We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Dorado Seaside Suites, Riviera maya, Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Seaside Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“El Dorado Seaside Suites, Riviera maya, Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Oct 26 - 9th Noc 2012
Wow an amazin resort, absolutely beautiful etc as per other reviews but Beach is not the best we've been to
Staff are fantastic, ever the helpful, whatever you needed, , cannot fault one single member, our concierge Perla was brilliant, Manueal in Sandwicherie, Raul in Bar, Can't spell our cleaners name but she was amazin, to name but a few
Beach beds / Cabanas - MAJOR ISSUE they state towels will be removed after 45 mins (NEVER ONCE HAPPENED!!!) we watched cabanas, reserved by a Butler for Americans, four hours later and not one single person sat on them!!, then the next day, same thing all day no one using them, they were in their rooms or at the bar!!, would not mind if they sat on them, but a bit selfish, inconsiderate just to leave towels on them all day!!, complained to concierge, not much done, really lets resort down
Butler stated they had overbooked royal suites which is why they were at our end & had reserved the beds, not our fault if Hotel overbooked the rooms!!!!!, felt we were treated like under valued guests!!!!, the next day we walked up to royal suites beds on beach WOW NO ONE USING THEM, didn't change anything tho
Complained to Thomson (Matt) who spoke to Chief receptionist, who offered us a couples massage free but this really did marr the holiday
Restaurants - lovely food but may need to think about changing the menus on a weekly basis
Not sure if I would return now though

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the EDSS, until you have to leave your every wish is catered for !
Having read all the reviews at the end of 2011, I booked this oasis as a surprise, for our 25th Anniversary, staying for two weeks starting on 30/10. During our stay we had the building work at the end of the little lane, the only time you knew they were working was when we walked passed them going to and from our room at 4022, they worked from 0700 until 1900 hours Monday to Saturday and had Sunday off.
During the first week there were plenty of beach beds however this changed in the second week when the hotel appeared to be a lot busier and some of our fellow residents struggled to get one, we hoped, that the hotel would stick to the rules that they would remove towels placed on beds and leaving them for hours without using them, however they did not unfortunately.
Could we recommend that if you like the beach head past the the hut where you get your snorkel gear and Kayaks and to the area near the pier at the other end the beach is a lot more sandy and if, you enter the water there you will see all sorts of fish who like to come and say hello !?
The evening entertainment was not our cup of tea however, lots of the guests really enjoyed it and the Reggae night very entertaining.
The staff from the the gardeners to the management were very positive and their cheery holas are very infectious.
The rooms are brilliant and Abelardo who looked after us provided towel art, that was amazing :-)
For breakfast, we ate everyday in the open air at Sandwichrie and were looked after by Carlos and the crew of wonderful staff including Manuel, Eva and Lorenzo.
At lunchtime if you go to the Vida Garden and ask for the breaded sole, you will not disappointed it was truly gorgeous.
We went to all the restaurants for dinner at least twice and also tried room service and all the meals were excellent, some of the other reviews mentioned that the Mexican was bland however, if you ask your waiter, you can get your food as spicy as you like, Elizabeth was a wonderful host and Eduardo was brilliant and provided a great surprise on our final night with an amazing Baked Alaska creation :-)
The drinks from the smoothies and fruit juices to the beer and all those many concoctions thrown into the blenders producing delicious cocktails were first class and if you spend hours on the beach like us they will be delivered by the marvellous staff including Ana and Janet.
That's about it, will we go to the El Dorado again most definitely, will we recommend it to everyone we know yes, without a second thought, if you are thinking of booking, do it you will not be disappointed this is a truly amazing marvellous and brilliant hotel made even better by the wonderful staff : - )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gladmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just come back from our honeymoon and had an amazing time! The weather was beautiful and the hotel was lovely! We were room 3507, a swim up room, it was the second room from the bar and got 100% sun all day! All the people at the hotel were very nice and couldn't do enough for us! We were very upset with thomsons as they made us buy their insurance even though we had our own, they said it would be refunded when we showed them ours but did not tell us we only had 14 days to do this, therefore did not refund it! They also phoned the day before our honeymoon to tell us that the building work that was due to commence at the hotel was starting early and would start the day we arrived (they must work really quick as they had over half of a massive building up when we got there) and lastly thomsons told us that we would have all the honeymoon extras but them did not tell us that we had to take our marriage certificate with us! However the hotel completely compensated for thomsons lies. Every member of staff could not do enough for you, they asked for any proof of our marriage to have the honeymoon extras, for us it was the date in our rings but others had even shown Facebook comments and photos! We had everything we could've wanted given to us and everyone was so nice! The place is set out so you can have your holiday very privately and romantically or you can choose to join in with activities with others! No one from the entertainment staff hassles you into joining any activity, they just walk around the beach saying whatever the activity is and where to go if you want to join in! All the bar staff were very nice and did not treat us different even though we did not give any tips until the last day! The staff also clear towels off the beach beds if no one has been there for a long time so beds aren't saved and not used! Overall it was a wonderful holiday and would love to go there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charlinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I travelled to his resort in November 2010 but have not gotten around to reviewing it. I would have to agree with the most recent review in that this resort is very nice. It was recommended by another couple who has similar tastes in vacay's. the only issue we had with this resort was that when we arrived at 3pm, our room was not ready. We had to change in the lobby bathroom and wait for 2 hours until our room was ready. Not a HUGE deal but I'm all about first impressions...
The snorkelling off of the beach is great and the beach beds are fantastic.
The fitness centre is really nice, and they had daily yoga when we went.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a beautiful place & I am already desperate to return. Blue sky, sunshine, clear blue sea, gorgeous foliage. The room was cleaned to a high standard daily & a variety of towel sculptures greeted us on our return to it everyday. The staff were incredibly polite, friendly & permanently cheerful. We chose the resort for our honeymoon on recommendation from a friend and received the honeymoon package which gave us a few little extra treats. Unfortunately my husband was ill whilst we were away, the doctors on site were with us within minutes & he was whisked off to hospital in an ambulance which again arrived within minutes. I can not fault in any way the way I was looked after whilst he was away & the VIP treatment we received on his return, particularly by our personal concierge Alex, who could not have done more. The staff made a potentially terrible experience as pleasant as it possibly could have been.
My only regret about our holiday is that we lost 5 days of it whilst John was ill, we hope to be able to return some day soon in order to enjoy the experience in full.

Room Tip: We were in a swim up suite, room 3704. Away from the hustle & bustle. Wonderfully attentive conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well I have read all the reviews and indeed the property is well kept and the staff are very attentive to say the least - my comments are;
Food is bland and very much for the US market - good quality but not at all tasty.
Sun loungers are in a desperate need of refrub or replacement - very basic cheap plastic frames with no cushions.
I travelled with First Choice - trips were approaching rip off in terms of markup - CoCo Bongo was £75 per ticket - everywhere else £40 so shop around - meeting on day one avoid unless you have nothing better to do - just a sales meeting and you are told how to mark them on the trip home survey .....
Entertainment at night was generally hopeless with no idea at all - the live group was good although only once a week.
Building work is underway for another 100 rooms and minor refrub around reception which is noisy so keep away from that end of the property.
Other than that all good.

Room Tip: Ocean View are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KH8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A week before we set off on this trip we got a letter from Thompson stating that there was building work going on in the grounds of the hotel. As you drove down the long drive you could see off to the left a massive building site and as you approached the reception there was another. These could only be seen for the main part from this area.

Once in the reception and getting that cold drink we knew that it could only get better and it did.
Our room was situated on the second floor to the rear of the hotel, 3822. We overlooked the swim up pool from the front and the mangroves from the rear. The room was large, well presented and clean. It had a large double bed and an area for an indoor jacuzzi .
The only problem in the room we could see was that they only did filter coffee and no tea. Not a problem for us though. The balcony was very dirty with lots of dirty old hair and bugs. This was not cleaned for three days and we had to ask for it to be done.

All the restaurants were great with a large choice at each one. Our favorite was the Asian KlayTalay with the suchi and yellow curry.
Mexican restaurant was great with all the usual food but in a fancy way.
Great steaks at the Vida
Great tuna, steaks and shrimp at the other.
The staff in these could not do enough to help you but the service suffered on a weekend when. People attend for a couple of days. People were having to wait upto 50 minutes before being seated.

All the other staff were brill and could not do enough for you. Thanks William the batman at the swim up pool bar you were great. Even serving drinks to guests before the bar had opened. Soft drinks of course.

The letter from Thompson did not mention the work being carried out on the other parts of the hotel as you walked through it. Was not a problem for us but if we had a room near them then it may have been. As you walked from our room to the pool or for a meal there was pipped music to stop you hearing the building site at the end of the building but again this was not a problem for us.

Overall this was a great hotel , having stayed in the Azul hotel which is part of the same chain it was just slightly below it, now that's a fab hotel or was 4 years ago.

The beach had plenty of sunbeds and cabanas and was a great place to be during the day. Although the best ones were taken with towels before 0600 in the mornings. Some people not arriving till after nine. Shame on them.
When the new part of the hotel is built I don't think there will be enough room on the beach for all the people it will be overcrowded.

Room service was great and fast with a good variety of choice.

Overall a great hotel with a few niggles that could easy be sorted out.

Room Tip: 3822 was a good quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazzmazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#54 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
18.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#7 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 12,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,702 reviews
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
22.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Seaside Suites)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing