We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Sayin...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Lafayette, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Sayin...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first real vacation since 2001, we were blessed to have this trip given to us completely paid for. We just had to show up. We arrived late afternoon early evening, found the lobby to be a bit dark and lots of candles burning found this a bit odd... soon realized the power was out. People were freaking out, yelling at the staff, it really was not their fault I felt bad for them. Apparently a storm blew through, it had been out for several hours and was out for several more. They had one resturant up and running on generator power, crowded but it worked. The staff handled a rough situation very well, giving out candles for people to take to their rooms and other just hung around outside drinking, drinks were still being served no problem. The next day discovered there was no hot water!!!! Luckily we were able to shower at our friends she had hot water, still no power on her side but she had hot water, our power was back on. Apparently there was a issue with a main hot water line, it was fixed by the next day in middle of the night. The food was just ok... they served the same things daily, it was ok for a few days but would have to say it would get old if staying for a week or more. Would like to have seen some authentic mexican food. The non-buffet restaurants you must make resevations and only a few selections are part of the all inclusive the rest you have to pay for. The ice cream place on the roof is a fun place to get deserts everynight. The bars are very accessable and can make pretty much what you want. Give them a dollar tip or two tip everytime and your drinks will get stronger and bigger each time. Do not bother with getting wine it is cheap and gross. They have a few beer on tap choices if you want Corona you have to buy it...who knew??? The room was nice and big, clean, we gave the maid man a tip of a buck everytime and he rewarded us with towel animals everytime, they got better and better with each day. We could hear people whooping it up every night around 2 or 3 am which is just rude and inconsiderate. Short walk into town which offers shops, Dolphin discovery and other resturants, did not eat in town. Swam with the Dolphins which is a bit pricy but it was worth it, not something you get to do everyday. If you decide to do this have who ever is with you not doing it take pictures they have viewing areas and you can still get some good shots. The Dolphin discovery place wants an arm and a leg for the professional photos. Over all it was a nice stay, not sure I would go back here again since my friend who has been there 5 times says it has changed a bit and she could see they are cutting cost and corners with the food and the grounds a bit. BUT it is worth at least a one time stay. Several pools one with swim up bar which is fun, they do lots of various entertainment and activities for which they get people involved which is fun to watch or participate. Take lots of single bills for tips. A buck or two puts huge smiles on the workers faces and they will take good care of you if they know you are tipping. Would NOT recommend booking with Apple vacations though, they messed up my friends flights and she had to pay a lot of money to get back to the US on the day she should have been scheduled for...... Apple will not take responsibility for it. But this was not the hotel fault in anyways shape or form. And the hotel did handle the issue of the power and water very politely, it really was out of their control they did the best they could. So book your trip worth the one time stay... just do not expect a 5 star... and watch the lagoon there are lots of Jelly Fish in there, my friend said they used to clean it out and it was fun for the kids but cannot go in it very much now. Or at least have pool shoes for protection.

Room Tip: only rooms facing ocean are villas and those are upgrades. Bring an alarm clock if in garden rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,764
    1,466
    531
    235
    135
See reviews for
966
1686
48
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First off: Prior to our vacation I read some reviews that got me a bit worried, but luckily there were also plenty of positive reviews and some useful tips. With my/our review I would like to ‘give something back’.

Our stay: 2 weeks over Christmas and New Years 2012
Room: Privileged Suite (booked from the start)

In overall this is a lovely resort, spacious, well-maintained public spaces/areas, superb entertainment team (fun and not pushy), offers lots of activities (snorkeling, diving, tennis courts, spa, etc), gym and group exercise/classes, great activities at the mini club and a decent variety of meals/restaurants.

The room: The privileged suites are very spacious and almost a ‘must have’ when travelling with small children. There’s plenty of room in the bathroom and a lovely patio (we had ground floor). The oversized bathtub there was a big hit with our kids. The built in safe was spacious enough to hold all major (expensive) electronics and passports (we never left the room without putting those things away).
Minor drawback: the pullout couch is of very poor quality and cannot be recommended for adults/teens. They are very ‘bent’ and the mattresses too thin. Luckily our kids are small and light and they didn’t care.

Christmas/New Years:
We booked this holiday to ‘escape’ the crazy Christmas buzz for just one year and really enjoyed it. We weren’t expecting much of a celebration and definitely no Christmas tree etc. In our opinion they did a very good job at doing some Christmas celebration. The buffets were decorated very nicely, the animation team was dressed up in funny Christmas costumes, activities were with a Christmas theme, there was a Christmas menu at the a-la-carte restaurants and Santa Claus even arrived at the beach and had a small present for all the kids!
New Years was also a very great experience. They set up a gigantic stage at the beach, had some really good music, a very good DJ and a fun live show. We opted to pre-buy a bottle of ‘sparkly’ for $35 to secure a spot at a VIP table close to the dance’floor’ in the front. This was well worth it!

The Resort:
It is really very well maintained. The pool areas get cleaned every evening and the pools as well. When you look closely they offer a great variety of activities, such as snorkeling, (trial) scuba diving lessons, group exercise, biking trips to the nearby Marina. The entertainment team is very active and offers activities for almost anybody, from Spanish lessons to archery. They do the daily pool fitness, silly and fun activities, sometimes bingo, etc.
The buffets: The quality of the food at the buffets is good. There is a good amount of choice and the food was quite fresh.
A-la-Carte: There is a good variety of a-la-carte restaurants with a good choices on their menus. Mikado (Japanese) was a really memorable experience ☺.

Some ‘minor things’:
Check-in: Our check in was not (as claimed) at a ‘Privileged check-in area’ and was rather ‘sloppy’. We didn’t get all the vouchers we were entitled to (and wouldn’t have known if our friends wouldn’t have told us about it), there was no introduction to all the possibilities and extra’s we were entitled to, such as a complimentary use of the spa facilities. An overview of what is all available, when, where, how would have been nice (such as the group exercise classes at the gym, the snorkeling ‘expeditions’, etc)
Overall service: Generally the service was great but somewhat inconsistent. Specially with cleaning of the rooms that sometimes happened a bit late, which is not handy with small children.

More tips:
- The prices for massages at the spa are way over the top. I’ve heard people talk about the massage place right at the beach (by the Lagoon) and they are apparently superb. Not part of the resort though
- Get friendly with a waiter at the buffet and leave some tips, it will make a big difference on your breakfast and lunch experience (you’ll keep getting your favorite spot, special requests/drinks and quicker service)
- We recommend a privileged room that faces to the rear (outward) of the resort. Evenings with live bands can get rather noisy until very late. It also gives you more privacy with the tub, but no evening sun.
- Take a stroll to the nearby Marina and watch the Manatees, Dolphins and Seals.
- Swim with the Dolphins at the Marina: if you have never done this and always wanted to, it is definitely worth the ‘splurge’!

Room Tip: If you can, do spend the extra money on the privileged suite or upgrade upon arrival (which may actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A pre cursor rating to what I know will be another great stay. If not, I know management will make it right. As they do i you ever have a problem. We cant wait til March 2 when we arrive to our suite. Back to see the great staff and Gregorio! Relax and eat great food. Hopefully we get the star treatment this time with a special champagne dinner as others have posted. This is our anniversary too. We went here on our honeymoon the first visit in 2008. Been going here ever since. Why look for something better when we found what makes us happy....each other and, Catalonia!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arrived at this hotel on New Year's Eve, sadly we were too tired to stay awake to celebrate. We were in room 1021 - it was kept very clean during our 2 week holiday and it was great to see the different designs made from our towels! Loved the swans! Buffet restaurants were good standard, didn't have to queue so not sure what other guests had experienced. The a la carte restaurants were nice, Show cooking in the Japanese was fun, also enjoyed the Tapas and Italian restaurants. Bars were ok, enjoyed the daily special cocktails too. We've travelled quite a bit in the Caribbean and this was one of the nicest and cleanest hotels we've stayed in. Yes there were small things that annoyed us, but nothing that merits a bad review. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We were in a second floor room so didn't get bothered by any insects. Don't pay for an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

spent christmas and new year 2012/13 at tha catalonia and were given a standard room which believe me it is but its only for a shower and somewhere to sleep in ..the staff were very friendly and extremely hard working and the hotel in general is spotless, drinks at the bambolea snack bar were in constant supply with rafael never stopping all day replenishing your drinks while you are on your sunbed and if you did go to the bar leonardo had your drinks there in seconds ..Now the bad points ....the animation during the day was average but not great but when it came to the evening unless you were french forget it they put on quizzes etc in the theatre bar but only for the french we as brits and the rest of the english speaking world weren't really invited , so basically had to make our own entertainment ,the lion king show however is a must its brilliant ..the staff at the tequila bar were very rude and obviously wanted to serve the people who had tipped them and would ignore the rest of us ..getting up early every day to get a sunbed became very tiresome as there was not enough sunbeds for the amount of guests (saw some people on their towels on the floor ) the rooms are very noisy with doors slamming and people shouting and running around all the time (some silence signs might work)
The new years eve party was absolutely fantastic ..how they trnasformed the beach into a stage and set out all the tables was amazing with a live band ,dancers and then a disco till 2am it truly was brilliant (thank you catalonia) best new year ever !!!!
A 5 minute walk out of the hotel puts you in the marina with dolphins ,sea lions ,manatiis and i even swam with rays and sharks and the people were so friendly it was great
All in all it was a fantastic holiday with just the noise and animation letting it down everything else ticked all the boxes all the mexican staff were great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a short (5 day) but excellent stay at the Catalonia. I was vacationing with my 2 adult children so we had 2 rooms. Privileged Suite & Ocean View room. We were greeted warmly at reception given welcome drinks & apologized to that our rooms were not ready yet as it was not check in time. Before we could change into our shorts in the lobby restroom, we were informed that 1 of our rooms was ready! Our rooms were spotless and were well maintained throughout our stay. We ate at the Japanese restaurant, the food was excellent as well as the cocktails. (Drinks are definitely better in restaurants than poolside.) The Italian restaurant was also very good and the waiter was very attentive. There is enough variety of food that even if you ate buffet most days you should be satisfied. Buffet at breakfast was good, Santos is an excellent omelet maker!!
Did I tip? Absolutely...I always tip housekeeping and they were quite generous in return, leaving fruit platter one day. I also tipped waiters in the restaurants and the attentive staff that brought drinks to us at the beach.
Everyone I passed at this resort always had a smile and a 'Hola' or "buenos dias" for you.
What I also liked about this resort is that it is not too large, it does not take too long to get anywhere. Short walk from your room to beach, lobby, restaurants, pool etc.
I booked this hotel mainly because it sounded like there would be decent snorkeling from the beach and there are quite a few fish that you can see right off it's beach. It is not rocky in all areas of the beach so you don't need water shoes.
In Mexico, I have been to Cancun, Isle de Mujeres, & Cozumel. I really didn't know what to expect from this hotel and I have to say for the price, it was a great value for an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

For the first time ever, we decided to leave rain-soaked Wales over Christmas for some much-needed sunshine. Travelled to Mexico with my husband & 2 teenage daughters aged 16 & 15, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days at the Catalonia which we had booked through Hayes & Jarvis. The weather was perfect (around 30degC) & the hotel/ground staff worked extremely hard to make their guests feel welcome and keep the resort immaculate at all times. We were glad that we had pre-booked 2 up-graded rooms ie Superior Ocean View, especially after seeing the standard rooms which were VERY BASIC! Our rooms (nos 4131/4129) both had a super view & balconies, were very well serviced throughout our stay & had a complimentary mini-bar and safe.Even so they were only 3-Star (at a struggle) & could really do with a re-furbishment to justify the extra up-grade cost & the hotel's 4-Star rating. Food was excellent & inc all the A La Carte restaurants, especially the Mexican. Drinks & cocktails were good too. Our only complaint was that the ice cream/crepe bar didn't open until 5pm - would have been nice to have an ice cream earlier in the afternoon! Also, large parts of the beach area was rather rocky, but there were small pockets of sand to the left of the hotel & in front of the nearby Dreams hotel (to the right).We will probably return to the area in the future, but as we never stay in the same hotel twice, we will try another resort next time. However, the Catalonia is recommended as a good all-round resort.

Room Tip: Up-grade to a Superior Sea View or Privilege Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Riviera Maya is situated in the peaceful ambience of Puerto Aventuras, located directly on the beach of the beautiful Mexican Caribbean and in the heart of the Mayan Riviera. The white sandy beaches, crystal clear water, a great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9 hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.