We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Fantastic Fun, Food and Relaxation!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Manchester, UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Fantastic Fun, Food and Relaxation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I spent weeks looking on trip advisor deciding on hotels to stay at within Mexico and I definatly feel I made the right choice.

We arrived on Wednesday 10th June in the evening. We travelled with Thomas Cook so we had a free transfer to the hotel which did take about 1 hour 20 mins but the coach was comfortable and well air conditioned.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted with cocktails, check-in took about 30 mins. We asked whether it would be possible to see a Junior Suite as we had planned on upgrading before we arrived. They showed us a room by the spa which had a king sized bed, a rain shower, plasma TV, free safe and a bath tub on the balcony. This cost $25 per night which we decided to do. For a junior suite with a sea view the cost was $35 per night and for a suite with a seperate lounge area it was $50 per night. However, these prices did increase whilst we were there so i dont think they are always the same price!!

FOOD
The food was excellent, the best all inclusive experience ive had. The buffet restaurants are very good, but seeing re-fried beans and tacos for breakfast is sometimes enough to put you off eating!!
The al a carte restaurants are very easy to book in, but the hotel was very quiet when we were there.
The Japanese restauraunt has a really good atmosphere and a great show!!
The Steak restaurant we probably our favorite, the steaks were cooked perfectly and it was nice to eat outside with a sea breeze in the evening.
The mexican restaurant was also really good, the food and service was excellent!!
The Italian restaurant was probably out least favourite but the food was still good, we just didnt like the menu as much.
The Snack restaurant was excellent if you didnt really fancy a proper lunch, the burgers and chicken nuggets and chips were very good.
During the day chefs sometimes cooked on the beach the paella was very nice, there was also a burger and hotdog cart but be warned.... we tried the burgers 3 times here and not once were they cooked, so may be best to avoid!!!!!

BEACH
Its is quicte rocky so I would recommend water shoes but people that complain about this need to realise that without the rocks there wouldn't be all the beautiful fish, it is a coral reef after all. Sunbeds were very easy to get whatever time of day you went down to the beach!!

POOL
We didnt ever have sunbeds around the pool as they tend to be a bit noisier but the pools were very clean and refreshing when you wanted to cool off from the heat.

SPA
We never used the spa as it was very expensive in my opinion you were looking at paying $95 for a 50 mins massage which would be about £65-70.

LOCATION
The gated community meant that it was very safe walking around. We walked down to the marina about 10-15 mins away in the evening and felt very safe!! You were also in a very good location for trips as most trips were within a 1 hour drive.

STAFF
The staff were excellent and worked very hard to make sure your holiday was perfect. We tipped the maid a small amount each day and tipped in the a la carte restaurants but whether you tipped or not the service was still excellent.

OVERALL
The holiday was very relaxing and enjoyable and I would go back to the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    1,523
    549
    250
    141
See reviews for
1,004
1,762
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

After a few months of reviewing hotels in Mexico we decidd on the CAT for a number of reasons. This would need to be a resort that had everything for the 25 guests that would be attending our wedding and of course would need to be the perfect place for the "I do's".
From start to finish, the CAT did not disappoint. Check in was easy and we were greated with smile and drink. We arrived at 3pm on Sunday so despite it being a busy day we had no problems and the front desk staff were wondeful. As you will read on most of these posts, the grounds are immaculate. Constantly taken care of and well maintained. The pools are great although I don't think children should be allowed at or near the pool bar but I guess that's something that would happen at any all inclusive resort with kids and it was a minor annoyance at best. The beach was beautiful and the water amazing. Great for snorkeling and as most posted, a bit rocky in some places. But we managed to find non rocky areas and wore water shoes as necessary.

The Wedding- Cora was our wedding coordinator and she was amazing. Always helpful and went out of her way to make sure the day was perfect. I can't say enough about the staff! They are all very hard working and despite the crowds and heat always have a smile when then say "hola". The set up for the wedding was on the little lagoon and it was absolutely beautiful and pefect. They set up the night before and block off the lagoon so it reallly is nice for the day. We had our reception the Pure Chill bar on the beach and once again, everything looked pefect. I can't tell you how many times I heard that the whole resort, wedding and reception was pefect.

We had 25 guests ( plus myself and the groom) that attended. They were from all over the US with different ideas on a vacation and everyone had a great time. Some went on excursions which were close by ( Tulum and shopping in Playa Del Carmen) and some snorkeled or ventured a bit further to Chitzen Itza. All in all, the location was pefect!

The Food- It was a buffet so it was your basic stuff. But it was always good and had no complaints. The speciality restaurants are nice and the Creperie was awesome. It was the pefect way to unwind and watch the sun set after dinner.

The Spa- fantastic. We had most of guests use the spa or receive services there and everyone loved it.

We didn't see many shows as most evenings we went straight to the Pure Bar after dinner ( or the creperie).

The only complaint was a few of our guests constantly had AC issues. But they did their best to try and fix the issue as soon as possible.

All in all it was a great vacation and a very good value for the price. Our families loved it so much they talked about going back again next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Overall, quite a positive and relaxing stay. Our only negative was the check-in process. Be patient and you will not be disappointed. Although the stated chewck-in is 3pm, our arrival due to the flight was midday. At 3pm, we waited in line and were told the room was not ready, return at 3:15pm. At 3:15pm, we were told to return at 3:45pm. We managed to convince the desk staff to check us in and give us the key if we promised not to go to the room until 4pm. The hotel could improve i its hotel map. It was all in Spanish, no English whatsoever. There is a buffet restaurant and four reservation restaurants. With a four-night stay, we could make reservations for two nights at 2 restaurants. All the food was bountiful and delicious. The Japenese restaurant was just like the Bennijanas in the USA. Very good!!!The drinks were not watered down. We tipped the bartender and received a fresh bottle of premium tequila which we saw him open. TIP: Go out to the rocks and you can feed the fish, some 12" long, directly from your hands. We id this daily. The snorkeling was Ok, not as good as Cozumel, but nevertheless, many fish to see. The free rental is only good for one-hour per day. TIP: You can walk to the dolphin attraction. We watched them jump and get fed fom only a few feeta away. Gon in the morning. The free rental bikes are good. You can bike or ride all over the village/town. It is extremely safe because the entire town is gated. The room was very clear and cozy. It is kind of plain, but being clean makes the mark. The fitness center is better than most other hotels. All the equipment was in working order. The swimming pools were ample..there were 5 of them!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Went to this resort with my husband for a anniversary vacation. We had an excellent time. The resort really caught us by surprise as we were not sure what to expect. The room we stayed in was a standard room with double beds, it was just ok....I feel like the rooms could use some updating. The beds seemed kinda dirty and not that comfortable. The pillows need to be replaced as they seemed very old. All the food was excellent. I highly recommend the Japanese and the steakhouse. We did not have a bad meal during our stay. We went to the creperie 3 times....it was so delicious. It is not open everyday though, which I think it should be. The beach was nice and the pools were also very nice. We went to the SPA for a couples massage. I highly recommend getting a massage and being able to check out the spa...we had a great day. The pool in the spa is awesome. We went on the CATAMAYA excursion and had a wonderful time. If you are looking for a fun snorkeling trip, I recommend the CATAMAYA catamaran. We had a nice lunch of lobster tail (included) and they kept the drinks coming. The staff is wonderful and worked very hard to keep the grounds nice. I feel really bad for the staff who work 12 hours a day and only make $350 or less a month. We tipped a lot of the staff and they were always appreciative. These people work very hard and you will see what I am talking about.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Excellent service. Great cooks, great kids club (4yo). Our boy really wanted to be with the other kids all the time.
Not the best beach but doesn't matter since it's good has some snorkeling, a rough area and a calm area as well. Lot's of fish to see. Plenty of chairs to lounge on. Excellent steak at dinner. Great night shows and very entertaining kids part at the beginning.
Entertainment staff not pushy at all! I'm the typical nonparticipant party popper and never got pushed into anything I didn't want. Actually I never participated.
Drinks are watered down. Thank god! People are drinking at these places like it's the end of the world. But I didn't see any obnoxious drunks.
Overall good value.
These reviews are a reflection of people's expectations of value on their vacation purchases. You'll read a review glorifying a hotel while on the same page someone else tells a horror story. How can this be? Well their expectations of weren't met. Ours were met with this hotel, so this is a very positive review. Don't pay the outrageous transfer fees to the airport! We rented a car for a week and traveled to Chichen Itza, Tulum, etc, etc for the same $ as a round trip transfer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

To start with the hotel itself its really nice and clean staff are very friendly.
They have loads of activities some times the entertainment reps can be a bit annoying as they try to get you involved. The pools are nice not too crouded except on weekends when the hotel fills up with locals. Same goes for the main buffet restaurant, the only time we had to wait was at breakfast on a saturday. The food was one of the best parts!!Dougnuts at breakfast!! amongst a huge range of other things. the japanese restaurant was fun and loved the deep fried ice cream! Italian was ok nothing special but a nice change from buffet, the steak at the grill was lovely but no so much the undercooked veg and the wierd tequila ritual! the beach is nice but the rocks did put me off going in. i didnt take water shoes but i would really recomend that you do. we used the snorkel stuff and the kayaks which you can use for an hour a day.
the rooms are basic but comfortable.
the drinks are great and most premium brands are there. we didnt use the spa as its an extra charge but the gym is free and good on rainy day. (we had 2 out of 10)
the excursions are great but much more expensive than we aniticipated. the cultural trip to coba was fantastic. we went swimming with dolphins in wet n wild in cancun, it was a fantastic experience but you were not allowed cameras and they charge you $30 per photo.
overall i really enjoyed this holiday you can relax or take part in all the games and activities. would definately recommend hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

enjoyed our stay,.

trips to chitzen itza and tulum we couldnt do because of the swine flu, but hey its a good reason to return to riviera maya.
a trip to akumal beach is well worth the taxi ride, you can rent snorkel gear, we had our own but rented a life jacket 6$ for all day----not bad.(saw a family of turtles)

we did the coba trip-- good day out but beware it took us 1 hour & 45 mins to get to Tulum doing pick ups !!!!!!!

we do regret that we had not taken our driving licence and hiring a car
as driving did not look like a problem.
hayes & jarvis were very good & the rep christian was ecellent.

I would definetly recommend this hotel for the following reasons:-

HOTEL clean, well laid out, nice gardens & rustic charm

STAFF friendly & attentive.
FOOD mostly good & varied, omelettes at breakfast - great.
DRINKS very good, appletons rum, bacardi, baileys, mohitos !!!!!! the larger wasnt that bad either.! it was nice to be able to go to different bars in the evening ie:- terrace bar &chill out bar for a relaxing drink.
BEACH ok for snorkeling, bit of swimming,or wading out and jumping the waves( it is better to take water shoes)
LLOCATION it was nice to be able to walk out to the marina and pretty central.

we found this hotel better than some "posher" hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Riviera Maya is situated in the peaceful ambience of Puerto Aventuras, located directly on the beach of the beautiful Mexican Caribbean and in the heart of the Mayan Riviera. The white sandy beaches, crystal clear water, a great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9 hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.