We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes Baby Yes!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Midland Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yes Baby Yes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2004

We recently visited ASP for the third consecutive year, and after reading so many negative reviews we were slightly concerned as in our past visits, we had never experienced any of the complaints we had read at this site. We visited from 3/28 - 4/2. We had no problems at check in, our room was ready when we arrived at 2:00. Our reservation had requested ocean view, and was as we expected. We were concered after we checked in to learn that HP was having their "Winners Summit" that would arrive the next day bringing the hotels largest booking of 800 rooms. However, we never had any problems with crowds. I was prepared to get up early and reserve a chair by the pool, but it was never necessary. We ate at every resaurant and really enjoyed Mo Mo No Hana and La Huerta. Our steak at La Hacienda was great. We ate breakfast at El Greco and Mundaca. The egg white omelettes were great. The entertainment team was so fun. Livier, Rueben, Ivan, Loles, Franklin, Fernando, Jose, Vanessa & Monica made our stay soooooo much fun. We played water volleyball and even participated in the the water aerobics. We met new friends from London Ontario...(Hi to them if they read this!) Being our third year the only decline we noticed was in the fitness room. The weights were slightly worn, and one machine was broken. We also made a quick bike ride to Puerto Aventura, we enjoyed the shopping and watching the people swim with the dolphins. All in all our vacation was great, just as we thought it would be, and I highly recommend ASP to anyone. Dance in the disco upstairs, or enjoy the outdoor patio band in the South Lobby-- Have fun, it's your vacation! P.S. If seeing one or two stray cats bothers you, there are many highly trained psychiatrists waiting for your call!!!!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    864
    302
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1721
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2004

Just returned from 7-nights at the Adventura Spa Palace Resot attending a corporate sponsored event. THIS RESORT IS INCREDBILE! After having read literally hundreds of the reviews on this web site, both good and bad, I promised myself to pen a response to address reviews reflecting negative ratings. Arrival - checkin went flawlessly and was quick although we were not able to get an ocean view room (our room was 1569) which was ground floor without any view of the ocean. We did have a garden view (near the fitness obstacle course) and our building was literally between the North and South lobbies and nearby the convention center. All and all, we were very happy because of the central location. While the rooms are not enormous, the in-room two-person spa and tiled shower are wonderful. Yes, the mattresses are firm, however, a quick call to housekeeping brought us an egg crate mattress topper.
They were also quick to bring the extra clothes hangers I requested.
While we didn't make heavy-duty use of the liquor cabinet on the wall or the beverages in the fridge (having had just plenty to drink every day down by the pool) someone did stop by every other day to replenish and its a nice touch I haven't found at other resorts. Ditto for the in-room coffee maker. Maid service was wonderful, loved the towel designs she left us each day and the room was spotless. Because we were at a corporate event, only had 2 opportunities to try restuarants at dinner. First night went to the Italian restuarant buffet, I'd rate the food as above average. Our last night we went to Mundoca's by the Adventura pool (we also ate almost all breakfasts there ). I would say my meal (grouper grilled cajun style) was as great as I've had anywhere. Ditto for my husband's choice of salmon. Loved their breakfast buffet -- the selection changes day-to-day and the made-to-order omlet station. We used the Adventura pool, and yes made a point of staking out our location by 7:00 am each morning - we're early risers so no big deal. Poolside bar service was great -- Donicio, I miss my Banana Monkeys and your smiling face. Yes, some nights I could hear people going to their rooms, but this was not excessive and big deal, you're on vacation, take a siesta! Yes, we saw (did not hear) the infamous cats -- most tend to keep their distance, although one orange tabby that came to visit our patio a couple mornings was very friendly.
The grounds are absolutely magnificant and very well maintained. The staff is incredibly friendly and always willing to help if you have a question. We made a point of taking lots of single dollar bills and tipped everyone and often. They deserve it! I've stayed at many different all-inclusives in different Caribbean locations and this one stands heads-and-shoulders above the rest. Since this was a corporate event, I should comment that all the special evening events for our large group (800 rooms) at the hotel were phenomenal. It goes without saying, I'm counting the days until the next opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed March 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2004

We just returned from ASP April 7th....What a blast! There is nothing to complain about. We had the best time! We are around 40 and love to have a good time! Our room was on the 3 floor of the Armonica building room 3073 the view was the best...we were in a few other rooms and they all had great ocean views. Yes the beds are hard, you can hear the cats cry, some of the food wasn't the best etc, etc....but it's an all inclusive if you have enough to drink then none of these little petty things matter!! We enjoyed all the RESTAURANTS....try them all.. each one has something a little different...if you order something and don't like it...just ask for something else.If you can't decide, they'll bring you two entrees to try.They don't get offended at all. SPA.. use the hydortherapy room..just walking in there makes you feel good..remember it's free..you only pay for treatments! Go enjoy the SHOWS they work really hard at them! The Q Bar band was great. My husband went SCUBA DIVING in Puerto Aventuras at Dive Aventuras and loved it. That was the only time we left the resort. There is good snorkelling in the lagoon with fish and many saw an octopus BUT NO EQUIPMENT.....BRING YOUR OWN mask , fins and snorkel. While the north pool was definitely more quiet, for those who prefer that,we enjoyed ourselves so much mostly playing volleyball in the south pool and getting involved in some of the activities... ( practice your beer chugging ).The activity staff are a hoot.. say hi to Ivan, Ruban, Vanessa, Monica, Lolis and Franklin for us from Dave and Annette. We only SHOPPED at the resort...there is a store in both North and South lobby...South lobby store had some very inexpensive silver jewelery and both had t-shirt for 3x$30us or 4x$20us.(decent quality). All the staff do their best to make your vacation a great experience...so be open minded and enjoy it all! Hi Texas!!!...(if you are still reading the reviews) Cheers from Canada... eh!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2004

We have been there 7 times and we love it more and more. I was there 4 times in the past year. I don't know what people complain about. They complain if the workers can't speak english very well. Their language is Spanish. I think people forget they are in Mexico and they do not have everything we have in the good old USA. Maybe people that are hard to please should stay in the states. I love the people, the food, pools and the beaches. We always have great service. This past trip there a huge convention and it did not disrupt my vacation at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2004

My wife and I returned on 3-19 we had a great time.The reviews worried us but we would do it again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2004

we went to Aventura Spa on our honeymoon. We were there march 31st - april 5th. the place was extremly clean and they were always working to make it cleaner. i have been to 3 all inclusive resorts and this was by far the cleanest and prettiest. The grounds were very weel kept and the surroundings were georgeous. A few bad things....this was our honeymoon and when we checked in they had us in double beds!!! (we made our reservations 4 mths in advance and told them it was our honeymoon - or our travel agent did - and it was on all our papers too) they put us in double beds! we asked to be changed and the man at the front desk was rude and said there were no more rooms.....we told him this was our honeymoon and we wanted a king size bed...he said he could put us up in another hotel right away....we said we wanted to stay at this place and he kept saying out of the over 1000 rooms they were all full, but yet people were leaving and you cold tell all the rooms were not full.....he argued with us!!!!! we finally said we would take it bc that was where we were to stay and wanted to stay, not at another resort. the rooms were very small. the beds were hard, and being on our honeymoon and sleeping in double beds - did not work out too good. the beds were small. upon arrival we were to get champaigne and fruit and cheese and got nothing. we had to ask for it 4 times...we got it on the last night we were there. they said they would put us on a waiting list for a king size bed and of course, on this huge resort, all the rooms were full but the handicapped rooms! we were to have this special romantic candle light dinner......well, the dinner was no different then eveyone else eating dinner at this resturant! nothing different at all! and we have to choose to eat at 8pm or 10pm......the food was not good at all........you would think we would get real good mexican food! nada!!! the guest services desks - you would go to one and then to another one, and they would all say something different.....georgeous place, spa was great, clean, staff was for the most party freindly, they did get you what you wanted, other then the time we wanted a bottle of wine to our room and they would not do it so we had to go buy it at the gift shop for $20 on a $4 bottle!!! we did not feel like we were on our honeymoon....it was pretty and clean and very large and spead out....i guess the down fall is the communication and food and the fact it was our honeymoon and they did not care, they were going to send us to a different resort......not sure if i would go back or not...maybe in 10 years...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Aventura Spa from March 28-April 2. We breezed thru customs and within 30 minutes from landing, were on the road to Aventura which was an hour's drive.

Our room was ready at 1:30pm when we arrived and of course having read mixed reviews, we were nervous about the kind of room we would get. We were in the Triangulo building (they all have musical instrument names). We were centrally located between the north and south lobbies and away from the noise but equidistant to all the action and restarurants. Our corridor was open air without rooms opposite ours so that made for less traffic and less noise. We did have a somewhat obstructed view of the ocean but being on the second floor was much better than the first. I would NOT want to be anywhere on the ground floor. We were there to relax and enjoy and we did that at every moment throughout our stay. We were not kept awake by cats, carts, or persons in the hall. The bed is hard but nonetheless, we slept soundly. The whirlpool was great--just be careful about how many bubbles you pour in!! Do bring some candles.

We recommend watching the sun come up and the stars at night. Walks along the ocean are rough on the rocks but worth the serenity. Don't clamour to stake your claim on a beach or pool chair--there really is no need unless your world collapses when that ONE spot is taken. There are so many great areas to get sun or shade, view or privacy, action or peace. You will be given a towel card to be exchanged for pool towels--leave the cards in your safe the whole time as they do not take them but they will charge you $20 per card if you do not return them.
We had planned on taking advantage of some of the tours but enjoyed the palace so much we didn't want to leave--besides, we had done some of the tours on another trip to the area a few years back.

The food ranged from horrible to pretty good. The buffets sit there a long time so we stayed clear of them. The fruit is usually from a can and no matter what cut of beef you order, you most likely will get ribeye of various thicknesses. If you desire a top shelf liquer, ask for it. They did have some of the brands we prefer.

The hotel was at capacity during our stay and it actually helped to have the HP convention while we were there as they had many activities scheduled at the convention center or away from the resort.

We used the spa every afternoon around 5pm and it was never crowded. We got massages and therapuetic baths, facials and manicures on the first day which was great to start the vacation off on a relaxing note.

On the whole, we really did enjoy our stay, the grounds, and atmosphere. We are both 38 and thought the palace provided for our every need. It was not the greatest place in the world, but for the 5 days we were there, it was the only world we needed. Enjoy and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.