We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the truth lies…” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE UP TO 35% OFF
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where the truth lies…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We are the member of this resort, not by choice, buy by being in the sales meeting for 8 hours, and tired. In the end, the fact that we like sun and people in Mexico helped--we will come back to this part of country any way, so why not. For us, membership is about prepaid for a few trips at the best price possible. Here we are…

Being a member doesn't give you any advantage over non-member, you already paid your due :) Keep in mind, the membership desk staff will help you hoping that you will buy more trips in the future, if you do, very good for you. If you don't, just behave like everybody else, enjoy where you are.

This resort is a very good choice - if you like sun, a lot of food that will feed your family members, and not so picky about beach. The price will be the most affordable for this type of the resort.
The room is very clean, beds are very comfortable. Nothing to worry about.

This resort is not a very good choice - if you like beach, fancy food, and tranquility . You are better of booking their sister resorts like Moon Palace, Beach Palace and The Blanc.

We booked here for our Christmas family week, the price is a big factor during this peak season. Our young and teenager kids were in the pool having a great time everyday. While we read our books and listen to the wave of the ocean…We meet together at dinner, and share their stories of the year…cannot bit that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Dora C,

Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, great way to spend your Christmas family week , evokes to keep those rocking moments forever. We at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven, we look forward to welcome you and your family for a Rockstar vacation!

Let’s rock together!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,317
    940
    327
    233
    174
See reviews for
254
1,866
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

rooms had ants , staff was inconsiderate, air didn't work well in rooms, no air in main lobby management doesn't even attempt to satisfy old members. I would stay at one of the Iberostar places. this one is not worth the money. oh Did I say the food had bugs.. it does.

Room Tip: no such thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Esteemed Jerry B,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we extend our apologies for have fallen short to your expectations. Nevertheless, we would like to mention that our services are certified by international standards and we are multiplying efforts to maintain the service that sets us apart. We have implemented many improvements since your stay and we would like you to come back and experience our Rock Star service as it constantly improves.
We hope to have you back soon.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

we went to adventura cove last year with two other couples, and they treated us amazing we were so happy with the service. The food was so good and you could not ask for better service.It was all of our anniversaries and they treated us unbelievably special. We got to our rooms there was champagne, chocolates and a cake they went out of their way in everything they did.The spa was beautiful but the sad part is the price has gone up so much by changing it to hard rock cafe that our friends and us cant afford to pay that price its just to bad they had to change such a good thing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear julie p,

Thank you very much for your review , I am so glad to heard that you enjoyed your trip to the Riviera maya, since your last visit our resort being beautiful enhanced and we have add many attractions that you have to come and enjoy, we will be very pleased to welcome you to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful visit to Aventura Spa last year (January 2013) and were eager to return so in September, we booked a stay for this January (2014) knowing that it was going to become a Hard Rock. We asked to be put on the spa side, which we were. (It's now called "Heaven".) The room was pretty much like it had been the year before with some decorating changes but there is construction in every single building. The construction blocks your movement from/to certain parts of the hotel. It rained 2 days while we were there and the only way to get to the lobby and all restaurants was to go through the rain since the covered passageways were closed down. The staff was great - no complaint there. Apparently, we were supposed to have received a phone call before we left telling us that the construction was not complete, but we never got that call. Restaurants were all great; pools were fine. Spa treatments were good but my husband really enjoys the hydrotherapy and he felt that it was not up to last year's standards. Probably a construction issue. We finally asked to be put on the 'family' side. Construction on this side is complete. Eduardo helped us and couldn't have been more accommodating. He got us a wonderful 3rd floor room with a roof top area accessible from a staircase inside the room. We had a fabulous view and the roof top had a 2 person jacuzzi, bathroom, sink, lounge chairs and was partly covered. The rest of our stay was excellent. Be aware that the family side (called "Hacienda") is more active because there are children there, but it was less noise than the "Heaven" side (because of construction) and not inconvenient in any way. It was a long walk to the Heaven side, but there is also a shuttle. We just chose not to take it (needed to walk off all that good food!) The construction is supposed to be complete in May of 2014. We visited Hard Rock Cancun to see what it was like since we used to stay there when it was Cancun Palace. I'm sure it is a great place to stay if you are young. It was very loud, lively and crowded. I won't do a review on that place because we did not stay there.

Room Tip: Heaven side rooms are quieter. Be very specific about ocean view if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear srobin316,

Thank you very much for you great review and for all your positive quotes,
It is gratifying to see that despite any inconvenientes you had such a good time, our resort being beautiful enhanced and we have add many attractions that you have to come and enjoy, we will be very pleased to welcome you to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Heaven.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel is not finished; staff were uninformed and rude; service was terrible; we left. We have been members of Palace Premier for many years; we bought into this Hard Rock membership based on that. This hotel was not at all like the Palace Premier hotels, and was really a horrible experience.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Esteemed Nathan A,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We have made many arrangements since your visit and I assure you that we have improved considerably the Hard Rock experience we offer.
We would like you to come back soon and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our resort.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Worst experience ever,
My husband and I booked last year for our honeymoon in the same hotel but was Aventura Palace. Amazing from stuff to food and tours. we had a good deal and we didn t have to pay for our tours. But this time was from jan 5th to 12th worst worst ever (only the stuff at the Market buffet they were amazing). We thought since they changed the name going from Aventura to Hardrock, everything will be more than amazing butttt nooooooooooo terrible service room only once in the day, very crowded and noisy. Our agent told us that we will get a room in adult area not even it was at family side. the worst was the renovation too noisy to sleep and hear people working all night.what can I say more than this we do not want to go back to this hotel finitoooo. wast of money, we had to pay for all our tours, the free gift was Spa. Last year we had 8000 credits from hotel we enjoyed to pick whatever we wanted for tours Chichen itza, tulum and so on romantic dinner was free also.
anyways, mexico very worth to go back but not anymore to the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Soumia S,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we apologize for have fallen short to your expectations. We have made many arrangements in order to improve the Hard Rock experience since you visit and we would like you to be a part of it. Your feedback is much appreciated and it won’t be taken lightly, I assure you that proper action has been taken to address every aspect that require our attention.
We would like to have the opportunity to change your perception of our resort and we would like to invite you cordially to come back soon and spend an amazing vacation with us.
Sincerely,
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Horrible experience from check in. They needed a hotel reservation letter from us. We didn't have a letter just a confirmation number and they didn't want to help us without the letter. In all of our years visiting we have never had a letter just a number. Once they helped us, we wanted to be and requested to be on second floor. We ended up on first floor looking at another building...a little glimpse of the ocean was about 400 feet away if you slid your chair all the way to the corner of the patio on first floor. It didn't help that the room smelt moldy and the room looked slapped together. The excess grout hadn't been wiped up. There were paint drips everywhere that we're not cleaned up. The new lock systems on the door did not fully cover the old hole in the door. The shower leaked onto the floor really bad. The toilet was not very private and all together things were not clean. It took us three days of our vacation to finally get into a decent room. Te second room we were put in even had a worse view and I couldn't sit in the room because the mold smell was even worse. My husband then spent 3 hours waking around with a manager to find a new room. The manager brought my husband to 3different rooms. One of the rooms was still a mess from the previous guests and the can lights were pulled down out of the ceiling - the manager had asked my husband to look for water around the lights because the previous guests had said water was coming in through the lights. Why would we want to stay in this room? Finally after three days of wasting our tine with the front desk and public relations we found a room with a view that smelt and looked clean. Customer service at the front desk was horrible. Nobody wanted to help us, they would refer us to someone else who would also end up referring us to someone else. The food was not exceptional, a lot of the food came out cold or when you would ask for something in particular they wouldn't have it (banana or guacamole). You always had the feeling liked you were an inconvenience and no one acted like they were happy you were there. There was constant construction going on. Every morning at about 6:00 we would wake up to banging or power tools. I was even trying to relax at the spa and could hear pounding and power tools. The spa staff in the hydrotherapy/check in area seemed short staffed - not willing to help. If was too bad that only one sauna and one steam room was up and running because I liked the one with the scents in it. Cut backs seemed to be made in the wrong areas. The drinks at the bar were often times not good or you had to explain to the bartender how to make the drinks. The credits we had you now had to pay a 20% service charge which we never had to do before so we didn't use very many credits this service charge is a horrible idea. We had met a group of over 20 different people that were having the same bad experiences with the staff and the rooms and the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Micaela D,
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, we extend our most sincere apologies for have fallen short to your expectations during your past visit. We have implemented many improvements since your visit with the objective of serving our guests with the Rock Star service that distinguishes us.
We would like to create new memories with you and change your perception of our resort. We invite you to come back soon and let us treat you with the VIP service you deserve.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#8 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 3,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,357 reviews
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,330 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.