We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon - Once we had moved rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon - Once we had moved rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from an 11 night stay at El Dorado Seaside Suites for our honeymoon. After a long transfer from Cancun Airport (almost 2hrs which Thomson don't mention on their website!) we arrived at reception and we're greeted with face towels and a glass of fizz - perfect start!

We were then shown to our room (2514) which was a standard beach front suite. The room was spotless with a jacuzzi bath although a little on the dark side as the lighting wasn't perfect and there are a lot of Palm trees blocking out the sun (you do get a beach view however!) We decided to eat at the Mexican restaurant which was amazing and have an early night - this is where the issue with being in block 25 came in. It is right above the main bar that has live music and a disco until 2am most nights. Not something either of us have a problem with if we choose but there is no way of getting to sleep before the entertainment finishes. Your room may as we'll be in the middle of the dance floor! We visited reception and asked to be moved at about 11pm. Edgar on the front desk apologised that this wouldn't be possible that night but to return in the morning to see what they could do.

We visited reception in the morning and asked if their were any swim up suites available as we were on honeymoon and explained the issue with the noise. We were told there would be an $80 per night charge for this but there was one available. We chose to go and see it before making a decision. We were shown to room 4008 and all I can say is Wow! Perfect location for the quieter swim up bar, light and airy with the biggest bed ever! My husband managed to get the receptionist to agree to $70 per night and throw in a honeymoon package too!

The honeymoon package included a couples massage on the beach, candle lit beach front dinner and a honeymooners private breakfast with fizz served to your suite! All of which we're amazing. We settled into our new room straight away which got sunlight on the terrace from around 9.30am - 3pm everyday. The upgrade cost less than half of gets it would have booking direct through our tour operator which is something I will consider in future!

Abraham at the swim up bar was brilliant. Always happy to see you and friendly! The main bar although loud has a friendly atmosphere on an evening and all guests seem to chat and laugh the night away.

The smaller bar near the Mexican restaurant we found to be quite stuffy with little atmosphere. Had to wait there having a drink a couple of times when awaiting a table at the Mexican or Italian (usually 30mins at around 8pm) but would not stay there all night to drink.

Restaurants are all dab. Mia Casa being my favourite and the Asian Klay Talay was my husbands (also fabulous! For a great experience be sure to book into the Gourmet Pub where you can have classic fish and chips with a twist - fish caught that day locally. The appetisers you receive there are big enough to skip a starter!

Lunch times there is a fabulous BBQ on the jetty or a boutique burger bar serving the best burgers I've had in a long time. Breakfast was served in a few places and we preferred either the jetty where you can look out to see as you dip your fresh coffee or the sandwicherie. Both had lots of choice.

The beach was picture perfect and you will to lie without a drink for long before it is replaced for you by one of the waiters!

All in all a beautiful resort which we would return to in a heartbeat but we would choose a swim up over a standard room every time especially one as close to the swim up bar as our was! Enjoy x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,309
    938
    284
    158
    110
See reviews for
101
3,597
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I'm late in reviewing this resort but I had a very nice stay here and wanted to mention a few things I observed. The grounds are gorgeous, as are the rooms. The beach is very small due to storm damage but they've done a good job at making the best with what they have. The only sub par mention about El Dorado would be the food in some of the restaurants. Nothing was awful and nothing was 5 Star dining. If you're a picky American that enjoys fine dining, by all means, visit this resort but don't go expecting Michelin restaurant rated quality food. Go for the relaxation, wonderful atmosphere, entertainment and more than friendly staff. It was a pleasure to visit El Dorado, although I'm a fan of the beach more than the pool, so when I return to Mexico, it will be to a resort near Playa Del Carmen where the beaches are big and go on for miles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the El dorado seaside..being so close to the beach was awesome. We had a villa style unit. Food was good, seemed abit limited for choices for a gourmet inclusive. They missed our turn down service twice in 2 days - not that's not too big of a deal. We definitely wouldn't recommend or go back to the spa for any treatments. But, what made our trip was a concierge - Candido..he couldnt of done anything more. He was awesome.resort is abit far from playa and they could have the free shuttle as they do at other el dorado resorts as taxi 1 way is 23-25$

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Booked as a special holiday with friends and unfortunately our expectation of the resort was not what we thought. We paid extra for a Premium Suite with jucuzzi and private pool with butler service . However, on arrival we were taken to a 6 storey high block, housing approximately 100 rooms. The jucuzzi was in the bathroom, not as all the other suites showing it in the bedroom . Although the room was clean and large it was dark and dismal and had no WOW factor at all . Definitely not a romantic setting. In the morning we ventured to the private pool for the Premium Suites only to find that there was only approximately 20 sun beds with one parasol . The butler service obviously could cope here, although we were given to believe this service was extra for the Premium guests only . I disagree as every pool and the beach had bar waiters going round offering drinks . You also had to get up early if you wanted to get one of the 20 sun beds . The extensive pool was great but shaded from the 6 storey block in the afternoon . Such a shame as the swim up rooms were lovely but couldn't be used for sunbathing after 2ish. The service from the bar by the relax pool in the evening was really bad . We actually found a few staff ( not just the bar area) rude while we were there . All the mixers in the bars were usually flat so unless you like cocktails the drinks weren't nice. Nothing like the service we received when we went to The Moon Palace in cancun . We also felt that there was a lack of comfortable seating in all the outside bars . They were low or swings which may be ok if you are young but for us middle aged lot and for a five star hotel, I really would expect a lounge bar with air con and comfy settees , so I can enjoy my drink after my meal in a glass not plastic cups . On the positive side - the restaurants and service was fantastic , cannot fault the food or the service here . The bar staff in the restaurants were great too so we can't understand why the other two bars were so unfriendly . Overall we did have a good holiday because we were with friends and the company made the holiday. It's just a shame that the high rise block is not in keeping with a romantic couples hotel . Every other room on site is low key and just fits in with the beautiful surroundings. It's not worth paying the extra to upgrade .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Can't say anything bad about this resort apart from building work that was going on at the time of our holiday.
Everything else was just perfect. Really friendly people aways smiling and happy.
The sea is warm and inviting and so clean
our room was in the new part and was modern and stunning pure luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014


Not long got home after an amazing 2 weeks at EDSS. We booked through Thomson, most of which was good but not perfect. As soon as u step out of whatever u choose 2 arrive in u r treated like royalty, ever member of staff r genuinely happy in all they do, a big shout out goes to Marysol,1 of the concierges in the premium block. We had a swim up room there, at the reception end of the pool. It was perfect, rooms well equipped, stocked n cleaned daily. We had full sun from sun up till 1.30pm which was just about spot on as by then we were ready to eat n explore. The only bad meal we had the whole 2 weeks was in the oriental, otherwise it was all good. Loved vida 4 brekky everyday, Nancy, Robert and almondo were fab. Mia casa was r fav 4 dinner Mexican a close second. Lunch good everywhere. Be prepared to eat..eat...eat. loads of drink choices everywhere, we often just asked 4 a surprise with or without booze n everyone was delicious n not on a menu... Fredy at the premium pool bar is a diamond, funny as hell n boy does he make a good tipple, Estella there is also fab. Beware of the main pool, it's full of fun n silliness, I got roped in 2 a game, just passin by fully dressed n ended up in the pool chugging beer n doin push ups..... stayed away after that. We found quiet n pure bliss all around the resort when we wanted it, but also plenty 2 do when feel in energised. The spa is amazing, although we opted 4 a massage on the beach, loved hearing the sound of nature n the ocean, recommend u have it around 8-9am while area super quiet. The beach whilst relatively narrow is gorgeous n were always plenty of free beds. Loads of lovely sea life even right on the shoreline, please respect their ecological work, the sandbags r doing a job...We tipped regularly as we appreciated the hard work everyone did, but u can't tip them all, 20 pesos is a good general tip, we gave r regulars more as we were leaving. Dress code seemed pretty relaxed, we sore everything from really done up to shorts, tshirt n flip flops. They really appreciate it if u make a bit of an effort, it seemed they didn't want 2 offend people by enforcing the code but there r rules at their signin counters. We wore linen trousers, good jeans, nice tops, open sandals, long skirts etc, trainers r fine. The place is so nice u will want to look good. Venture out to Tulum or the local villages if u want to find good quality pressys/mementos, shops on site expensive. Plenty of good excursions can b booked thru several sources at the resort, some r a fair distance as the resort is set in v quiet area, so would suggest a tour as yr whole day is sorted no worries, but there r loads u can do on yr own. Taxis r safe n fair value, collectivo cheap n safe every 15 mins or so, rental fine just be aware of v active police presence n stops. All in all it was a 1st class holiday, worth the price tag. Recommend premium block if u r expecting a luxurious fresh modern room as older blocks r going thru some updating n can b a little tired. The building work going on is barely noticeable anywhere. The wifi wasn't free wen we went but we got it with r honeymoon package. It will b free with Thomson from May 1st. Book it u won't b disappointed xx

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have to really think hard to find anything significantly wrong with this resort. This vacation fulfilled the objective of a digital detox, tons of reading and beachside laziness to the point of coma. The food was consistently good and they weren't shy about providing beyond rail alcohol. The absence of a frat atmosphere was guaranteed. The well-equiped gym was great as a compensating tool for the constant stream of coconut ice cream I was consuming.
Why April? The weather in both April and May tends to be hot with brief threats of rain. Sure it might be a little late for a sun holiday, but anticipation is not to be discounted when one endures a Canadian winter.
The rooms in the Premium Suite are top shelf. I stayed in the garden area and yes it was a little close in terms of humidity and such ... but its the jungle and I'm the visitor.
I get the sense that all the Karisma properties are pretty reliable in terms of what they promote. I would confidently book with them again. By our second to last day we were already concocting schemes about the next trip to one of their properties ... !

Room Tip: Premium Suites, any floor. Looks like they may have new rooms available within the year, but I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Seaside Suites, By Karisma Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.