We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Maya Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this resort!! The beach is amazing and very calm water. You can walk out in the water forever and swim with the fish! Rooms were very nice, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms! The only complaint I would have is the lack of outdoor areas to sit and have a cocktail or two in the evening. Would definitely go back to Barcelo Maya Beach!!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Priviledged rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,150
    1,370
    454
    234
    161
See reviews for
1327
1537
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Beach resort at the beginning of January 2013. We had some issues to work through such the bathroom flooding the first couple nights, and our safe glitching a few times during the week, but overall it was a great resort. For our troubles with the safe, the hotel provided us with a bottle of champagne and fruit. This is a VERY LARGE resort, at least by our standards. It is essentially 5 resorts-in-one. The restaurant and buffet options were very good, and the pools and activities across the resort were fun.

The beach was very nice and we never had trouble finding beach chairs during our stay (keep in mind this timeframe right after the New Year is considered a 'low period' for travel). The beach itself was very nice, however, there were a few rocky areas in the water so sand shoes were nice to have. We were hoping to do some snorkeling off the beach, but it was quite breezy during our stay which made the water a little to choppy for snorkeling.

The food quality was fantastic, and the selection was way more than what we expected. The Barcelo was recommended as having good food, but we were very surprised by the variety put on for every meal. The main buffets were not what I would classify as a typical buffet, it took you 5 minutes just to peruse the selection to get an idea of what was there before you decided what to get. There was always a great selection of 'local' dishes as well as typical 'western' food fare. A child's buffet was also included which contained some usual kid food fare such as burgers, chicken fingers, fries, etc. The quality of food and service was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Don't get me wrong. This resort is beautiful, The service was very good and the food better than average. However, we paid for an all inclusive resort and upgraded to premium everything. Evidently if you're a wine drinker that doesn't mean anything.
Our first meal in one of their "fine restaurants", the waiter told us the house wine was terrible and handed us their wine menu . Cheapest wines on the menu approx $45 US per bottle.
To make a long story short, he was right, the house wines are indeed terrible, surprising for a Spanish resort and certainly not what we were expecting for an all inclusive resort that serves premium liquor. If we'd known we would have brought our own wine.
Their wine menu had a very limited selection ( for eg. one mediocre pinot noir) of wines most marked up 300-500%! And to make it even worse, every restaurant on the property had the same wine menu. Their wine store also sold primarily the same wines at the same markup.
Obviously the profit they make from selling wine far outwieghs their concerns for customer satisfaction,,,,,,,,never going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This review is a little late as we went in the first week of August. The weather was wonderful. rained one afternoon for about 10 minutes and then cleared right back up. My husband and I stayed in the Beach section and other family members stayed in the Caribe section. Rooms are nice and clean and large, stayed on the second floor and balcony was very nice and large. Beach was amazing! Areas for snorkeling and other areas just pure white sand. Best of both worlds! My husband is a vegetarian and the food was pretty good, he did not go hungry but by the end of the week he was getting pretty burned out with tortillas and what ever he could find to stuff in them. But everybody else seemed to enjoy the buffets. The staff at the resort all very friendly and hard workers. One thing we did miss at the resort was the wildlife, not many Iguanas or anything. Having been to the Grand Palladium twice right down the road where there is wildlife everywhere, we really did miss it! But we did see one racoon one night in the hallway eating a piece if fruit. But anyways we did get a good price for the week and was a nice family vacation. My brother his wife and their 2 kids it was there first beach vacation anywhere and the just loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are a family of four with two sons ages 3 and 5. In a few weeks we will be returning to Barcelo Maya Beach for the fifth time. We went once before our kids were born when it was still quite a small resort, and have been back three more times with kids since it has grown. We have stayed at five other large reorts in the Mayan Riviera and this is by far our favourite. The beach, pools and grounds are beautiful, the buffet food is amazing (none of us has ever had any stomach trouble), the swim up bars are fabulous, the staff is friendly. We love the pools, kids' waterslides, kids' bungee trampolining, mini putt golfing, marketplace and swimming with the fish off the pier. It's also big enough that my husband and I can take turns running around the resort for exercise and they have a well equipped gym and spa. I can't say anything negative about this resort and highly recommend it. We have traveled with our kids to Australia three times, South America, South Africa, Europe and Asia and this resort in Mexico is their favorite!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this resort in 2002. This was our first trip to Mexico and this resort is part of the reason we have fallen in love with the people and place that is Mexico. Some of the things that stand out for us were, snorkeling off the pier, Dos Equis on tap (our favourite), amazing beach, sparkling pools, excellent food at the buffets and a la carte (chicken tortilla lime soup), friendly and efficient staff. This resort has doubled in size and I am curious to return as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from Barcelo Maya Beach Resort for a wedding. I was so disappointed and would probably never consider going back to Mexico, let alone Barcelo. This is my first trip to Mexico and unfortunately the experience was herrific. Let's start from the beginning - We were a group of about 35 people attending a wedding and upon our arrival we were never served a welcome drink, (we arrived at 12 noon). Our checkin at the hotel was at 3:00, and had to wait; however that was fine because we had access to the facilities. After that first day, everything went downhill from there. I don't think that there was one person in our group that did not get sick, vomiting and the runs. Even one other tourist (unfortunate for him) was vomiting in the dinning room as we were eating breakfast, and we obviously had to leave. The service in the buffet was terrible. We were with a couple of kids and sometimes had to wait 1/2 hour at the dinning room before getting a high chair and getting service. The buffet was BORING!! No matter what the theme was, it was always the same food being served and there was absolutely no variety. The service at the bars were terrible. We had to wait and wait and sometimes just never got served. I could go on and on, but for those who don't believe, go to the BARCELO MAYA BEACH RESORT and see for yourself. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.