We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Summer trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This review is a little late as we went in the first week of August. The weather was wonderful. rained one afternoon for about 10 minutes and then cleared right back up. My husband and I stayed in the Beach section and other family members stayed in the Caribe section. Rooms are nice and clean and large, stayed on the second floor and balcony was very nice and large. Beach was amazing! Areas for snorkeling and other areas just pure white sand. Best of both worlds! My husband is a vegetarian and the food was pretty good, he did not go hungry but by the end of the week he was getting pretty burned out with tortillas and what ever he could find to stuff in them. But everybody else seemed to enjoy the buffets. The staff at the resort all very friendly and hard workers. One thing we did miss at the resort was the wildlife, not many Iguanas or anything. Having been to the Grand Palladium twice right down the road where there is wildlife everywhere, we really did miss it! But we did see one racoon one night in the hallway eating a piece if fruit. But anyways we did get a good price for the week and was a nice family vacation. My brother his wife and their 2 kids it was there first beach vacation anywhere and the just loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,370
    1,521
    494
    249
    170
See reviews for
1,451
1,737
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are a family of four with two sons ages 3 and 5. In a few weeks we will be returning to Barcelo Maya Beach for the fifth time. We went once before our kids were born when it was still quite a small resort, and have been back three more times with kids since it has grown. We have stayed at five other large reorts in the Mayan Riviera and this is by far our favourite. The beach, pools and grounds are beautiful, the buffet food is amazing (none of us has ever had any stomach trouble), the swim up bars are fabulous, the staff is friendly. We love the pools, kids' waterslides, kids' bungee trampolining, mini putt golfing, marketplace and swimming with the fish off the pier. It's also big enough that my husband and I can take turns running around the resort for exercise and they have a well equipped gym and spa. I can't say anything negative about this resort and highly recommend it. We have traveled with our kids to Australia three times, South America, South Africa, Europe and Asia and this resort in Mexico is their favorite!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this resort in 2002. This was our first trip to Mexico and this resort is part of the reason we have fallen in love with the people and place that is Mexico. Some of the things that stand out for us were, snorkeling off the pier, Dos Equis on tap (our favourite), amazing beach, sparkling pools, excellent food at the buffets and a la carte (chicken tortilla lime soup), friendly and efficient staff. This resort has doubled in size and I am curious to return as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from Barcelo Maya Beach Resort for a wedding. I was so disappointed and would probably never consider going back to Mexico, let alone Barcelo. This is my first trip to Mexico and unfortunately the experience was herrific. Let's start from the beginning - We were a group of about 35 people attending a wedding and upon our arrival we were never served a welcome drink, (we arrived at 12 noon). Our checkin at the hotel was at 3:00, and had to wait; however that was fine because we had access to the facilities. After that first day, everything went downhill from there. I don't think that there was one person in our group that did not get sick, vomiting and the runs. Even one other tourist (unfortunate for him) was vomiting in the dinning room as we were eating breakfast, and we obviously had to leave. The service in the buffet was terrible. We were with a couple of kids and sometimes had to wait 1/2 hour at the dinning room before getting a high chair and getting service. The buffet was BORING!! No matter what the theme was, it was always the same food being served and there was absolutely no variety. The service at the bars were terrible. We had to wait and wait and sometimes just never got served. I could go on and on, but for those who don't believe, go to the BARCELO MAYA BEACH RESORT and see for yourself. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were at the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Dec. 22- 29th. This was our first experience on a Christmas vacation so we were not sure what to expect.

We found the check in a little slow, especially after a long day of travel.

We were in room 2111. We thought it was a fantastic room. It was a Junior suite. Which gave us more living space and a sofa that turned into a little bed. Which worked great for our family of 4, which included 2 teenagers. The room was clean, always. The mini-bar/fridge was stocked with a great assortment of drinks, and a few snacks everyday. Our room was a ground floor room, which looked right out at the pool. Which we thought was great. We spent a lot of time at that pool. It was a 2 minute walk to the beach buffet, and another 30 seconds to the beach.

The beach at the Maya beach end of the resort (the resort encompasses 5 resorts) was the best. Few rocks/coral. We went without swim shoes. But for snorkeling by the pier, we which we had them.

The snorkeling at this resort is best off the pier. But swim away from all the 'ugly' fish being fed. There are a lot of beautiful fish over in the coral.

We ate breakfast and dinner every day in the main buffet by the lobby. We found the service, selection and cleaniliness of the buffet great! There was always something for everyone. There were never any lines. And our glasses were always full. The only time this was different was Christmas Eve. They had a special dinner that night, and that was the biggest crowd we saw all week.

We went on the Segway tour of the resort while there. And that was a lot of fun. We saw parts of the resort we wouldn't have seen otherwise. Highly recommend this.

We didn't participate in many of the activities, not our thing, but the staff looked great!

We spent some extra money and went to the Japanese resort over at the other resort. We were not able to get the 'show table', but our meal was delicious nevertheless. Highly recommend that.

The only 'negative' comments I would have:
- check in was too slow
- there is no pool side or beach side service - I actually found this surprising for a resort of this calibre
- no towel art (not a big deal, but first time there wasn't any)

Overall, of the 5 AI resorts we have been too, this is one of our favorites. And I would go back to a Barcelo anytime.

Room Tip: Have an understanding of where your room is, it could increase the amount of walking you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great food,,,All Incl....the best wasy to go.
great service ,,From check in to check out ,,,
great beach,,long walks ,,
been there 3 times ,,loved it,
Great for couples,,
Take a taxi back to the airport at then end of your trip,,saves from standing in longlines and arriving way to early
hope to go back,,

Room Tip: There all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just got back from the Barcelo and after reading the previous reviews I am wondering if they stayed in the same hotel. I could find no fault with the hotel at all. Arrival was fine checked in quickly and easily with a welcome drink at reception.

Room; Our room was lovely, it was spotlessly clean had everything we needed, the bed was so comfortable and the pillows I wanted to bring home, like sleeping on marshmallows. Bed was changed everyday as well as towels and bathroom bits and bobs.

Food; The buffet was extensive and I thought catered to everyone's taste I am a rather picky eater but I never got bored with what was on offer, the a la carte dinners were also of good standard and it was nice to break away from the buffet for a more romantic dinner.

Facilities; Pool was huge and more than enough loungers to go around and the beach was beautiful, it is a tad rough under the feet getting in the sea and a bit of a drop initially but then gets sandy, however, I would recommend bringing swim shoes as there are rocks and coral the further you go out and I cut my foot and had to buy shoes there. There was plenty going on around the pool and on the beach during the day if you wanted to get involved but if you wanted peace and quite it is spacious enough to get some. Snorkeling at the pier was amazing we bought our own gear in Tulum which was a fraction of the cost in the hotel or Playa de Carmen.

Entertainment; Loads to do during the day, there was a show on every night in the theatre, we even got to see a ballet they put on the nutcracker which I was very surprised to admit was very good. I was a bit upset I never got to see a mariachi band and then on my last day there a band turned up and played at the bar.

Excursions; can't really comment on these as we didn't book any as we wanted a quite relaxing holiday, the only thing we did book was Coco Bongo which was worth every penny and a great night out.

Getting about; the only way to get about was by collectivo, these are the local mini-bus and cost 30 peso's per person no matter where you are going. You can get cabs but why bother. The collectivo went from Tulum to Play del Carmen and stopped right outside the hotel (main road not reception).. If you are going to Tulum they expect you to get off at the ruins, which is fine if you are going to the ruins, but if you want a taste of the real mexico get off at Tulum Centro, it is a bit more like a poor mans Playa but you can buy your souvenirs here at a fraction of the costs in Playa. Another plus for the hotel is that it is only across the road from the cenotes or just jump on a collectivo to the ones further away. Apparently the most beautiful one is walking distance from the hotel and it saves you a lot of money to pay at the cenotes than book it through either the rep or hotel.

Overall; we had a fantastic time and I would recommend this to anyone, beautiful hotel, beautiful surroundings some fantastic wild life around, we saw monkeys, iguana's, sereque's a host of different birds, was amazing. I am currently trying to convince my husband that we should go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.