We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Victorville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel was one of the worst hotels I ever stayed at the services was terrible. One night we had a problem with one of our lights and I called front desk at 7:30pm and I ask them if they can plz fix them they told me they were going to send someone in 10 mins they never show I called again they tell me other 10 mins I go down to the lobby and they told me they would send someone right away I told them there was not goanna be anyone in the room because we have a dinner to go to they told me ok its ok they will still go in even if you are not there. I get back to my room at 11pm and the light is still not working I called again and they told me someone will be there in 10 mins 15 mins pass and there is no comes I called again they tell me other 10 mins other 10 mins pass and no ones shows. I call one more last time and they told me we are sorry someone will be there soon I told them that I needed to take a shower I was on the phone with them for about 10 arguing with them. Someone finally shows up by the time they show up it was already midnight and I was not able to take a shower. Other thing was that one day i was getting out of the shower and one of the towels was drity. The ocean was nice but it had a lot of rocks, I called one week be four my trip and ask if they had free wifi and they told me yes when I got there they told me there was no free wifi. In order to use the wifi you had to pay $35 per day or $3 for 15 mins only. The only good thing about this hotel was the food. The hotel was very beautiful not going to lie. I would not go back to this hotel ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,244
    1,447
    475
    241
    168
See reviews for
1396
1633
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I always like to read the review , before booking the resort,positive and negative and then make a decision, what are
priority to me , there is no resort that is perfect in all aspect
to everyone. That why reviews are important to me,
I like nice beach cleanliness and quality food and drinks.
and Barcelo Maya Beach got all that and more.

We just got back , from 2 weeks vacation in the Barcelo
Maya Beach resort, which is connection with Barcelo Maya Breezes ,
You can use both resorts , they are identical .
The food was the best , from all the places we stayed before ( quality ).
Drinks are good , house wine red was excellent, We drank mostly beer,
and occasionally some Gin-Martini or Mojito with out the sugar.
I don't like the sweets.
The beach is one of the best in the aria , just like the swimming pool , if
the ocean is calm.
The resort is very clean and huge, the rooms are comfortably.
nice linen and towels , we had a room on first floor and was very quiet .
They have plenty of lounge chairs and sheds around the swimming pools and beach ,
Beautiful landscapes with lot of coconut's trees and lushes.
The employees are friendly and work hard to accommodate you,
They work 9 h a day 6 days a week for less then $ 10 a day , that why they appreciate a tip
But please do not give them Canadians coins (Loonies or Toonies ) Because not even bank takes them. US bills or peso .
The WI-Fi is extra charge $ 50 per week, Premium Club rooms got free and all another privileges,
but is about $ 500 more per person per week.
We use the Sun Wing vacation and there is no complains.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great resort very good value, This was our third trip to this resort and we will be back for a fourth. Food is good , drink is good, beaches are awesome, staff works really hard and is very friendly.This is a large resort and we enjoy walking between the properties, the beach and caribe are the least expensive resorts on the property and in my opinion the best, best part of the beach and people are quite friendly

Room Tip: coba is close to beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I ended up booking this trip very last minute (booked Friday night/ dep Sat morning), so I didn't really get a chance to see any of the reviews before hand. I was a bit overwhelmed by how busy the resort lobby is upon arrival - plenty of people coming and going. Front desk people had a basic grasp of language but enough to get me checked in and on my way. Overall, I was satisfied with the resort (I have nothing to compare it to) but found all the staff very pleasant and friendly. Housekeeping missed my room once, or failed to leave any towels. I am not a beer drinker so it would have been nice to have some other alcoholic beverages in room, but the water and soft drinks were fine. Restaurants were okay, the best one was the steak house (can't remember the name). Buffet was average, nothing to write home about. I arrived on Christmas Eve 2011 (despite what the dates say below), so I was able to participate in their festivities (special xmas meal). Lots of walking to the beach but I didn't mind, good exercise - however, I did get lost a few times because of the buildings all looking the same and getting confused by the numbering. I really had a fabulous time and would return. The only thing I didn't like was the shuttle from Cancun to resort, it took about 2hrs as we dropped everyone else off along the way. I may hire a private shuttle next time I am in the area. Beach was supposed to be the better out of the 4 locations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not a bad resort. Food was good and good variety but same food with for six days gets tiring. Beautiful beaches, pools are not heated and weather was chilly so pool was colder than ocean. Took some photo's with a lemur only to get bitten and they laughed it off. Asked for a rabies certificate and they never produced one. Fridge was broken and smelled of stale beer. Took 36 hours to get one replaced. Only beer is on tap and tropical drinks had too much sugar in them. Can;t get into the reservation restaurants as they are booked. Could hear the people walking on the floor above so make sure you get a room on the top floor

Room Tip: Take the top floor to avoid hearing people walk above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went for a special birthday, great resort , very clean......Great beaches.Food was great buffets are the best.Activities great, pool bar was great......Will go back again very soon. Would recommend this over and over again. Can not think of one bad thing. Went with agroup of people.The top floor over looking the garden is the best , nice patio with a nice view of the ocean, corner unit........Can I go now

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel itself is nice enough, but the staff was less than helpful at all times. Our phones were stolen right out of the safe in our room, which was locked. Some of the hotel staff have access to the safes in case a patron is unable to open the safe. After we realized our phones had been taken we alerted the front desk, this was at about 10:00 pm. No one came to our room until 12:30 am. One front desk employee along with two security employees came to our room and tore it apart making sure we didn't just misplace them. After they tore apart the room, we had to fill out security forms saying what happened, etc. We were supposed to hear back from the hotel within 72 hours after their investigation. They never got back to us and we checked back constantly and all they would say is "we will let you know tomorrow." Almost a week went by and we are back home and have still heard nothing. We had to get our travel agent to try and get us a copy of the security report so we could be reimbursed through our insurance company. It took them over a week to send him a copy.
The staff there do not care one bit about customer service.
Also they failed to inform us our flight was delayed and sent us packing only to show up at a deserted airport at 3:00 am. We spent the night stranded in Cancun with no phones, and no idea what was going on with our flights. Every other person on our flight was informed by their hotel that the flight was cancelled, and allowed to stay another night.
Nice enough resort, but take your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.