We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful time !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The site is beautiful. The Maya Beach was closed, so we were upgraded to the Tropical ( on the same resort), which was very nice. Staff was nice and helpful throughout our stay. The first night the air conditioning was making a rattle noise, we called the front desk, they came to fix it and sent us a bottle of champagne for our disruption. The beach is beautiful and clean, but bring swimming shoes for the ocean, has it is very rocky. The "A la carte " restaurants where a little disapointing, the portions were very small and you felt rushed to get out of the restaurant. I have to share the point of someone who wrote earlier, we also a convention while we were there, and they do take over the resort, loud music at the beach, etc.... The ride from the airport is about 1 hour to 1:15 minutes depending on many stops at other hotels you make.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,543
    1,630
    537
    256
    182
See reviews for
1,582
1,861
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This has been one of my best holidays: everything was perfect.. sea, beaches, food, entertainment, structure.. Moreover we did some wonderful trips arranged by the hotel team and we've been really satisfied.. Unfortunately we did not find good weather :-( and we stayed there just for one week! But this was unpredictable! I'd suggest Barcelo Maya Beach to everyone, especially couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Barcelo is a beautiful resort and has a beautiful beach, however the staff and the overall experience was awful. During the 10 days that we were there they had two conventions back to back that took over the entire resort. The first convention was a total of 3000 people. And the 2nd one was a total of 2000. We found that the resort was more accomadating to the convention people and not to the guest of the resort. The convention took over the resort, from blocking off one side of the beach to accomadate them, to closing down the nightly entertainment in the theather so they could have their party's. Seems like the staff were over worked and they became very rude and had a lack of energy towards the guest. The front desk staff was horrible, not only were they super slow in serving you but they gave you so much attitude and would not go beyond any measure to asist us in any complaints we had. Everyday the maids would forget at least one thing, if it was forgetting to replenishing toilet paper or towels for example. We found black mold in our shower, and the pillows were awful. The Buffet food for breakfeast, lunch and dinner was the same thing everyday.The only consistency that we found was the horrible service this resort provided. We will never go back to the Barcelo again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had time off at this time and booked this hotel based on price, available dates and our travel agents recommendation.

Overall, the resort/service/staff and experience was great!

We were told the Maya Beach was closed but we were moved to the Maya Caribe, which is all part of the same resort and did not affect our check in at all. There was no line to check in, the front desk staff warmly welcomed us and even put up with our rudimentary Spanish language skills. Very professional and courteous.

Room:
We were housed in the Sayil part of the hotel on the ground floor. The room was spotless, smelled fresh and clean and was also quite large. Beautiful king sized bed with good linen. The mattress and pillows were a little hard for my liking, but my partner liked that. In room safe was free and easy to use. The bathroom was a good size with a good bathtub and rain shower-head. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were in a dispenser on the wall, and they smelled really nice. Towels were huge, fluffy and good quality. Housekeeping was AMAZING and our room was kept spotless the whole time we were there. We always had a full mini bar and lots of towels. We had a slight problem with the water level rising in the tub as we took a shower, I called the front desk and they said they would send someone in a minute, literally a minute later a repair man was knocking at the door, LOL.

One negative about the room is that they aren't very sound proof. The hallways seem to amplify every sound so people that are returning to their rooms can be heard like they are inside your own rooms. You can hear your neighbours next door and the neighbours above you as well.

Food/Drinks

We were given 3 coupons to the a la carte restaurants but we only managed to use one in the Spanish Restaurant that is located in the lobby of Caribe. It was excellent. I highly recommend trying it.

The restaurant located just past the lobby was where we had most of our meals. The service was unbelievable! Attentive but not intrusive staff. When we got up to get a plate of food and came back to our table our napkins were refolded and more often than not someone was there to pull out my seat for me. Water and drinks never seemed to be empty, as the staff really made sure you were not wanting anything. We have never tipped at every meal in an all inclusive until this place, the staff really worked hard we showed our appreciation with a small offering. There was a lot of choices, a lot of food, it was pretty good, and the area was kept very clean. they had a vegetarian table and a kids table and they had theme nights like Mediterranean, Italian, Chinese, Mexican, etc. They served breakfast, lunch and dinner at reasonable times. Thank you to one waiter in particular who served us at many dinners, Alberto. he told us he had just started working there, he sure knew what he was doing for a new guy! :) We sat in his section many times and he always took excellent care of us, and others, everyone seemed to like him, a very nice guy!

Captain John's was open for lunch and snacks until 630pm, We went a couple times when we missed the buffet for one reason or another (side trip, siesta, etc) The food was good, service was not. On one occasion no one even asked if we wanted a drink, and it wasn't even busy. The two other times we went in there we were served, but it seemed like the staff almost resented the fact we were in there.

Bar service at the theatre was excellent. Bar service at the pool was just okay. Drinks were good, lots of choices and both the pool and theatre bartenders knew how to mix a drink! Yum!


Activities:
Lots of water sports, cool classes to take (we didn't do any of them), a great big pool with shade and full sun, tons of hammocks to lay about and nap in the shade) swim up bar and fountain. The beach was nice and well kept with lots of chairs and space.


Misc:
Great shopping with very nice (not pushy or aggressive) vendors (I really liked this). Very reasonable prices for cool stuff. Excursions were numerous and information could be found all over the hotel, we went on a couple, check out my reviews for them.

A huge thank you to the resort, we had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had booked a family wedding here months in advance. The Barcelo switched our reservation between hotels 3 times. The fourth change we only found out about once we arrived and tried to check in at the wrong hotel.

Management didn't have a room available for our grandmother who is a recent amputee and must have a disabled room. The room was requested when the holiday was booked.

The only guests in our group who got the sleeping arrangements they requested were ones who bribed the reception staff.

Half way through the week the hotel manager called half the people in our group and told them to change hotels.

The week was a disaster. One stressful incident after another. These are just the highlights.

Never go here. And definitely never travel with a group here.

Room Tip: Bring bribery money. Or just don't go at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my wife went here in oct 2012 we stayed for ten days. upon arriving we were told that the maya beach was closed for renovations and we were upgraded to the maya tropical ( not really an upgrade as all four hotels maya beach, maya carribea, maya colonial, and maya tropical are all identical and all within half a mile of each other)I later found out that there was a huge convention of doctors/teachers that booked that side and it was in fact open. The resort was swarmed with people chanting for hours crowding the bars setting up tents , blocking off certain areas . The worst was the barrage Of police helicopters flying around the resort and the presence of police ,bomb technicians , and sniffing dogs. This made our first few days uneasy but was soon over. Within 24 hours of them leaving the hustle and bustle began again with a convention for the Spanish dish network that was being launched. They had catering trucks driving around beeping and backing up even on the beach during a couples wedding reception they were distraught no doubt. Setting up flags that soon became flying lawn darts in the wind . Bright inflatable water beds that riddle the grounds... And loud music that over played the wonderful bob marley that was playing on the beach. When this second convention came it crammed three of the five lobbies with people including a movie set right in the front entrance of the maya colonial . They told us we could no longer get drinks at two of the bars due to private parties and the complete lack of service at the buffets because the resort had not brought in extra staff. We visited our nightly hotspot at jaguars discotheque on the resort to find it crowded with older men with video cameras filming the few women that were in there.( illegal in other countries) when I pleaded with the bouncers and managers they did nothing and were very rude. Then to top it off these people had no all inclusive bracelets on and were harassing people to get them drinks even decided to bug me in the restroom!!! Minus all the negative the activities staff were great and always kept us occupied. The food was good when you could get to it without getting you're toes stepped on the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and nice. The hotel is in a great spot to visit xplor, xcaret, or tulum. There is wonderful marine life right of the shore and iguanas all over even a turtles nest that they enclosed for there protection!! They bring in lions,monkeys ,snakes ,parrots to take photos of you with them but it's hit or miss and don't even try to take you're own pictures of them on a friend because they block youre shot!! The pictures are ten dollars each up to ten then five dollars each . What a marketing misfire. if I was in a large group or wedding I would highly recommend but if it is just a few of you or a couple then seek out another resort as we are just to small to be carried for on this resort the only courtesy call we got was to see if we wanted to buy time shares... Good luck and safe travels my friends!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This resort was nice for the price.........its what you would expect from a 3.5 - 4 star resort. I never really enjoy going to the same resort twice as there are so many to see! So for that resort I probably will not go back :)
Resort -> The resort its self is quite small compared to other resorts I have been to; there are other Barceló resorts attached to this resort but you can only use some of the amenities at the other resorts or you would have to extra in order to use them and by the time you figured out where everything was it would be time to leave sooooooooooo we just stayed in our part. The grounds were clean, which was nice because some places you can go to they are not cleaned as well.
Staff-> It was really hit and miss.....sometimes they would be at your beck and call while others; you would try and get their attention and they would outright ignore you......the pool bar especially was not that great when it came to service. One time I asked for 4 shots of tequila and he looked right at me and said no....I thought he was kidding but when he walked away it was apparent that he wasn’t! :S lol
Room-> The room was nice! Make sure you ask to stay in the "newer" part as I stayed there but I heard that everyone else’s room was not as nice as ours. I had a room on the 1st floor and there was never any "noise issues" .....
Pool-> The pool was decent but because we went to in May/June it was sooooo hot out that the pools were luke warm (not that refreshing) .....
Beach-> The beach was beautiful! If you are going to the Riviera for the beach then this is the place for you! The entire beach is private and the water was soooo refreshing.....if you walk to where the dock is you can go and feed fish and they will swim around you. It freaked me out when I was swimming and someone put the entire bag of fish food in the water and at least 50-100 fish were swimming around me.......not cool!! LOL Snorkeling was nice there as well.
Entertainment -> The entertainment was basic......same types of shows as other resorts I have been to; Michael Jackson, men vs. women, circus acts ect. It was nice to be able to have dinner go to a show and then retreat back to the room on the nights that you just wanted to relax
Disco/ Nightclub -> The disco/nightclub was probably one of the best ones I have been to on a resort! Don’t go until 11-12 that’s when it gets fun! D.J played awesome music that got everyone dancing and the bar tender was very busy but you never seemed to wait very long.
Food -> The food was like every other resort. (buffet style) You will probably get sick of looking at it 4-5 days in but they you can just be creative and you wont hate it so much! lol The al a carte restaurants were good! The steakhouse was the best! Mexican was ok...thought it would be a lot better considering where I was!! lol...
Spa-> O....M.....G!!!! GO GO GO GO GO!!! If you do ANYTHING at this resort go to the spa!!!! The couples massage that me and my fiancé got were AMAZING!! An hour went by way to quickly! lol Then they left us alone for about half an hour ;) lol ....which was stress relieving as well!! ;)
All in all it was a nice relaxing vacation and its my opinion that your vacation is what you make it! You could focus on all the bad, which would make your vacation bad or you can focus on the culture, people, good things and relaxation and your vacation will be amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Beach

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.