We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited Barcelo Maya Beach with my family last winter. We all had a great time hanging out in the pools and swim up bars. The drinks were great and the food very good. The beach was clean and lots of room to spread out. The shows in the evening were hit or miss - some were very entertaining and others were cheesy. If you have them set up any excursions for you, beware - they're really pushy and work hard to upsell you. Overall, a great place for a vacation, and family friendly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,716
    1,752
    580
    271
    188
See reviews for
1,711
2,027
40
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

room: we were in the veracruz building. The beds are on the harder side but you're so tired that it didn't matter! the room was always well kept and clean! the room had an amazing bathtub that we used often:) we had no problem with our room.
Oh I should mention we got upgraded to tropical and I would recommend booking tropical/ colonial rather than beach because you just get more options and better service.

beach: PERFECT!! perfect for snorkeling ( up by the palace we saw turtles, starfish and colorful fish) and the beach in front of the beach section is perfect of you want a relaxing sandy swim. so beautiful.

pools: amazing and HUGE! sooo much fun swimming in these pools! and they are designed so beautifully.

activities: we took advantage of the free non motor activities such as sailing the catamaran and using the water trike. both were easily accessible and so much fun! they even offer sailing lessons.

food: I have no idea what people are complaining about, there's SO much food , you'd have to be extremely picky to not find something to eat! my favourite was the pasta making stations. mmmm and we went to Kyoto & Santa fe and they were really delicious.

Entertainment: this is a hit and miss. when its good its REALLY good but when its had its painful. we enjoyed the Mexican show and the circus and the battle of the sexes! very fun. we.didn't like the karaoke.. it was terrible. we didn't like the Cuban show either, pretty much a strip show.

we flew with west jet and we were very glad we did. They set us up with beat day travel and they were very helpful. also the front desk is amazing and so helpful

overall a perfect trip and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As an all-inclusive resort there were so many perks. We stayed at the Palace which offered several pool options, endless food possibilities, beautiful ocean front. We never had to look for a spot by the pool or on the beach, never had to wait to be seated in any of the restaurants. We always had a cold drink in our hand and something to do, whether it was an excursion off of the property or activities at the resort. The staff was more than friendly and helpful so I felt like a queen for a week!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oaxaca rooms and it was so quiet. Carry some $1's - you cannot believe how far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very large complex. with easy access to other hotels in the same chain. Staff were friendly and helpful, buffet meals were enjoyable and the a la carte restauranrs were excellent.We enjoyed
rhw bars and the all-inclusive service. and the ambience of the place, designed so you felt tou were in the midst of the jungle but at the same time in a beautiful resorr. The beach and the pools were well -kept and very pleasant. Even the exercise sessions in the pool were fun.
Yucatan itself is amazing with many Mayan sites eaily visited. All in all we had a marvellous holiday
and would be happy to return or to try a Barcelo resort elsewhere.

Room Tip: Accommodation blocks were low-rise, and we had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The site is beautiful. The Maya Beach was closed, so we were upgraded to the Tropical ( on the same resort), which was very nice. Staff was nice and helpful throughout our stay. The first night the air conditioning was making a rattle noise, we called the front desk, they came to fix it and sent us a bottle of champagne for our disruption. The beach is beautiful and clean, but bring swimming shoes for the ocean, has it is very rocky. The "A la carte " restaurants where a little disapointing, the portions were very small and you felt rushed to get out of the restaurant. I have to share the point of someone who wrote earlier, we also a convention while we were there, and they do take over the resort, loud music at the beach, etc.... The ride from the airport is about 1 hour to 1:15 minutes depending on many stops at other hotels you make.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This has been one of my best holidays: everything was perfect.. sea, beaches, food, entertainment, structure.. Moreover we did some wonderful trips arranged by the hotel team and we've been really satisfied.. Unfortunately we did not find good weather :-( and we stayed there just for one week! But this was unpredictable! I'd suggest Barcelo Maya Beach to everyone, especially couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Barcelo is a beautiful resort and has a beautiful beach, however the staff and the overall experience was awful. During the 10 days that we were there they had two conventions back to back that took over the entire resort. The first convention was a total of 3000 people. And the 2nd one was a total of 2000. We found that the resort was more accomadating to the convention people and not to the guest of the resort. The convention took over the resort, from blocking off one side of the beach to accomadate them, to closing down the nightly entertainment in the theather so they could have their party's. Seems like the staff were over worked and they became very rude and had a lack of energy towards the guest. The front desk staff was horrible, not only were they super slow in serving you but they gave you so much attitude and would not go beyond any measure to asist us in any complaints we had. Everyday the maids would forget at least one thing, if it was forgetting to replenishing toilet paper or towels for example. We found black mold in our shower, and the pillows were awful. The Buffet food for breakfeast, lunch and dinner was the same thing everyday.The only consistency that we found was the horrible service this resort provided. We will never go back to the Barcelo again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
10.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#2 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#11 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.