We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spend a week vacation with our friends at Aventura Spa. Overall experience: Fantastic.

As we were traveling in a group of 6, I get recommended to ask directly to the hotel for rooms near to each other. It was a waste of time and energies; they don't care about your special requests, we got a nasty room at first floor with lots of noise around! After an entire day asking to be changed we finally get a better room than first floor. Even the supervisor (Enrique) wasn't a help at all, he just didn't care.

Rooms. (3rd floor) were very clean, I loved the Jacuzzi! The pillows should be changed, they are flat and uncomfortable! Double sink would be appreciated.

Room service.Very appreciated and efficient. Cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful. We had no towels for three days, we only had small ones and we had to take beach towels instead. Breakfast at morning for our last day was much appreciated, hot and right on time.

Hotel Service. Everywhere always someone asking you if you need something, they were friendly, smiling and welcoming people.

Food. Was very good, a lots of variety from breakfast to dinner. Buffet, snack bar and BBQ were just amazing at lunch time (bbq chicken, steak, burgers, salads, guacamole, salsa, seafood, ceviche, paella, quesadillas, you name it). For breakfast and lunch El Greco was our favourite spot, on the terrace with an amazing ocean view. For dinner, no reservation needed, just try to arrive before 6:30pm, after that you have to wait (45min - 1hr.) I preferred the Oriental restaurant, the entrées were just exquisite! Main courses just ok. The Italian was a good one too and the service impeccable. But for all the restaurants, you have to anticipate at least two hours for the service, it could be very long. The special Caribbean buffet wasn't good at all. We got an special romantic dinner (offered by the hotel after a long story about timeshare, I will come back with that later) It was at Cove side, they reserved an special place for us, the service was fast (since the menu was planned in advance) and the food very good.

Drinks. As we don`t drink any alcohol, the waiters were very accommodating and always suggesting different mocktails. :)

Pools. Were over crowded, specially the one with the bar, just seeing all these people drinking for hours, I wasn't sure of the cleanliness of the pool. We really enjoyed the pool at Cove side, we were almost all alone and quit.

The beach. I was aware about the non-existence of a real beach, but at the end I really appreciated the lagoon a lot! The water was really clear and pleasant. You must be early in the morning to reserve your chairs, or just take the chairs until someone shows up, normally people leave their towels but never shows up!

Entertainment - A variety of activities all day long. Yoga, Spinning, Zumba, Dancing class, Climbing wall, Volleyball (beach and pool), kayak, snorkeling, ping pong, pool.
At night we attended the Michael Jackson's show and the Circus show, we were quite impressed of the quality of the show!

Hotel Spa. You just need to be flexible on your time or reserve in advance. We had an aromatherapy massage and a couple's massage, very good experience. The only thing is that you cannot ask for a special massage, ie. Lower back, head. But we really enjoyed having these services at our hotel that we paid with our Credit Resort. I also have a pedicure, it was ok.

Timeshare. After the check-in the receptionist ask us to meet some hotel representative to have information about the hotel services. LIE! He was there to convince us to attend a timeshare meeting the next day, of course he didn't mention anything about timeshare. He offers us a special dinner and a rebate for and excursion if we accepted to have a lunch with a representative and a tour to see the renovations and new rooms. After realizing that we were on a timeshare meeting, we said to the representative that we weren't interested on buying anything at this time. She call her manager ADRIAN and he was very angry of the situation, he was offensive and he treated us bad way. This was the worst experience we have lived at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at 3rd floor, bulding 5 or 6. Avoir buldings 8-9 very far from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hola Trovadores!

We thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and with future travelers. We think that communication is the best way to improve day-to-day.
It is excellent to learn you had an overall good stay. We’re pretty satisfied to know you chillaxed in our hot tubs, not to mention the unparalleled energy of our staff. It’s wonderful that you loved El Greco & Momo no Hana, thank you lots for the shout outs for them. As well you were able to enjoy much our Cove plenty of sea life.
We’re very sorry for any nuisance you may have experienced during your visit. We’ve passed your comments on to our Management Team for further revision in the areas where you pointed out not to be so pleased.
We hope we can serve you again pretty soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    863
    302
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1719
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Truly magical. Every staff member here is so friendly and welcoming. The pools are clean, snorkelling in the lagoon was amazing...so many beautiful fish! There were fun activities during the day and great shows at night. Every staff member you walk by says hello and all are keen to make your stay perfect. My housekeeper even made me a bunny out of a towel and put it on the bed. There are quiet places to read and fun games at the pool. If you get the chance try a treatment at the spa, we used our resort credit for a couples spa and it was like being treated like rock-star.

Room Tip: We were in a room near the lobby and it was nice and quiet, which was good because we were getting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Carla B, thank you for your review and for your kind comments about our staff, they are really the core of our resort and their warmness and kindness that characterizes our Mexican people is one of the biggest draws of our hotel. We are pleased that you liked the towel art from our housekeeping team, they are the real artists! Overall we are happy that you had a great vacations and felt the royal treatment during you stay, we cannot wait to welcome you again and make your next visit an unforgettable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Quiet piece of Paradise, that will sum up your stay at the resort. I was a bit skeptical to be honest. Only because my husband and I were visiting the resort for a convention and did not pick out the location. We were blown away by the view and lush resort. There are so, many things to do and you didn't have to wait in lines or battle crowds. It was so quiet at the resort and that made it very pleasant. There are 2 sides to the resort the family side (cove side) and adult side (spa side). If you are on the Spa side you can venture over the the family side and again it was amazing and very quiet. We will be bringing our kids next time.

I did get a chance to visit the Spa and it was very relaxing, clean and I did not want to leave! We had a $500.00 credit for booking 5 nights and I was able to spend it at the spa along with the gift shop. That was an added bonus to the trip as well.

We also enjoyed the beach activities to be specific the snorkeling was the best. You can snorkel right on the resort and there were many fish to be discovered.

Love the Aventura Spa and we will be back with the whole family next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello jenniblack, thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you loved the resort and found many interesting and relaxing activities throughout the property, thanks for the awesome pictures and we know your kids are going to love it too! We can’t wait to welcome the whole family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Adventura Spa Palace last month with two other couples that are owners. What can I say about the exceptional service you get from all the staff. Upon arrival at the resort, you are greeted with a cold drink and directed to the front desk for check in. We waited a short while and then were taken to our room. The room has a fully stocked bar, a refrigerator stocked with beer, water and soda and a bottle of wine. There is a large jacuzzi in the room and a hammock on the balcony. There is a nice selection of biosilk products. There is turn down service nightly with chocolate candy and came back one night to swan towels on the jacuzzi. What a nice surprise. We rarely heard any other room noise and were able to get much needed sleep nightly.
We used room service for breakfast a couple of times. The service was prompt and the food was plentiful and good.
The $1500 resort credit was a nice way to enjoy the extras. We had amazing massages and facials, the romantic dinner on the beach, salon services and swam with the dolphins all for $164. I booked the spa services on line before we traveled.
We enjoyed the variety of food and restaurants at both of the resorts. Jump on the shuttle to take advantage of the restaurants and entertainment at the Cove side. The guacamole was amazing at El Greco and loved the sushi. Our waiter made us a sample plate for everyone to enjoy.
There are bars every couple of feet and a couple of pool bars. There are daily drink specials that the bartenders will gladly make. Be sure to ask for the top shelf liqueur. We enjoyed the juice bar located by the indoor pool and the personal drink service at the lagoon and the pool.
There are a variety of exercises classes and a decent gym that overlooks the indoor pool.
We took a taxi to Playa del Carmen to use the beach and do some shopping. Great little town and lots of shops. You have to haggle but it is worth it.
We met so many great people during the week from all over celebrating Birthdays, Anniversaries or simply getting away from the harsh winters.
We had a great week at Adventura Spa. The staff is amazing and truly goes out of their way to make your stay memorable. Although it is not necessary to tip, we didn't think twice to leave a couple of dollars or pesos for the exceptional service.
We hope to visit again. Interested in seeing all the promised upgrades when this resort becomes a Hard Rock.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi mint2654, thank you for your review, we appreciate your nice comments about our resort, we are so pleased to hear that you had a great vacation. We hope many readers find your comments helpful to choose our hotel for their next vacations so we can give them the same great service you received in your recent visit and feel the true Aventura Spa experience. We also look forward to welcome you again soon, don’t forget, exciting new changes welcome you each time you visit our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We've only been home 2 days, and already wish I was still here. This place was amazing from the moment we got picked up at the airport until they dropped us off at the airport. The staff is unbelievable and there is nothing that they won't do for you. The food is great, the room was absolutely beautiful and kept clean. Room service was prompt and the food was good. We had absolutely NO issues at this resort and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Banjo 3839. Its a corner room and you can sit on the patio and see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Margaret F, thank you for the short and sweet review! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and felt the warmness of our staff and loved the food at our restaurants, we appreciate you consider us a phenomenal resort! We also look forward to welcome you again many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed there for 8 days and have to say the staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly from the time we arrived at the Hotel until we left. We were greeted by Reuben with wet wash cloths upon arrival and offered a beverage. He then walked us to our room, after check-in and brought our bags. He said if we needed anything to let him know and then gave us his extension. The food was good for an all inclusive. The spa was very nice also. We had an 80 minute massage and a cooling wrap. I enjoyed the wrap more than the massage because I felt like the person doing the massage probably wasn't a professional massage therapist. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. I didn't mind so much because I got to you our room credits to pay for it. If I had to pay the $180.00 I would have complained. The mani and pedi by Sara were not worth paying for, even if you use credits. She was the nicest person but didn't do a good job. My friend said that hers (done by someone else) was not good either. I could have done it better. It was basically them filing and painting one coat of polish on your nails. We did the wine tasting, chefs dinner, trip to Tulum, swam with the dolphins and went to a beach club for a day. We did not pay for anything except the cab ride ($16 round trip) to swim with the dolphins. My favorite was the beach at Tulum and swimming with the dolphins. Although it was all great! We tipped everyone since the service was outstanding. They should all get raises as far as I am concerned. So attentive. The nightly shows were good. They also had a DJ at night at the Martini bar. That was fun. The lagoon was beautiful to look at but I did not enjoy being in it. The bottom felt like paste and the water felt a little slimy. There are a lot if fish in there. The room was ok. Nothing to rave about. It was clean but a little dusty. The air conditioner sucks just about everywhere. It allows you to change the thermostat but it never got colder. One day the whole hotel was without air conditioning for most of the day. I liked that the calls to the US are free. The Wifi on the other hand was terrible, especially in the room. All in all I had a great trip but probably would not return because I did miss not having a beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Catrina P, thank you for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you had the VIP treatment from the moment you arrived until the moment you left, that’s the way we want our guests to remember their vacations at our resort. And what a great way to take advantage of your resort credits, booking tours to Tulum, premium dolphin swim and went to the Blue Venado Beach Club great activities using your Resort Credits! And thank you for your feedback, we passed your comments to our maintenance team to keep the room cold and also to the beauty salon to ensure we deliver outstanding service. We hope we can welcome you again here at Aventura Spa Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Only two negatives about our 8 day stay at Aventura Spa: the bed could have been more comfortable and we had to leave! Seriously, this place is amazing. From the moment you walk in, you get greeted and taken care of. We got to the hotel prior to the 3pm check in time, but our room was ready. There is always a friendly staff member to offer you a cold drink no matter where you are sitting. The food is fantastic. The drinks are plentiful (and not watered down). If you tip just a little bit, the drinks keep getting stronger and better :-) The room was very pleasant and always well cleaned. The mini bar was always stocked and if we left a note for extra beer or soda, the staff always gave us what we asked for. The in room liquor dispensers were full (I only used them twice though). We used room service for breakfast and let me tell you, the staff exceeded our expectations. They quote you a wait time and just about every time they brought us our order before the quoted wait time! The room service food was always accurate, warm, and tasty. We never had a problem getting a pool chair, as several people explained in prior reviews that this was an issue. We saw some people out early in the morning reserving the "good spots", but we weren't too picky about where we sat. We aren't party people so we hung out in the next pool over and it was great. There was always a server to come bring us a drink. Every night we were in the room, they offered to bring us fresh towels if we needed them. We received turn down service about half the time. The staff are so friendly. Every time we passed by a staff member, they were quick to say "hola" or "buenas dias". Of course, most of them speak good English, but I enjoyed using my Spanish. We used the 1500 resort credits to get pedicures, a couple's massage, a professional photo session, and a swim with the dolphins. All were just fantastic! We were so impressed with our photos. They were just amazing! Our photographer Juan did an amazing job with our photos. I am not a photogenic person, but I absolutely loved the way our pictures turned out. We highly recommend getting the photo shoot, as it's a great way to have memories of your trip. The dolphin swim was a lot of fun. It's just a short taxi ride from the hotel (about $8 each way). What can I say about the spa that others aren't saying? It was an amazing experience. The massage and pedicures were incredibly relaxing. The staff was extremely friendly. Where do all the negative reviews come in for the food? We enjoyed the cuisine! La Huerta and La Trattoria were the highlights for us. El Greco, the buffet place, is a great spot to eat lunch/dinner on the patio and sip Tequilla or a margarita...a spot to just kick back and relax. The staff there was above reproach. And the buffet food? Very, very good. We went there for lunch almost every day and for breakfast a few times. Overall, this was just an awesome vacation for us. We hope to come back one day, as they transition to the Hard Rock resort. The grounds are beautiful and so well kept. There is plenty of wild life around to keep you occupied as well. You can also take a picture with a monkey or iguana! We highly recommend this place and hope to go back again. Next time we come, I hope to take a taxi into Playa Del Carmen and do some shopping. Great job Aventura!

Couple of pointers:

1. If you tip just a little bit, you will get fantastic service. I found that while relaxing by the pool, giving a dollar or two to the server kept the drinks flowing plentifully. And if you tip, the staff tends to remember you if you come back to the same place.

2. Use the vacation planners for booking all of your tours, attractions, appointments with the 1500 resort credits. It will make things so much easier and you'll be able to spend more time actually vacationing.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was great. Don't leave sweets wrappers out though. With it being a tropical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Christie S, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased to hear that our staff took good care of you since the moment you arrived and during your stay the staff was there always to pamper you, overall we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful vacation and could feel the warmness and kindness that characterizes the staff at Aventura Spa Resort. Thanks again for recommending us, we look forward to see you again and make of your next visit to the Riviera Maya an unforgettable memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.