We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Maya Beach Caribean in the Riviera Maya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Barcelo Maya Beach Caribean in the Riviera Maya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is FABULOUS! The staff are friendly, the food is excellent, the beach is breathtaking. What a super great safe place to escape from the cold Canadian winter. There is a lot to do on this resort and there are quiet places to go to rest and relax. Wear your bathing suit if you go to visit Tulum. We took a white van right at the entrance of the hotel for $3.50 one way to Tulum. We didn't have to cross the highway to get the white van. It was waiting there at 9am. A lot of other tourists climbed aboard so it was perfectly safe and a cheap way to get to Tulum. Walking the beach everyday was truly awesome. Don't forget to check out the spa at the end of the day. The whirlpool, sauna and showers free of charge. Mini bar in your hotel room is stocked up daily (Also all inclusive). The room has a safe which is also great. Take a lot of number 30 sunscreen lotion. Many tourists not well due to too much sun. The taxi to the airport is 730 pecos. They drive extremely fast 130 ( Make sure you know how to say in Spanish "Slow down please". Cancun airport was extremely easy and fast to get through the lines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,289
    1,479
    484
    246
    168
See reviews for
1420
1679
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is our 3rd resort in the Riviera Maya area and again, we were very satisfied with this new choice, the Barcelo Maya Beach resort. The best features are the beach area and the size of the resort which includes 3 lobby/resort areas: Maya Beach-Maya Caribe, Maya Tropical-Maya Colonial and Maya Palace Deluxe. Lots to see, lots of room to walk and move around with access to many activities, pools, restaurants, bars & show theatres. We wish that we had access to all "à la carte" restaurants with our all-inclusive pkg, but we paid to access two in Maya Palace:French -Excellent and worth the $20 US/each extra & Bresilian-Good. The Spanish-Don Quijote and seafood-Captain Morgan were very good. Clean-tidy resort & rooms - always best to leave tips in room (a few $/day). 1 suggested improvement: make better quality food available to arriving visitors late in evening - not much available at reception bar :o(

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are alway our preference and this resort has elevators to 2nd & 3rd floors. Coba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is our third time at the Barcelo Maya Beach and we enjoyed our stay again.
If I could rate this hotel 4.5 out of 5 I would.
Here's my take...
Hotel:
This is a HUGE resort. Plain and simple. With that being said they take care of their grounds and there are many things a person can do. i.e. run/walk(I ran/walked 8 kms a day along the beach and main roadway between resorts), there are water sports, again snorkeling, there's a weight-room, tennis court, discotheque, shops, etc, etc...
In the evening it's nice hanging out at the 24hr lounge with other guests drinking tequila (or whatever you crave) and eating fresh popcorn from their popcorn machine.
Beach:
The beach is beautiful with its white sand, blue water and palm streets. Ensure you go out to the dock to do some snorkeling... it's well worth it as most of the fish hide-out there.
You'll get a couple of cards to borrow towels... we kept the same towels for our entire stay and let them dry on the balcony clothes rack. Just cut out the fuss of bringing them back and getting new ones each day.
If you want a good spot on the beach I suggest you get out early and claim a beach-chair with your towel as the good spots go fast.
Pools are nice... never spent time at them as I spend money to see beaches. lol I can hang-out at a pool any time in Edmonton Alberta.
Room:
Room was clean, bed was comfortable and little fridge was well stocked each day. (i.e. cans of beer, bottles of water, pop if you like pop)
******There's a plug-in in your room you can use for your laptop... you do not need a converter.(canada /usa 3 prong)
Also, they have a safe in the room.
Food:
We ate at the buffet each day and found the food good. We had many different varieties of food to choose from. All fresh. (***Remember that all staff work for tips so ensure you tip them accordingly for their service. I ensured I did and received excellent service.)
Internet:
Internet is pricy. Urrrgg. A 5 day wifi pass cost me 48 bucks. :( Warning, the signal is weak. I didn't use internet until the evening so all cool. Still, bites that it cost so much. (this is a weakness)
Overall a good experience and would recommend this hotel to others... I would come back.
Hope my review helps. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The people were friendly, the food was good, the room was very good with a beautiful garden view. The beach was okay, a bit rocky. We took a tour of the ruins which was excellent. The pools were many and nicely kept. The whole experience was a pleasure.

S. Boykach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was very displeased with the lack of ability to make phone calls and such from this resort or Mexico in general. Various Cell companies have no agreement with Mexico so those don't work. My personal phone card would not work.
Made one phone short phone call and it cost me a fortune.
What is sad is you pay for an all inclusive but there are apparently LEVELS of inclusiveness.
You can't get a reservation in the nice restaurants unless you KNOW someone. It's ridiculous to the point that there were empty tables when we were in one of the nicer ones and others were getting turned away. You were only allowed ONE ticket to use for a nicer eatery otherwise it was the buffets. Don't get me wrong the buffets were wonderful but still.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at a the Barcelo Maya Beach for a friend's wedding in February.
The hotel is very large -- with increasing pricing for services and areas down the beach. The end resort was the Palace. I would recommend to anybody to upgrade and stay at the Palace.
Positives: The beach was amazing at Maya Beach area. This resort is very family oriented, very family friendly, kids everywhere (if that's what you're looking for). The rooms are absolutely clean and comfortable enough for what little time you spend in them. Staff is very sparse, but friendly enough. The beach bar and grill is fantastic!
Negatives: There is no real bar area other than the lobby bar, which is hot, stuffy and has a lobby feel to it. There should be a view of the beach or even a pool when you're in a tropical setting. Only one bar too -- it would be nice to have any kind of option other than the same old tired lobby bar every night. The food -- food was absolutely terrible -- nothing but poor quality buffet food, meal after meal after meal. The a la carte restaurants were no better, just longer wait time, dress code and the ridiculous practice of making reservations (I know this is common, but there are resorts without it) when you first arrive. The a la carte restaurant's weren't air conditioned, so you just sweated out your 2 hour mediocre meal. My friends and I did pay extra to go to a restaurant on the high end resort at the end of the complex -- and what a difference that made. It was fantastic. The booze was plentiful, but the bartenders didn't know how to make anything other than strawberry daquiris and pina coladas -- all out of a bottled mix. It really got tired after the first day. Also -- depending what you're looking for -- the resort is very family friendly, kids everywhere. The pool on the Maya Beach resort is just straight poured concrete, nothing spectacular, but once you start moving down the complex, the pools become beautiful with gorgeous tile, running water, pool showers and in pool loungers and huts. ALSO -- absolutely no room service other than really, really basic stuff for an outrageous price (think pasta with butter for $20) .

Room Tip: Do not try to upgrade -- there is no ocean view anywhere on the Maya Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My fiancé and I just returned from the Barcelo Maya Beach resort and have nothing but good things to say! We especially loved the layout of the resort with the pools so close to the beach. There are 3 or 4 different pool areas you can go to swim, drink and have lunch. Lots of chairs to sit in the sun or read in the shade ...plus lots of hammocks for an afternoon nap! The beach was beautiful and clean. We snorkeled everyday!

The food was excellent both at the buffets and a la cartes. Best a la carte we had was Spanish, but also enjoyed Steak and Mexican. Based on our experience we would not recommend the Seafood a la carte. Do book early!

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was happy and friendly to everyone! Drinks in the bars were not watered down and bartenders were more than willing to try new things.

We took a half day trip to Tulum.... which I would recommend...it was just 20 minutes from the hotel. There are representatives available on site everyday to help you with excursions.

We would love to return again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;