We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 35% Off + Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

All of the great things that you've been reading in other reviews are true.
We traveled here as couples from our family & a couple of friends group. The family were all in the same building which was very nice the friends paid extra for a room in the new section, that advertised that they get more for their money but they don't. The only difference that we found is they were in a newer high rise building, and they had a snack bar that we could not go to but they could. All the rooms are clean & up to date. Cleaning person & water person come to the room everyday. We tipped both, $1. on the bed & $1. in the fridge each day. Our room was always done to perfection & and we accumulated quite a collection of towel art, lots of soap, shampoo, conditioner, & all other bathroom needs . At check in they ask you what you want in your fridge so our water person noticed when we needed beer which he filled up and we had water in the fridge, beside the bed, at the coffee maker and in the bathroom every day. King bed very comfortable & lots of room to unpack your clothes. 3rd floor room and we had a very nice garden view & we had our own swim up bar at our building #35.
All workers & employees are friendly & very willing to help or explain all you need to do is ask. And there are personal consigners assigned to each couple of buildings to help with anything you need or any trip you would like to take. They even can give you a pillow menu to choose a softness of pillow that you would like in your room which is delivered that day.
No need to make any meal reservations unless you want to, its a good idea if you have a group of 6 or more to make reservations or you will be waiting. We found that we had to wait a bit too long at the Asian restaurant than we should have because we were asking to sit 8 people. After asking what was causing the delay as I had just counted 4 sets of couples leave the restaurant and 3 other couples were seated before us that came into the restaurant after us, amazingly we were seated. Great food in all of the restaurants. All the servers are very friendly and helpful to help you decide on a meal or a beverage.
Remember to ask for the GI wine list to choose from when ordering your wine at any meal. They have a house wine, that is included, which is ok to start, but they have a GI (gourmet inclusive) wine which is nicer that is also inclusive, you can request one of their bottles from that list, or you can pay extra for a very nice selection of top brand names but again you have to pay for it.
24 hour room service menu is great,but not a lot to choose from, you can call for breakfast and it was in our room within 20-30 minutes, many times sooner as we enjoyed breakfast in our room quite often. Others we met that had rooms with a swim up patio would order snacks through out the day, nachos, sliders, etc.
You also can order a bottle of champagne for your room at check in.
All brand names of alcohols just ask. Brand name beers also, Coors light if your interested.
They have a healthy smoothie corner which had many different ones to choose from, wonderful for after our work out.
Spa & gym available too. Both fantastic, ask about the water treatments available at the spa & after your workout in the gym. Water treatment is a hot steam sauna, cold air cooler, pool with powerful water jets to stand or lay in, then the hot Jacuzzi, a cool Jacuzzi & a polar dip. Next off to a massage, were they treat you with champagne, or any other drink. We had 3 doubles massages in two weeks that were so worth it, I had the 50 min relaxing massage & my husband had the 50 min deep tissue massage, which we both add an extra 20 min for hot rock foot & leg massage.
The gym has a lot of equipment & seemed to fairly empty at most times thru out the day. And the water treatment is available after a work out also.
We only booked one day off the resort to visit a jewelry store & to go do some shopping.
Our thing is we tip at the resort for the great service.
Also try to go to the different classes they have a great entertainment group to help you have fun if you want to participate. We went to the tequila tasting very good class, & missed the wine tasting but heard it was great also. We learned to make guacamole and shrimp salsa so much fun. You will get a packet with all kinds of information about what is happening thru out the day for the week and it is also posted on a couple of different signs also posted around the resort.

Many bars to stop into thru out the days & nights, and they have wait-staff so that you do not have to spend time standing at the bar or at the pool waiting for a beverage if you do not want to. Pool & beach bar closes at 6:00pm every day.

Beach beds had a sign posted that your belongings would be in lost and found if your stuff was left on the beds for over an hour which was not enforced but should have been. We watched 2 couples save a pool bed, 4 chairs on the side of the pool out of the water and then 4 chairs that were in the water. We found that was a bit too much, as it was many of the younger couple that said out loud "that it was a great place all you had to do was get up early enough to get a bed and 2 chairs and you could move to be in the shade or in the sun all day. And not to worry save it in the morning and then go do your thing and you can still have it when you get back". That should be corrected as many times you saw people setting their belongs on the fence and sitting on the side of the pool for most of the day and watching the lounge chairs sit empty but for a towel.
Make sure you eat at the Mexican night beach party, the smorgasbord has so much to choose from and the Mexican show are fun. Sit near the stage the show is not loud and you will be able to see and hear all the acts better than at the back.

All the pool bartenders and wait-staff are very good, tipping did help.

Remember a waiter's Mexican minute is a bit longer than our minute, so you do tend to sit and wait for service at your table when seated at a couple of the restaurants but we were on vacation and not in any big hurry.
You can sit and be waited on or go to a smorgasbord for every meal with lots of variety.

Also for all the people that wrote reviews and complained about the dress code that was not being followed should go on line and go to the Karisma site and click on the El Dorado Seaside Suites and check out their dress code. Note that maybe your travel guide should make sure they have all their facts straight Karisma allows dress shorts, golf shirts and sandals on men in all the restaurants so check your facts before you complain about something you should have checked on yourself & you too could have not bothered with your long pants.

Some of our favourite wait staff and bartenders are listed here, we met many as we were there for 2 weeks.
Bartenders - Ubaldo, Alejandro, & Elmer
Wait staff - Aristo, Roberto, Alicia, Aracely, Orlando, Rolando, Felipe, Cosme, Fernando, Noel, Emmanuel, Carlos.
Entertainers - Ruben, Isabel, Alain, Joanna, Cesar, Diego.
Nay Spa - Arely, Janet, Caesar, Juan
Lobby Store - Hector, he actually called my husband back to give him back the extra money that was stuck to one another when he paid his bill. Very impressive.

We both would recommend this resort for sure.

Room Tip: We've always enjoyed which ever room we were given but it was nice to have a room in building #3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,069
    889
    270
    155
    108
See reviews for
90
3,365
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked this hotel based on very positive reviews and I am leased to advise that the very good ratings were pretty accurate.
Welcome was very efficient with a drink and a cold towel, bags delivered to the room etc.
The grounds are very well maintained with more gardeners than I have ever seen before, they do a very good job.
The beach is quite nice however thee are some man made reef,s which were not particularly appealing however they break the waves so they are useful. Condition of the beach is very good with staff raking and cleaning daily. Ample loungers and four poster beds on the beach.
Resaturants were very good with choices of self service and served breakfasts and lunches with a wide variety of meals.
Evenings the restaurants are all Al A carte and they all serve pretty good quality food, well presented.
Staff were all very good and whilst I don,t normally mention individuals Stephani who patrolled the beach was superb, such a pleasant friendly lady, a real credit to the hotel.
I also used the Gym which was reasonably well equipped.
This was our first visit to Mexico as we normally go to Egypt early in the year for some winter sunshine and I must admit this hotel was quite impressive with very friendly helpful staff, very polite at all times.
Weather wise Egypt was better however I have no concerns in highly recommending this hotel as we found it hard to find any faults. Well done El Dorado and thanks to all your staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor of the new block and it was quiet with super views over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to this hotel, I can honestly say it will not be the last! The service from all the staff was outstanding and the food was quality was excellent. Our favourite restaurants were the Italian and the Garden Grill where after a couple of visits the staff remembered our names and what we liked to drink. Ask for the GI inclusive wine list as this is not offered unless asked for, we recommend the Pinot noir, it was excellent and the waiters will top up your glass as many times as you wish. We read on trip adviser before we travelled that some guests had problems finding sun beds and the four poster beds on the beach but we had no problems. I suppose if you want a particular one then you may have to get there early but we enjoyed the variety of different places, either by one of the pools or on the beach. Our room was in block 41 on the top floor, quite a few steps to climb but the exercise was good. It was very spacious and spotlessly clean. We particularly liked the towel sculptures that Victor our room cleaner did every day.
If you are waiting for your holiday at this hotel I am really jealous and hope that we will be returning soon. Anne and Tony, West Midlands

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just returned and cannot fault this hotel, all the staff go out of their way to make your holiday. Sam the Thomson rep was excellent the beach room we were booked into, was very humid which aggravated a respiratory condition, she went out of her way to get our room changed with the help of Gerardo and then followed up by making sure we were happy. Anna supplied us with plenty of drinks with a smile and friendly chat whilst we sat on the beach. A good choice of restaurants all giving great service and food. An all round excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Me and my Daughter have just returned from this hotel.
It was beautiful the best holiday i have been on by far and we are planning to return as soon as i save up.
The entertainment team was excellent LuLu ingred diego isobel and mariya known as yaya.They all work very well together and are not too pushy if you just want to lay around.I have never played vollyball or my daughter and they was so patient helping us and giving us tips how to get better.
The drinks was wonderful my favourite cocktail was chocotini.
Food was beautiful the mexican and Italian and asian was my favourite ones.
I can,t wait to go back.Karen and becky from yorkshire w

Room Tip: We stayed in 4011 right near the theatre which was handy and not to far from the pool area The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I just returned back from our baby moon (Apr 8 to Apr 15) and we could not have asked for a better resort to go to as our last vacation before the new addition to our family. There are two key aspects of this resort that really make it stand out among others.

1 - As stated by fellow reviewers, the quality of the service at the hotel, from the management, hotel concierge, waiters, housekeeping, to the activities staff....all go out of their way to make your stay extra memorable. A resort may not get everything right the first time but a key aspect about what makes a resort shine is how the staff and management responds and reacts to get an issue right. For example, my wife was not allowed to go snorkeling after she had put on her gear and was assured it was okay to go on the excursion. Needless to say my wife was upset at the way things were handled and let our personal concierge know. The staff and management went out of their way to apologize and surprised us by providing us with a number of small gifts (chocolates, spa gifts, etc.), in room surprises such as rose petals and having the hot tub ready when we returned back from our dinner, and even a note that stated please allow us to start again in making your stay memorable

I want to give special recognition to our personal concierge Alejandra and the sport and activities staff of Ingrid, Isabel, Lulu, Mireya, Diego, and Aldo. We took part in a lot of the activities from Yoga on the beach to Water Volleyball, Dance classes, Aqua aerobics, etc....and they really made our stay extra memorable as well. If you are at the resort be sure to interact with them

2 - The dining and drink options offered at the resort are top notch. Normally I am not a fan of all inclusive resorts however the dining options here are better than the options offered at many non-inclusive resorts. The two restaurants that I thought were exceptional were the Italian restaurant and the Mexican restaurant La Carrera (There are multiple Mexican restaurants). You also get 24 hour room service that is part of the all-inclusive along with multiple bars which provide an assortment of liquors and beers

Definitely ask for Alex at La Carrera. He is an exceptional waiter and makes sure you are taken care of. Also as others have stated ask for the GI Wine List at any of the restaurants. It is not offered directly but provided when asked....this list is much more extensive and part of the all inclusive

The only negatives I can think of are: 1 - the beach area - if you are looking for pure white sand beaches and spending most of the day swimming of the beach you should go north to Playa Marmona (there is a sister resort there) or south to some of the resorts by Tulum. The beach by this resort offers some decent snorkeling but is not really ideal for swimming

2 - If there are large wedding groups at the resort it can seem a bit crowded or loud especially by the main bar. However there are many areas of the resort to get away for peace and quiet if this is what you are looking for.

Unlike some other reviewers we experienced no issues whatsoever getting a beach bed or a pool side bed....not sure if this because they added more beds

In summary, if you are looking for an all inclusive with great service, food, and entertainment El Dorado Seaside Suites hits the mark. We normally don't return to resorts but will be making an exception for El Dorado (when we are able to get time for ourselves again!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a beachfront room (3115). It was perfect for us because we were looking for peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Service good staff good food amazing ,presentation and quality so relaxing you fall out of one four poster bed into another on beach drinks brought to your bed with a smile these guys works so hard you will go along way to beat this resort for value for money we have. Travelled to jamacia 7 times barbados 3 times Tobago ,antigua sandals this place is top dollar and delivers done Aruba great beaches not so keen on culture staff at tamarin not helpful and rundown as in property have been to Mexico 7 times and eldorado is class and sophistication

Room Tip: Resort is bigger than first stay if you like high rise go new block has new styled rooms I liked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Seaside Suites, By Karisma Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.