We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation all inclusive, really!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation all inclusive, really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

True all inclusive deal. Manicure, pedicure, sightseeing, massages, you name it! Food was excellent in all restaurants, pool entertainment was a lot of fun. The rooms are well appointed and of a nice size. Everyone of the staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. This is a place that should satisfy even the hard to please guests. The grounds are manicured, and you can see monkeys in the trees! The lagoon substitutes the beach, with many different species of fish to look at, while the ocean is in the background for your enjoyment. Mesmerizing! We stayed for 2 weeks and will be back next year!

Room Tip: The concierge level is the same type of room, but with top shelf liquor in the dispensers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Mirmotta, we are pleased that you found our food wonderful and our mani & pedi fantastic.

We appreciate you mentioned the warmness and kindness that characterize Aventura Palace staff and the service that our staff always strives to provide to our valued guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again on our Grand Opening.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    863
    302
    226
    170
See reviews for
220
1720
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the fist time to an "adults only" resort. We returned on July 5, 2013. We were there for seven days. The place is very nice, the staff is super friendly, and the view is beautiful. Our Tripguy.com agent as always made excellent arrangements for us. We didn't have to worry about a thing. We even got a set of attractive travel tags from them as well as a passport wallet to keep all our documents organized and handy. They even arranged for our private transfers from the airport to the hotel with Lomas Travel. Excellent service even though it was a very long ride from the airport. We drove for almost one hour (45 -50 min.) to get to the resort.

As for the the Aventura Spa itself, there were some good things and some not so good thing.
For example just to mention a few for future travelers:

1. The Room- the curtains block most of the sunlight- if you like to sleep in like we do, but the doors let light in through the frame especially the bottom gap as well as the noise from the outside. We had to put towels or pillows to keep the light and the noise out.

Pros:
-we asked to be closer to the pool area, and the friendly people at the check in counter were very accommodating.
-the room itself was nice with a king bed and a full size jacuzzi and balcony. Only stay in the building next to the pool if you don't plan on taking afternoon naps. The music at the pool is almost non-stop and loud. The pool is fun during the day.
Cons:
-for some reasons, the floor was always wet by the front door on the inside. We slid the first night at night. Next day we wiped it and went to dinner, returned and it was still wet again. By the third day we put towels on the floor all the time.
-furthermore some thing leaked through closet wet some of hubby's clothing
-but the worst was waking up to a HUGE live roach on its back next to our bed!

2. Food
Pros:
-steaks were good
-sushi wasn't bad, but limiting
-the buffet was average
-drinks were ok
Cons:
-the fresh vegetables, fruits and cheese were limited in selection and almost always half defrosted and mushy at the buffet and even at the restaurants.
-some restaurants were closed for "private party" almost every day without letting people know in advance... especially for breakfast.
-one restaurant is closed each night for "day off", but no advance notice to know where not to go.
-but worst of all is that my husband got food poisoning. ..103 fever, diarrhea, etc the day before we left...lasted 4 days!...went to see doctor, he said definitely food poisoning. We only ate and drank at their resort...horrible way to end vacation!

3. Service
-awesome! Very friendly, accommodating, and very sweet

4. Pool
-usually fun water games, DJ, entertaining staff....however, I wish they would clean a bit more often. I hate when bugs float in the pool, but I know sometimes its not possible to get everything out

5. Spa
-professional and friendly

Room Tip: we stayed in the building behind the "Violin" right next to the pool and restaurants. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Ella411, we appreciate your detailed review, feedback is extremely important to us, because it helps us to improve our service.

We are happy hearing that you felt the exceptional service which is characteristic from the Aventura Palace staff.

We always try to accommodate your requests, this time we are glad to know that you enjoyed the perks that we have into the rooms and that you received the room that you was expecting.

We regret to know the inconvenience that you had at your room, it is noteworthy to mention that our rooms are thoroughly inspected by our Housekeeping Department to ensure that the cleaning and fumigation process are enforced prior to be assigned to any guest.

The resort is governed by strict regulations that are set forth the Health & Sanitation authorities in Mexico and we are in total compliance with this.

Our Executive Chef works very hard to innovate flavors to all the tastes, we definitely will let him know that you enjoyed most of the restaurants, as part of our special treatment we provide you with the chef´s dinner to host you with a intimate moment, that is why we reserve spots, everybody is able to get one!

We hope you give us a chance to host you again to show you our improvements.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the spa palace twice and cove palace once...although this stay was during construction we knew it would be which is why we got a discounted rate when we booked last December. I have to say the service was excellent especially at the italian restaurant La Trattoria, we ate their twice with the same waitor Juan Pablo. He was amazing, prompt, courteous and informative. We can't wait to see all the changes once construction is finished!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi TheMackeys09, our goal is turn your moments into wonderful memories, hearing your review we were happy to know that we did and that you tried twice the amazing spa treatments.

With all due respect let me inform you that at our official website we have promotions for low season, we always invite our guests to take a look into our official social media and website.

We hope to see you again to host you with another great experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We traveled to the Aventuras Spa Palace the week of June15-22. Some of the complex was closed for remodel to change over to Hard Rock. But had little impact on our vacation. I have been a member of the Palace Premire for 9 years. This is our 5th trip to Aventuras Spa Palace. I must say this was our best in way of service and staff. Everyone from the phone operator to the bartenders were great. They never failed to ask us if there was anything else we needed. The food was good and the spa service was excellent. The $1500 resort credit was great if you know how to use it. If you love the spa you can't go wrong using it for spa services. Still love Palace and so far the Hard Rock split is just as good. Look forward to coming back after the remodel is complete.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Tony B thank you for the short and sweet review.

We try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests, and are glad that we could meet your expectations this time.

It is wonderful that you plan to come back.

We hope to see you to our Grand Opening.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day, 4 night stay at the Aventura Spa Palace. This was our first vacation out of the country and it was recommended to us by Liberty Travel. The resort itself is BEAUTIFUL and the staff is amazing. You get treated like royalty. Is absolutely amazing. We loved it. The food is great too and there is fun stuff to do at the pool and around the resort as well. Also, the spa was awesome- highly recommend it.

The only problem we had was with the vacation planners. When you stay here, you are allotted a certain amount of "resort credits" to use towards excursions, the spa, etc. We wanted to see Tulum (the Mayan ruins) and when we went to book our trip, we didn't have enough resort credits. We said that we would pay for the trip out of pocket. The vacation planners informed us that we couldn't "just go" to Tulum and we had to either go snorkeling or zip lining (both of which we had already done) but we decided to go snorkeling and see Tulum. Then, the other problem was we couldn't go on a Sunday. So we booked this excursion that cost us $280 for Monday ( our last day at the resort).

Somehow, somebody messed up and we went on the wrong excursion and we never saw Tulum. When we came back, after an ALL DAY excursion, we were informed we could take a taxi to TUlum (WHIcH WE COULd HAVE DONE ON SUNDAY!!!) and we were still charged for the excursion that we went on, even though it was not what we wanted nor was it our mistake.

So, be careful of the excursions, as I feel that they are only trying to make money off you! That was very disappointing. ,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Robert B, we want to appreciate your feedback as it helps us to know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities.

We are delighted hearing that you felt the warmness and friendliness that is characteristic from the Aventura Palace staff and that you enjoyed our facilities and services that we have available.

Otherwise, we want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay, we have been verifying our records and unfortunately as we mentioned you during your stay we do regret the misunderstanding that happened on your booking, our staff reserved your excursion as you requested, sadly the tours company made a mistake that is why we have shared your experience with their Management Team to avoid similar situations in the future.

We want to provide you with the follow up that you deserve, I sent you a private message to keep you informed about the status of this case.

I hope hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

For starters, with the transition from Palace Resorts to Hard Rock, the customer service is absolutely horrible. The money was lost and could not be found for several hours (we were called liars the entire time stating we did not pay), room was set to 86 degrees, fridge was turned OFF, ALL beverages were HOT! Called and asked for some cold beers, was told a max of 4 per day per room is all we could get (at Sun Palace, you get what you want. You are PAYING for all-inclusive, not somewhat-inclusive), they ended up bringing 6 beers, ALL HOT, and was told that ice was around the corner. Yet again, they should have A-brought ice for me or B-offered, NEITHER option was utilized. Asked to go to another room, stated they were BOOKED solid. After 4 hours of SWEATING since the entire place is open for the most part and sitting in the heat, inside or out, we were able to get 3 rooms booked by our hotel of choice, Sun Palace. ALL management was rude, un courtious, un professional, and did not care (we were just a number and would not break the daily bank. After rooms were booked and management saw the issues we had gone through, we asked if they could simply pay for the bus ride to get us to the Sun Palace so we were happy customers, they DID NOT! Cost $170 USD to bus 6 people and luggage from Aventura Spa to Sun Palace, BEST money we have EVER EVER EVER spent. Go to Sun Palace, don't worry about this terrifying experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi ShepGrad09, we appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our heartfelt apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. It is our commitment to make our Members feel as they deserve and this is why we regret that you did not feel our warm service and our special treatment on your recent visit to Aventura Palace Resort.

Rest assured that we take all of our Members and guests comments with the most importance and based on such, we take the necessary steps to prevent them from reoccurring.
Adjustments are being implemented continuously to enable us to keep providing a VIP service to our valued Members.

I sent you a private message to provide you with the follow up that you deserve.

I hope hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing massages; excellent salon experiences; tanning in the sun; and, a margarita in hand - it doesn't get much better than that! You will be treated like a king or queen with every thing provided quickly and topped off with a smile. You won't be disappointed with the food, the views or the service.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are very nice, but bring a couple of friends and reserve one of the presidential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Boyd L, we are glad to hear that we exceed your expectations and that your overall stay was awesome.

We always invite our guests to take advantage from the services, this time we are delight to know that you did and that enjoyed our F&B service, activities, accommodations and the treatment which is characteristic from all the staff of Aventura Palace.

We hope to see you again to host you with another marvelous experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.