We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arrived at this hotel on New Year's Eve, sadly we were too tired to stay awake to celebrate. We were in room 1021 - it was kept very clean during our 2 week holiday and it was great to see the different designs made from our towels! Loved the swans! Buffet restaurants were good standard, didn't have to queue so not sure what other guests had experienced. The a la carte restaurants were nice, Show cooking in the Japanese was fun, also enjoyed the Tapas and Italian restaurants. Bars were ok, enjoyed the daily special cocktails too. We've travelled quite a bit in the Caribbean and this was one of the nicest and cleanest hotels we've stayed in. Yes there were small things that annoyed us, but nothing that merits a bad review. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We were in a second floor room so didn't get bothered by any insects. Don't pay for an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,767
    1,471
    534
    238
    138
See reviews for
971
1693
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

spent christmas and new year 2012/13 at tha catalonia and were given a standard room which believe me it is but its only for a shower and somewhere to sleep in ..the staff were very friendly and extremely hard working and the hotel in general is spotless, drinks at the bambolea snack bar were in constant supply with rafael never stopping all day replenishing your drinks while you are on your sunbed and if you did go to the bar leonardo had your drinks there in seconds ..Now the bad points ....the animation during the day was average but not great but when it came to the evening unless you were french forget it they put on quizzes etc in the theatre bar but only for the french we as brits and the rest of the english speaking world weren't really invited , so basically had to make our own entertainment ,the lion king show however is a must its brilliant ..the staff at the tequila bar were very rude and obviously wanted to serve the people who had tipped them and would ignore the rest of us ..getting up early every day to get a sunbed became very tiresome as there was not enough sunbeds for the amount of guests (saw some people on their towels on the floor ) the rooms are very noisy with doors slamming and people shouting and running around all the time (some silence signs might work)
The new years eve party was absolutely fantastic ..how they trnasformed the beach into a stage and set out all the tables was amazing with a live band ,dancers and then a disco till 2am it truly was brilliant (thank you catalonia) best new year ever !!!!
A 5 minute walk out of the hotel puts you in the marina with dolphins ,sea lions ,manatiis and i even swam with rays and sharks and the people were so friendly it was great
All in all it was a fantastic holiday with just the noise and animation letting it down everything else ticked all the boxes all the mexican staff were great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a short (5 day) but excellent stay at the Catalonia. I was vacationing with my 2 adult children so we had 2 rooms. Privileged Suite & Ocean View room. We were greeted warmly at reception given welcome drinks & apologized to that our rooms were not ready yet as it was not check in time. Before we could change into our shorts in the lobby restroom, we were informed that 1 of our rooms was ready! Our rooms were spotless and were well maintained throughout our stay. We ate at the Japanese restaurant, the food was excellent as well as the cocktails. (Drinks are definitely better in restaurants than poolside.) The Italian restaurant was also very good and the waiter was very attentive. There is enough variety of food that even if you ate buffet most days you should be satisfied. Buffet at breakfast was good, Santos is an excellent omelet maker!!
Did I tip? Absolutely...I always tip housekeeping and they were quite generous in return, leaving fruit platter one day. I also tipped waiters in the restaurants and the attentive staff that brought drinks to us at the beach.
Everyone I passed at this resort always had a smile and a 'Hola' or "buenos dias" for you.
What I also liked about this resort is that it is not too large, it does not take too long to get anywhere. Short walk from your room to beach, lobby, restaurants, pool etc.
I booked this hotel mainly because it sounded like there would be decent snorkeling from the beach and there are quite a few fish that you can see right off it's beach. It is not rocky in all areas of the beach so you don't need water shoes.
In Mexico, I have been to Cancun, Isle de Mujeres, & Cozumel. I really didn't know what to expect from this hotel and I have to say for the price, it was a great value for an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

For the first time ever, we decided to leave rain-soaked Wales over Christmas for some much-needed sunshine. Travelled to Mexico with my husband & 2 teenage daughters aged 16 & 15, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days at the Catalonia which we had booked through Hayes & Jarvis. The weather was perfect (around 30degC) & the hotel/ground staff worked extremely hard to make their guests feel welcome and keep the resort immaculate at all times. We were glad that we had pre-booked 2 up-graded rooms ie Superior Ocean View, especially after seeing the standard rooms which were VERY BASIC! Our rooms (nos 4131/4129) both had a super view & balconies, were very well serviced throughout our stay & had a complimentary mini-bar and safe.Even so they were only 3-Star (at a struggle) & could really do with a re-furbishment to justify the extra up-grade cost & the hotel's 4-Star rating. Food was excellent & inc all the A La Carte restaurants, especially the Mexican. Drinks & cocktails were good too. Our only complaint was that the ice cream/crepe bar didn't open until 5pm - would have been nice to have an ice cream earlier in the afternoon! Also, large parts of the beach area was rather rocky, but there were small pockets of sand to the left of the hotel & in front of the nearby Dreams hotel (to the right).We will probably return to the area in the future, but as we never stay in the same hotel twice, we will try another resort next time. However, the Catalonia is recommended as a good all-round resort.

Room Tip: Up-grade to a Superior Sea View or Privilege Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from a 6 day stay. Overall it was a nice experience. The grounds are very nice and well taken care of. The resort is in a private gated community which is easy to walk around and feel safe.

We traveled with 2 other couples and found many things to do and relax. The majority of people were from Europe and the UK.

I contacted the resort by email prior to arriving and purchased flowers and they added champagne and a cake for our anniversary. Everything went very well.

The best bar is the Tequila pool bar, the rest served really watered down liquor. That would be my only complaint is the bars were inconsistent.

I got a sick from eating a hot dog (yes I know that wasn’t very smart), however the food was well prepared and variety the rest of the trip. Wednesday had a tequila tasting event which was pretty cool.

Overall I would recommend this resort however this is the first one we went to that there was kids and we just didn’t like that – not bad just we will choose different in the future as we like new adventures.

The ruins in Tulum are very close, I would take a taxi or bus rather than spending the $60 for a guided tour as it’s a national park and there are a lot of self guiding placards.

Again very nice grounds and we stayed in a suite (which we like for the space and nice bathrooms) which wasn’t that much more expensive.

Room Tip: No suites face the ocean (in fact I'm not sure if any really have oceanview). The suites were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear z308,

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband, 13 and 6 year olds, my 78 year-old mom and I spent two weeks at this resort from Dec. 29 to Jan. 12, 2013. If I could do a 4.5 star, I would. We booked without knowing anything about the place...just reading reviews on tripadvisor. Our first all inclusive and very good for the family. Lots of restaurant choice and always somewhere to get food...and good variety of food. Service everywhere was really great and KidsClub staff and entertainment staff so friendly and inclusive. I didn't think the 6 year old would like Kids Club but she loved it for the couple days she chose to attend. Also she really enjoyed the kid disco every evening. The ocean is a bit rocky for sure, but there was good snorkel ling for the kids in the marina. I would highly recommend this resort. Lots of Europeans vacationing too so lots of fun guests with different backgrounds. Entertainment staff always had activities going so you could be as busy and active as you wanted, or just sit and watch. The resort also features nightly shows with live entertainment which gave a flavour of Mexico and were good for the family without leaving the resort. The New Year's Eve party around the pool and by the beach was an added plus with 1,000 guests from all over ringing in 2013. Pool tables, ping pong tables, beach volleyball, boche ball and horseshoe pits and wifi in the lobbies meant that the 13 year old also had things to do. I would also recommend the one day scuba diving sold right at the hotel - no certification required, and the dolphin petting experience at Delphinus (sp?) off the resort. The hotel is in a gated community so no Mexican vendors, and for those who want to feel secure, this was a very good place. The only thing I found was that we needed to go to Playa Del Carmen, an easy and set price, 20 min. taxi ride away to really feel like we were in Mexico. Best part was the excellent service all round - from maids, to bartenders, entertainment staff, front desk, and so on. The only thing that holds it back from my giving a 5-star rating is the room furniture (a bit old but still in good shape), and not pure sand ocean floor. There are at least three beaches that are public nearby that offer a nicer beach and ocean bottom, but for the price, this was a great experience! We had two standard rooms rather than a suite which worked out fine as we were outside 99% of the time. Oh, and if you are looking for young and rowdy, this isn't the place.

Room Tip: Our rooms were in block A without ocean view, but perfectly nice and quiet. We were on the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Tracy L,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, it is very important for us to know that our guests had a great time during their vacation with us.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was with my wife and 7 year old daughter with the hotel two weeks from 27 December. Our room (privilege) was very clean and cleaned every day or as needed. In the evening room maid also prepared a room for sleeping. Minibar filled every day, laundry service was excellent and air conditioning worked well.

The pool area was excellent and our daughter loved to play there every day. The pool area were also close to the dinner restaurants (Bellavista and Bamboleo -puffee). The entertainer staff were very entertaining but not bushy. Bar service was great! Drinks were brought up to shore! Bring your own thermos mug with you!

Food in the restaurants (puffee and a la carte) was excellent and varied.

Although the beach was a little rocky in part, due to the reefs, the ocean was just a great place to snorkel and see lots of different kinds of fish, etc.

Also, the hotel is located a good distance from a variety of attractions. With the children we recommend to visit Xcaret.

Overall we liked the fact that all the hotel's facilities and beach were close to the rooms.

We had a great holiday and we enjoyed this hotel. Kiitos!

Room Tip: Take privileged room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Riviera Maya is situated in the peaceful ambience of Puerto Aventuras, located directly on the beach of the beautiful Mexican Caribbean and in the heart of the Mayan Riviera. The white sandy beaches, crystal clear water, a great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9 hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.