We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Save Saved
You added El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 32% Off + Credit
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at El Dorado Seaside Suites for 2 weeks in July 2012 for our honeymoon. After months of searching for the perfect place we decided to book El Dorado Seaside suites and weren't disappointed.

One word to describe the most beautiful place we've ever been: Paradise. This is the perfect place to spend the first few weeks of married life and we thought it was absolutely amazing.

The rooms were very spacious and the in room jacuzzi bath was heaven. The staff were very friendly and would do anything for you. We tried most of the restaurants but our favourite by far was Mia Casa and we visited almost every night. We sometimes had to wait for a table but it was never more than 30 minutes and we could enjoy the fabulous range of cocktails in the bar whilst waiting.

The beach is beautiful and we never had a problem getting sun loungers or a sun bed. The team of men working on the beach work very hard to remove the seaweed and rocks. We booked our trips through the beach hut with Antonio and Pablo who gave us great advice on the best places to visit and even managed to get our dolphin swim package upgraded so we got to swim with the manatees too.

We also made a trip to the beautiful spa in the hotel grounds for a couples massage and would definitely recommend a visit.

We cant recommend the hotel high enough and definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,979
    865
    263
    151
    108
See reviews for
87
3265
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

One word describes this hotel WOW!!!!!!
Just returned after 1 weeks stay at this hotel and the whole week was 1st class from the moment we arrived until we left yesterday (7th Feb).The staff were so friendly and always ready to assist you whether it was bringing you a drink on the beach,24 hour room service,attending to your every need was never too much trouble.We will definitely hope to return next year. In the Mayans own words "Excellente"

Room Tip: Swim up rooms in Block 39 would be the best if you fancy a drink when you return from the beach ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is an older hotel with great staff. In fact, the staff who are among the best I have experienced anywhere in the world - and that includes 5 star hotels in HK, Bali and Phuket- are what make this hotel. Combined with reasonable prices compared with Secrets Maroma (our favorite but now too expensive), or Excellence hotels, this is a good choice.
The basic garden rooms are small - I wish they would get rid of the useless Jacuzzi. The beach is quite ok, and there are always lots of beach chairs or beach beds, which is an exception for Riviera Maya hotels. The pools are small but not crowded as most people seem to prefer the beach.
The restaurants are good - not great - but then few hotels in the Mayan Riviera have really good food. The service again makes up for the food.
About half the nights there is a live band, but it usually starts after 10 pm and only plays for an hour. Still we appreciated the live music.
So the important question is, would we go back ? Given a good price versus other well rated hotels, we would.
A final note re the flight to and from Cancun, We flew Sunwing and all that I can say is that you get what you pay for. The day we returned, our flight was 3.5 hours late but we were lucky as Sunwing cancelled 3 0f 6 flights leaving Cancun that day. And the check in line was the longest I have ever seen anywhere, with literally hundreds of people lined up and waiting well over an hour to check in, after which they then waited 5 hours for their flight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your expeirences from your recent visit to the El Dorado Seaside Suites. It is a pleasure to receive the feedback from our guests and this will be used constructively to perfect our facilities.

I would like you to know that we have some new and very exciting additions to the hotel in 2013 which i truly believe with keep us the number choice for guests visiting the south of the Riviera Maya .

Like you said in your review, I hope you will return in the future and I will ensure that your stay exceeds all expectations

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
General Manager
gmeds@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the El Dorado Seaside. It was outstanding. This is a very romantic low key place perfect for couples. From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked the right place. We arrived about 6 - just in time for a lovely dinner at the Vida. When we got the hotel it was pouring rain and we were happy to see an umbrella waiting for in the room. This place really thinks of the little things. Everyone was very friendly and happy to do whatever they could for you.
The food was excellent everywhere we went. Nothing was out of place and the service was always quick. Our favorite was Vida for Breakfast, the restaurant (inside) by the activity pool for lunch and Italian or Mexican for supper. Oh and room service for afternoon snacks. We tried to try everything but there were just to many choices.
Most nights we took in the show after dinner which were pretty good. The fire show was great, just don't sit to close as the fumes are pretty strong and the Mayan night on the beach was great.
We had a swimup suite which was great because we are very low key travelers. We spent just about every morning lounging in our own private space, paddling down to the bar to have a drink. The water in the lazy river was very refreshing (cold) it could have been heated just a touch more but our bartender said the temperature was due to the rain the day we arrived.
The only issue we had was the AC. The air conditioning in the room was a bit temperamental at times. We woke up a couple nights because it had decided to shut off and go into fan only mode. Once we figured out the programs it was better but it was a bit annoying to wake up at 4 am sweating. Most of the time it worked great. I think it might be part of the "eco" thing - trying to save power by reducing the AC at night.
We were far away from the construction so it did not bother us at all. We did notice it when walked to the lobby or Vida. Near building 40 and 41 it was quite loud so stay away from those ones.
We loved the big soaker tub and took advantage of it quite a bit.
The beach was great. I never wore water shoes or sandals in the water. I just watched were I walked and avoided the odd really rocky spot. Don't waste your time getting up at 6 am to "save" a beach bed. We wandered over the beach in the afternoon everyday and never had trouble finding a bed in a great spot. It was quite frustrating to see a number of beds go unused because inconsiderate guests choose to do this and never came to use the spot for hours. Be considerate and remember there are plenty of beach spots for everyone so don't be a hog if you are not using it.
It really is the details that make this hotel something special. People are truely happy to serve you and make sure you have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

From start to finish this holiday was the best I've ever had! The room was perfect and kept spotless for the hole stay with towel art almost everyday, mini bar stocked up and fresh towels everyday.
The pool areas are nice and clean and very relaxing the most you get disturbed is when the waitress comes and asks if you want a drink, same with the beach really!! The beach is not perfect but is really not as bad as people make out on here!!
The hotel grounds are kept perfectly with staff working round the clock to keep it that way.
We tried all the restaurants and could not fault them, good quality food served by staff that really could not do enough for you!! There is a good choice on all menus so there is always something you like! At the bar you can pretty much order anything you want the selection is that big, they use mainly international brands so no issues there!!
There is some building work going on, but unless your walking up the main drive towards the gym/spa it won't effect you!!
I would most defiantly return to this hotel it is outstanding!! The staff really are a credit to the hotel!!

Tash!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Thanks again to all the staff and wonderfull management at the El Dorado Seaside Suites.We have done many allinclusives but this one beat them all. After arrival we where welcomed right away like we where the only guests there. A wonderfull scented towel and lovely champagne drink was offered after that we got the whole story on the services the restaurants the grounds the staff etc.

We were wisked off to our room in a golfcart with a wonderfull happy, polite driver wishing us a wonderfull holiday. The room. Well beautifull. Second story 2516 was our room overlooking the hammocks and the beach.Bed comfy comfy. Spotless I must say. Every day the room was left to perfection with towel art fresh towels anything you needed fully stocked fridge. What else does one need.

Now for the buffet and a la carte restaurants. There is no buffet. Every night is a la carte in a different restaurant. Our favorite was the Klay Talay (Asian). Service perfecto. Food out of this world. Presentation so beautiful.Every night there was something special happening. The Mayan night was amazing. The food great, show nice. Beach grill was one of our fav`s for lunch. Especially fishmarket day. Beach bar near the lifeguard tower the best. Ana was our girl. She was on top of things the whole time and we where sorry to say goodbye to her.

Had some great servers at the Sandwhicherie. Gabriel, Roberto, Leonardo. Greeat job guys.
The Spa a must. My girlfriend and I had a wonderfull Spa afternoon and really enjoyed it.

The surroundings and the building of the Spa is gorgeous.The massages where amazing and cannot say enough about the people. So accomodating so kind.

The washrooms throughout the resort spotless. And they have this scent going everywhere which smells liike a Fruits and Passion type Grapefruit/lemon scent.So nice to smell that everytime you entered the washrooms the lobby. Also no papertowels in washrooms but individual folded scented towels for drying your hands. What royal treatment.

The only drawback we found was the beach. It is kept well but not a wide sandy beach with big waves. We had stayed at Palladium before and kept going for walks there to have a great swim. You can swim there but it is different. Lots of fish to look at even without snorkeling. They are right at your feet. Lovely to see. Anyway nothing bad to say about this place.
Great trip lots of memories and would recommend to anyone to go check it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Intended to take off one star because a luxury hotel should not be charging for WiFi and one more because of the ridiculous cost BUT gave one back for the superb service from the concierges - particularly arranging for room change and birthday celebration.

We appreciate that different people prioritise different things for their holidays - this Review deals with our experience in order of importance to us –

We like quiet peaceful attractive surroundings, hate queues and crowds and swimwear in public rooms and restaurants, do not need activities or entertainment to enjoy our holiday, and appreciate personal service good food and comfort. We chose this hotel as it appeared to provide these and were delighted to find it was exactly what we were looking for.

Back to WiFi !! - good reception in almost all of resort apart from extreme end of beach BUT any charge TOO MUCH - $50 per week ridiculous - especially as applies to only one appliance (actually could use different appliances just not more than one at a time !) We did pay it but reluctantly and only because we wanted to keep in touch with family and friends. Its years since we have had to pay for WiFi in holiday accomodation.

We've been to lots of places with happy friendly staff but this is the first one where the staff seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as most of the guests.

We find it hard to believe some recent reviewers were at the same Hotel as we were.
The beach is a typical Caribbean beach with coral sand and a short beach with “Jungle” behind at one end and the hotel gardens behind the middle stretch. The beach was cleaned daily by hardworking staff but the only rubbish they needed to remove was seaweed and small bits of coral washed up by the waves which were quite prolific for a couple of days when the off sea wind got up. However the breeze was not bad enough to spoil our time on the beach. The sea was a bit cloudy due to the effect of the waves but I still enjoyed snorkeling in the lagoon in front of the main beach. Snorkeling was not as good at the end of the beach due to the disturbance caused by the hotel staff removing rocks from the sea bed which was a daily ritual as they make more of the beach user friendly in preparation for extending the beach area to cope with the increase in size. However when they have cleared the new areas, I suspect they will also be inhabited by the plentiful fish seen in front of the hotel. There is an area of seafront not accessible from the hotel frontage but the hotel staff were repairing the pier which we understand was damaged by a hurricane and this should improve access to the reef.
The beach continues past the hotel area for a long way round the bay to the next hotel complex and the area outside the hotel grounds was wild and unkempt with quite a lot of rubbish and debris washed up – but it was still a pleasant and interesting walk along the beach for anyone wanting some exercise.

Sunbeds and loungers were insufficient for the number of guests and it was necessary to claim them at sunrise (6.30am) to guarantee one of the beds but this was no hardship as watching the sunrise and early morning wildlife was one of the pleasures of the location. There are Notices about not claiming beds before 7am and not leaving towels for various lengths of time (Three different types of notice each with different guidelines on them !!!) but these were not policed while we were there and there seemed to be loungers available on the beach most times of the day for latecomers

The food in all the restaurants was excellent. Quality food and excellent friendly staff. Service a little slow but not painfully so. Menus fairly small and could have done with being changed weekly but when they open a couple of new restaurants (when the new block is open) should be more variety. dress code not rigorously applied but most guests were smart on evenings.

Breakfast and lunch at the Sandwicherie was very good – not 5 star but good choice and good quality – the burgers and pizzas for lunch were excellent and the Head Waiter Oscar was helpful and friendly as were all of the waiters. If you wanted to eat inside for breakfast or lunch this was possible in the restaurants but we preferred the alfresco atmosphere at the Sandwicherie . We would have liked to be able to eat outside on the evening also but this was only possible on the veranda upstairs at the Asian restaurant which required a wait for a table so we did not even try.
The house wine was freely provided and red and white were adequate if a little basic. We tried one bottle of the expensive listed wines (third one chosen as first two choices out of stock) but was hardly any better than the free house wine so unless you are happy to pay $50+ for mediocre plonk we recommend you don't bother.

We only had to wait for a table at a restaurant once but decided to go elsewhere rather than wait at the bar – all other nights we got straight in to our chosen venue.

We had no difficulty getting drinks at the bars and beach bars and thought the selection was fine. Not a great deal of choice of brands but the variety of drinks made up for that as far as we were concerned.

We did feel that more toilets should have been available near the beach as there was only one small toilet block near the Sandwicherie and it was quite a walk form the beach if you got “caught short” The toilet was small but delightfully air conditioned and maintained.

Entertainment was limited but we did not go on holiday to be entertained so no problem to us. The Mayan night was good although the buffet on the beach was a bit disorganised and too dark to see the food at the serving points (fortunately I had a small torch with me). The music went on till 2pm most nights and was at the bar on the beach and was quite loud. It disturbed us for the first couple of nights as our ocean facing room was also facing the beach bar (2605) but we were moved quickly, once we asked our concierge, and the new room (3202) was fine – a little smaller but still large but we did miss the dressing table in front of a mirror and power points in 2605.

We had an oceanfront ground floor room and it was ideal for us. Small seating area outside looking onto the garden with the beach and ocean beyond. Not really a sea view but a relaxing and comfortable location. The room was very large (particularly 2605) with a large comfortable bed and massive jacuzzi which we hardly used. A good sized bathroom and large shower and good wardrobe space. Efficient air conditioning not too noisy and a fan in the living area. Surprisingly there was no master switch for the lights which meant switching them on and off individually. The mini bar kept drinks reasonably cool but not really cold and was restocked regularly – contents cokes,sprite,beers and water were adequate for us. We preferred Room 3202 which was slightly smaller and away from the nighttime music and karaoke although it was a bit further to walk to the restaurants and reception ( giving more wildlife spotting opportunities ! )

The hotel gardens, paths and walkways were beautifully laid out and maintained and we were surprised to see the amount of wildlife sharing the place with us. Apart from the many Iguanas from massive to small and numerous small Anoles and the ubiquitous grackles everywhere, the other wildlife was not prolific but varied and there was always a new butterfly or bird species appearing. We were most delighted to see the occasional mammals including Agouti, Coati Mundi and Raccoons(at night) and caught one glimpse of a small squirrel near reception.

We had a lazy fortnight – only leaving the resort for one trip which was the Thomson trip to the Mayan Village, Temple and Cenote which we thought was a bit expensive but actually turned out to be a great day out and well worth while to see a bit of Mayan Culture and scenery past and present. We were glad our fellow excursionees decided to hire the cycle rickshaw for the transport to the temples – well worth the few pesos it cost to avoid a long hot dusty walk.

We read one review complaining about chaos in Cancun airport but we found it to be extremely calm, comfortable and efficient both for arrival and departure with adequate seating and good shops and refreshment outlets. Unusually, the airport staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The transfer to and from hotel took almost 2 hrs in a comfortable air conditioned coach with Thomsons.

We did not need a lot of currency with us on this holiday. US dollars were accepted everywhere we went and the hotel reception were happy to change our large denomination mexican notes into small denomination notes for tipping which we did with almost as much enthusiasm as the staff served us.

Room Tip: Avoid blocks 22 to 30 unless you like late nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Seaside Suites, By Karisma Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.