We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & Tan Dreamcation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relax & Tan Dreamcation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing massages; excellent salon experiences; tanning in the sun; and, a margarita in hand - it doesn't get much better than that! You will be treated like a king or queen with every thing provided quickly and topped off with a smile. You won't be disappointed with the food, the views or the service.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are very nice, but bring a couple of friends and reserve one of the presidential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Boyd L, we are glad to hear that we exceed your expectations and that your overall stay was awesome.

We always invite our guests to take advantage from the services, this time we are delight to know that you did and that enjoyed our F&B service, activities, accommodations and the treatment which is characteristic from all the staff of Aventura Palace.

We hope to see you again to host you with another marvelous experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    873
    305
    225
    168
See reviews for
218
1,733
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I visited aventura spa palace june 15-22. First off the service was top notch, everybody at this resort was great. For example we were at the wood fire pizza restaurant and Maria the hostess went out of her way to bring me a steak when i mention i was hungry for one. And all the pool help from the entertainment staff to the bartenders were all awesome, Now my big complaint was the food during lunch and dinner. Lunch seemed like the same old thing everyday not much variety. Dinner was a little better I liked the oriental, and drinks at the martini bar was fun and entertaining. Eduardo was the bartender every night and he made us very special drinks. All in all was not a bad trip but we do like moon palace alot better and its only 5 min from airport.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor better view and visit Eduardo at martini bar he will make u one of his specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Barry D, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers.

We always appreciate that our valued guests mention the warmness and kindness that characterize Mexican people and the service that our staff always strives to provide.

As you mentioned our Executive Chef is innovating flavors for all the tastes, with all due respect let me clarify that our food is cooked instantly, we have an international food certification (Cristal) and we have to work under their standards.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff, specially the extra that you highlighted from Eduardo & Maria, we definitely work together as a real team to exceed your expectations.

We have a privileged location that many of our guests love; we regret to know about your perception concerning the distance from the airport.

We hope to host you again soon to show you our improvements.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This resort has everything to stay and enjoy all your vacations is the best option if you want to relax and don't go out to the resort.
The service is not the best but the people is very helpfull.
The rooms and the facilities are good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Miriix, thank you for the short and sweet review.

We try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests, and are glad that we could meet your expectations this time.

We hope to see you soon to provide you with another unforgettable experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tow handfuls of us went down to celebrate my cousin's wedding. I had never been to any sort of tropical destination before so this was fantastic. My first foray into the sun-soaked beaches of the south was absolutely magnificent.

The resort itself had all the amenities and services you could ask for. The events and other destinations to travel to and enjoy were one of a kind and I highly enjoyed them. Everything was beautiful and simple and elegant. We especially liked our bartender for the week, Aldo. He and I became good frieds for that week haha!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello JebusJack, we are very exciting to know that you experienced your first tropical travel with us and that you really enjoyed our services and facilities.

We have many packages to everybody, as you mentioned celebrations promotions to honeymooners, family vacations and more, we just need that you choose one to plan how we will host you.

Our staff always have been categorized as a helpful and friendly, this time you felt the warmness from our bar´s team, we definitely will Aldo know that you are satisfied with him treatment.

We hope see you soon to host you with our upcoming style,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My good friend at work is a Palace Premier member and he highly recommends the ASP. He joined Palace Resorts here and has been probably 10 times since his first visit and he goes nowhere else. Based on his prior experience and the huge 50% off sale, we decided to plan a trip.

Three couples, including hubby and I, arrived on May 31 and departed on June 7. We elected not to take the shuttle that was included, but opted for a private transfer from Canada Tours. (See my separate raving review for them). We arrived at the resort around 12:30pm and were immediately greeted and taken to a roped-off area for 'concierge level' guests. We were given drinks, signed our reservation paperwork and headed to the lobby bar, as our rooms wouldn't be ready until about 4pm.

One couple was in the Clarinet building and had a GREAT view. Two of us were in the French Horn building and had the sliver of a view. The grounds were neat, the lizards were HUGE and it rained almost the entire week, sans one afternoon! Oddly enough, I didn’t see any of the poolside games moved indoors and they have a humongous lobby. I was expecting the games, trivia, etc. to find a dry home inside and didn’t see that.

Our room was as expected and we were on the end, so we had no hammock, which was fine with us. The air conditioning in our room, and in the common areas, never got really cold. The mini bar had sodas, beer and water. Housekeeping was great and so was the mini-bar attendant. Our turn-down service, when we were actually out of the room to have them do it, included a small Hershey’s mini candy bar – not sure what that’s about. On Wednesday, two days prior to our leaving, the ceiling on our patio crumbled due to the rain. They offered to move us, but once it was cleaned up by the staff, it really wasn’t a big deal, so we passed on packing our stuff two days early.

Because of the torrential rains, a lot of the normal things became abnormal. They had to close El Greco several days and the breakfast and lunch buffets were moved inside to Momonohana, which was fine. The breakfast buffet was good and we never tired of the selection. Fresh fruit, made to order eggs, omelets, waffles, pancakes and Mexican specialties. Their version of a bagel was a light, almost dinner roll/toast-like consistency and really was delish when toasted and dipped in eggs.

The lunch buffet offered made to order burgers, fajitas, chorizo, pork and steak, along with pre-made entrees. Their aurora salad dressing (similar to 1000 island) was amazing and I ate salad at every lunch and dinner the entire trip. Other than that, nothing else was noteworthy. On our first day at the resort, we lunched at the buffet and one in our party ordered Jagermeister. We jokingly asked for the whole bottle and the waiter got approval from the manager and POOF it was ours! Great service!

We also visited the Martini Bar on our first night and were served by Eduardo. He was fun, spirited and kept making cool drinks that he lit on fire. What a great way to begin our day in paradise! Strong drinks, good selection of liquors and great service.

We dined once at the ‘steakhouse’ on the Cove side, which was called Mundaca. We were all in the mood for a sit-down, full service steak dinner type meal and ended up with a Brazilian steakhouse instead. The meat quality was mediocre at best; the salad bar selection was slim and the service saved the day. Good waiters, plenty of drink refills and timely plate clearing. We didn’t go back, as it wasn’t that great.

We scheduled our ‘concierge dinner’ at La Huerta, on the last full day of our trip. The menu included nothing that appealed to four of our group, so they ordered off the regular menu. My husband and I had some of the special menu and some of the regular, with no item being noteworthy.

Room service was quick (under 30 minutes in most cases) and accurate, with the food arriving as ordered and at the proper temperatures. At the concierge level, you have additional choices until 10:30pm, so that was nice if we missed dinner but I honestly don’t recall us using it much, if at all. Sushi from room service had a great presentation – the wasabi was shaped like a leaf, with great detail.

The lobby bar offered a continental breakfast in the mornings and a light snack around happy hour. They served very good chicken wings, chicken fingers and potato chips. If you ordered a regular mixed drink, it was very light on the liquor.

We spent one day at the swim-up bar in the pool and the drink service there was fast and friendly. They had a few poolside games, such as music trivia, which were rather enjoyable. They also had water polo, water volleyball and other games, which I was happy to watch.
The food poolside was nachos, burgers and the like. Pretty good for fast food.

As part of our deal, we got $1500 in resort credit, which came with an 11% fee when used. If you used it all, you paid $165.00USD out of your own money. The ASP allows ALL of the resort credit to be used at the spa, and that’s exactly what we did. Between hubby and I, we had body salt scrubs, deep tissue massages, facials, manicures and pedicures. The spa has a good vibe and is serene, clean and service oriented. Very enjoyable way to spend six rainy days. Another nice part about this spa is that you leave your gratuity at the front desk, in a sealed envelope.

It was my husband’s 30th birthday on Thursday and they arranged for a chilled bottle of champagne and a birthday cake to be in our room when we returned from dinner. The cake was almost like a chocolate spice cake – moist and delicious and a great surprise for hubby.

Our contact person (aka time share setter upper) was Jessica, who was professional, friendly and helpful. She sat all six of us down to review our use of the resort credits, to review the property map and answer any questions we might have.

A main difference between here and the Sun Palace is that at the ASP, you do not have a designated concierge, but call ‘0’ and they will assist you. At the SP, there is a concierge available, in person, every day for most of the day and evening. I prefer dealing with the concierge face to face at the SP.

My hubby and I are also Palace Premier members, so we were the only couple in our group to attend the time share presentation. We were there for about three hours and declined to purchase anything with Legendary Resorts, aka Hard Rock. We did pick up a certificate for one week at the HR Punta Cana, as we know we will visit that resort and it was less expensive than using a Palace week.

During our trip, it literally rained every day except one. Two couples in our group had opted for the excursion to the beach club down the way; however, on the scheduled day, it was pouring rain. This club offered ATV, horseback and jet-ski riding, all of which would be unsafe in the rain. When they inquired about a refund, the person at the tour desk advised it was non-refundable. The situation escalated to a manager, who finally refunded the resort credits. Just FYI it can’t hurt to ask – I would have expected no refund!

Overall, I regard the entire property as very average. I found nothing super outstanding in the service, food, drink, or physical surroundings aspect. We have visited the Sun Palace four times since 2009 and much prefer that resort from a service, atmosphere and enjoyment perspective. Perhaps once the Hard Rock finishes the renovations (which look amazingly beautiful and modern) this resort will find its own personality and character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello PrincessaMyron, we appreciate your detailed review.

We are thrilled hearing that since your arrival our staff treated you as a royalty and that you saw the warmness that is characteristic on our collaborators, we also are happy to know that we received you with your accommodations ready and that the room that we assigned you was perfect.

We do regret to learn about your perception in reference to the activities that we have at our resort, as you mentioned we sadly had torrential rains and we were not able to make contests at the pool areas, but let me inform you that we passed all the activities to the lobby and the indoors pool, our entertainment staff always is taking care of the unforeseen situations and we planned everything with anticipation to provide you the same entertainment experience.

In regards to your comments about the ac, we reviewed our records and we did not find any information on the system regarding your issue, we always recommend to our customer to bring these matters to our attention during your stay to take the corresponding actions.

Our Executive Chef cooks haute cuisine dishes even more on the Chefs dinner.

Our commitment is turn your moments into wonderful memories that is why we made special thing for your celebrations. We appreciate that you mentioned that Jessica was helpful and made your stay special, we definitely will let her know.

We are glad hearing that we comply all your requests and that the extension 0 was helpful for you.

We hope you give us another opportunity to host you again to show you the improvements that are coming with our new style.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed a week with old friends at Aventura Spa Palace. We have stayed there 4 times in the past 5 years. The resort has a Spanish Villa style architecture. They are transitioning into a Hard Rock Hotel and the transition is not going smoothly. I have a hard time envisioning this beautiful resort as a Hard Rock Hotel. The ambiance will be ruined. The staff does not have the level of service to which we are accustomed at this resort and when we mentioned this, we were told they were in "transition" and were being trained. The accommodations were still excellent, the food was not quite what we were used to, and the service was lacking. We are disappointed in the conversion to Hard Rock, but we will still return because we love the resort and the location so much.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ocean view. No room is too far to walk. Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Ellen B, we learn from our customer’s feedback, values guests that have been coming for more than once are very helpful to our learning.

As you mentioned we are in the middle of a transition process to become other brand and we are working very hard to provide you with better services and promotions.


Our current amenities are the same, those are categorized as a top notch services.

I am sure that you will love our upcoming changes and that we will exceed the quality that we actually have.

We hope host you again to show you our improvements.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aventura Spa Palace the week of June 8th-15th to celebrate our anniversary. We had pretty high expectations because we had an amazing experience at Beach Palace 4 years earlier. I chose 5 stars but probably would give it more like 4.5 if that was an option.
Pros: The most wonderful service from any and all staff. They really go above and beyond to provide the best customer service experience. Food and drinks did not disappoint. Nightly shows were fun and exceeded our expectations. $1500 resort credit was easy to use and allowed us to enjoy things we may otherwise not have. Unlimited snorkeling available right at the resort with plenty to see. Great spa services..must ask for Elizabeth if you want the best mani/pedi! La Hacienda on the Cove side is the best meal my husband and I have ever had.
Cons: My husband and I are not what I would consider the "party all night long" type but there was a lack of entertainment after about 9:30pm. There was an ocean side hut that played music nightly; however, it was not very big and only had one bartender. I could not imagine that being enough if the resort was not under construction and at full capacity. The other thing I think people should know is that we booked our vacation 7 months in advance, requested an ocean view room, our reservation sheet we were given at the resort said ocean view but we did not have an ocean view room. We did not speak to management or anything about it because it wasn't a deal breaker or anything just a disappointment. Lastly, the La Huerta restaurant on our side was kinda miserable due to the fact that either the a/c wasn't working or there is no a/c in there. This is a restaurant with a dress code which means men have to wear long pants, so you can imagine with the humidity how uncomfortable that could be.
Overall, the cons would not keep us from going back..the good absolutely out weighed the bad. We actually felt lucky we went while the resort was under construction because it was not crowded in the least and we never heard any sounds from the work being done. We also didnt really miss having the normal beach front since the views of the ocean were so beautiful. It served as a great place for a more romantic getaway for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Brittberry09, thank you very much for sharing your marvelous experience with us, we are pleased to hear that you felt the exceptional service that is characteristic from our staff in Aventura Spa Palace.

Our entertainment team always is innovating activities to make you feel plenty.

We are a huge resort with a lot of things to do and with many services to offer you, we are very glad hearing that you took advantage from our facilities and that went to all the restaurants and that tried the services with our RC promotion, rest assured that we will let Elizabeth know that you loved her treatment.

Unfortunately we reviewed our records and we did not find any information on the system regarding your issue, we always recommend to our customer to bring these matters to our attention during your stay to take the corresponding actions.

We assign to guests the rooms that they pay, we rarely receive this kind of feedback, just keep in mind that special requests as connecting rooms, specific room locations, or types of beds in rooms are not guaranteed and those are subject of availability.

The air conditioner works in the common areas, our F&B is pending in these details. Otherwise we are glad to know that these little misunderstandings did not affect your overall stay.

I am sure you will love our upcoming changes; we hope to see you again to host you with another terrific experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.