We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great all-inclusive getaway. Excellent food (and we are foodies) from both the buffet and the ala carte restaurants. Service at the latter was extremely good. Entertainment going all the time. Service was extraordinarily friendly and welcoming. Clientele was very international with (estimating) less than half from the US and Canada, the balance from France and the rest of Europe. Rooms were in need of a remodel but spotless. Beds and pillows (flat as a pancake) especially. The entire property was as clean as any we have visited in the Caribbean. We look forward to our return but will definitely upgrade to a suite when we get there next time. We had no safety issues, quite the contrary, and even with bike rides into the heart of Puerto Aventuras, the trips never resulted in any run-ins with people trying to sell you anything.

Room Tip: Upgrade when you get there. Rooms nearer to the hotel bar and theater will be loud until midnight, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,879
    1,568
    558
    255
    144
See reviews for
1,035
1,805
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room: We stayed in a standard room with a kingsize bed.....it was clean, comfy bed and a nice view of the little bridge outside
Cleaners: The cleaners are great our room was always spotless, they leave little animals made out of the towels and one day they even put our washing into a bag.
Food: I'm a fussy eat but always found something to eat! You can eat at two buffet restaurants any time. However, there is a 'voucher' system for the restaurants....we stayed for 10 days and had enough vouchers to eat in all the restaurants more than once....we actually had a voucher left over, but when booking we were not told about this! There is also a wonderful pancake and milkshake place open in the evening and you don't have to use a vouchers for this!
Pools: We did not spend an awful lot of time in the pools...but there are several to choose from. There is a pool bar where there is someone there to sever you drinks throughout the day.
Beach & Sea: The beach is on a slight hill.....but it didn't make any difference to us. We didn't have to get up too early to get sun beds either which was nice....and if you find a spare sun bed and your not happy where it is the man who collects the cups/litter on the beach will be more than happy to move it for you.
The sea is a little bit rocky going in but we managed to find a spot we didn't have to go over any rocks...so didn't bother us! we used the snorkels a lot and there are lots of different fish to see!
Spa: I had a massage on the beach in one of the little huts....take advantage of the offer they do!

A few times a week they will have Mexican stalls and games....although the stuff they are selling is over priced! Best to take yourself into Tulum centre to go shopping....but then again you have to haggle with them!
For free you can use the snorkels for 1 hour a day, canoes for 1 hour a day etc.

Overall we had a great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lime springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I took our first all-inclusive and first trip to Mexico at the Catalonia Riviera Maya and loved every minute of it! What could we find wrong when our Lomas Travel Reps meet us out the airport terminal and handle everything for us? When we arrived we were met with very friendly bellboys and drinks in the lobby!:) We were blown away by the banner on our door saying Happy Anniversary and the complimentary wine and dessert too. We decided to upgrade to a privileged room when got there and really enjoyed the upgrades.
Our favorite restaurant was the Bombeleo but the Mexican and Italian restaurants were also great. I don't believe that no one was at the pool bar to take orders from other reports I've read-- those guys work overtime and are FAST! Seemed like they were extremely hard workers to me . Our housekeeper Sofia was such a sweetheart, very kind and so thorough in her job. We experienced some trouble with our door not opening so I went to find a worker to help us out. He was easy to find and very helpful. While he was making connections with someone to fix the door, Sofia must have heard him while she was cleaning a nearby room and came to show us the "trick" to get that one to open and Bingo! we were in!
The nearby marina is a nice visit to make if you can. It takes only ten minutes to walk it. I had the incredible experience of swimming with dolphins and loved every minute of it! You are able to watch others during their dolphin encounter or watch manatees and sea lions play. My husband got some cute pics of 3 baby dolphins playing on their own.
My review would not be complete without saying how helpful the lady at the concierge desk was(can't believe I forgot her name!). We had purchased a cream from the pharmacy at the marina and well, because of our lack of Spanish we thought we better ask her to translate what was on our package. What we got wasn't what we hoped for and she called a pharmacy that delivered (on a sunday at that!) We received it within an hour and we were grateful! Should have gone to her in the first place.
The nightly shows were very good and appealed to a variety of people whether you knew the language or not.
We were impressed with how clean everything is kept here. You will notice even the chaise lounges are cleaned every night as well.
We hated to leave but we left with great memories of Mexico.In fact I'm thinking of our catamarand ride on warm waters while it's snowing outside.

Room Tip: building 7 had wonderful views toward the ocean on our patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked out trip online into a double room at the Catalonia Yucatan. We did not arrive at the hotel till about 5:00 am. Things started out rocky..we were given a king room when we wanted two beds - but they quickly changed that. We retired to our "Superior Gardenview" room. The bedroom itself was basic but fine, however the bathroom was in such bad condition that neither of us felt clean showering there! Everything was cracked rusted broken, drains clogged etc. and the gardenview..when we stood out our balcony we were directly above the children's playground club! (WE booked through Nolitours - and part of noliplus states states that you get a room in one of the best sections of the hotel..yikes) After a couple hours sleep, i went to the front desk to ask about an upgrade. The staff was eager to help and were given a new room pronto. FYI much cheaper to upgrade at the resort than to book it that way before you go.. only cost us each $20 per night more, plus we were given a 20% discount on top of that! The privileged room was great - no complaints..the maid service was great..we barely even needed to turn our air conditioner on as the room was always a comfortable temperature.
we enjoyed all of the restaurants..especially the Mikado. The Mexican a la carte served way to big of portions - we could of just shared one meal! The buffet was fine, of course the choices get old by the end of the week but that is pretty much the same everywhere.
The service at this hotel was great - all service. And a little tipping goes a long way! They often remember your name and what you drink! We also enjoyed the shows at night - very good !
Yes the beach is rocky, but there is still sand and nice water and hot sun..who cares about rocks! Great snorkelling right off the beach! however BEWARE of the topless sunbathers. We observed many topless women in the lagoon area, and yet there were tons of children running around???
Anyway we would go again..but definitely in the privileged side!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Service was friendly and helpful. The food was average. The beach here is very beautiful. You can snorkel right from the shore and see many varieties of fish.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard garden view room. It was very nice and comfortable. A group of "sprin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I went to the Catalonia Riviera Maya Feb. 21-Mar 2 with another couple. The resort staff was very pleasant and the resort was kept very clean. The food was average and the drink/beer selections/quality were average. The beach and pool areas were nice but the evening events left something to be desired. Our big disappointment with this resort was that when we booked, we "upgraded" to an Oceanview room. Based upon the Sun Country Website in January 2012, we thought we were upgrading to a room with a king sized bed, stocked frig, robes, one spa visit, an additional restaurant voucher and discounts at the resort boutiques. What we ACUTALLY received was a standard room in the Yucatan area which is older and not as nice. The room had two double beds, empty frig, one bottle of water in the bathroom (others at your expense from the store), and you could see the ocean IF you stood in one location on the tiny deck and leaned across the railing. No spa visit, no robes, we were not "PREFERRED" so we could not visit some of the restaurants, etc. When we tried to discuss this with the desk staff, we were told it would cost us an additional $20/day per room to get the "upgrade" that we thought we had already purchased. We booked our resort through Sun Country Vacations and contacted them for assistance, their response was that if we could see the ocean, we had an oceanview room. When asked about the other items our "upgrade" was supposed to include, they responded that those were merely "options". Sun Country didn't stand behind what their website stated when we booked; however, they have now changed their site to provide the accurate information of all the different room types. We travel every year but will not book a vacation with Sun Country again nor go to the Catalonia again because of their deception with our "upgrade".

Room Tip: PREFERRED. Very few rooms actually are Ocean-side, so don't waste your money on an Oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am a BIG fan of Mexico. I love the people, the food, the resorts but this is by far the worst resort I have ever stayed at. I paid $1205 for this.... what i didn't get out of this was a bar fridge, free water in my room, free safe for my passport and valuables and a lot of noise!
I asked for a pool view room and what i got was my balcony facing a brick wall. The noise from the buses coming in and out was so loud even with my air conditioning on that I couldn't sleep. The beds are on top of cement slabs - no box springs, and the pillows are like a bunch of cotton balls.
If you get a burn from the sun there dont shower because the shower goes from hot to cold off and on and it feels like it is beating you up.

The staff was very nice however at the pool bar they don't have someone there all the time so you have to "hollar" for them to serve you.

If you are in your 20's or 30's and looking to have a good time, don't go here because it was full of older people and lots of kids!

The food at the buffet was good but I only eat chicken and not one day did they serve chicken that wasnt stuffed with ham of some kind. So I lived off of the kids menu of fries and pasta.

The line ups for the restaurants were insane so I never went to them but the reviews I got were not good.

If you want to lay on the beach... LOL - its ALL ROCK and on a hill so your chair is literally on a sand hill and it is a very small beach.

I would never go back to this resort! Very disapointed and a BIG waste of money!!

YOU HAVE YOU PAY FOR BOTTLED WATER THERE TOO!!! So if you take medication daily like i do, be prepared to be paying for WARM BOTTLED water daily to your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Riviera Maya is situated in the peaceful ambience of Puerto Aventuras, located directly on the beach of the beautiful Mexican Caribbean and in the heart of the Mayan Riviera. The white sandy beaches, crystal clear water, a great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9 hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.