We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Puerto Aventuras.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Picalu B&B Boutique

Save Saved
You added Villas Picalu B&B Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas Picalu B&B Boutique
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bahia Xcacel 18 | Lote 9 Manzana 11, Puerto Aventuras 77733, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Best kept secret in Puerto Aventuras.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there as the hotel where we were supposed to stay was booked up. We found it through booking.com then googled for the direct number which turned out to be the best option as booking direct meant we got breakfast and lunch included in the already great price.
The owners were fantastic hosts and it was lovely to have such a personal touch. They are very well connected throughout the Community and advised us on tours and attractions.
Would whole heartily recommend villa picalu and look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Picalu was great. Super clean lovely room. Caring good natured hosts. Can't beat the price. I had my doubts when I first pulled into Puerto Aventuras. I enjoy Mexico and Mexicans so I was a little dismayed when we passed the checkpoint into this gated community. I was wrong. The community has a great feel to it. There are down home restuarants and fruit sellers. Everyone is friendly and helpful. But it was the marine pools in the village center that totally entertained us. In the middle of the night dolphins would swim by to talk. Manatees were getting their teeth brushed. Sea lions played tag and keep away for their own amusement. We enjoyed every walk from Villas Picalu.

Room Tip: We picked the suite. Never used the A/ C. Great view of the animals that visit the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a find! Quiet, beautiful neighborhood across the street from a fascinating marina with interesting shops, boats, marine mammals. We'd walk around the marina in the morning watching the dolphins, seals, and manatees. Then we'd come home for a great breakfast served by Roberto and Alejandrina and watch the antics of the Agoutis and iguanas on their back lawn. One day we went fishing on one of the charter boats just across the street from the Picalu. We often ate at the Latitude 20 - a small, relaxed casual restaurant also just across the street from the Picalu. Colette liked shopping at the many stores around the marina. One day we swam at a deserted beach in the neighborhood. The snorkeling was fair. Roberto gave us a lot of help making phone calls and travel arrangements. We could hardly believe our luck.

Room Tip: We had the largest room which had its own bath. It overlooked the pool and golf course. It was spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place is amazing. I am here right now taking the time to write this review because it is really worth it. This is a big house -next to another one, and you can use the two swimming pools, the gardens, the common area (table & sofas with tv). The place is 5 minutes away from the beach in a very safe and beautiful place. Roberto and Max are here to help you in everything you need..

I would totally come back here.! A+

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great location, great value, excellent location - what more can you ask for? You also get great advice about all of the exciting things to do and see in the area, including tips you likely would not get from the chain hotels. The setting is one of a kind - beautiful yard with local wildlife, pools, cenote & jungle in back, and a marina stocked with playful dolphins, manatees, sea lions and more out front. This is the type of place that makes you never want to leave from the moment you get there - we're already planning our next trip! Extremely clean and cared for with pride, the rooms are also spacious and comfy. Roberto, Massimiliano, and Pamelina went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our stay and we certainly were - the entire experience was amazing! Everyone should experience Puerto Aventuras and Villas Picalu at least one... you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

If I try to book my room and you are in it, you are Blessed! The Prlivate Marina is opperated by the Military, which helps to ensure that the local policia and taxis are kept at bay. Outside your balcony door is a "wild" oasis, Pond with wildlife that is very tame and only shows themselves when Roberto is through cooking breakfast. Nothing goes to waste, which shows how much the owners have invested into the local culture and belief that the Riviera Maya is a self sustaining environment when treated with respect.
I expected a shabby room and was greeted with a small slice of heaven. All of my old college friends were staying at the Barcelo All Inclusive Resort and only wished they had the vision to gain some sort of culture.
Roberto and his Wife Alex made our trip memorable!
And the kicker, they lined us up with a very reasonably priced dive into the the sacred Mayan underwater river caves called the "Cenote" recently featured as one of the best dive spots by the National Geographic.
Great House, Great Service, and I will be Greatly dissapointed when I try to book and you are in my room!!!!
Have fun and give Alex a hug for us...
Matt, Jillian and Adelae V

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at Villas Picalu after christmas time 2011, and we were just lucky that they still had rooms! Roberto and Massi were very accommodating! They were friendly and helped us to plan our trips, feel at home and anything you could ask for. It was almost like having a family away from home. Roberto also helped us set up our personal diving tour of the cenote Dos Ojos, a place that words can hardly describe, because you really have to see it! We had the perfect breakfasts with italian coffee, fresh fruits, newly baked bagels and eggs of any choice every morning. The rooms were clean, calm, had both ac and fans and balconies with nice views. With the pool, the natural cenote, the rich animal life and the great service, I could not really find anything bad to say. We were simply spoiled!
I wish the best for this lovely B&B, and I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Picalu B&B Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Picalu B&B Boutique

Address: Bahia Xcacel 18 | Lote 9 Manzana 11, Puerto Aventuras 77733, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas Picalu B&B Boutique 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Picalu B&B Boutique offers an outdoor pool and a cenote set in tropical gardens. It is 20 km from Playa del Carmen, in the gated community of Puerto Aventuras.The gardens at Villas Picalu are full of exotic birds and animals, including parrots, spider monkeys and iguanas. You can also go swimming with dolphins and feed manatees in Puerto Aventuras.Guests have access to the communal golf course and tennis courts. You can rent yachts or book sailing lessons at Puerto Aventuras Marina, just a few metres away.Villas Picalu Boutique B&B can arrange provide Italian food on request. You can also find a range of bars, restaurants and shops in the Puerto Aventuras Marina Centre.The 4 rooms at Villas Picalu offer views of the cenote, swimming pools, marina or golf course. Rooms have simple, modern décor and either private or shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villas Picalu B&B Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Picalu B&B Boutique Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Picalu B&B Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.