We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah Baby...oooh, oooh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
A TripAdvisor Member
“Yeah Baby...oooh, oooh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2004

We just returned from ASP April 7th....What a blast! There is nothing to complain about. We had the best time! We are around 40 and love to have a good time! Our room was on the 3 floor of the Armonica building room 3073 the view was the best...we were in a few other rooms and they all had great ocean views. Yes the beds are hard, you can hear the cats cry, some of the food wasn't the best etc, etc....but it's an all inclusive if you have enough to drink then none of these little petty things matter!! We enjoyed all the RESTAURANTS....try them all.. each one has something a little different...if you order something and don't like it...just ask for something else.If you can't decide, they'll bring you two entrees to try.They don't get offended at all. SPA.. use the hydortherapy room..just walking in there makes you feel good..remember it's free..you only pay for treatments! Go enjoy the SHOWS they work really hard at them! The Q Bar band was great. My husband went SCUBA DIVING in Puerto Aventuras at Dive Aventuras and loved it. That was the only time we left the resort. There is good snorkelling in the lagoon with fish and many saw an octopus BUT NO EQUIPMENT.....BRING YOUR OWN mask , fins and snorkel. While the north pool was definitely more quiet, for those who prefer that,we enjoyed ourselves so much mostly playing volleyball in the south pool and getting involved in some of the activities... ( practice your beer chugging ).The activity staff are a hoot.. say hi to Ivan, Ruban, Vanessa, Monica, Lolis and Franklin for us from Dave and Annette. We only SHOPPED at the resort...there is a store in both North and South lobby...South lobby store had some very inexpensive silver jewelery and both had t-shirt for 3x$30us or 4x$20us.(decent quality). All the staff do their best to make your vacation a great experience...so be open minded and enjoy it all! Hi Texas!!!...(if you are still reading the reviews) Cheers from Canada... eh!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    874
    305
    225
    169
See reviews for
219
1,734
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2004

We have been there 7 times and we love it more and more. I was there 4 times in the past year. I don't know what people complain about. They complain if the workers can't speak english very well. Their language is Spanish. I think people forget they are in Mexico and they do not have everything we have in the good old USA. Maybe people that are hard to please should stay in the states. I love the people, the food, pools and the beaches. We always have great service. This past trip there a huge convention and it did not disrupt my vacation at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2004

My wife and I returned on 3-19 we had a great time.The reviews worried us but we would do it again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2004

we went to Aventura Spa on our honeymoon. We were there march 31st - april 5th. the place was extremly clean and they were always working to make it cleaner. i have been to 3 all inclusive resorts and this was by far the cleanest and prettiest. The grounds were very weel kept and the surroundings were georgeous. A few bad things....this was our honeymoon and when we checked in they had us in double beds!!! (we made our reservations 4 mths in advance and told them it was our honeymoon - or our travel agent did - and it was on all our papers too) they put us in double beds! we asked to be changed and the man at the front desk was rude and said there were no more rooms.....we told him this was our honeymoon and we wanted a king size bed...he said he could put us up in another hotel right away....we said we wanted to stay at this place and he kept saying out of the over 1000 rooms they were all full, but yet people were leaving and you cold tell all the rooms were not full.....he argued with us!!!!! we finally said we would take it bc that was where we were to stay and wanted to stay, not at another resort. the rooms were very small. the beds were hard, and being on our honeymoon and sleeping in double beds - did not work out too good. the beds were small. upon arrival we were to get champaigne and fruit and cheese and got nothing. we had to ask for it 4 times...we got it on the last night we were there. they said they would put us on a waiting list for a king size bed and of course, on this huge resort, all the rooms were full but the handicapped rooms! we were to have this special romantic candle light dinner......well, the dinner was no different then eveyone else eating dinner at this resturant! nothing different at all! and we have to choose to eat at 8pm or 10pm......the food was not good at all........you would think we would get real good mexican food! nada!!! the guest services desks - you would go to one and then to another one, and they would all say something different.....georgeous place, spa was great, clean, staff was for the most party freindly, they did get you what you wanted, other then the time we wanted a bottle of wine to our room and they would not do it so we had to go buy it at the gift shop for $20 on a $4 bottle!!! we did not feel like we were on our honeymoon....it was pretty and clean and very large and spead out....i guess the down fall is the communication and food and the fact it was our honeymoon and they did not care, they were going to send us to a different resort......not sure if i would go back or not...maybe in 10 years...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Aventura Spa from March 28-April 2. We breezed thru customs and within 30 minutes from landing, were on the road to Aventura which was an hour's drive.

Our room was ready at 1:30pm when we arrived and of course having read mixed reviews, we were nervous about the kind of room we would get. We were in the Triangulo building (they all have musical instrument names). We were centrally located between the north and south lobbies and away from the noise but equidistant to all the action and restarurants. Our corridor was open air without rooms opposite ours so that made for less traffic and less noise. We did have a somewhat obstructed view of the ocean but being on the second floor was much better than the first. I would NOT want to be anywhere on the ground floor. We were there to relax and enjoy and we did that at every moment throughout our stay. We were not kept awake by cats, carts, or persons in the hall. The bed is hard but nonetheless, we slept soundly. The whirlpool was great--just be careful about how many bubbles you pour in!! Do bring some candles.

We recommend watching the sun come up and the stars at night. Walks along the ocean are rough on the rocks but worth the serenity. Don't clamour to stake your claim on a beach or pool chair--there really is no need unless your world collapses when that ONE spot is taken. There are so many great areas to get sun or shade, view or privacy, action or peace. You will be given a towel card to be exchanged for pool towels--leave the cards in your safe the whole time as they do not take them but they will charge you $20 per card if you do not return them.
We had planned on taking advantage of some of the tours but enjoyed the palace so much we didn't want to leave--besides, we had done some of the tours on another trip to the area a few years back.

The food ranged from horrible to pretty good. The buffets sit there a long time so we stayed clear of them. The fruit is usually from a can and no matter what cut of beef you order, you most likely will get ribeye of various thicknesses. If you desire a top shelf liquer, ask for it. They did have some of the brands we prefer.

The hotel was at capacity during our stay and it actually helped to have the HP convention while we were there as they had many activities scheduled at the convention center or away from the resort.

We used the spa every afternoon around 5pm and it was never crowded. We got massages and therapuetic baths, facials and manicures on the first day which was great to start the vacation off on a relaxing note.

On the whole, we really did enjoy our stay, the grounds, and atmosphere. We are both 38 and thought the palace provided for our every need. It was not the greatest place in the world, but for the 5 days we were there, it was the only world we needed. Enjoy and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2004

I was a little worried after reading some of the hot and cold reviews here - but we had absolutely none of the problems that other reviewers experienced! We are a couple in our late 30's. We booked out trip on the internet thru itravel2000 and travelled with Sunwing Vacations March 24 - 31st. No problems here! We picked up our tickets at Pearson Intl Airport the morning we left. We flew out at 6:30 am on Kelowna Flightcraft (new plane/pleasant flight) and arrived in Cancun by 9:15 am. Breezed thru the airport and arrived at Aventura Spa Palace before noon. Another pleasant surprise - our room was ready! Great room right in the middle of the resort!The grounds are as beautiful as everyone says and our weather was perfect. We had breakfasts at El Greco and Eddie was our server. We got mimosa's in the morning as well as cappaccino (sp?) - this was good as we found the coffee was a little hit and miss. We had dinner in every restaurant except Ventana's (the buffet). Our favourites in order: La Huerta (light California Fare) They had an awesome caesar salad and their steak was pretty good too.
Mo no no whatever (oriental cuisine). The appetizers here were really good!La Hacienda (Mexican) Top notch service and alcohol.One note - the appetizers in all the restaurants were far better that the main courses - so we tended to order lots of them and no entrees.We found the service around the pool and lagoon was quick for drinks and if you were really thirsty you could walk about a hundred feet and get a drink yourself!We did tip and I would say the service was excellent whether you tipped or not but the difference would be in the little things.The resort was full while we were there but we only had to wait for dinner one night (Mexican restaurant) and otherwise, the resort really did not seem overcrowded.We had a fabulous time at Aventura Spa Palace and will recommend it too all our friends! We found it to be a reasonably priced resort, with beautiful grounds, excellent amenities and service, lovely rooms and good/excellent food. We also loved the "no kids" aspect. We have three at home but if we're not bringing them along we'd just as soon not have to hear anyone else's either.Oh, we popped over to Xpu-Ha Palace (because we thought we might like to go there with the kids since we were so happy at Aventura - glad we did as we would NOT like to go there for a week - too rustic and spread out for our family (and we ARE an active group) although the snorkelling in the ocean and inland lake was fabulous!Have a great time at Aventura Spa Palace - we envy you!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2004

My husband and I stayed at Aventura March 9th through the 13th. We had also done a lot of research on several different sites and chose Aventura due to the adult only. We checked in around 10 am and was immediately told that our room was ready, however, it was not one that even remotely looked over the ocean, instead it was first floor and looked at a garden. I asked if we could get switched and they said that they had no rooms available, but that he promised he would switch me in the morning and to see him at 9 am. I begged a little bit (I had never seen an ocean before and since this was our honeymoon, I was going for romantic), but he kept with the story. When I explained it was our honeymoon, he turned white and said you are not noted as a honeymoon couple. Oh well. I figured it wasn't worth ruining our vacation, so I thought we would visit him in the morning. We went to our room, got into our bathing suits and went exploring. The grounds are HUGE and we were worn out walking all over the place. There were chairs by the pool, although many had towels on them, and no bodies, which seemed to be the trend through our vacation. We had dinner at the Mexican restaurant. Service was so slow. Food was Ok. Took us about 2-½ hours to get through dinner, which was exhausting. I saw a lot of people getting turned away for not having proper attire on, so please, make sure you know the dress code. We used the hot tub. The water was slightly off color. It didn't bother me, though. Ya put enough bubble bath in and isn't a big deal. We did see a few cats, but they always scurried away. I slept horribly the first night. Bed was hard, but not a big deal, problem was the carts going back and forth on the tiled floor. It was miserable. And then when people came out of the disco -- holy cow. The next morning we went to see my friend to get the room switched. To my surprise, he was off that day, and there was a huge line of people complaining about their rooms. Hmmm. They said they were overbooked and could not switch us. I complained about the noise and they offered a room on the spa side, which we went to look at (overbooked, huh?), but it overlooked a fence. Not very romantic. I just drank before we went to bed so I didn't hear the noise. The shows were fun. The people were very friendly, however, I tried to tip several times, but nobody-- .ok..only the kayaking people..would take the tip. Spa was nice and relaxing. Weather was gorgeous! Service at the pool was not great, but we just got off our butts and got our own drink not a big deal. We thought the lagoon was very clean and had several fish. Was chased by a pelican. That was fun -- and scary. Overall, it was a nice and relaxing trip. I think we will chose another resort next time, though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.