We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Mayan Riviera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Granville Ferry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Mayan Riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Always a crap shot when booking a holiday for the first time in a resort for mega bucks....and then to read the really mixed reviews, we thought maybe we had made a mistake. NOT AT ALL!
The Maya Beach Resort was wonderful.....a true paradise. So maybe the booze was not top shelf. After your first mosquito coast, it no longer mattered. Food was great, especially in the speciality restaurants; our favourite was the Japanese! Our room was more than adequate on the ground floor. The grounds were beautiful; a true garden. Birds everywhere. The white sand beach was super; a few rocks here and there but fish and turtles in the crystal clear warm water. The staff was friendly, courteous and respectful. Shows in the theatre were fun. Access by excursion to Xcaret, Tulum, Coba and Chichèn Itzà was easy and fairly priced. For two weeks in the sun, we got real value.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, ideally not next to the theatre (although it quiets down quickly after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,715
    1,751
    579
    271
    188
See reviews for
1,709
2,027
40
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

2 weeks in Barcelo Maya Beach Caribe hotel
Limited services as they closed 1 restaurant while we were there, from choice of 3, of the remaining 2. only Don Quiotte any good, Captaim Morgan which served traditional ' Mexican' in the evening was like dinning in Iceland food. For non-UK residents it means processed frozen rubbish re-heated .
Great location , expect to tip to get decent service. But small amounts fine.
VERY expensive in on site shops/GP clinic , £10.00 for small pack painkillers.
Only 1 bar in reception , unless u upgrade ( 300 per 2 week stay) to allow entry to other areas on resort site.
Would I recommend? If you don't care about food, and only there for sunshine , ok, otherwise , book tropical rather than Caribe, different standard .
Best bit? Beach , lovely. But beware of building works going on 2013x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just spent 7 days as a family at the Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort and came away having a great experience overall. The check in process was a bit rough, and getting portacribs for grandkids almost took an act of Congress. Also we had to change rooms because our first one really smelled of mold. After that, the trip was terrific. Kids and grandkids LOVED the beach, the buffets were good, the specialty restaurants in the evenings were terrific and the friendliness of the housekeeping and restaurant staff was outstanding. This was our second trip to the Barcelo Maya, the first being 11 years ago, and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went there with my wife and friends we spend there only 12 days but we had great time!!
Best of that resort was Beach and Hotel staff!! That was the first hotel where my wife was happy bout room straight away(no harm:) food was very good specially in them al carte restaurant:) sea food restaurant was excellent:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Check-in was quick. Room super clean. Beach totally amazing.
Service wasmvery good ans the food was out of this world.
We definetelly plan to return. I strongly recomend this resort for families. My son had a wonderful at the waterpark.
We booked some excursion with Best Days Travel. Ernesto Rosado gave us such a great service and tips. Ask for him!

Room Tip: If you plan going to the Barcelo Beach (instead of Caribe, Colonial, etc) try to request Uxmal build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I traveled with two other couples to this resort. Based on the price, resort credits (which are just useless discount coupons on overpriced items) and beach location we selected the Barcelo Beach.
Well....we ended up arriving very late due to an airline delay. I thought we were getting a room upgrade to a junior suite using our "resort credit" however the price of our free upgade would cost us 1700 additional dollars...NOT!! We ended up just taking what we had booked with no checkin upgrades ( which were being pushed! ) The first room we were given was a Horror!! Room 2122 smelled so bad of mold that my throat burned, the air conditioning did not work nor did the ceiling fan and the toilet was running...Noooo!! By now it is about 1:30 in the morning and I am told I need to sleep there tonight and get a new room in the morning...NOT!! As soon as I asked for a supervisor suddenly a room became available. Our new room was great (Thank God!!)
Everything after checkin and getting our new room was pretty great.
The property was beautiful, I always found yummy food on the buffet, we went to one A La Carte dinner at the steak house and pretty much blew off the other two, the beach was Amazing!!! They do however need new beach chairs a great deal of them are very hard to maneuver (broken). No food available on the beach or by the pool which was a bummer!
But overall knowing the ins and outs now, we would all visit this property again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is huge, it is amazing to think how complicated it must be to run a place like this. Check-in took a long time (1h30), even when we had booked a Premium Club room and had a separate check-in desk. Once we got to our room and luggage was delivered, we went downstairs at 5:15 p.m. to get something to eat. Surprise! EVERY SINGLE RESTAURANT/SNACK BAR/BUFFET in the complex was closed. We could not believe it. We had 4 starving children after a 4 hour drive, and by 6 p.m. we were all prepared to get our things and leave because of our frustration. Totally surprised that an All Inclusive resort has NO FOOD AT ALL between 5 and 6:30 p.m., which is not what they say when you check in. The worst part was that no one seemed to know that the other restaurants were closed, they kept telling us to walk a little bit further to the next snack bar and see if they had anything. My husband and his brother walked up and down the resort to try to get us something to eat, and after 1 hour of trying to speak to the Manager of the hotel (who was obviously not available) the only response was that we could go back up to our rooms and order room service. This was not what we had in mind when we booked an All Inclusive vacation. This is our second experience with an All Inclusive resort and we confirmed that we are not fans of the concept. Definitely never doing it again. The next day we saw a family of 5 around 5:30 p.m. wandering around and of course they had just arrived and the same thing happened, they wanted something to eat but there was nothing. So this must happen every day, I don't understand why they don't fix it.

Once we were settled and knew that there was no food during those times, it was OK. The beach is really nice (it only has a little bit of algae on the way in, but after a few steps it is super nice). There are many pools to choose from. The kids pool was fun for them (lots of water slides). We would have definitely liked to have pool food and beverage service, since they don't allow people to bring any food item out of the restaurants. We've been to other hotels with the kids and it is always very convenient to order pizza or hotdogs for them to eat poolside whenever they're hungry instead of having to get everyone out of the water, dry them up, dress them, walk to the restaurant and eat there.

The rooms are OK, but the air conditioner is set at 24 degrees FOR EVERYONE, with no chance to change the temperature up or down. We like to sleep with a little colder atmosphere, and didn't appreciate that we didn't have a chance to change it. Someone from maintenance came up and explained that they couldn't change it either.

Our oldest daughter (age 9) went to the kids club but was a bit bored. The activities are OK maybe for younger kids. The thing she loved the most was the kids spa, where they offer many of the things that they do at the adults spa, but for children. She also had her hair braided, which she loves to do when we go to the beach. Prices are ok at both spas.

So overall, average room, average hotel, average food, average vacation experience.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra at booking time for the Premium Club, and we thought it was a good deal. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
10.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#2 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#11 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.