We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Travelled Easter week with wife & 13 year old son. The resort was mostly good with a few negatives. I'll begin with the negatives.

1. Upon check out, the bell boys threw our luggage and broke a bottle of tequila inside a bag. No apology whatsoever. Needless to say zero tip was given. I guess I will buy at duty free from now on although I like to support the local markets.
2. There were never enough bar tenders at any of the bars. Take note Barcelo, people DO NOT like to wait in lines of 20 people deep while on vacation. This was a very busy time, one bartender at each station does not suffice.
3. Barcelo, please teach your bartenders how to mix drinks properly. Free pouring swill may have been ok for all of the high school students (spring break) but most people like to enjoy the taste of a good drink. Perhaps post a menu.
4. The prices at the gift shops and "market" were outragous, travellers take the collectivo into Playa for $3 and pay 50 to 70% less for the exact same items. Example: Panama hat, same brand, same colour, same band, Barcelo price $45. 5th Ave Playa price $15.
5. Worst of all, the ala carte policies. We could only get one out of three, The Seafood at a half decent time, 7:30. It was ok for me and son. Wife loved as it was seafood.
We could not get into the Mexican or Spanish any other time than 5:30. Way to early. Funny thing, we checked both at other times throughout the week and found that although we were told that they had no room. Each was no more than 50% full at any given time. Hmmmm.

OK enough of the bad stuff....one to the Good and Great.
Check in - Good fast.....we were the only ones checking in.
Rooms - Good, clean and well stocked. We actually were put in the building we requested.
Buffet - Good always something different. Remember they are cooking for 2000 people. Buffet staff great. They got tipped a lot.
Grounds - Beautiful always clean.
Pools - Clean lots to do. A little noisy at the Beach pool but if you don`t like it move over the the Carib pool, quiter.
Beach - Top notch near the Beach - Carib sections, got rockier into the Colonial - Tropical and down right bad near the Palace. Alway kept very clean, seaweed raked up early every morning exept one. I guess everyone needs a day off.
Other activities - ALL GOOD. Tennis, soccer, volley ball, basketball, bocce ball, mini golf, canoes, paddle boats and much much more. If you get bored you`re spoiled.

I would have given a higher total rating except for the ala carte garbage and the poor bar service. If Barcelo fixes those issues it would be much better for all.

Have a nice vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,519
    1,616
    533
    253
    180
See reviews for
1,567
1,842
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I and our two boys ages 16 & 13 just returned from Barcelo Maya Beach resort. We traveled with 8 other family members. We stayed 6 nights. We did have the gold bands for Premium Club. The Premium Club did allow us to book ala carte meals every night. We booked all of them upon arrival. We got 7:30 & 8:30 meal times, which was fine. Premium Club allowed us access to a lounge where you could make yourself drinks with top shelf alcohol. There were also snacks set out. This room included 3 computers & a large screen TV. Whenever we asked for premium alcohol at the pool bars or lobby bars, we received what we wanted. Room service was also free for Premium Club. No problems with the premium club!

The restaurants were generally great! The Santa Fe Steakhouse was probably the one restaurant where the food wasn't up to par. The service was slow there as well. Mare Nostrum, Mexican (Agave), and Japanese were all very good. The beach area is beautiful and well kept. Snorkeling was fun and easy for the kids. Many activities for the kids! One day our kids participated in a mini Olympics on the beach.

Our only real complaint is the room. We had a great location, Uxemal Building very close to pool and beach. We had two double beds and a sofa. I had to call 3 times to get bedding for the sofa bed. Also, it becomes annoying that there is no fan for the bathroom. Our toilet broke, which thankfully was fixed on the same day. The garbage cans in the room are tiny. The beds are not comfortable and that becomes a problem after 2-3 nights of not much sleep.

We spent most of our time near the Beach hotel. A few days we spent time at the Tropical Pool. At this pool they play more current music and this was a younger crowd and a bit more lively. We preferred the lobby bar in the Colonial hotel. It was air conditioned and had a nicer sitting area. Be sure to explore the Colonial/Tropical area for activities/entertainment. The shows at night are not worth staying up for. So, to sum up, we loved the restaurants, premium club, beach, caribbean, and pools, but the rooms were a bit out dated and not very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Barcelo for a friends wedding. We arrived at the gate and they gave us directions to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. We arrived and the whole foyer was full of people wanting to check in the hotel. We were 30 minutes early for the wedding and thought it was enough. We looked for somewhere where we could get our wristbands as the family was going to pay for us to enter as guests for the day. We finally found a guy that WOULD ACTUALLY HELP US. He looked all over the system and couldn't find the wedding. He must've heard something about it because he finally gave us wristbands AFTER MAKING US PAY. EVEN THOUGH WE KNEW THE BRIDE'S FAMILY PAYED FOR US TO ENTER. We asked for directions to get to the wedding and he had no idea. ABSOLUTELY no idea. He finally figured out and drove us in a golf cart to the Barcelo Maya Beach, first to the wrong wedding! I mean are you kidding me! THE WRONG WEDDING! After that, the resort, Barcelo Beach was ok but the food was obvious all inclusive food, either overcooked, or tasteless.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First of all this hotel is great, loved my vacation. Go there you won't regret it and believe me I have been to many hotels in DR, Jamaica, Cuba and Mexico. I know what I like and usually I choose my hotels carefully with the help of Tripadvisor.

Transfert to hotel
This is a killer, you can be lucky and be the first drop off, or you can be the 5th or 6th one... It took us 1h45min to get there and to go back at the airport on the last day it took over 2h.
***My advice: look on the internet, there is many compagnies that will provide you with the roundtrip transfert. There is one that charge 120$ and believe me it's gonna be worth the price to save a lot of time.

Check in:
Awsome, everything was prepare and fast. Be aware they will try to sell you the upgrade for about 20$ per night, they will do it like it's already done so be carefull. Don't think it's worth it anyway. We didn't wait for the bellboy to bring our suitcase, there was so many people coming at the same time it would have take hours to get them.

Grounds:
Beautiful, very well maintained, always someone taking care of it. By aware that the hotel is huge, it's 5 hotels all together. Beach and Caribe are kind of together and are the cheapest part of the resort but still very nice. Then there is the Tropical and the Colonial and at the other end the luxuous Palace Deluxe. You can go around the hotel for hours or you can rent a segway for 35$ for an hour and they will bring you around the hotel. Nice way to see the entire resort.

Room:
We were placed in the Tulum building, the last of the resort, a little far from the main area but close to the beach, pool and lunch restaurant by the beach. Room is georgous, very clean, big, nice king size bed, comfortable pillows, flat screen tv. Bathroom is getting old but still very clean and you have everything you need(shampoo, conditionner, body wash, comb, toothpaste, mouthwash and way more). Lots of hangers, iron, ironning board, free safe, bathrobe.
I heard that this portion of the hotel (beach section) will close for the summers and they will renovate all the rooms... The mini-fridge is loaded with 4 beers, coke, diet coke, sprite, fanta, peanuts, chips so it's great
*** My advice: try to get a room on an upper level because on the first floor lots of people are walking by the room and the walls are not sound proof, you can hear everything going on outside so that was a bummer when you try to sleep a little before diner.

Drinks:
That is the worst part of the resort, the drinks are awful!! I usually stay with the usual mojitos, cuba libre and daiquiri. I don't drink beer but for the beer drinker you will be happy, there is selfserve Corona everywhere on the resort. But for the rest of the drink it's really bad. Mojitos they don't know how to make one, the frozen drinks won't be frozen so that sugar liquid is not good when not frozen. You can be lucky and end up on a good bottle of rhum but the next one will be bad. Also the wine is the worst i have seen in my life... it's really bad and not drinkable at all. You can have sparkling wine any time and it's not bad at all, specially in the morning for Mimosa
*** My advice: buy bottles of wine at the duty free of your airport, you will be happy you did it

Food:
Not bad at all, the buffet is standard but good and lots of choice. We mostly ate at the a la carte. You are given 3 a la carte restaurant if you stay 7 nights. We were lucky to eat 5 times in those restaurant. We tried the mexican (was just ok), the spanish twice (very good), the steakhouse (very good but not air conditionned) and we paid 20$ each for the french restaurant. That french one was awsome, so good from start to the end, very nice place, super service and it's worth the expense. The service is very good but in the buffet sometimes it's so-so... I don't care, you can get up and go get whatever you need by yourself.

Beach:
Huge beach, lots of palm trees, lots of chairs. A great beach to relax, enjoy your drink, look at the sea, watch the sunrise in the morning. Loved the beach, was there all the time. Not much going on on this side all the activities are concentrated in the middle of the beach toward the Tropical section by the pier. Nice sand but not like powder, a little bit more ruff on the feet.
*** My advice: buy water shoes, it's a must. There is corals in the water if you walk a little futher in the ocean so if you don't have them you will stay close to the beach and you won't enjoy the ocean. You can buy them on the site or do you a favor and go to a certain store you find everywhere in Canada and the States they sell them for 5-7$...

Entertainment:
Not the focus of this resort I guess, a few games by the pool every afternoon but beside that not much going on. The staff is friendly and won't bother you to participate. At night I only went to see 2 shows and it was ok but not the greatest. Nice theatre, shared by the Beach section and the Caribe section (that part of the hotel is the mirror image of the beach by the way)

Lobby:
there is a lounge area with a bar, you can sit there and relax. At night the put up some snack, sandwich, sometimes hot dogs, olives and cookies. Pop corn every night. A few boutiques (there is a shopping area in the tropical or colonial section), 2 restaurants are located there (Mexican and Spanish).

The hotel is located about 20-25min out of Playa Del Carmen, close to most of the activities like Xel-Ha, Xplor and Xcaret, Tulum...
*** In front of the hotel, when you get out walking go to the left and there is a nice little place called Kantun Chi. You can go in cenote, underground river and enjoy the place for cheap. It's 200m from the hotel so you just walk up there wich is fun to avoid long transportation.

If youre a little bit adventurous go to your right (if your facing the ocean) on the beach. There is another weird hotel (Bel Air hotel) but after that there is an hotel that was devastated by a hurricane many years ago. It's nice to go see the devastation and the area. You have to walk in the water to get there so the water shoes are usefull and when you get there you will see a few security guard. But you can find a way through the fence and walk inside the rooms . Just be carefull and wear your water shoes, there is broken glass and all kind of stuff on the ground.

Overall I loved the hotel, the ground, the beach, the color of the ocean and the huge site. Just follow the few advices and you will be ready for this place. will I return? maybe, I never went to the same hotel twice but this one I might do it but in the Tropical or Colonial section this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Review. I first half to say, while the reviews are great to read, don't believe them all! We could not find one complaint with the Barcelo. We stayed at the Caribe March 8-15, there were 7 of us; 6 adults and 1 child (13 years old). All of us had an incredible time, and look forward to a return visit. Upon arrival, we were greeted with refreshments and a vacation expert (Mike Ricon) who scheduled us to brief us on key information (do's and dont's), including departure details. We found him to be very friendly, knowledeable, and informative through our stay. The front desk stay were very personal, informative, friendly, and helpful. While they did encourage us to purchase a pool view upgrade with more options for restaurants, we kept to our package and were more than happy with that. We knew we would spend very little time in our room, and six or more restaurants in our own package was plenty to choose from.



The buffets were very good. There was something to choose from for everyone. Each night had a theme. The omelets were favorites in the morning and bacon was great. The fresh fruit was wonderful. The ala carte restaurants we ate at (steak and seafood) were very good. We had no trouble making a reservation, nor being seated on time (6 PM), served promptly, and food was great. The wait staff at the buffets (breakfast, lunch, and dinner-were exceptional. There were a a two to three wait staff (names?) were even more exceptional, who went over and above each time, and who often times greet us on the grounds or away from their serving table; just to say Hola; this was most appreciative. We wish we would have taken advantage of the third ticket given to us, but ran out of time for the ala carte restaurant.



The resort grounds and sleeping rooms are very well kept. The landscaping and grooming of plants and garden areas is exceptional for the plant lovers. Room service left fruit and desserts on two occasions. The mini-bar was kept stocked daily. Everything was always clean and the grounds meticulously well groomed. Walking in the morning was one of most peaceful things to do. All staff, no matter what level, were courteous, at all hours of the day, and were certain to greet you in a friendly manner. The bar service staff were friendly as well-in fact, one was made a friend for life!. The pools were kept clean and someone always was close by to pick up an empty drink glass to keep the pool area clutter free. The bathrooms in all areas of the resort - including the pools - are kept very clean and comfortable. While no one was taking drink orders out side at the pool-that was OK. Doesn't hurt to get some walking in with so much lazing around.



The beach and the walking paths and the incredible beauty of the natural habitat of the resort is absolutely beautiful. WE can't wait to return.


While this review is specifically for the Caribe - we briefly walked through all of the hotels at the resort, the Beach, Tropical, Colonial, and the Palace, and after viewing them all, we would return to the Caribe-most comfortable for our tastes. Not to say that the others are not all great as well. The grounds and of all are wonderful-just not enough time to enjoy or spend much time at them all for any length of time, other than a walk through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We travelled with a few other families, all with teenagers, and stayed at the Barcelo Beach. I think the teenagers all had a good time hanging out on the beach sizing up each other, going on excursions, playing soccer, basketball, golf, tennis, and archery. We adults had fun too but it seemed like the place was just swarming with teenagers. However, it was spring break.

Positives:
buffet food was very good and plentiful
decent rooms
gorgeous white sand beach
beautiful clean resort grounds and gardens, well laid out
efficient and friendly bar staff

Minor Negatives:
spotty maid service. They either come really early morning or late in the afternoon and usually didn't replenish supplies. We had to hunt around for TP, tissues, hand and face towels (never did get any).
bathrooms: No fans, and the little shower door did nothing to keep the water in the tub so the floor was soaked after showering. The bathroom doors don't lock and are just thin doors with slats so you can hear and almost see everything going on in there. Not a big hit with the teenagers
Our AC wasn't adjustable so it was either 100 degrees or -40. Solved this by keeping the patio door open to get the breeze.
The food at the a la carte restaurants was hit and miss. We had delicious meals and some that were too salty or overcooked to eat. The servers at the Mexican place were exceptional and went out of the way to look after our kids.
Entertainment: very limited in the evenings. The shows at the theatre were mediocre but different every night. The disco (oddly located next to the Catholic Church!) was a bunch of very young people humping each other to a bass beat that was so loud you could feel your heart rhythm flutter. The lobby bar or beach were where we went in the evenings and both were nice but it would have been better if there was a bit of live music like a mariachi band now and then.

Recommendations: All in all, a very nice place at a good price. I would suggest using the public mini-bus service to go into Playa or anywhere along the route rather than a taxi (bus was only $3 to Playa each way). Take a Lonely Planet guide and try some of the less touristy attractions to get a real taste of the Mayan. Do your shopping in Playa del Carmen and skip the high prices at the hotel gift shops and the airport. Oh, and buy some duty free alcohol at the airport. Great deal!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms open up to the gorgeous gardens and we had no problem with ants etc. Keep the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This review is only for Barcelo Maya Beach, not other 4 Barcelo resorts next door ( although Caribe is supposedly exactly the same as Beach).
First, before arrival, I contacted the hotel through e-mail and requested the building #3, upper floor. They responded promptly, and assured me that all my requests will be fulfilled. I was impressed. But, when arrived, I discovered that they gave me the room in the building 2, 1st floor. Not very nice, considering their assurance that my room will be just as requested. Also, we arrived in the hotel at 12pm, and they said that the room is not ready until 3pm.
No problem. We walked up to the room and saw that the maid just completed the cleaning, so we returned to the front desk for our room keys, but the manager refused to give them to us until 3:00pm, not a minute earlier (!) even though the room was ready very early. Very poor customer service and rude reception manager at the front desk completely ruin the first impression.
Beach is OK, not great, 3 days there were huge waves and very windy. Some areas are more rocky. The ocean and the beach are the main reason why I travel to the Caribbean, so I was not very happy. I also happend to know a resort 10 min. from Barcelo with the beach that is infinitely better than this one.
Food is ridiculously bad at the buffet, not even the simple grilled chicken or other basics.
Food in the a-la-carte restaurants is better, but it is impossible to get reservations. Tip: $5 bill will get you a table without reservation.
Pools are OK, big but nothing special.
Rooms are basic, no lock at all in the bathroom (kids can walk in at the wrong time any moment), very noisy -- you can literally hear people breath in the room above, mattresses make very loud squeaking noise if you move even slightly. But, overall, no huge problems.
There is a lot of entertainment for little kids, like rock climbing, euro bungie, kiddie water park, etc. But it is scattered through all different resorts, so you have to take very long walks.
Overall, the resort is OK, but, as I travel extensively and have been to numerous all-inclusive resorts, I know that there are so much better alternatives out there for the same price or less . If I didn't know any better, I probably would be more happy with Barcelo.
Feel free to contact me for more specific information.

Room Tip: Building 3 is the best, buiding 2 (where we stayed) is OK. A lot of mosquitos on the first floor fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.