We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exalent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Catalonia Riviera Maya
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“exalent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

this is a very clean and well presented hotel the people are very plesent and welcomeing you have plenty of resteraunts to choose from and plenty of places to relax and the enrertanmet is great at night....but a bit to much around the pool by the beach....at night you must vist the tequila bar and meet luis the bar man.....and his side kick jhose you could not find a better pair to serve you you will not have to waite for your drink...allso little gwadaloope the waitress a loveley warm outgoing girl..........but on the down side if you dont get on with the germans and the russians well make up your own mind they are thear on mass...mexico is a lovely country make shure you visit talum the mian city...all in all a very good hotel we came back on the 15/11/2012

Room Tip: all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear John W,

Thank you for writing your comments about your recent stay with us, It is a pleasure to know that you had a good time in the hotel and you will keep a good memory of our facilities and the staff, I will let Luis, José and Guadalupe know about your opinion of the service they gave you, I am sure they are going to be very proud.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future to give us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    1,759
    647
    286
    168
See reviews for
1,205
2,067
68
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited this resort in August of 2011, I just never wrote a review. This was a resort that I can not forget and now I always compare it to the other places I go. Recently I even chose an another Catalonia Resort but in Punta Cana thinking that it may be as good as this one, but...this one still is the best for me; the main reason being the entertainment crew. They were trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible; starting in the morning by the pool with different crazy games, dance lessons, sport games and ending in the evening on stage making shows, improvizing. A big THANK YOU to the entertainment team. I hoppe to be back soon.
The only down side of this resort was a rocky beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Vaida C,

We would like to thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We all are deeply glad that after one year you still keep a good memory of our hotel and the staff. I will let all the entertainment staff know that they made your stay more memorable.
Regarding the rocky beach, it is a small reef that we have on the beach of the hotel, and hopefully if you decide to visit us again in the future, we will kindly invite to snorkel here and enjoy the amazing variety of fish that the Mexican Caribbean offers.

It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again in the near future so we will have another opportunity to pamper you and exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our 9th stay here!! As usual, resort is spotless, food is excellent, rooms are pristine! Waitstaff and bartenders, especially Manuele at the Tequila Bar and Gerardo at the Pure Chill Out Bar, are superb. This is one of the premier resorts in the Riviera Maya, run by a fantastic and professional General Manager. Don' t hesitate, book a trip to this resort at once!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Carlitos5150,
Thank you so mucho for such nice comments! It is fantastic to have loyal clients that come every year to the resort and they feel like home, making new friends and visiting the old ones.
We hope to see you and serve you again in the future for another lovely experience.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington Township, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just got back from this resort. We had a wonderful vacation.
Place was superb, grounds, staff, room and lots of smiles.
Flew into Cancun, about a 50-60 minute drive, depending on the stops.
We arrived and was greeted with much warmth. Juan showed us all around while going to our room. I had upgraded our room, got a suite, when I made the reservation so we stayed in the privilged area. The room had a nice deep tub on the patio, slippers and robe, wifi, special seating at meals too. The shower was to die for, could have stayed in there all day. It was a rainshower coming from the ceiling, awesome.
Drinks were good and the quality was good too.
Went to the specialty restaurants they were good too. Some were incle
At night there was not much to do, shows were boring but we were fine just walking around and early to bed. Sun and sea can wipe you out.
Bed was very comfortable and you can order the type of pillow you want too.
The poolside activities were great as are the counselors they get you moving and have fun.
Shopping was not good there, so saved money.
People were very friendly, pools were extremely clean, beach water was beautiful.
Entering the water was tricky, because of the rocks, but there is path to enter and if you use that till up to your knee then you can go across and just enjoy.
Say hi to Thelma she is on the beach and does a very good job or making sure you don't get thirsty and offers suggestions of alcoholic and non drinks.
If you go enjoy the peacefulness and stress free time.

Room Tip: Privlidge all the way, quiet don't stop for timeshare at the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jog03
Thank you for writing you opinion about your recent stay with us, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We upgraded our room on booking definitely worth while we got access to the spa, free safe, mini bar, filter coffee and larger room. Lovely holiday definitely would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Karrie B,
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned fromn the Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico.This is a excellent hotel with a great mix of bars and restaurants. We upgraded to a Privilage room, so we had a fridge and a few other niceties. The bottled water was restocked everyday but there are water dispensers in every bar The staff were very friendly and eager to help and the nightly towel art is great fun. The Room was cleaned every day to a very high standard, with an additional maid service in th e evening to change towels and do the bed. THe whole complex is spotless and constantly checked day and night.

There are 5 'specialist' restaurants, which you get tokens to eat in but the 2 buffet restaurants are just as good, with food which is hot, plentiful and well thought out. Of the 'specialist' restaurants the Mexican (obviously) is very good and the Tapas had some of the best food I've had anywhere. The bars are cool with great service, especially the Pure Chill out Bar, Gerardo the bar tender we great fun with superb service night after night. The Entertainment team are great, catering for all ages. All the staff are friendly, polite and will go out of their way to be of assitance. Thier is a lovely english lady running the coincege desk and she again is fantastic.

The on site Spa is beautiful and great value for money.

We booked this holiday fairly last minute and on the recommedation of the travel agent. What a fantastic and amazing place, both the hotel and sights around within easy travelling distance.

Out of the hotel there is so much to see. By the marina in the complex is the dolphin pool, which is free to walk around (or you can pay to swim with them). As well as the dolphins you can see Stingrays, Manatee and sea lions. If you want to venture further afield the Mayan sites of Chichen Itza, Tulum and Coba are in easy reach. A coach will pick up at the Hotel with very proud and knowlegable tourguides to help you along the way.

We had an amazing holiday and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Catalonia Rivira Maya, to anyone. THANK YOU !!

Room Tip: Well worth asking about an upgrade if you want spoiling even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Phil H,
We would like to thank you for such nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff. We all are deeply glad to hear that you spent a great time with us and your opinion make us feel really proud.
It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again in the near future so we will have another opportunity to pamper you and exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

just back from this hotel we had a really great time , food and drink very good , all the hotel staff were very friendly including waiter/waitresses and even the gardners,we went to coco bongo`s in playa del carmen which we booked through the guy (Jose) who worked within the hotel we did the v.i.p. trip which cost us approximately £75.00 but our transport , admission into the night club and all our drinks were free all evening no problems with the service in coco bongo`s drinkks were always readily available .it was mine and my wife`s birhdays whilst we were out there and the hotel staff went out of there way to make them really remarkable and something never to be forgotten also it was our wedding anniversary out there so we upgraded our room to a honeymoon sweet for our last four days and it was worth every penny (done a bit of haggling) and got a good discount on the room, done a deep sea fishing trip which was great but again walk down to the marina (5 mins away) and you will get it cheaper all in all we had a really good time (apart from the dreaded red eye flight back home)

Room Tip: upgraded rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear wizzmog,
Thank you for writing a review of your last stay with us and for choosing our hotel for such special ocassions as both your birthdays and wedding anniversary! It is wonderful to hear that you had a good time.
We hope to see you and serve you again in the future for another lovely experience and maybe another anniversary!.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
12.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
22.9 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#5 of 6 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 stars 3,985 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
19.1 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#122 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 6,249 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.