We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aventura Spa what a waist of money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“aventura Spa what a waist of money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are long time members and have stayed at most of the resorts. This one is a dump. Food was average, nothing special. Room had bugs, No air in the lobby and little in the rooms. The resort credits are a joke. the trips set up by legacy are way over priced. I wish we could sell our membership as Palace resorts have gone way down hill. Changing the names doesn't do any good and Guest services never returned any calls. All they want is more money. for more memberships. But they cant even keep the pools clean. There was puke in the pool on 4 out of the 7 days we were there. The staff was told but did nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Jerry B, thank you for sharing your comments as they give us the opportunity to address your concerns; we urge our valued members that feel this way to bring their concerns to our Member Service team so they can clarify any concerns regarding their membership and privileges, nonetheless, we have passed your comments to the head of the Vacation Club for further review.

We sincerely hope we can welcome you again soon and give you the VIP treatment you deserve and have come to expect from us.

I will contact you on a personal message to give you assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    865
    302
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1721
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a wonderful time at this Palace property (converting to Hard Rock) on the Riviera Maya. Travelled with some friends who had not visited a "Palace" hotel in the past. As always, the food and service was amazing. The concierge level was very lovely and the amenities were well worth the investment. As typical, the most challenging thing for the day was finding the pool chair location of choice. Got a sneak peak at the new Presidential Suites with their own private pool on the roof top (WOW). The pool entertainment and all the staff were wonderful. Couples spa selections were fantastic. All in all, had doubts about this location (being so far from Cancun). We typically stay at Moon Palace. In the end, however, it was a very nice location and didn't really miss the fact that we didn't even need or want to go to Cancun. Another trip to Xcaret was amazing as always.

Room Tip: Give yourself a real treat and spring for a Romantic Couples Massage (several hours of pure bliss an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear HOTTN, we are glad to hear that you have experienced a wonderful time with your friends here at Aventura Palace. We are proud that our staff exceeded your expectation and that you felt pampered as we strive to always provide a VIP service to all of our guests. We hope to see you soon and host you once again in our new revamped stage.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been to many different resorts in the area and this resort knocks the other ones out of the park! First, the spa was amazing. The staff are very friendly and help you relax to your fullest. The food is amazing! Any restaurant is a good choice! The rooms are very clean and the bar is stocked every day! The most amazing part of the entire trip was the staff. Big shout out to Marvin from the convention centre. He was always ontop of our drinks and anything else we needed. Also William at the swim up bar/ burger shack. He made us feel like royalty and had amazing customer service skills. The staff at the martini bar were exceptional and the event staff were a lot of fun! They made my birthday extra special! Overall the best experience I have ever had in Mexico! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear MissMartin06, we are thrilled to hear that you had the best time ever in Mexico with us and that our staff made you feel like family. We appreciate the mentions made to Marvin and William and we will make sure to let them know the excellent service they provided and how grateful you are. We wish you once again a happy birthday and hope to see you soon once again. If you have any question or need any information to complete your following reservation, do not hesitate to get in touch with us. We recommend that you keep yourself updated with our official website to know everything about the transition to the Hard Rock brand, the updated pictures and promotions.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My first absolutely relaxing experience at the Aventura Spa was last year, July 2012. My husband and I enjoyed the friendly and caring services of the entire staff. This year, July 2913, I returned with 5 of my teacher friends. I was greeted with the most affectionate hug and smile by Marcella. She remembered me and my husband from last year and even asked for him by name; very impressive! Rosie gave us a very friendly welcome too!

I had the most amazing time! Our butler Alejandro was extremely accommodating. He was always available from rearranging spa appointments to picking up an item at the Cove gift shop that was not available at ours. If he was not around Jesus and Carlos were readily available. Thank you Alejandro, Jesus, and Carlos.

Another great experience was when we went to Mundaca/Isla, Jorge Magel, our head waiter as well as Alfonse Pech, Manuel Hernandez, Educiges Balan, and Yair Malpica were very attentive in making sure our glasses were full and our meal were warm and delicious. Victor Acosta Aguilar was great too! He was our waiter at the VIP Cocktail Party. He make sure our glasses were full at all times. William our waiter at the Pool Bar was a fun character. He made sure we were laughing, dancing, and singing during our lunches or snacks. Oh! One night we even had a formal dinner in our room. Our waiters Julio Cesar Dionision and Valemar Bon Jovi served us with an elegant flair! Bon Jovi heard that I missed the Beatles Concert the night before and entertained me by singing a favorite Beatle song. Thanks,guys, for making the evening fantastic.

To top off this amazing vacation I got a beautiful color and cut from the very talented Adelaida, a lovely hairdresser at The Salon. Thank you Adelaida I went home looking and feeling super. I'll be back next July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear FBalzo, we would like to thank you for your amazing comment and also all the mentions to our staff, we will make sure that they receive it personally. We are glad that you were pampered and that you had a wonderful time, as we strive to provide the best service and experience and gain our valuable guest trust. We are happy that you felt like family right upon arrival and we hope to be able to host you again very soon in our revamped hotel. We recommend that you keep yourself posted for future promotions and news about our changes and the opening. Feel free to contact us if you need help or information to book your next trip with us!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The staff is what keeps us coming back. They're fun and very accommodating. I agree with Moondance2013's review. Aldo and Diane were wonderful at the Current Pool. We love the entertainment staff including Victor, Daniel, Maurizio, Amber, Vanilla, and we can't forget Sexy Eddie! Hey, hey, baby! Hoo ha!

The rooms are beautiful and the grounds are beautiful. We've been there five time and will go back when it becomes a Hard Rock, thanks to the amazing staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear CandKM2013, we thank you so much for your great comment and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. It is such a nice thing to hear that you feel that our staff is like family. We hope to see you back real soon in our new revamped stage. We recommend that you keep yourself posted for future promotions and news about our changes and the opening. Feel free to contact us if you need help or information to book your next trip with us!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We too were on the mega trip and we can't say enough about the staff! Aldo and Diane at the Lazy River Pool Bar rock! They did everything from surprising a guest celebrating her birthday with a piece of cake delivered to her at the beach volley ball court!!... to creating specialty drinks for others celebrating special occasions during the trip! We could not have asked for better servers or service! Aldo and Diane really made our trip memorable! From our room steward to the check-in and check-out staff, everyone we encountered provided first class service! We look forward to visiting the new Hard Rock property and reconnecting with all of these amazing people! Thanks for making this a vacation to remember!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Moondance2013, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your unforgettable experience. We are really glad to know that you had a blast and that our staff made it memorable. We hope to see you soon and if you have any question regarding your next reservation; please, do not hesitate to contact us. Do not forget to keep you posted on our official Hard Rock website to know about all the changes and promotions we offer.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welch, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

At the time of our travel the resort was converting to a Hard Rock property but the Construction was barely noticeable (other than the hundreds of new jacuzzi tubs filling one parking lot).

- the Labyrinth was in the process of being replaced with a huge terrace. Which worked out well as our Travel Club had private dinners that filled the space right along the ocean every night!

- the man-made coves were nice for snorkelling (and WAY better for swimming), but wear water shoes as there are non-poisonous jellys (Cassipoeas) and a FEW sea urchins on the Ocean Side of the coves

- book your spa reservations online before your trip, and convert to Resort Credit when you arrive. Ofielia was AMAZINGLY helpful with this and other excursion scheduling (at x4444 when you arrive, never saw her at the tables in the lobbies :( - at least during our stay)
-- -- My wife recommends the Chocolate Wrap + Facial, and DO make sure you go an hour early to enjoy the pampering hydro-therapy available!!

- ABSOLUTELY do the Romantic Dinner, but do it on the COVE side! Unless you like people looking over your shoulders from the deck above (SPA side). And request the Accordian and Violinist - they were unbelievable, covering everything from 'Fiddler on the Roof' to 'StarWars' ;)

- Chef's Dinner... hmmm. Fantastic, but more of a "Cooking Show" style and definitely a group (as in ~100 people) experience with about 6 people per table. Food was VERY good, and above the par of all the other restaurants there, but possibly not worth the "price" for some.

- Martini Bar on the Spa side is fantastic if there is a nice breeze or a storm coming! And the drinks are great any time.

- DO >>bring<< $1 and $5 bills - the lobby is horrid at having anything like "change" making capabilities. If you are going to change to Pesos do so in the GiftShop (~12:1 at lobby, 13:1 in giftshop) Tipping AHEAD of service (To Insure Promptitude!!) takes the level of service you receive from superb to amazing so REMEMBER to tip!

Room Tip: Room number tells you: 1xxx => first floor x1xx => Building number (0 through 3 are Cove sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Cre8ivEMasteR, thank you for your very detailed review. We are extatic to know that you had a great unforgettable time at our resort and we hope we will be able to host you once again in our revamped stage. Do not hesitate to communicate with us if you need any information and do not forget to look up our official webpage to be updated with all our new promotions.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.