We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel overall is good. Yet, they make a lot of propaganda wanting you to upgrade, since something's are restricted for "not-privileged" guests. However, if you are planning on staying for just a few days, upgrading is not necessary.
The staff is really nice, but the job done by the entertainment staff is really good. They are always energetic and theshows they prepare at night are pretty amazing. Keep the good job guys!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    1,757
    646
    286
    168
See reviews for
1,204
2,066
68
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We just got back yesterday 8/1/14 this by far was the best vacation ever!!! We have been on 3 cruises, the beach uncountable times, Disney etc nothing compares to this. We are in our 40's traveled with 4 teens 13, 15, 18 and 18. They never complained once they were board or the internet don't work not a peep which was nice for us parents.

From the time we landed in Cancun and use the private transportation to the time we went home we loved every minute. With one small exception we wish there would be more actives in the evening I felt it quieted down to early. I thought there would be more music and dancing at the beach/bar at night is was like being at home and being quite for the neighbors by 10pm.

But with that aside our room was clean and the food was good. As the rest of the review you will or have read YOU NEED WATER SHOES!! Also pay the extra money without a doubt to go Privileged Rooms you will not go wrong. The treat you like kings and queens in these areas. If you do not upgrade you are limited to the places you can eat and drink at the bars. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite the chef and the waiter were outstanding and deserve a raise. The food was better then I could of asked for from places we eat back home.

With using Cheapcaribbean.com we had an onsite agent to help us book other excursions we could not deiced on with the original booking this was a big help and extra discounts that other could not get us. Thank you!! We did Tulum & Xel-Ha and Xplor which we booked when we got there since our son broke his leg just weeks before we travel and needed to wait to see what his restrictions were. You cannot go wrong with either of these. I am a more laid back person and not a big risk taker my children on the other hand our daredevil. I did things here I never thought I or my husband would ever do. We loved everything about all 3 and the hours went to fast at each we could not get enough of the wonderful things we did and seen in these excursion. Definitely worth the money I cannot rave enough about these places!! YOU MUST BOOK THESE!!!

I would like to say I or my children left out cell phone they would not turndown our rooms with these items being out. Also we left our safe with our cash, jewelry, credit cards ETC. in it the maid called security and security came took pictures and everything was there. I of course was so grateful I gave the maid a big tip because without her honesty this could have ruined someones vacation including ours.

I would stay here or one of the other Catalonia Resorts we felt welcomed and safe and have the most wonderful time. Already thinking of when we can return again!!!

Room Tip: Also pay the extra money without a doubt to go Privileged Rooms you will not go wrong. The treat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Upgrade to privileged. Its worth every penny. The food is not the best but you wint starve. The fruit is all fresh and delicious but the meat is not good. The snorkeling is AMAZING. Xcaret was alright the show was AMAZING. Definitely swim with the dolphins its worth it. Very nice service & the rooms are cleaned daily. Bring your own sunscreen! Xcaret has good souvenirs but they are expensive! The hotel doesnt have a lot of souvenirs.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Brandy D,

We would like to thank you for choosing Catalonia Riviera Maya for this resent vacations.

We appreciate the nice comments about our Privileged Services. Rest sure that we will pass your feedback to our Chef in order to improve the quality of our food.

We hope you can give us another chance to prove our best! :)

Yours truly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Overall, I am very pleased with my stay at the Catalonia. With a few minor adjustments, the hotel could be really great. I traveled with my husband and 9 year old son, as well as with friends (a family of 5). Here are the pros and cons, as I see them:

PROS:
- Extremely friendly and helpful staff
- Very clean rooms (we were in a privileged, oceanview room)
- The ala carte restaurants are fantastic (the Japanese and Italian were our favorites, followed closely by the Tapas and Steakhouse; the Mexican was our least favorite)
- The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and are beautiful
- Kayaks and catamaran rides are included
- Juan and Roberto at the Pure Chill Bar were fantastic and very patient with all the "tipsy" customers. :-)

CONS/SUGGESTIONS:
- All 5 outdoor pools close at 7 pm. It would be wonderful if they could stay open later, even to just 9 or 10 o'clock. It would still allow the staff plenty of time to clean and treat the pools, while allowing families to enjoy the pool for an evening swim.
- The buffets are mediocre. The breakfast selection lacks such things as cereal. Some items, such as pizza and nacho chips are not replenished frequently, which causes many guests to wait in line for them.
- Lack of music at the pools. It would be great if each pool area played music. Many people brought their own portable speakers and plugged into their iPods.
- Entertainment. I saw a few of the nightly shows in the theatre (which is inside). It would be great if there were some sort of outdoor stage or amphitheater where nightly entertainment could be held.
- Rocks on beach. The water is very beautiful - turquoise, with small waves. The rocks that you have to go over in order to get to the water are slippery and rough. I brought water shoes which made swimming in the ocean enjoyable, but I still had to watch my balance when entering the water. If you don't have water shoes, you could easily twist your ankle.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
- Xcaret. It is very expensive, but worth every penny. We loved it! You MUST swim in the underground river through the caves. It is an incredible experience. The water is crystal clear and comfortable. The international buffet is excellent! And be sure and go up in the scenic tower for an amazing view of the entire coastline from Cancun to Tulum.
- Tulum. Go in the morning when it is not so hot. Amazing archeological ruins from the Mayans. Amazing beach and ocean. Something both education and historical; definitely worth seeing.
- Dolphin Discovery. It is in walking distance from the hotel. This is one of those places where you pay to swim with the dolphins, manatees, and sea lions. We were under the impression it was a place where you could just go and watch the animals swim around (kinda like a zoo). If you don't want to pay to get in the water with the animals, then it's not really worth the walk down there.
- Rafts and Sunblock. Bring them with you!!! They are EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE at the hotel gift shops. For example, a raft was $24!!!! It was the same namebrand as you get at WalMart for less than $5. Sunblock was $45!!!! All the same kinds you would be for $8 or $9 elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7033, and it had a beautiful view of the ocean and 2 of the pools. The a/c worked e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear BFTinTexas,

We would like to thank you for choosing Catalonia Riviera Maya!

We truly appreciate your nice comments about our services and staff :)

We appreciate even more your suggestions. Keep in mind that we are going to evaluate every little detail and of course, we will put it into practice in the future.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to give this positive feedback, and we really hope that you can choose us for your next vacations.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you upgrade to "Privileged" you may have a more pleasant experience in terms of nicer rooms, better beach chairs, and access to two premium liquor bars....but I can't say for certain because I was an "underprivileged" guest and was restricted to those areas of the resort...and reminded of that often.

ROOMS: The standard garden rooms with a balcony have a decent view of the one pool area, but are lacking in terms of amenities inside. Dirty beat up doors, paint splattered closet mirrors, no alarm clock, one outlet (in the bathroom), and concrete beds covered in a sheet and one thin plain white blanket. When I removed my shoes upon arrival the white ceramic floors were covered in gritty sand. The walls and floors are paper thin and every movement can be heard by your neighbors. Luckily I stayed with a group of girlfriends so privacy in "that way" wasn't an issue.

FOOD: We stayed for 3 nights and were limited to 2 evenings of the nicer sit down restaurants. There are two buffets an indoor and an open air which seemed to serve similar choices. The food wasn't replenished as quick as it should have been and the stations where someone was preparing fresh food took a long time. My one friend waited at least 20-30 minutes for grilled chicken that she never got. We ate at the Italian restaurant and that was good. Our other choice was the Mexican and that was average. If you're looking for spicy "American Mexican" you may not enjoy this, but even knowing this the quality and presentation left much to be desired.

BEACH: Please DO NOT attempt unless you have water shoes. The rocks are dangerous!!! However, there was a BEAUTIFUL lagoon area with soft white sand to enjoy. The downside of the lagoon area is no bar nearby and back and forth jet-ski activity trying to get you to rent.

SERVICE: Several times I had to clear my own empty plate from my table at the buffet. We found one GREAT bartender (Manuel at the Tequila Bar) the others were mostly average, but a few just plain awful. No staff walking around taking orders.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear MrsDudley2002,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Riviera Maya for your recent vacations.

We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

We will pass your comments to the proper departments and we promise that for your next stay we will show you that we have improved our services.

See you soon :)

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Catalonia is a very nice resort. The grounds are beautiful. the restaurants are very well kept. We upgraded and Loved it. the room was beautiful, we don't spend much time in our room, but it was very nice when we got back at night. Yes the water is rocky, you do need water shoes, but once your out in the water it's okay. Food is good, some of the staff in the dinning area's could have been a little more helpful, but it is what it is. Over all the Catalonia is a very nice resort , keep in mind the things I have said. Beach is very nice as well which I forgot to mention. Overall I would rate the resort a 3.5 out 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Mike t,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Riviera Maya for your recent vacations.

We appreciate your nice comments about the Resort.

We hope you can give us the chance to visit Catalonia again and this time, we will give you 100% of satisfaction.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hello,

I have added a new group to Facebook for guests and future guests to share their experiences of the Catalonia. Please come along and join so you can share your photographs, opinions & memories of this hotel.

Catalonia Riviera Maya Guests Group

Thank you!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear MissScotland12,

Thank you for share this information with us and all the guests!

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
12.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
22.9 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#5 of 6 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 stars 3,983 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
19.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#122 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 6,245 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.