We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
newcastle england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we have just spent 2 weeks at the catalonia and had a great time.All the hotel facilities were great plenty of things to do all day and night.lovely pool areas and a great beach.all the staff were very friendly and pleasent,especially jose and luis at the tequila bar in the evening giving us great service and entertainment.the lobby bar was also very good with lucio and misael serving us many cocktails.could not fault the food plenty of choice and many excellent themed nights.mexican night on a wednesday was excellent with tequila tasting going down a treat.the mariachi's were very entertaining and really got the mexican atmosphere.all in all a great holiday and already looking at returning there next year.

Room Tip: 4th floor on yucatan side was quiet and had a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Robert S,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear your comments on the staff and services provided here in the hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,737
    1,438
    525
    227
    134
See reviews for
939
1656
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my third time at the Cat and I know it will not be my last. This has remained the best vacation spot out of all of my vacations. My husband and I were engaged on the stage here, married here and after 3 years we returned for our anniversary.It was just as amazing as before.
I categorized the different points of interest to help my fellow vacation lovers. Warning - this is a long review..I hope this helps :-)

People
The Cat has become more of a second home to us and that is because the employees are the best!Some of our friends were still working there and it was like coming home to family.
Riki, the entertainment manager, is the sweetest person and has truly become a friend. Freddie is part of the entertainment crew and he is the funniest person ever! Pita is hilarious and will make sure you have a good time. The new additions to the Team truly added to our entertainment - shout out to Giovanni! Along with the amazing entertainment crew are the great staff - Manuel at the Tequila bar is the best bartender! There is also Luis from the buffet. He is always there with a smile and a few drinks to keep the party going :-)

Room and Grounds
Along with the amazing staff, is the hotel itself. The Catalonia is a beautiful resort! We always upgrade to a superior room which is not much more money but def worth the extra money. The walk in shower is divine, the room is spacious and the fridge is always filled with beer, soda and water. The grounds are kept very clean and are beautiful. You will find iguanas wandering around - that is always fun for this city girl! The beach and lagoon is great for snorkeling - we took some gret photos of the fish. Take a little bread and the fish will surround you. The pools are all well kept and the swim-up bar is always well-stocked. The Yucatan side is quieter if you just want to chill out and the RM side is the party side. This is where the entertainment staff holds their daily activities, which are both fun to play and watch. The Sports bar and Club are open at night and both provide great entertainment. You can have a few drinks, check out games, play pool, ping-pong, or virtual golf at the sports bar, or have a few drinks and dance til 2am at the club.The Spa is also a great way to spend your time. We hade a couples massage and it was divine! It also has a steam room, a sauna, a pool. The gym is also accessible but I do believe you have to pay an extra price - not too sure.

Restaurants.
My all-time fave is the Steak House. The steak is delicious and so are the appetizers. The second would have to be the Mexican restaurant. I tried the new Tappas restaurant and I did not like it at all. I love the show that is put on in the Japanese restaurant but the food isnt my fave. I tried Italian the last time and was not impressed so I didn't visit this time around. The buffet is always open and they have a great selection of fish, meat, pizza, veggies, soups, etc... You can't go wrong there. During the day and after 11, the snack bar is open and they have a great selection as well. It's great to get food right before heading back to your room after a night at the Sports bar or club.

Excursions
Being that this is the third time here, we were on the hunt for different excursions. We chose to go and see Chichen Itza and take a trip to Xel-Ha. Both were wonderful. One warning is that you are no longer allowed to climb Chichen. If you want to actually stand on the ruins, you would have to go to Coba. Chichen was beautiful and the food is yummy. They take you to a cenote which is beautiful but they only give you a few minutes to check it out which is a bummer. Xel-Ha is gorgeous and worth the money for animal lovers, nature enthusiasts, and water lovers. You can snorkel, zipline, and you see a ton of animals.

My fave tour so far is still Maya Adventures which takes you to a cenote, a 2 mile snorkel and a cave. A must for water lovers!!

I think that is it.If you have any questions, let me know. I love this place, I hope you will too :-)

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to upgrade to a superior room. Take a credit card since they no longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Koolatta,

Thank you for taking the time to write you opinion of our hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach, it is wonderful to know that we have such loyal clients that spend some of their most outstanding celebrations as your engagement and wedding and treasure those moments.
We certanly hope to see you soon, perhaps for your next anniversary!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked this resort for a short trip at a very good price and opted for a Priviledged Superior room. We didn't really notice anything Priviledged about the upgrade though. The staff and service was very good. Food at the buffet was average for an all-inclusive resort. The Ala Carte options were very good. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, etc. Can't complain about the drinks either!! They keep the drinks flowing all day and night and with a few tips, the bartenders make sure the drinks are strong and your glass is never empty!!

Not much beach here though. When the tides comes in, the beach is virtually gone!! The only drawback is the location. It's about an hour South of Cancun. You either have to pay about $80 per person RT transfer to the resort, which then leaves you virtually trapped at the resort, or you have to rent a car, which is much cheaper, but in Mexico you have to put up a $1500 deposit to rent a car if you decline all insurance. If you take out ALL the insurance the deposit drops to $750 but the weekly rental goes up to $225.. So not worth the extra money!

Nevertheless, we rented a car without ANY insurance so we could have some freedom to go to Playa Del Carmen and Tulum. That was a lot cheaper as the car for 6 days was only $65 total.

The guests are multinational at the resort. We met people from Russia, the UK, Spain, Norway, Canada, and the US.

Overall, this was a pretty good resort at a reasonable price. It's off the beaten path, much more relaxed than the Cancun area resorts.

Room Tip: You have to request a room near the beach and pools!! Otherwise you will be way at the back of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear texblondi2,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us in Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach, the feedback of our guests is our most important source of improvement. We are glad to know that you had a good time.
Regarind the location of the hotel, we are based inside a gated community which includes shops, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions such as a Dolphin center and Marina. We are also 40km from the ruins in Tulum and 20km from the city of Playa del Carmen which leaves us in a central area of the marvelous Riviera Maya. Perhaps if you decide to visit us again, we could recommend using the local public transportation “colectivos” which are very safe, run daily early until late and are at a reasonable price.
We look forward to see you again in the future to give us another chance to comply and exceed your highest expectations.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned home from a stay at Catalonia Riviera Maya, and everything about our trip was fabulous! The resort, the staff, the food, the room, the beach....ALL FABULOUS! No complaints whatsoever! We would recommend this resort to all friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Becky B,

Thank you for writing your comments about your recent stay with us in Catalonia Riviera Maya, it is a pleasure to know that you had a good time and you will keep a good memory of the hotel an Mexico.
We certainly hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future to give us another chance to pamper you and exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After reading reviews of the Catalonia resort and spa I didn't know what to expect but in one word all I could say it was paradise from the moment we got to the hotel to day we were leaving we had fantastic service fantastic food the cleanliness of the room was out of this world staff were fantastic and even though we didn't use the kids club I have to say they were fantastic with the kids from morning til night nothing was to much for them the Mexicans were so friendly I want to go back soon

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Robert S,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear your comments on the staff and services provided here in the hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Genuinely have no idea what people are complaining about. Hotel is spotless, staff are great, grounds are gorgeous, marina full of dolphins, stingrays, sea lions and manatees only a 10 minute walk away as well. The grounds are large, a 'quiet' side and a more lively one so you get the best of both worlds.
We stayed around the quieter pool, but the entertainment team came around and asked us if we wanted to join in on table tennis tournaments etc so we never felt left out!
The buffet restaurants are more than satisfactory, always found something and I'm very fussy! Lots of fresh fruit and salad and a selection of meats and cheese as well as all the hot food and the ice cream and cakes! The food wasn't always red hot, but it usually isn't at a buffet and it was all pretty tasty most of the time!
Al la carte restaurants are all great, Mexican was probably our least favourite as it wasn't very Mexican and was just OK. Japanese is amazing! As is the Tapas one! Creperie is okay, milkshakes are amazing in there though, better than the crepes!
Snack bar is also good, though don't try and eat in there until bang on 11am, the staff are sticklers for timing haha.
Bar staff are hilarious, a tip gets you a long way. Also, of you ask for the premium spirits that are behind them ten they will give you them, otherwise you just get the cheap stuff! Cocktails vary in taste and strength depending on who makes them as nothing is measured, so some blow your head off! Haha it's all fun though.
As for trips. We did something called the 'Fat Cat' which was incredible. You go out to the coral reef on a catamaran, all inclusive beer and punch as well as a packed lunch for the way back, and you go snorkelling at the reef. We saw turtles, sting rays, pufferfish, everything! On the way back they do this 'Caribbean nappy' thing where basically you sit in your life jacket and jump on the sea (which is insanely warm!) and as you bob about they throw beer out to you, it's great fun! Staff are really funny and it's such a laugh! Definitely recommend!
We also went to Xcaret which is a huge Eco park, again recommended! Did a few of the Mayan ruins for culture too! Plenty to see and do anyway.
A few people have complained about the rocks in the sea, the beach stretches over 2 hotels as you have access to both. The Yucatan side is rocky and fairly difficult to get in, however the Catalonia side is fine and fairly shallow and FULL of fish. If you go further out though watch out for the sea urchins, there are loads of them and they hide well, nearly lost my foot a few times haha.
We didn't upgrade as so many people said to, as we dosnt see the point. Only ever in a room to shower and sleep so unless you plan on being in there for more than that, the standard rooms are fine. A little tired, maybe, but they are spotless and the TV has a few English Channel if you fancy an early night.
Overall, it's a great hotel, great price with plenty to do if you want to, and peace and quiet if you prefer that. Take some $1 bills as the staff work very hard and they appreciate it.
Would definitely go again, I can't really fault anything! The only thing I can suggest is that they install tea and coffee making facilities in the buffet restaurants as getting a hot drink from the waiters can be a task sometimes in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Buriyngluck,

Thank you for writing such nice comments of our facilities and staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay in Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan beach as well as in Mexico.
We certanly hope you will decide to vist us again in the future, It will be our pleasure to serve you once again!
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Been to This Hotel 3 YEAR AGO and would have given it a 9 OUT OF 10,This time a 8 OUT 10.Staff are VERY GOOD also food good but ALL veg in ALL THE A AL CARTE are cold.hotel does need a REVAMP BUT IT NEEDED THIS 3 YEAR AGO.If you go you must go to COCO BONGOS and pay for the VIP,we got it for £65. HOTEL 8/10 FOOD 7/10 ROOM 6/10 STAFF 9/10..............BONGOS 10/10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Susan F,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
It is also a pleasure to hear that the staff in the hotel made a difference to your stay.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77782, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Riviera Maya is situated in the peaceful ambience of Puerto Aventuras, located directly on the beach of the beautiful Mexican Caribbean and in the heart of the Mayan Riviera. The white sandy beaches, crystal clear water, a great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9 hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.