We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort wad not that bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% OFF + $1800 CREDIT
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The resort wad not that bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We are VIP members (which we have paid to be but you do not need a membership as there are better deals to go to Adventura out there)When we read the reviews before we went this past Feb. we were worried but things were okay.the changes are not great, The Heaven side with jacuzzi on the roof top was a work in progress, the door leading out to the roof top made us very uncomfortable . We did not use the roof top and I think the cleaning staff never went up to check to see if the Jacuzzi had been used. We have been members since 2002 and the first few years were wonderful but it had been changing each year and really not for the good. The staff is the reason we return each year.
The reviews saying the family side was quieter very true and there was no struggle to find chairs,which on the Heaven side the last few years you are up very very early just to find a prime
spot with shade

Room Tip: Be patient with the staff, management is working with less staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Esteemed BKGRWG,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Your opinion is appreciated as we value our guests’ feedback in order ti improve the Hard Rock Experience. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may encountered during your stay. We have implemented many improvements since your stay and we would like you to come back soon to experience them all as we would definitely deliver the Rock Star service that sets us apart.
The stage will be ready for another gig together.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,172
    866
    304
    224
    168
See reviews for
218
1,722
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was booked to stay at this resort from 1/7/2014-1/14/2014.

A little background first:
I am a long standing Palace Premiere member who fell in love with the resort chain's quality and service while on a honeymoon in 2005. Since that time, I have vacationed at several of the resorts in Cancun, the Riveria Maya, Nuevo Vallarta and Punta Cana. With that said, my experience at the new Hard Rock Riviera Maya left me seriously contemplating selling my remaining weeks.

After reading several horrific reviews, I contacted the resort manager several weeks prior to my reservation. I was assured the resort was near completion and that I would enjoy the same quality vacation I was familiar with. This could NOT have been further from the truth. I used an imperial week to take a friend of mine, whom had never been to Mexico, on a girl's week vacation. I am not only embarrassed of the resort conditions, but also feel robbed of an all inclusive week.

The first room we were given was situated on the ground floor of Heaven, smelled of paint and mold, had no view. Further, it was also full of dust and inundated by the deafening sound of a tile saw operating over head. I returned to the lobby to complain and was told they had no other rooms ready, but would "work on it." After some time, I was given the choice of two rooms. We passed on the option of a single bed on the adult side, located in a construction zone with uneven floors, unfinished stairs and substantial debris. The room we chose was a double bed on the family side, still on the ground floor, still smelling of mold, with a water leak in the hallway 2 doors down. However, we had now been without a room for 4 hours, after traveling for 10, and simply wanted to put our luggage down.

The menus at dinner had 1/4 of the food options of other resorts (or this one when it was Aventura Palace) and was not prepared well. We returned to the room at 11pm. I then attempted to take a shower only to find out there was no hot water. Breakfast the next morning was ill prepared and ice cold. I complained to the front desk, where I was again told "we are working on it." At my wits end, I returned to my vacation planner Joselin, who was the only bright spot of this resort. I explained that I would return home before spending another night at the hotel and asked to be transferred to any of the sister properties. It took over 3 hours to locate the on-sight Palace representative, who did eventually find us a room at the Hard Rock Cancun. However, at this point, we had already "lost" two days of our vacation and sacrificed the resort experience I had originally booked.
,
In short, if you have had any previous experience with Palace Resorts, do not go to this resort!!! I estimate it will take a full year to be up and running. Completely disappointment with the property and management.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Lisa V,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, please accept our most sincere apologies for have fallen short to your expectations. Nevertheless, we have implemented many improvements since your last visit and we would like you to come back for an amazing Hard Rock experience. We would like to treat you with the Rock Star service you deserve and make amends for the last experience.
We are confident that our atentive staff, in adittion to our acilities and beautful caribbean view, would make of your stay an amazing experience.
We invite you to come back soon and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our resort. We would roll over the red carpet to give you the VIP service you deserve.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We are the member of this resort, not by choice, buy by being in the sales meeting for 8 hours, and tired. In the end, the fact that we like sun and people in Mexico helped--we will come back to this part of country any way, so why not. For us, membership is about prepaid for a few trips at the best price possible. Here we are…

Being a member doesn't give you any advantage over non-member, you already paid your due :) Keep in mind, the membership desk staff will help you hoping that you will buy more trips in the future, if you do, very good for you. If you don't, just behave like everybody else, enjoy where you are.

This resort is a very good choice - if you like sun, a lot of food that will feed your family members, and not so picky about beach. The price will be the most affordable for this type of the resort.
The room is very clean, beds are very comfortable. Nothing to worry about.

This resort is not a very good choice - if you like beach, fancy food, and tranquility . You are better of booking their sister resorts like Moon Palace, Beach Palace and The Blanc.

We booked here for our Christmas family week, the price is a big factor during this peak season. Our young and teenager kids were in the pool having a great time everyday. While we read our books and listen to the wave of the ocean…We meet together at dinner, and share their stories of the year…cannot bit that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Dora C,

Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, great way to spend your Christmas family week , evokes to keep those rocking moments forever. We at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven, we look forward to welcome you and your family for a Rockstar vacation!

Let’s rock together!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

rooms had ants , staff was inconsiderate, air didn't work well in rooms, no air in main lobby management doesn't even attempt to satisfy old members. I would stay at one of the Iberostar places. this one is not worth the money. oh Did I say the food had bugs.. it does.

Room Tip: no such thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Esteemed Jerry B,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we extend our apologies for have fallen short to your expectations. Nevertheless, we would like to mention that our services are certified by international standards and we are multiplying efforts to maintain the service that sets us apart. We have implemented many improvements since your stay and we would like you to come back and experience our Rock Star service as it constantly improves.
We hope to have you back soon.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

we went to adventura cove last year with two other couples, and they treated us amazing we were so happy with the service. The food was so good and you could not ask for better service.It was all of our anniversaries and they treated us unbelievably special. We got to our rooms there was champagne, chocolates and a cake they went out of their way in everything they did.The spa was beautiful but the sad part is the price has gone up so much by changing it to hard rock cafe that our friends and us cant afford to pay that price its just to bad they had to change such a good thing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear julie p,

Thank you very much for your review , I am so glad to heard that you enjoyed your trip to the Riviera maya, since your last visit our resort being beautiful enhanced and we have add many attractions that you have to come and enjoy, we will be very pleased to welcome you to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful visit to Aventura Spa last year (January 2013) and were eager to return so in September, we booked a stay for this January (2014) knowing that it was going to become a Hard Rock. We asked to be put on the spa side, which we were. (It's now called "Heaven".) The room was pretty much like it had been the year before with some decorating changes but there is construction in every single building. The construction blocks your movement from/to certain parts of the hotel. It rained 2 days while we were there and the only way to get to the lobby and all restaurants was to go through the rain since the covered passageways were closed down. The staff was great - no complaint there. Apparently, we were supposed to have received a phone call before we left telling us that the construction was not complete, but we never got that call. Restaurants were all great; pools were fine. Spa treatments were good but my husband really enjoys the hydrotherapy and he felt that it was not up to last year's standards. Probably a construction issue. We finally asked to be put on the 'family' side. Construction on this side is complete. Eduardo helped us and couldn't have been more accommodating. He got us a wonderful 3rd floor room with a roof top area accessible from a staircase inside the room. We had a fabulous view and the roof top had a 2 person jacuzzi, bathroom, sink, lounge chairs and was partly covered. The rest of our stay was excellent. Be aware that the family side (called "Hacienda") is more active because there are children there, but it was less noise than the "Heaven" side (because of construction) and not inconvenient in any way. It was a long walk to the Heaven side, but there is also a shuttle. We just chose not to take it (needed to walk off all that good food!) The construction is supposed to be complete in May of 2014. We visited Hard Rock Cancun to see what it was like since we used to stay there when it was Cancun Palace. I'm sure it is a great place to stay if you are young. It was very loud, lively and crowded. I won't do a review on that place because we did not stay there.

Room Tip: Heaven side rooms are quieter. Be very specific about ocean view if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear srobin316,

Thank you very much for you great review and for all your positive quotes,
It is gratifying to see that despite any inconvenientes you had such a good time, our resort being beautiful enhanced and we have add many attractions that you have to come and enjoy, we will be very pleased to welcome you to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel is not finished; staff were uninformed and rude; service was terrible; we left. We have been members of Palace Premier for many years; we bought into this Hard Rock membership based on that. This hotel was not at all like the Palace Premier hotels, and was really a horrible experience.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Esteemed Nathan A,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We have made many arrangements since your visit and I assure you that we have improved considerably the Hard Rock experience we offer.
We would like you to come back soon and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our resort.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.