We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited the Barcelo Maya Beach again this past January and was truly blown away by the service. I started out by emailing the hotel with a few questions and they were promptly and courteously responded to.
We were welcomed into our room with a welcome letter and a bottle of champagne and fruit (nice touch). We were in the Club Premium section and had a peek a boo view of the ocean and a view of the pool. We had access to free wi-fi and did not have any issues with it except for a couple of times in the room when the balcony door was closed but as soon as we opened the door it was ok.
Housekeeping was fabulous and kept our room very neat. They even left us a pink raft at our door when the room next door checked out and left it there (we passed it on to someone else when we left).
The front desk was extremely helpful as we had to go there a couple of times because one of my son's room keys kept deactivating and they were very nice and replaced it (although they didn't ask for any ID which was a bit concerning). Another time I had to ask them to help me use the printer and they just let me print to their printer and brought me that pages when they were done.
The food was very good and we always found something that we liked. Breakfast was a favourite as it is awesome to start your day with a Mimosa! We ate a 3 a la cartes...the Mexican, the Japanese and the Seafood. The seafood was our favourite.Lunch was almost always at the beach restaurants.
I had a deep tissue massage at the spa while I was there and it was really good. My son had a chance to use they gym facilities and he said it was great and it had everything that he needed.
Snorkelling was really good although I didn't see any turtles this time I did see a huge ray and a sea snake and lots of fish.
I loved our stay last year but the stay this year was even better it was 10 days as opposed to 7 and much more relaxing. I love everything about this hotel and can hardly wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,309
    1,489
    489
    246
    168
See reviews for
1,431
1,693
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a two week stay at the Barcelo Beach resort. Spent the first week in the Tropical due to overbooked Beach so up grade was nice surprise. Second week we returned to Beach due to hard mattress in Tropical.Excellent service and great staff. Very clean. Kitchen tour was very interesting.Will be returning next year with family

Room Tip: It appears the King size beds have newer mattress. Two double beds in Tropical were very uncomfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Barcelo has 5 complexes in Puerto Aventuras. I booked through cheaptickets.com. got a good deal for the time of year. Fly into Cancun airport. I recommend you book transport to and from the hotel when you call to confirm your reservation. You will save half the cost of other transports. The hotel is about an hour from the airport. We stayed at Maya Beach complex, the low end part of the complex with the Palace being the most expensive. We did not feel let down though. You get access to the entire bay. You just cannot wander into the more expensive hotel areas and restaurants. The bay is beautiful, calm and clean. The staff was wonderful and if you show the slightest sign of trying to speak Espanol you will be rewarded with smiles and great service. It is an all inclusive resort so you will wear the plastic bracelets for duration, but what I loved about this place was that tipping was included in the price. One bar is 24/7 and we enjoyed virgin piña coladas whenever we wanted. Many times we asked for drinks to go (they are put in plastic glasses for safety) take our drinks and sit at the beach in lounge chairs in the evening. Hardly anyone on the beach then. Food is plentiful and often, there is almost always some buffet open until 10pm. I highly recommend the pork dishes. They know how to cook pork! The souvenir shops are sparse in goods, but you can take the highway shuttle for about 20 pesos into Playa del Carmen(one way 23 miles away). and do all the shopping for souvenirs you want. High end shops are there too. You can get the ferry to go to Cozumel for 7 bucks one way from there. Tulum and Xcaret are only a few miles away (10 and 4 miles approx) and the highway shuttle can take you there too. We had booked this place as an afterthought when we had booked a one week cruise and wanted another week in the Caribbean. We were not disappointed to stay here. We enjoyed this more than the cruise. There is a nice spot to snorkel to the left of the pier where the first jetty of rocks is. The best snorkel trip is through the charter in the hut by the watercraft area. You can book a charter that will take you over to beautiful Punta Sur marine preserve at Cozumel. Highly recommend doing this if you are a snorkeler or diver. Make sure you take plenty of snacks. Food is not too good at the hotel they offer lunch in Cozumel. Also get a wetsuit at this hotel. No charge to use it. You'll be in the water a while and get cold. You can always take it off. We had long Lycra suits on but we still got cold. We went in December 2012. Many people come from all over the world to stay here. Very cosmopolitan! My only diss, the beds could be softer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this is a very nice resort beach is great lots of beach chairs food was pretty good
one problem they need more bar tenders at the pool bars you go to get a cool refreshing beverage only to find one bartender and lots of thirsty people waiting
other than that would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this resort!! The beach is amazing and very calm water. You can walk out in the water forever and swim with the fish! Rooms were very nice, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms! The only complaint I would have is the lack of outdoor areas to sit and have a cocktail or two in the evening. Would definitely go back to Barcelo Maya Beach!!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Priviledged rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Beach resort at the beginning of January 2013. We had some issues to work through such the bathroom flooding the first couple nights, and our safe glitching a few times during the week, but overall it was a great resort. For our troubles with the safe, the hotel provided us with a bottle of champagne and fruit. This is a VERY LARGE resort, at least by our standards. It is essentially 5 resorts-in-one. The restaurant and buffet options were very good, and the pools and activities across the resort were fun.

The beach was very nice and we never had trouble finding beach chairs during our stay (keep in mind this timeframe right after the New Year is considered a 'low period' for travel). The beach itself was very nice, however, there were a few rocky areas in the water so sand shoes were nice to have. We were hoping to do some snorkeling off the beach, but it was quite breezy during our stay which made the water a little to choppy for snorkeling.

The food quality was fantastic, and the selection was way more than what we expected. The Barcelo was recommended as having good food, but we were very surprised by the variety put on for every meal. The main buffets were not what I would classify as a typical buffet, it took you 5 minutes just to peruse the selection to get an idea of what was there before you decided what to get. There was always a great selection of 'local' dishes as well as typical 'western' food fare. A child's buffet was also included which contained some usual kid food fare such as burgers, chicken fingers, fries, etc. The quality of food and service was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Don't get me wrong. This resort is beautiful, The service was very good and the food better than average. However, we paid for an all inclusive resort and upgraded to premium everything. Evidently if you're a wine drinker that doesn't mean anything.
Our first meal in one of their "fine restaurants", the waiter told us the house wine was terrible and handed us their wine menu . Cheapest wines on the menu approx $45 US per bottle.
To make a long story short, he was right, the house wines are indeed terrible, surprising for a Spanish resort and certainly not what we were expecting for an all inclusive resort that serves premium liquor. If we'd known we would have brought our own wine.
Their wine menu had a very limited selection ( for eg. one mediocre pinot noir) of wines most marked up 300-500%! And to make it even worse, every restaurant on the property had the same wine menu. Their wine store also sold primarily the same wines at the same markup.
Obviously the profit they make from selling wine far outwieghs their concerns for customer satisfaction,,,,,,,,never going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;