We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Eve menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Puerto Aventuras Marina | Centro Comercial Marina (frente al delfinario), Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
+52 984 105 2290
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Eve menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner here on Christmas Eve. They were offering two different 3 course menus: one was all seafood and the other had meat courses. I ordered the seafood and my husband ordered the meat. We both loved our first courses (mine was a delicious seafood salad and his was prosciutto, cheeses, etc.) and our main dishes (perfectly cooked salmon for me, very tender turkey for him). The dessert was simple, but we were very full from the meal so it was fine for us. Each menu came with a glass of prosecco, and they offered us some black sambuca as a gift from the house after the meal. The servers were all extremely friendly and made sure we were happy throughout the meal. We loved the setting as it is right on the marina, in a cozy corner with twinkle lights and a small garden. Although we found it romantic, there was a large family group at a long table who were having a great time, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    6
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad shrimp”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Two people in our party of five ordered the grilled shrimp. Both of them were unable to eat this dish because the shrimp were either old or overlooked or both. One of them ordered a replacement dish when asked by the owner if they wanted something else. The replacement dish was also unacceptable(tasted terrible). When the check was brought over, both the original and the replacement meal were on the check!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible owners that scammed us.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went to Dolche Vita and it was a terrible experience for our group of 8. We ordered 5 appetizers and only three arrived to our table 20 minutes after ordering. Then, after an additional 20 minutes only 3 of us received our entrees - two of which were incomplete dishes. After asking the owners for a status on the remaining 5 dishes, they acted as though we were at fault. Eventually, we received three additional dishes two of which were not what was ordered and the third was a pizza that was raw. We never received the remaining items. Yet, when we attempted to settled the bill for a lesser amount than owed, the owners would not budge ok the amount and threatened to contact the police. We were forced to pay over $400 for meals we did not receive and never received an apology. In addition, our wine was watered down. This place could be great, but the smug and thieving nature of the owners ruin what could be. We are furious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paamul, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quiet, romantic ambience, good food & drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dolce Vita by the dolphin pools at Puerto Aventuras offered a quiet, romantic ambience with live greenery, small white mood lights, and pleasant background music that made conversation easy. We had very good pasta, bread made delicious by the flavored oil dip, and Sambuca that topped off the evening and invited us to linger.

Service by Lorenzo was efficient and professional, and contributed to our feeling warmly welcomed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ordered their mixed fish platter (sharing for 2) which was expensive at $520 pesetas. It included lobster and we were celebrating so we decided to go for it. Our children ordered fillet mignon. The food was by far the worst we had in Puerto Aventuras. Our fish was so over cooked that it was tough and dry to eat. There was no sauce with it and when we asked for sauce our waiter provided us with a tasteless red sauce which had no salt or herbs in it. To make matters worse, the lobster that should have been included in our meal (the fish platter without lobster was $300) was actually a langoustine. When we pointed that out to them they tried to say that the langoustine is a mini lobster!

Our daughters couldn't eat their fillet mignon. It had a bad flavour and they were hungry when we finished our meal. The couple next to us overheard our conversation with the waiter (when we refused to pay for the lobster we didn't have) and they said they had the worst pizza of their holiday there. They had tried to order one pizza but the waiter said one pizza would be way too small for them to share. They said to us that not only were the pizzas huge but they were tasteless. They just wanted to leave.

A terrible place that serves tasteless food and tries to rip you off. Don't go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.