We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered for a week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Save Saved
You added El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 32% Off + Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pampered for a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our second trip to this resort. We loved our first visit and were going this time with friends who had never been to Mexico. It was like going home to family. From the time we checked in to our check out we were so well taken care of. We wanted for nothing. All of the staff was friendly but we have to thank Edgar, Carlos, Hector, Stephanie, Lucy and Gabriella for making us feel very special. We relaxed, ate well and were never without a drink. We started every day sitting outside with coffee, mimosa's and breakfast treats that were delivered right to our room. We loved all our meals but our favorite restaurant was the Italian. Amazing! We loved our dinner on the beach and the special turn down service to our room that night. Just beautiful and very romantic. The whole week was so wonderful. The grounds, rooms and beach were all wonderful but it was the staff that will keep us coming back. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,986
    866
    263
    151
    108
See reviews for
87
3269
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have just returned from a two week holiday at EDSS and travelled with my wife and two friends. We had a fantastic time as the EDSS staff are very attentive and the whole complex was kept extremely clean.
However, during the first week of the holiday whenever we visited any of the restaurants we were offered the house wines or the hotel wine list (which would incur extra cost). Having spent over £4,000 to go there we were reluctant to spend any further money on wine ! However, the white wine tasted similar to vinegar and the red wine was equally as bad or brown in colour which meant it had gone off.
We complained to our concierge Reina with regards to the choice of wines and she basically offered to sent us a bottle to our room and would enquire about the wines. Suffice to say, the bottle that she sent us was the same as we were complaining about !! After a few days of waiting for a reply we again approached Reina who promised to enquire. After more days of no information my friend approached our Thomson Holiday Rep "Sam" who also said she would enquire.
Within hours Sam got back to us and stated that we should be offered the GI Wine List at each of the restaurants (GI stands for Gourmet Inclusive). That night when offered the wine list we asked for the GI List and the waitress nearly fell over in shock. She did deliver the list and there are fifteen wines on the list to choice from and the were really fantastic wines.
I just feel that the list is hidden from guests so that if you do want decent wine then you are expected to pay for it when there is a perfectly good list of wines included in the holiday price at no extra cost. Not one member of staff offered the list without us asking for it !!!
The only other blemish with the hotel was the access to Wi Fi.
This was also at an extra cost which I have never experienced before. I've been to hotels where its free or merely available in reception but not at EDSS.
We were asked to go to a sales presentation by our concierge and she offered us free Wi Fi if we attended. We did this but then only got access in certain areas of the hotel as each area had different passwords but this did assist us in contacting home.
Overall the hotel, cleanliness, food and staff was superb but its just a shame they try and make even more money by merely offering an expensive wine list in the restaurants and hide the GI List which doesn't cost the guest any more money.
Special thanks to Esther our room maid who did a great job and also to Elmer one of the poolside bar men who mixed up some great drinks and was always smiling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The service and food are great rooms are comfortable clean and spacious, animation staff is terrific Diego and lulu make us laugh everyday DON'T forget to visit Naay spa ask for Elsa she will take care of you as royalty ;) we are coming again soon for sure

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 week stay and our 3rd visit and yes we would go back. We were offered a room in the premium block but we asked for one of the older rooms as we like these best and we were given one that as just been redecorated and we were not dissatisfied with that. The food is to die for the service is fabulous what more could you ask for even if something is not right all you have to do is say so and all is done to make things right and maybe a little better. so many of the staff that go out of their way to make you feel special Edgar who looked after us and Yamely, Margareta, Gabriel, Ana theses are just to name a few but there are so many others I can't remember them all but they were all great and we would like to say a Thank You to you all see you again soon

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This place is great! My wife and I vacationed here for our honeymoon last summer (2013). The entire trip was very romantic and relaxing. We loved every minute of this resort. I would recommend booking through Beach Bum Vacations. Ask for Rachel Dillow. Shes the best!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the honeymoon suit which has your own porch with chairs to layout. This room backed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent Christmas and New Year at the El Dorado Seaside Suites and had a fabulous time. The staff are exceptional, always friendly and provide excellent service in the restaurants and maintain a high standard of cleanliness throughout the resort.
Transfer from the airport is a bit of a drag and in hindsight it would have been worth getting a taxi, but once you arrive the staff are welcoming and the rooms spotless. We had upgraded to the premium rooms and had asked for a high floor room. The quality of the furnishings and the decor was excellent and because of the high floor we had an unobstructed view of the sea. The room was kept spotless and the stocks of drinks, tea, coffee and toiletries was always topped up on a daily basis.
We tended to spend most of the day by the lap pool which was quieter and always had sunbeds whatever time you arrived. The waitresses from the bar were constantly circulating and kept up a constant supply of drinks, coffee and water.
We found the food excellent in the Vida Grill. the Italian, the Mexican and the Gourmet Pub. The choice was excellent with quality and service faultless. We tried the Asian and the "International" restaurants but found them poor with food served lukewarm on cold plates. Couldn't understand why its excellent in 4 of the restaurants and so poor in the other two. I love asian food but couldn't work out why the pork dish had cubes of what appeared to be precooked pork in a watery sauce. The "International" restaurant is really another Italian restaurant though the quality does not compare with the Mia Casa Italian.
The Christmas and New Year celebrations were quite low key though this did not bother my wife and I as we had good food and a great evening.
We did a trip to Chichen Itzia through Thomsons which was excellent. I am not a lover of organised tours but this one was well organised, the tour guide knowledgeable and overall we had a great day.
This was a great relaxing holiday and I would go back to EDSS.
Finally when you leave I have to give credit to the Thomson's rep on the coach who talked everybody through the departure sequence at Cancun airport. Due to him everyone had the right paperwork in the right order. From getting to the check in desk queue, through security to airside took 10mins, well done Thomson's.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view go for the 5th floor in the premium rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Been to Mexico a few times now and first time here. Great All Around experience.

We went with Sunwing Vacations and they did fine to support our needs. We did NOT take the bus from the airport that is supplied. We chose to do a private shuttle and it was so worth it. Got to the resort in an hour exactly. The bus may take you in excess of two hours with stops to other resorts.

Resort was very well kept and not very big where you need to be shuttled around by golf cart like other resorts.

Food at all restaurants was outstanding. All sit down restaurants with no buffet available (only in the morning).

Bars are great with a great selection of liquor and 5 different types of beer as well. Most resorts have the standard Dos Equis and that's it.

Beach kinda small but whatever.

Rooms were great too. We were in the Premium section. Get a high floor for best view. Bed was heaven to sleep in. First time we ever said that at a Mexican resort. The A/C in the room was top notch. Even had to turn it off some parts of the day cause it was too cold?!?! Another first for Mexico.

Pools are nice with not the college frat house party atmosphere that other pools may have (man, that makes me sound old) Still, lively with music. They do need some new music to play though, very repetitive.

Lots of Canadians and Brits there, sadly the few Americans that were there were obnoxious and felt like they owned the place. I love our friends in the US but these were a bad batch of them. It was well noted too that others noticed this. Made for talk that made US citizens look bad.

Did an day trip to Xel-Ha. Well worth it. Third time we have been there. Swim with Dolphins.

Had an afternoon of shopping to on 5th Ave. Good shops and nice thing to do for 3 hours or so. Took a taxi and it cost $25USD. find another couple to share a cab ride with you there and back and save some $$$

They take great pride at El Dorado to make sure that your resort experience is truly memorable for all the right reasons.

We would surely return IF we can get the same deal we booked this trip for.

Room Tip: Premium Room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Seaside Suites, By Karisma Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.