We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Save Saved
You added El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 35% Off + Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Second time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Service good staff good food amazing ,presentation and quality so relaxing you fall out of one four poster bed into another on beach drinks brought to your bed with a smile these guys works so hard you will go along way to beat this resort for value for money we have. Travelled to jamacia 7 times barbados 3 times Tobago ,antigua sandals this place is top dollar and delivers done Aruba great beaches not so keen on culture staff at tamarin not helpful and rundown as in property have been to Mexico 7 times and eldorado is class and sophistication

Room Tip: Resort is bigger than first stay if you like high rise go new block has new styled rooms I liked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,042
    883
    267
    155
    108
See reviews for
89
3337
25
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hi, me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights(4/10-4/15) and we had an excellent experience. Please note that there are sunscreens left overs(from previous visitors) at all the personal concierges free of charge. The restaurants were great and the service was great. We had breakfast either at Vida(a la carte) or on the beach(buffet)same as BBQ place for lunch). There is a construction going on right now at the BBQ place on the beach, but is not of a big noise problem. We stayed at a beachfront jacuzzi suite (3401) and we loved it. The rooms are very humid, so your AC has to be on all the time to prevent humidity. We turned it off when we got to the room, and did not turn it on for 2 days and that was a mistake, because anything you wash in the room can't dry out whatsoever and the room gets to stink too. The room was at the south end of the resort and it was very quiet(20 steps from the sand). The activities are great, we played volleyball and kayaked. You can be active or you can lay on a bed or cabana all day long. The service at the bars was fast. The whole resort is exceptionally clean and well maintained. You can walk on the beach all the way to the other end on the beach(15-20 min) and you can see the other resort there(The sand there was amazing). The entertainment team was excellent(Cesar, Diego, Ingrid and Jaya). We book two trips through the activity center on the beach(Xplor(tickets and taxi) and Tulum(taxi only) and everything was perfect. There wasn't too much of a night life at the resort. There couple of good night shows(Fire, Michael Jackson and the Circus were great). We didn't really want to wait for the DJ to show up on the beach at 11:30pm every night), we would prefer to have the DJ right after the shows. Overall we had a great experience and we are planning our return already.

Room Tip: The room on the south side are further away, but very quiet. If you book a luxury suite make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

we have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Eldorado seaside suites. we booked a swim up suite and had the honeymoon package. we received a candlelit meal on the beach. breakfast in bed and a massage for two. The room was stunning, the mini bar was restocked every day, we had a huge bed, and our very own huge Jacuzzi bath tub along with loungers and our own swim up pool. we used this every day, especially around 3pm after a day at the beach it was nice to come back and relax. The food at Eldorado is out of this world. we didn't have to book, and all the food is a la carte. our favourite was the Italian and the garden grill, although you wont be disappointed with any of the restaurants. The staff cannot do enough for you, it is the best service we have ever experienced. we would recommend to all this amazing hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My new husband will likely write a review as well,we had an eight day stay just got back last week it was our honeymoon and although check in seemed a bit slow our stay was amazing,loved the food at all the restaurants and our candlelit dinner on the beach the waiter and food was great drinks were great beach was amazing everyone at the resort was friendly the spa and the couples massage were wonderful we had an awesome honeymoon many great memories wish we could go back with our children as we are planning a family vacation in a few months and this resort is adults only,thanks EDSS for a memorable honeymoon

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

HIT AND MISS
We stayed for the second time at this resort from Mar 12 -23 as now Exotic Presidential Members. We stayed the first night in room 1404 a beach front royal swim out and moved for our duration to room 2002 a beach front royal suite. A new building with premium suites and a few new restaurants have been opened since our first stay. The original spa has moved to a new building closer to the highway where a new lobby is under construction and scheduled to open in May. The grounds have matured very nicely. I chose this resort, in the Karisma chain for the snorkeling as the reef is close.
The new 6 story building is very different from the original resort and does not blend in well. The rooms are very modern and large, but the swim outs are noisy and lack privacy. A good view of the ocean and privacy can be had above floors 4. The presidential rooms are the same except for butler service and upgraded amenities in your room. The two private presidential at each end of this pool are lacking the privacy that the cost demands. There is a lunch bar across from the swim up rooms and pool, that we loved to eat at.
The original rooms in all categories are, as always, very nice. Our rooms at the presidential level were not up to Eldorada Royale or Maroma standard. The rooms were small, very nice, but dated. So nice to be close to the ocean, but noisy as they are also very close to the activities pool. If you are a light and early sleeper, do not stay in section 25 as it by the night bar. Section 35 through 41 are the original swim ups and are wonderful.
Breakfast is offered at five locations and we chose the Sandwicherie and Arrecifes mostly. Lunch was a problem even though there are five locations to eat. The resort was full and the Beach BBQ and the Sandwicherie are the most popular. I was really offended to ask to wait a full 1/2 hour to eat at the Sandwicherie and the Beach BBQ was also very busy. The others were fine, but not our favorites. Dinner was wonderful at all, but felt a little rushed at the Gourmet pub with a strange menu for a five star resort.
The butler service available to Exotic Presidential members was not up to standard. Service was well intended, but so hit and miss. Our butlers seemed out of focus and since this is our first presidential service we also were at odds to figure this out. Crystal Sandy, the Exotic rep. seemed nice but overwhelmed. The resort was full, but for us Exotic members that have paid so much money, you have to provide us with an above premium service.
The southern sandy part of the beach have more chaises and day beds to accommodate the new Beach barbeque, which is located on the best beach area. This makes for a very busy and not too private area. Also they have extended the same further to the south in a very half hazard manor. The northern beach has workers breaking up rocks in the ocean, making new rock bags, all to hopefully make this as nice as the southern.
It seems that they have expanded this resort without a solid plan to accommodate the extra people. Extra room on the beach and more restaurants is just not working, especially when this resort is full. For us, as Exotic Presidential members, this is our last choice in the Karisma chain of hotels. We look forward to coming back when you have are ready for us.

Room Tip: Do not stay in section 25 if you are an early sleeper as the Guacemaya Lounge is open late If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and as a valued member we truly appreciate your feedback. Over the last 5 years we have carefullly monitored the growth of the El Dorado Seaside Suites, we have added more rooms, additional fine dining restaurants and new features to the hotel . This has been handled with great respect and despite your comments, I can assure you we have a detailed and very solid plan to ensure each stage of our growth is executed well, upholding our high standards

It was a pleasure to host you and we hope that you will choose to visit us yet again in the future

Best Regards
Alfonso Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I cannot say enough about what a fantastic time we had on our vacation. My boyfriend and I have not taken a vacation in over two years, and were both at the end of our ropes. We booked this trip through CheapCaribbean for a 5-night, 6-day stay. From the time we arrived at JFK to the time we arrived back at JFK, we experienced little less than absolute delight.
We took a shared transfer to the hotel, which was about an hour and ten minutes long; we had to drop off another couple prior to arriving at ours. Some balk at the time spent on the transfer, but we arrived in Cancun at just about 10:00am, and were promptly given a couple of Dos Equis to welcome us. The drive was a pleasure, and it was nice to unwind a bit after the early morning flight and begin to take in the scenery.
When we arrived at the beautiful resort, we could tell right away that the security was strict, and we would be staying in a safe location. Our bags were taken from the van, and we were provided with champagne and cool towels while we checked in. Edgar was the gentleman who checked us in and was able to upgrade us to a premium suite. (THANK YOU!!)
By the time we were all checked in, it was about 12:30 and our room was not yet ready, so they held our luggage while we checked out the beach and property. The resort is fairly small, so it only takes 15-20 minutes to get around the whole place. We thought that was wonderful. We went and laid on a beach bed, and then checked out one of the swim up pools towards the center of the resort. Both were tranquil, and not packed to capacity.
When we were ready to go to the room, we were brought to the suite on a golf cart, and then our luggage was carried up to the room. We were so shocked at the scenery. On the back balcony all you could see was jungle. We thought this would be the view from our room, so we were completely floored when our room was opened and we had a fantastic view of the ocean and all of the palm trees on the property below. You could also see the swim up bar right below. This closes at 6:00pm I believe, so it is not noisy when you are ready to go to bed. (Top floor of the premium suites)
The food: We very much enjoyed the food and were given ample selections every night. The dishes are small, but the resort is all-inclusive, so order to your hearts content!
Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, but I have nothing negative to say about any of them, except the pub. This is a new restaurant, and I think they are trying to hype it up by requiring reservations. We went at 9:00, since we're late diners, and there was no one in there. They are pretty strict about only letting you order one appetizer and one entree plus dessert. The fish and chips and mac and cheese were excellent and so was the brownie sundae.
Mexican, we had the lobster quesadillas as an app, and I had the beef tacos. Both were great. (I wish there was more!!) They also give chips and a few dips.
Italian, we went twice, because we enjoyed so much. My favorite dish was the lasagna bolognese, it was fantastic, and I know that I make a great lasagna!
Klay Talay was the Asian restaurant. It is much lighter than New York Chinese food, and very delicious. I was eating sushi by the handful, and I am NOT a sushi eater. The fried rice was superb as well.
We did not go to Vida Garden Grill at all, but we would have if we stayed another night.
For breakfast, we went to one of the buffets each morning, and enjoyed each thoroughly. There is a vast selection of fruits, pastries, breads, an omelette station and several hot dishes each day.
For lunch we always went to the BBQ. There is a new theme each day of the week and it is a very nice way to break up the day of laying on the beach.
Room service, fairly quick, and available at no additional charge 24/7. GET THE FRIED CHICKEN BURRITO-- YUMM!!
Drinks: We found that drinks were a bit on the weak side, but requesting them "FUERTA!" gave a great cocktail with good liquor. Some of the white wines were atrocious, but if you don't like it, ask for a different one. No one ever gave me a hard time with that. I heard about asking for the GI wine list, but I never found this necessary.
Everyone on the property was extremely friendly, and we made a bunch of buddies. The staff all said hola every time we walked by. It was wonderful to have a personal concierge close by to answer any questions we had. The customer service was top notch.
Beaches were beautiful and well maintained, as were the pool areas.
The "negatives" were that you can only have two towels out at a time, and I love lobster, and would have loved to see more of it. (I know, I know, it's expensive and available as an upgrade)
I highly recommend this resort. We have already decided that we won't waste our money trying any other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STILLWATER
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Came here the fist time in 2008 on the advice of our travel agent. We were delighted with the advice. We came back again in 2011 and have been back every year since. We never thought we would travel to a resort more than once what with all the choices out there but Seaside Suites totally changed our mindset on that. As with any resort your going to have people that this place wasn't the perfect spot for them. In our case it was everything we told our travel agent we were looking for and more. All inclusive with higher end food and drink, adults only, smaller resort, quiet, and located away form all the other resorts but close enough if you do want to enjoy many activities. As most reviews mention the things that stand out the most are the wonderfull people that run the place, the beauty of the resort, and just how relaxing and laid back this place is. My wife and I have been married for 40 years and when we get here we feel like the clock is turned back to 1974 and were on our honeymoon.
We stayed for 2 weeks this year ( gets longer every year ) march 13-26 and already counting the days till next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Seaside Suites, By Karisma Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.