We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for two weeks until Christmas day 2102.
Everyone at this resort were helpful and smiling. The food was very good at the main buffet considering the numbers involved and were not repetitious with plenty of choice even for a two week stay. However the a la carte restaurants did not meet the same standard.
The beach was good for swimming if a bit rocky in places. The facilities ( including a 5* Padi dive school were great, with noisy activities kept way offshore.
The only criticism is of the guests who it seems could not move without food or drink in hand, the empties being left everywhere for the ever attentive staff to rapidly collect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,542
    1,628
    537
    256
    182
See reviews for
1,581
1,859
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a lovely resort, the beach is incredible. We walked up the beach to the side by side Barcelo Maya partner resort (there are 3 in a row) and swam with turtles and sting rays. The resort has beautiful walkways from the entrance to the beach, the pools are lovely although the beach was so beautiful we didn't go in the pools. The restaurants and bars are located throughout, very convenient. Food was okay as well. Staff were friendly. Bed was great. I'd say that everyone would thoroughly enjoy this resort. The beach and snorkling were fantastic. We brought our own snorkling gear. There were kayaks available, we took them out. There was a nice little coral reef and a dock. Very good trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights over Christmas. We were very pleased with the location in the area and it's proximity to the places we wanted to see. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We found the best waitress in Mexico at this resort, Abdi, who was working the Beach Buffett. She was unbelievable. The food was all good.
Great choice for a family when it comes to the beach. The resort beach is Somewhat nestled in a cove. The beach is excellent, and the water doesn't get deep for quite a while. Lots of chairs, no need to worry.
The only criticism I can offer refers to the terms the resort uses. We booked in the Premium, which we assumed would give you a little extra, yet Premium gave you the least services! This really only affected us when it came to picking a la carte restaurants, which only gave us 2 choices. And the restaurants are chosen by the resort for you, so that wasn't very good.
We would return to this place.

Room Tip: Pick 3rd floor for more privacy and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This resort was amazing the food was good very clean and it would be great for family's or couples. My wife and I like it so much we want to take our little ones back with us. All the staff that we encountered were so friendly. Some of the most hard working people I have ever met and always smiling. Love this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked this trip a few weeks before departure not knowing what to expect, as it was my first time to Mexico. We had a great time. The resort is large and beautiful. Completely walkable, unlike what some other reviewers have said. The food and bar was good. We ate at the buffets for lunch and one or two dinners. We arrived late (around 10pm) and found there was nowhere to eat. That was a little disappointing, even if there had been a snack bar or something it would have been nice. The beach at our hotel (maya beach) is quiet and nice, always an abundance of beach chairs. Further down at the other resorts (caribe and tropical) is where all the beach activities are. We found out pretty quickly that we could eat and drink at all the resorts during the day (except palace which we never made it to) so we didn't have to go back to our resort for lunch or drinks. We ate at the spanish, mexican and steak house a la cartes. All of them were very good. Not really anything negative to say about this resort. It takes about 2 hours from the airport if you take the bus provided by your airline with stops at other hotels. If you get the chance, go to Xel-Ha as an excursion. The hotel is really good at pricing and suggesting excursions targeted to your interests.

Room Tip: Ask for building 2. We were on the ground floor and didn't find it very noisy. Walked off our ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Can't get any better for the price you pay! Great staff, good food, nice restaurant selection, beautiful landscaping, clean rooms. I can't say enough about the great experience we had. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is the first time we have been to Mexico and the first time we have stayed in a Barcelo Hotel and would definately go back.

It took us an hour to get to the resort from the airport (we did not have to make any other drops), we were greeted with a drink and the check in was easy and pleasant. The receptionist gave us lots of information about the resort, outlining the different areas and advising that we could use facilities in the Beach and Caribe areas.

Our room was on the ground floor of the Labna building. It was large with two double beds, a large flatscreen TV, large bathroom, plenty of clean towels, fully stocked minibar (coke, sprite, fanta, corona, joice & peanuts) free safe and slippers and bathrobes were provided for your use. There are also ice despensers dotted around the building for your use.

The room was clean and was cleaned to a high standard every day. We also had fresh towels every day as well as a knock on the door about 4pm to see if we needed any more towels. The minibar was stocked up regularly. If you want clean sheets you have to let them know by hanging a notice on the door.

The beach at the 'Beach end' of the resport was brilliant - white sands, blue sea, nice sunlougers. This was also the quiter end of the beach which suited us perfectly. The middle part of the beach is busier and is where they do the activities. Other parts of the beach seemed to be a little rockier.

The pools were great and were clean. Around the pool area there are lots of sunbeds and hammocks. It's really sunny and hot in Mexico and there were shaded areas around the pool which I thought was good.

We mainly ate in the buffet areas. Food was a good standard and there was always plently of choice. If you can't find something that you like here then you won't anywhere! We found it always to be well cooked. They have a different theme every night - spanish, mexican, itialian etc. In the evening they always have a big fresh join of meat cooked which always looked great.

We did go to the Spanish restaurant a couple of times and the food there was awesome. Would definately recommend.

The staff generally work really hard to please the guests. As soon as your drink is empty it is being filled up and they really can't do enough for you, even if you're not leaving a tip that day. The staff around the hotel generally work really hard and always greet you with a smile.

The grounds of the hotel are beautful and immaculate.

In the evening they put on a different show every night in the theatre which we thought was really good for guests. We didn't see any but didn't hear any complaints about them.

Finally, we found this to be an excellent hotel and would definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the second floor as sometimes it can be noisy on the ground floor with people walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.