We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes - there is construction, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yes - there is construction, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful visit to Aventura Spa last year (January 2013) and were eager to return so in September, we booked a stay for this January (2014) knowing that it was going to become a Hard Rock. We asked to be put on the spa side, which we were. (It's now called "Heaven".) The room was pretty much like it had been the year before with some decorating changes but there is construction in every single building. The construction blocks your movement from/to certain parts of the hotel. It rained 2 days while we were there and the only way to get to the lobby and all restaurants was to go through the rain since the covered passageways were closed down. The staff was great - no complaint there. Apparently, we were supposed to have received a phone call before we left telling us that the construction was not complete, but we never got that call. Restaurants were all great; pools were fine. Spa treatments were good but my husband really enjoys the hydrotherapy and he felt that it was not up to last year's standards. Probably a construction issue. We finally asked to be put on the 'family' side. Construction on this side is complete. Eduardo helped us and couldn't have been more accommodating. He got us a wonderful 3rd floor room with a roof top area accessible from a staircase inside the room. We had a fabulous view and the roof top had a 2 person jacuzzi, bathroom, sink, lounge chairs and was partly covered. The rest of our stay was excellent. Be aware that the family side (called "Hacienda") is more active because there are children there, but it was less noise than the "Heaven" side (because of construction) and not inconvenient in any way. It was a long walk to the Heaven side, but there is also a shuttle. We just chose not to take it (needed to walk off all that good food!) The construction is supposed to be complete in May of 2014. We visited Hard Rock Cancun to see what it was like since we used to stay there when it was Cancun Palace. I'm sure it is a great place to stay if you are young. It was very loud, lively and crowded. I won't do a review on that place because we did not stay there.

Room Tip: Heaven side rooms are quieter. Be very specific about ocean view if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,174
    863
    302
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1719
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel is not finished; staff were uninformed and rude; service was terrible; we left. We have been members of Palace Premier for many years; we bought into this Hard Rock membership based on that. This hotel was not at all like the Palace Premier hotels, and was really a horrible experience.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This review has been long overdue. I stayed at this all inclusive resort with my wife during the Christmas Break in 2012. On Christmas Eve the zippers on our padlocked bags were ripped open and cash was stolen ($200). Upon telling security, they came into our room and checked all of our belongings including all furniture in the room to see if we had in fact hid the money! Even a body search on my wife and I was done. They were speaking in Spanish the whole time and we told them to speak in English because we couldn't understand them. They said they couldn't speak English but 30 minutes later they started speaking English. After the search was completed, their security concluded there was no way our bags could have been opened. They said they would check the security cameras to see if anyone entered the room. Upon further query it turned out there was no security cameras in the area, how convenient! It was one of the staff that went through our bags and stole the money as from the security log file of access to the room it was found the maid and the person that replenished the mini fridge were the only two that entered the room during the time we were away. With our mood completely ruined we wanted to cancel our activity the next day as we did not feel comfortable leaving our room unattended for long periods of time. Trying to get that activity canceled was extremely difficult as the resort manager would not budge to canceling the activity as it was past the 24 hour cancelling period despite him knowing our situation. After repeated conversations the manager FINALLY got the activity cancelled. During the whole ordeal no remorse was given to us. Security had made us feel like we were at fault the whole time. If you have a serious issue at this resort there is not one person on the staff that can do any problem solving to help you out. You will be on your own.

Before being robbed on Christmas Eve, we did enjoy some things on the resort. We had 1500 resort credits which we used towards the spa and some activities. This was great. The food at the resort was average. Breakfast, lunch and dinners were buffet style at most restaurants on the resort which served the same stuff most of the time. The property itself got pretty boring after 2 days. The indoor hot tub is warm, and the indoor pool next to it is too cold. By the way there is NO BEACH at the resort. You WILL NOT have long walks on the beach at this place. You WILL NOT be swimming in the ocean water. There is only a small area of sand with a lagoon in front of it and it is usually infested with seagulls. There is a wall of rock dividing the resort and the ocean. You cannot explore the surrounding areas outside of the resort by foot. You have to shuttle to leave the gated resort to get anywhere. To actually experience the beach and ocean you have to shuttle or taxi to Playa Del Carmen. There is a nice stretch of beach there and you can do your shopping/dining on 5th Avenue.

Overall, I would recommend that you DO NOT stay at this resort. You can find much better places than this for your money. At the LEAST, when you come to Mexico you want to have the beach right outside your resort. Aventura Spa Palace cannot offer that to you. No matter how cheap of a deal you can get to stay here GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Worst experience ever,
My husband and I booked last year for our honeymoon in the same hotel but was Aventura Palace. Amazing from stuff to food and tours. we had a good deal and we didn t have to pay for our tours. But this time was from jan 5th to 12th worst worst ever (only the stuff at the Market buffet they were amazing). We thought since they changed the name going from Aventura to Hardrock, everything will be more than amazing butttt nooooooooooo terrible service room only once in the day, very crowded and noisy. Our agent told us that we will get a room in adult area not even it was at family side. the worst was the renovation too noisy to sleep and hear people working all night.what can I say more than this we do not want to go back to this hotel finitoooo. wast of money, we had to pay for all our tours, the free gift was Spa. Last year we had 8000 credits from hotel we enjoyed to pick whatever we wanted for tours Chichen itza, tulum and so on romantic dinner was free also.
anyways, mexico very worth to go back but not anymore to the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

In the beginning of November 2013 I booked a room at The Hard Rock Riviera Maya. My travel dates were to be 29 Mar - 5 Apr. 2014. Because of recent bad reviews about all the construction and how far behind they are I decided it would be best to cancel. I canceled 77 days in advance. I was still charged $50 per person. All because they ARE open and running. Buyer Beware !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Horrible experience from check in. They needed a hotel reservation letter from us. We didn't have a letter just a confirmation number and they didn't want to help us without the letter. In all of our years visiting we have never had a letter just a number. Once they helped us, we wanted to be and requested to be on second floor. We ended up on first floor looking at another building...a little glimpse of the ocean was about 400 feet away if you slid your chair all the way to the corner of the patio on first floor. It didn't help that the room smelt moldy and the room looked slapped together. The excess grout hadn't been wiped up. There were paint drips everywhere that we're not cleaned up. The new lock systems on the door did not fully cover the old hole in the door. The shower leaked onto the floor really bad. The toilet was not very private and all together things were not clean. It took us three days of our vacation to finally get into a decent room. Te second room we were put in even had a worse view and I couldn't sit in the room because the mold smell was even worse. My husband then spent 3 hours waking around with a manager to find a new room. The manager brought my husband to 3different rooms. One of the rooms was still a mess from the previous guests and the can lights were pulled down out of the ceiling - the manager had asked my husband to look for water around the lights because the previous guests had said water was coming in through the lights. Why would we want to stay in this room? Finally after three days of wasting our tine with the front desk and public relations we found a room with a view that smelt and looked clean. Customer service at the front desk was horrible. Nobody wanted to help us, they would refer us to someone else who would also end up referring us to someone else. The food was not exceptional, a lot of the food came out cold or when you would ask for something in particular they wouldn't have it (banana or guacamole). You always had the feeling liked you were an inconvenience and no one acted like they were happy you were there. There was constant construction going on. Every morning at about 6:00 we would wake up to banging or power tools. I was even trying to relax at the spa and could hear pounding and power tools. The spa staff in the hydrotherapy/check in area seemed short staffed - not willing to help. If was too bad that only one sauna and one steam room was up and running because I liked the one with the scents in it. Cut backs seemed to be made in the wrong areas. The drinks at the bar were often times not good or you had to explain to the bartender how to make the drinks. The credits we had you now had to pay a 20% service charge which we never had to do before so we didn't use very many credits this service charge is a horrible idea. We had met a group of over 20 different people that were having the same bad experiences with the staff and the rooms and the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the resort from January 1st to the 8th and wish picked a different hotel. Construction is in high gear all over the resort especially the heaven side which is where we stayed. It starts from early morning hours until late night. You can't Sleep in until late, take an afternoon nap or relax in your room. Our room was also infested with roaches. The main lobby in heaven reaked of sewage, especially the last 2 days we were there. You couldn't even walk though it much less hang out.
They have zero entertainment indoors when it rains and it rained the whole week we were there.
The staff are friendly and this hotel has potential but it's no where close to start taking guests.

I wish we stayed elsewhere, this was a waste of money.

Room Tip: Hucienda side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.