We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
A TripAdvisor Member
“Absolutley Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2004

We stayed at the Adventura Spa Palace in September 2003 for 2 weeks.
The resort was split in to 2 hotels ( both Adult's only ). We stayed in the Spa Palace which is where the North Lobby was situated and the Adventura Palace is the South Lobby. The rooms were amazing and had everything you could possibly need ( the jacuzzi bath was fantastic) The mini bar was stocked up every other day and there were optics on the wall with Rum, Tequilla and Brandy. The Hotel resort was massive but there was always someone driving past on a Golf Buggy. There was also a Coach that took us from Lobby to Lobby so we never had to walk very far. The Grounds were beautiful and there was a large outdoor pool in both Hotels. There were indoor pools, a diving pool,a cross current pool and several jacuzzi's too. The Hotel Beaches were beautiful but some people were complaining that they were to small and that the lagoons were rubbish but we thought they were fantastic. We spent hours snorkelling in the Lagoons and they were full of tropical fish. There were several Restaurants spread over both Hotels ( Mexican, Italian, Oriental, Healthy Eating, Mediterranean and International. The food and service was excellent. Our favourite was the Healthy Eating Restaurant.
It served Vegetarian dishes, a selection of meat dishes and Healthy choices as well. The Italian was quite disappointing. There was a Grill where you could get Steaks cooked for you to your liking ( they were lovely ) but I wouldn't recommend it if you don't like to queue for long. There was also a buffet serving Italian dishes but there wasn't much to choose from. All the Staff throughout the Hotels were very polite and helpfull. We have been to the Mayan Riviera three times and this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in. There was so much to choose from and you could also visit other palace resorts and use their facilities. There was a bus that took you to the Moon Palace and the Beach Palace in Cancun daily. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this Hotel.
There's something for everyone. There's 3 Gym's, a Climbing tower, assault Course and nature trails for people who want an active Holiday and then theres Spa treatments, Sauna's, Steam rooms etc for People who just to relax. IT IS WELL WORTH A VISIT!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    865
    303
    225
    169
See reviews for
220
1722
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2004

stayed at the Spa Palace for 7 nights. This resort is just like every other all-inclusive - it is not high end as travel agents and their website would lead you to believe. We got there - they had overbooked the hotel - offered us $500 to move around to all of their different properties! Ha! We said no, of course, and it took them another 2-3 hours to find us rooms (we were there with another couple and they ended up putting us on opposite ends of the resort!). The food was average at best, room service NEVER answered the phone. So, they list room service as an amenity, but it's pretty much non-existent. Think there won't be any spring breakers here? Think again - they were running around the hallways at night! And the pool - if you like loud, obnoxious rap music played all day accompanied by an annoying activities director on a loud speaker, then this is the place for you!
Seriously, if you are a discriminating traveler and like tasteful, upscale accomodations, good service and good food, do not stay here.
Spend the money to fly to France and vacation on the Riviera - you can do it for the same amount of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2004

I went with a bunch of girlfriends 2/20-2/24 and we had a great time, but were disappointed in a few things. First, the grounds and views are spectacular. The pools are gorgeous and the lagoons were very nice. We had to be out by 6:30 a.m. to get lounge chairs because the hotel was overbooked. I think this affected the service and the quality of the food because the service was slow and the food marginal. I was really looking forward to some great seafood and didn't get it. In talking to people around the pool, everyone we met felt the same way. The breakfast buffets were very good and the guacamole was awesome! The staff was friendly, but slow. As for the cats, let me tell you, they sounded like they were posessed! I have never heard cats 'scream' like this before. Saturday night they literally kept us up half the night.
There is alot of food in the hallways that people put out of their room and the cats I'm sure eat the rotten moldy food and go crazy! I think if I was there for a romantic getaway I'd be disappointed, but going with a bunch of friends, we had a blast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia,Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2004

The ASP is definitely a palace. We just got back from a long weekend, and can't wait to go back. As for the negative reviews, all we can say is "what planet are these people from? " We guess that there are some people that you just are never going to please. If you want to find a place to eat,drink, relax, and forget about life for awhile, this is it! This resort is HUGE and beautiful, and judging from the oohs and ahhs in our van as we drove up, others felt that way too. The grounds are immaculately maintained and well groomed. Our room was ready upon our arrival, about 1:30PM. we checked in then were taken by golf cart to our room. From reading other reviews we asked for a room in buildings 4 or 5, but were told they were full, and our room couldn't be changed. so we took the room in buliding 9 , which is on the far north (spa) side. which turned out to be just fine. At most it is a very pleasant 10 minute walk to the far south side of the complex. The room was very nice. It had a king size bed, 2 person jaccuzzi, a real plus, large shower, not to forget the fully stocked refrigerator, and liquor dispenser. Some reviewers have said it is small, but we didn't find this to be an issue. We didn't travel 2000+ miles to sit in a hotel room anyways. All the staff that we encountered were extremely polite and very helpful. The room was made every day in a timely maner and the bed turned down every night. One day we were trying to find the meditation room, where the morning yoga was held and asked a gardener to point us in the right direction, instead of telling us, he sent down his rake and walked us to it., an example of just how helpful everyone was. FOOD: no complaints here. with 6 restaurants to choose from never a problem. the first morning we had the breakfast buffet at Mo Mo No Hana in the north lobby,we enjoyed it so much. we never ate breakfast anywhere else. The food at the other restaurants was very good as well.
The longest wait we had for dinner was about an hour, so we put our room number in and proceeded to go to the bar and down a few margaritas till dinner time. The lunch buffets at El Greco and Mundaca were very good as well. We've read that some people complained about the meat. We found the steaks to be excellent, and the ocean views are awesome.
DRINKS: strong and of good quality, again what are people complaining about? BEACH/POOL: True there is no "natural beach" as some people might want, but the lagoon is gorgeous, with plenty of sand and lounge chairs. there is waiter service on the beach for drinks, but if you are in a hurry, it's a short walk to one of the pool bars. If quiet is what you are after, go to the far north end of the lagoon, there are fewer people and very serene there. tip: if you sleep in too late you will have a hard time finding a spot by the beach or pool. So at 7-7:30am take your towels and stake your claim for a chair. every morning while my wife was at yoga, which she highly recommends , I picked out our spot, then met her for breakfast. We spent all our "sun time" at the lagoon, but if a pool is your thing, they are lovely as well. SPA: do make use of the facilities The sauna and spa area is wonderful, and get a massage (extra charge) they are great. The adults-only concept is great, don't get us wrong we love kids, but it's nice to get away for awile. we found the ages of the guests to be a good mix, ranging from 20's to 60's with no concentration of any one age. A note about the cats some people have mentioned: we noticed a couple of cats walking around, but it's not like there are huge bands of them. We found them to be a non-issue.NIGHTLIFE: north(spa) lobby is more serene. A piano player gives some nice background music if you just want to have a drink and chill. The south(aventura) side is more active. a disco is on the second floor. In the lobby a band plays allowing dancing if you so choose. We know we're forgeting something but again, if you want to eat,drink,relax,unwind,sun, this is the place. It is fabulous, we can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2004

We just returned from ASP, staying 5 nights February 19th to February 24th. We traveled with another couple and had a great time. The property is spectacular and incredibly clean. The weather was perfect, mid-80's and sunny each day. The food as many of the reviews posted here had warned was very average...at best. We ate dinner at each of the restaurants one time. My favorite was Mo Mo Ho Hana. They brought sushi and spring rolls to our table as an appetizer. Very good. After this the main course was pretty bland...a common theme with all restaurants. My least favorite was La Huerta. I tried a "fish" entree that may or may not have actually been fish. By the end of the trip we had learned where to find decent food though. The burgers during lunch at Mundaca were good, the creme of asparagus soup and club sandwich on the room service menu were good, and the chocolate cake served at La Hacienda was very good. If you are looking for a place to dine like a king don't come here. If you are not a picky eater then don't let the negative reviews of ASP's dining turn you away. The pool is awsome and definately not too cold as many reviews here suggest. When you first get in it does feel a bit chilly but the longer you spend in the sun, the more you appreciate the pool's temperature. If you want a chair at the pool you need to get up early and reserve one by placing your towel, book, etc... on the chair. The place was packed so if you wanted a specific spot you had to wake up around 5:30am. Take the bikes into Puerto Aventuras. There are a couple great places to eat and it is fun to watch the dolphins. For $50-$150 you can swim with them as well. We didn't but the folks that were appeared to really be enjoying themselves. The snorkelling was a lot of fun at Xpu-Ha. The beach was nice as well. This is well worth the $6 cab ride. My wife spent a couple hours at the spa and had great things to say about the services she received. The evening "shows" were pretty lame and the disco was average. Bottom line, if you are looking for a great place to hang by the pool, catch some rays, and drink a beer or 50, this is a great place to go. If you are more the gourmet dining or late night partying type you might want to look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2004

My husband and I spent a beautiful 5 days at the Aventura. All and all we had a wonderful time. The resort itself is breathtaking. Between the beautiful landscaped gardens and the architectual designs, these alone will capture your breath! Note to the "not so active", alot of walking is involved seeing as this property is extremly huge. My husband and I enjoy walking, so this did not bother us and just knowing the fact that we were in the warm air made it even more fun to hike around the property. The staff is very friendly and attentive and it showed as soon as we pulled up into the resort. I myself was very sick from the plane ride and the taxi ride. As soon as we pulled up to the resort I jumped out of the taxi and became sick. Right away one of the porter's came over with some tissue for me and then immediately ran back in to get me a bottle of water. I thought this was extremly kind not to mention attentive to my needs. When checking our information on this resort, the brochure's claim that their is no tipping required but trust me, bring alot of singles!!, your service will be even better!
The room itself was nice especially the beautiful jacuzzi tub that was right next to the doorwall. Only downfall about being on the mainfloor is that you could not have your curtains opened while in the tub, but we got over it. Also it's pretty neat how the room maids fold a different towel for you each day. Their is a little note by the tub that states each day a different design will be folded for you. Now mind you, if you dont tip your room maid she will not fold one, we found that out. Not because we didnt want to tip her, we just kept forgetting. The lagoons are a beautiful area to swim in. The pools on the other hand are always crowded and yes you will have to get up by 6am to claim yourself a lounge chair by the pool because they do go fast. The food itself was average, nothing that was totally magnificent. I would have loved a lobster dinner but they did not offer any in any of the 5 restaurants. The breakfast bar is incredible! I think that was the meal that we enjoyed the most. Now mind you if you love mexican food like I do, be prepared to be disappointed. Their mexican food is nothing like what we are used to here in the states.
Granted this is not their fault. Also be prepared for the ride of your life when entering a taxi cab!! They drive like crap!! Also in the evenings at the south end lobby their is a band that plays right in the lobby. We were their 2 nights in a row and had a great time listening to them. You could dance right there and sit right next to the bar.
Someone had mentioned something about cats. Let me just tell you this, these cats are not the kind that come up and want to be petted. They stayed to themselves and away from people so they were not a bother at all. One night we did hear them fighting but it did not ruin our evening or trip by no means. On average all of the guest's there were generally in good spirits and were friendly except for your occasional scrooge who just was not happy about anything. The disco was ok but when your riding a buzz it's great! lol It does become very smoky in there so be prepared if your not a smoker. The trip itself was wonderful for us. The surroundings were remarkable and remember, it's all what you make of it. Remember your on vacation!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2004

we stayed here from january 12 to january 19 2004. we had an excellent time. The resort is beautiful. we enjoyed the entertainment. met some nice people . we enjoyed a fantastic 80 minute massage,the hydrotherapy was excellent the staff polite. we had many great meals. the hotel is so beautiful with beautiful stained glass ceilings. i did miss having a beach but felt safe snorkelling in the lagoon. the room was clean with a big bed,first day there we asked for the pillow top for the mattress ,got it no problem. the huge jacuzzi was nice, the shower is big. there is a fridge replenished every two days. we ordered breakfast in the room everyday, which was sweet rolls fruit tea coffee juice toast jam..then we'd take our time going down to breakfast.great french toast,smoothies fruit...we were on the third floor and had a nice view of the ocean. we never reserved a chair at the pool or beach and never had a problem finding one.. we took the day trip to tulum and had a very informed guide. we rented a jeep one day and toured around the area. we visited the lapis jewellers where i got a ring, that was reasonably priced. this jewellery store is huge and you can watch the jewelers at work. no one pressured us there and they were friendly.
when we went into town, palya del carmen ,we found an internet cafe, we paid 1.50 for one hour hook up, the hotel charges 5 dollars for 15 minutes. tsk tsk! we went to the xpa ha palace one day and they had a beautiful beach we ate lunch there it was really good. although it was nice there we appreciated the fact that there are no kids at the aventura. no offence to kids but we were on our 25th anniversary trip and this was the first time away without kids!! we specifically looked for an over 18 place. we mentioned at check in that we were there for our anniversary and were surprised to find a happy anniversary cake in our room on the day.we tipped everybody. a dollar or two. we found the drinks strong enough. i had taken advice i read on here and brought my own snorkelling gear which is a good idea that way you go whenever you want instead of waiting for equipment. we found the prices at the shops in the resort better than anywhere else. we rode the bikes into playa aventuras and watched the dolphins swimming and walked around the town.felt safe no hassling from any body. left the bikes in a bike rack and they were there when we got back.been to other countries where you wouldn't be able to do that. we took the "collectivo" back from tulum..we left our tour after the ruins to do our own thing...anyway the collectivo is a mini van that runs up and down the main highway picking people up for 1.50 each we road all the way back to our hotel.
it would have cost us easily 20 u.s for a taxi. all in all we had an excellent time the staff are friendly helpful the place is indescribably beautiful we felt safe.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Prestigia so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.