We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Week in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I escaped the big blizzard if 2013 in New England with a trip to Aventura Spa Palace, soon to be the Hard Rock Resort. My plans had me leaving Saturday Morning. All flights were cancelled. Aventura Spa was quick to assist by changing my stay from a "Saturday to Saturday" to a "Sunday to Sunday" with no problems...even though the resort was at near full occupancy. While the resort was busy, I found the customer service to be exemplary. The weather was great, the food was great, there was lots of entertainment, and the Spa service can't be beat. This was our third trip to Aventura and we plan on returning even after the transition to Hard Rock. We thoroughly enjoyed the week and hated coming back to snow and sub zero temps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Steve C, we much appreciate your comments.

We are thrilled that you had such an amazing trip, and enjoyed your vacations.

We appreciate you sharing all of your amazing experiences. It is wonderful to hear that our staff provided you with an excellent service.

We hope you will come back for another great vacation. We can’t wait to have you back for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    863
    302
    226
    170
See reviews for
220
1720
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

stayed at Aventura Spa for a week with my wife and 2 other couples we traveled with. I'll break it down quick if i can

Negatives
- staff is always friendly, smiling, laughing, joking, go above and beyond to ensure you're having a blast
- food is AMAZING at all the restaurants
- always fresh towels, poolside chairs, and beach activities available, no matter the time of day
- $1500 credit was well spent , and the 11% you pay on what you pay was an incredible deal
- rooms have a/c , huge comfortable beds, giant tub . and great views

Positives
- i think i put on 10-12 lbs while there!
- we had to leave

wait a minute....

AMAZING resort and staff!! Can't rate higher than a 5 or i would. Been telling everyone and anyone about it, you have to go

Room Tip: away from centre court yard, and/or floors on upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Taco2013, Thank you for your kindly review.

We try our best to give you the best vacation ever and to meet your needs, we are glad that we could meet your expectations this time.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall vacation and that you took advantage from our facilities and bonus like the resort credits that always are very helpful.

Once again we much appreciate your comments and we hope to host you again in your next vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are starting our 3rd week at Aventura Spa, we're here for 5 back-to-back weeks. We were not sure what to expect given the negative feedback. We're here now and continue to read the negative feedback and quite honestly, don't understand it. Everyone here works hard and goes out of their way to accommodate. While the property may show normal signs of wear and tear, we find the rooms to be clean, everything in working order and safe overall. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL! The food is VERY GOOD and the buffets offer a wide variety of food as do the restaurants. We have no problem getting into the restaurants and the service again, is very good. Everyone is smiling and working very hard to accommodate your every need. They do all of this without any expectation of extra money / a tip but are very appreciate should you decide to do so. Everyone is treated with the same fine service if you tip or not so not sure why / where the comments about the need to tip are coming from. We adore the staff at the The Greco buffet and find everyone going out of their way to provide excellent service and to make it a great experience. Nothing is a problem for them and we especially appreciate the fine service from the manager Lilia Heredia and her service team. They are wonderful and work hard to make you feel special. Aventura Spa is very lucky to have Lilia working here...she works hard every day and works to help or staff as well!

Regarding the resort credits, we have no problem using our $1500 resort credits! The spa is wonderful and we have no problem booking our services. We have especially enjoyed 'working' with Alejandro to schedule our weekly services. He is excellent and a great asset to the resort. There are also many other activities (other than the spa) to use your resort credits...trips, special dinners, photos, etc...

We also find the Fitness Center to be great! Lots of very good equipment, very clean and a professional staff. Special thanks to Luis Onidset and Jonathan Delgado Jaimes.

Jessica at guest services also done a terrific job. She looks for us every day just to say hello and make sure all is well!

We are having a terrific time and look forward to the next 3 weeks! If you are planning a trip here, you will have no problem and you will the love it!!! Don't even give it a second thought...you will have no problem!!! A great play to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Rontrak, thank you very much for your kindly comments.

We really appreciate that you mentioned our staff, we will let them know that they made a good job and that you are satisfied with them service. We actually have an incentive program for the staff members that our guest mentioned in their comments.

As you did, you can take advantage and book your tours with your resort credits a few days before you want to go!

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, our fitness center is awesome, is very good to know that you took pleasure there!

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in your next vacations.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from The Aventura, and overall, we were very pleased. I would actually give this resort a four and a half star rating if I could. The food at this resort was very good, especially the steak, pork chops and sausage from the BBQ grill just outside the buffet restaurant at lunchtime. There was a good variety with very good flavors at the buffet, and the a la carte restaurants were all very good. The only small criticism about the a la carte restaurants is that you can't reserve a time or table, which means that if you go at peak times, you have to wait anywhere from 20-60 minutes for a table, depending upon the size of your group. According to our friends, the room service is pretty good (we never used it). The drinks are very good, and there is a large variety of them to choose from.
As part of our booking, we had $1500 worth of resort credits, which I believe all guests receive. You simply have to pay 11% tax on the portion of the $1500 you use. I went for two spa treatments (one solo and one with my wife) and they were both excellent! It cost me $44 in "tax" for my wife and I to get an 80 minute relaxing couples massage, which was preceded by a hour hour visit to the hydrotherapy center, where you can go in a steam room, sauna, hot and cold tubs and showers. What a great deal!
The pools were very nice, with a choice of going to the very busy and louder main pool, or the somewhat quieter pool just around the corner. The only other small criticism I have concerns the pools. You have to get up very early in the morning (think 5-6 a.m.) to reserve a spot at the pool. What we noticed was that some people put their towels down, but don't show up for hours (if at all) to the spots they reserved. The hotel should either monitor this more closely, or have some kind of card system for towels so that people don't just leave their towels unattended for hours.
There is a sheltered lagoon with a man-made beach built around it. The water is very calm in this lagoon, and this was a good thing, as it was windy virtually our whole week there, so the lagoon was quite appreciated, as the waves crashing on the beach would have been pretty rough. If you are the beach type, then I would not recommend this resort. We knew this going in, and we were fine with this.
The rooms are fairly large, and have two person jetted bathtubs in them. The beds are fairly comfortable, the closet is large enough, and the safe is easy to use. The bathroom a good size and the shower is easily large enough for two people. The mini fridge is stocked with beer, pop and water, and there are four bottles of alcohol with dispensers in a cupboard. There is also a bottle of red wine provided in your room.
We went to this resort with two other couples, and we all agreed that we very much liked the resort and would probably return. For what we paid, this was an excellent value for an adults only resort with the services available. Apparently the Aventura will become part of the Hardrock chain, so I hope they don't change it too much, as a few minor tweaks would make this place worthy of a 5 "bubble" rating.

Room Tip: The rooms at the border between the Aventura and The Cove (sister resort that allows kids) can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi CruncheyFrog, we much appreciate your comments.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We have a variety of very good food with 8 restaurants, you have the option to go to a buffet or a la carte meal, in reference our waiting time, we will share your comments with our management team to take measures to avoid it occurs in the future.

It is very good to hear that you took advantage from our resort credits bonus.

Our facilities are very pretty and we are a huge resort, is good it is fantastic that you enjoyed it.

In regards the chairs, let me inform you that we are working on a process to obtain the chairs not too early.

We appreciate your feedback. We hope to host you again in your next vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just finished 10 days at Aventura and had a GREAT trip. They have added a wine guy -- Edgar led a wine tasting and helped us with pairing at dinner and we used the funny money to pay for the wine upgrades. It made the meals spectactular. Another new feature was a Tequila tasting and Aldo did a magnificient job on this -- and introduced us to a chocholate tequila that was similiar to Baileys but with a litte more kick! Also also tended a pool bar and did some great drinks -- try a Butterfly to end the day after starting with a Sunrise!! Both have great personalities and know their stuff -- makes for great vacations! There was some construction going on on the Cove side, but did not interfere with our enjoying the entire facility. We have been to this resort before, but thought the food was even better this time around. The activities person, Jay, always has a smile on his face and leads the fun. Oh, one more item, the Chefs table -- it is an upgrade but you can use the funny money -- and this is a really special meal. Very well done -- and it came with wine pairing by Edgar!! Looking forward to going back to Aventura again. Understand it will be a Hard Rock once the renovation is complete. Evenings at the Martini bar out on the water seemed to always find people having fun.

Room Tip: The lower the room number the close it is to the water. The room numbers are set up for first one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Bob T, we much appreciate your kindly comments. We are very glad to know that our staff provided you with the excellent service and that your overall stay was as you expected; for sure we will let Aldo, Edgar and Jay know that they were helpful and made your stay special.

We actually have an incentive program for the staff members that our guest mentioned in their comments.

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and it will be a pleasure to host you again at any of our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good points - Matusalem rum, Mayan coffee/show and deep fried ice cream. Bad points - non-working rum dispenser for 24 hours, blinding sun in east window at sunrise, aggressive merchants on craft night, absentee Sun Wing employees when you need them and unhappy wife because of issues with the resort. If wifey unhappy, then hubby unhappy!

Room Tip: If you like a morning coffee at sunrise, then face north or west! Stay clear of utility rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Daniel B, we appreciate your feedback.

We regret to hear that you had a bad experience with your travel agency Sunwing, but as you may already know this is an independent contractor and we are not allow to take measures in their procedures and process, anyway we will pass your comments to their management team.

We rarely receive comments concerning our room views towards our natural areas.

We appreciate that you mentioned our special amenities like the Mayan Coffee which is one of the most famous dishes here in our resort. We regret your perception about your overall vacation.

We hope to give us the opportunity to host you again to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I enjoyed being with my friends at this resort but the battle to get a chair outside was ridiculous. We were fortunate that two of our party of eight were early risers and had to grab chairs prior to 6am and still didn't get first choice on a place to enjoy the day. We only put our belongings on a couple of chairs and rotated them on who wanted to sit there. The mexican restaurant was lovely, definitely try the flaming coffee; the asian restaurant had crazy slow service. It took hours to get fed, but I did enjoy the food. The italian restaurant I would recommend just stay away from completely. The bartendars were good and the drinks were also good. The grounds are lovely. The housekeeping had difficulty with consistency, sometimes you got wash cloths ... and sometimes you didn't. A few of my group ended up with some nasty respiratory virus which was disappointing. The housekeeping cleaning for our room was not sufficient.

Room Tip: be aware where your room is on the complex; unfortunately our room (corner room) was right where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello janel c , we appreciate the detailed account of your stay with us.

We are very glad to know that our service at the Mexican restaurant was as you expected.

In regards the chairs ,we definitely share your comments to our management team, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experience during your stay.

We regret your perception in reference to our food, our chef work hard innovating different flavors for all tastes that is why we provide you with 8 restaurants.
Of course our specialty will be the Mexican food and we add our Mexican touch in all the dishes.

We are very sorry for your friend’s disease but we did not receive any report at our hotel for similar situations.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.