept the room but only if we were willing to pay $10 cuc for every hour we used the room, hence an extra $120 cuc until we left at midnight. Yet, someone was using our room until we got there at 4:00 a.m. the previous Monday. What a rip-off. Within 2 hours of getting to our room, the toilet backed up and there was water everywhere. Because no one was answering the phone at the front desk, my husband had to walk a long distance at 6;00 a.m. to report the problem. The food at the buffet was very unappetizing and even some a la cartes were horrible, hit and miss. The lady assigned to look after the Diamond Club members at the a la carte desk sometimes had no one in her line yet was unable to help with the long line up for the non-members. What a joke. I had a fried egg on the 3rd morning and suspect that it was the cause of my being very sick vomiting and with severe diahrea for 2 days. The promised daily water in the fridge was a hit and miss. The bath mat was there on the first day and then we never saw one again. The towel bar was nearly falling off the wall. The water faucet was also very loose. Both beach and pool rinsing stations stopped working on the last day we were there. The shower we took at the spa after being booted out of our room at noon on the last day was stone cold. All night partyers were hooping and hollering and kept waking us up all night long. There were never enough chairs at the beach. The potential for a great hotel is there but whoever is in charge of overall maintenance, food quality control and making sure quiet time is observed should be fired. We will never go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The staff was friendly beyond belief. The room was newly renovated. The grounds were spotless and clean. The bars were over-the-top fantastic. Everyone on staff (the service folks) were very friendly. Always smiling and helpful. I couldn't believe it. So, I decided to get to know some of the staff. They are truly wonderful people who love working there. Especially the beautiful staff at the front desks and guest help desks. Some of the service folks at the restaurants speak several languages, including Spanish, English, French, and Russian. I brought a couple hundred one-dollar bills, and tipped the staff including the folks at the grills and pool bars. And I met a lot of nice people from all over the world. Now, the place: fantastic and huge. I can't believe how wonderful it was to be upgraded to a room that was 20 steps from the pool. And the pool is up against the beach. Amazing location. The weather and beach locations worked really well for professional photo shoots. Awesome background views for filming promotional videos. I worked most of the time here on-location, but the location was paradise! Now, the room was fabulous, clean, and beyond expectations. The room was cleaned and re-supplied at least twice a day. Every time we came back to the room, the bed was made and the place was cleaned up. There were several large pools that were so large that I had a difficult time swimming laps - huge. And warm, with swim-up bars, bridges, tunnels, fountains, water features, hot bubble areas, etc. Get it? The pools were amazing. And next to the pools, a ton of seating and shade and hammocks. The food was drinks are very good. Safe. Not too authentic. So, next time, we're leaving the resort and getting some local real food. But, for my first time there, it was amazing food. Very clean restaurants and buffets with very friendly staff and chefs. One of the best burgers on the planet was served to me here. The folks gave us a ton of discounts and we used many, including the upgrade to a really nice room with a king bed and a hot tub jacuzzi outside on the deck. We used our spa treatment discounts. The spa is one of the best we've ever been to. Well-trained folks. So, now, the beach. They rake the beach every morning. Rake it clean! The beach over a mile of white sandy beach and palm trees. The palm trees are 5 rows deep. A ton of beach lounge chairs. And a few men dressed in white going up and down the beach to pick up empty glasses, cause we're all drinking on the beach! The weather was wonderful. Out of a 10-day vacation, we enjoyed every minute, even with a few clouds and rain on two days. January 8 to 18 was mostly warm and sunny. We got great tans. The entertainment staff was one of the best things to enjoy at the pool and on the beach. The guys with the music and the mics were awesome and funny. I loved their energy, the music, and the fun stuff they invited all of us to participate in. Ever do yoga on the beach, then enter a "dance sexy" competition at the pool? Hilarious. I could go on and on, and I do. We're coming back, and we're bringing the kids. But we're learning salsa and Spanish before we come back. Totally inspired to do so. Can't beat this place. See you in less than a year! Shout out to Erika at the front desk - she took great care of us in great detail.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about upgrades, and ask to see the room and to see other potential upgrade rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asistentedireccion, Director General at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear BenGrom;
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Beach Resort, All guests are important for us and we like them to feel comfortable and give them the best service, Barceló Hotels and Resorts main goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are pleased to know that we have succeeded, It would be a pleasure to serve you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I really think ratings should be 1 to 10 stars, since there are many variables, and many good resorts get rated as 5 star but aren't quite perfect. Depending on which site you look at this resort is 4 to 5. and I think it is a great resort but really hate to say 5 stars because I'm sure there are better resorts. For the price range though this is a very nice resort and worth the money.

Check-in was relatively smooth, but then there were only a handful of us at that time. The desk clerk gave us a map of the resort and with her pen circled about 8 or 9 places that we should know of. Since we had never seen the resort before this information was only confusing. Then when we asked where the orientation was, she directed us to somewhere on the beach, which was totally wrong and we missed the orientation.

The rooms are well decorated and spotlessly clean. The mini-fridge is stocked daily. There is everything you could possibly need and more, including white terry robes and slip on slippers. As is the case in most resorts the housekeeping often forgets to leave facecloths or bath bats etc., but no problems if you ask.

The compound is beautiful, comprising of 5 Barcelo resorts. You are allowed to visit the others and use the pools etc. Generally though, the Barcelo Beach and the Caribe are side by side and almost one resort. Plenty of options for food and beverages, although we only had two "A la Cartes" being Spanish and Mexican. (Plenty of Mexican options in the buffets).

So much room around the pools and on the beach you never have to worry about reserving a lounge early in the morning. Although we didn't have kids with us, it is a great resort for families, and although there were plenty of children, they weren't bothersome due to the resort being so roomy.

Some of the friendliest staff we have ever encountered when traveling, and they were extremely service oriented, with one exception. The staff at the pool bar seemed disinterested and often very slow. One female employee walked away from me on 3 separate occasions, one of which i had spoken to her, so she knew I was there. I had not done anything to cause her to dislike me. I never complain even when I have reason to. I'm not sure what her issue were that day, but it's a little disconcerting to be treated as if you are not even there. In general though, I cannot say enough good things about the staff at the Barcelo.

The only reason I might not return is that Sunwing crammed eleven of us into a mini-van that made two stops before getting us to the Barcelo after about 90 minutes of driving. The same scenario repeated itself on the return trip.

Anyway we had a great week, weather wise, good food, plenty of drinks and lots of swimming. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to couples, families, or groups.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asistentedireccion, Director General at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
JRS514; First of all I would like to thank you for spending your vacation at the Barceló Maya Beach Resort, we also appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share you experience with us, only through customer feedback, we realise what do we have to improve with our staff and our services. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.