We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at Aventura Spa Palace, Jan 29-Feb5th, 2013. Some of the negative comments are unjustified. Check-in for us was no problem, and our room was nice. The beds were very comfortable. Actually very soft, so I'm confused by the folks that say the beds were hard. The exterior areas of the resort could use some updating, however I understand that this will come with the transformation to Hard Rock. Asian Restaurant was our favourite, as well as the Mexican. Jorge at the Asian restaurant was fantastic. He was our server 3 times and was always friendly and attentive. The main pool and bar and cabana was closed for most of our stay, which really reduced the number of available lounge spaces.

Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, I'm dissappointed that you only respond the the positive portions of the feedback on this site and do not address any of the critiques. You should be working harder to acknowledge the negative comments and let the readers know what (if anything) the resort plans on doing to resolve these issues.

I agree that the lounge chairs and towels need to be more closely monitored. People would save lounges before 7am and then never return, or they would save lounges in 3 different places so they could rotate throughout the day with the sun/shade. There is no towel control, meaning you can check out as many towels as you want, which means there is no incentive for people to retrieve the towels they use to save spots.

The resort NEEDS to invest in more side tables for the pool area. There is only about 1 table for every 20 lounges. There is also very little shade to be had. There were only about 6 umbrellas for the entire pool area. During our stay, one group of people had claimed 4 umbrellas and moved them all into a line along their lounges, so that left everyone else to fight for the remaining 2. Again, no controls at the resort over use of common items such as chairs, umbrellas, and tables.

We had no problems getting seated immediately at all of the a-la-carte restaurants. We arrived each night around 6pm.

The entertainment in the lobby each night was fantastic - certainly one of the highlights of our trip.

The free Wi-Fi all over the resort, including the pool and beach area was a nice perk. It was great to have the ability to go online, however also kind of sad to see everyone buried in their devices instead of enjoying the company they're with.

All in all, a great trip.

Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, please start responding the the negative comments instead of just reaffirming the positive. You're the customer service manager, please start managing the customer service!

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Ryan B, we appreciate your kindly comments.
We are very happy to know that you spent a good time in our resort. In regards to your comments about the chairs, we appreciate it and let me inform you that we will share with our management team to avoid this occur again in the future.

Our entertainment team work hard innovating activities to create funnier moments during your stay. We include extra services like wifi as a way to keep in touch with your family and let them know your great experience.

Is noteworthy to mention that we have read all the opinions and definitely we`ll reply bad and good comments to give answers to our readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    865
    303
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1722
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Like many others we were nervous after reading all the negative reviews on this resort but once we got there we realized "DON'T BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU READ ON THE INTERNET" except for this review haha. Aventura Spa and Aventura Cove were absolutely without a doubt amazing. The staff are all super friendly always willing to help and are all very polite/funny, the place is beautiful and well maintained - the beds are super comfortable, the food was great at all the restaurants and the grill by the pool on the Cove said has the most amazing burgers, we were always able to get chairs by the pool no matter what the time, there were always towels available, room service was good and very quick. The 1500 resort credit was one of the highlights, we spent almost 1000 of those credits and only had to pay $60 for all the stuff we did/bought. If you plan on going to Aventura Spa or Cove you should visit the Zip-lining at Aktun Chen, the guys there are so friendly/funny and really put on a good show. The Tequila tasting at the resort was awesome as well.

Your trip is what you make of it. Don't sweat the small stuff, just take a look around at the amazingly beautiful surroundings and views of where you are.

I would recommend this resort to anyone whether you have kids or just want to go to the Adult side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Candice M,

We want to thank you much for sharing your experience at our resort and for giving us a chance.
We must say that we cannot stress enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and terrific time you mention to have spent in our hotel. It seems you really enjoyed this slice of paradise, from the mouth-watering food, laid-back vibe, smash-hit promotions, funny entertainment, not to mention our always accommodating staff.

Thank you so much for recommending us. We hope future travelers find useful your sincere review.

Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know that you had a wonderful and enjoyable experience here at Aventura Palace and we sincerely hope you to come back soon.

We remain entirely at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just got back from Aventura Spa Palace and had a great time. If you don't care about walking the beach or swimming in the ocean you will love this place. The rooms are a little smaller than other palace resorts and you can tell they are transitioning to a Hard Rock, but our overall experience was great.

The food was good at almost every turn. We went to La Hacienda on our last night and wished we had gone at the beginning of our trip. We were so full from all the good food over the week that we had a hard time enjoying all they had to offer. The food and service there was tremendous. It was also very good at the La Tattoria. We ate outside there and had a great meal and service. Our service at MoMoNoHana's was not so good. The food was, but we were there over 3 hours. We had trouble with service a number of times at bars, breakfast, and sometimes in the evening at meals. It wasn't that the staff wasn't working hard. They were almost running, we just felt they were under staffed. Everyone was pleasant and friendly.

I would highly recommend going to Xplor as a side trip if you are in fairly good shape. It took a lot of walking, but was worth the money and the effort. What a beautiful place and very exciting.

We were also disappointed that we couldn't visit Playacar Palace. We had been looking forward to spending a day there playing in the ocean and enjoying the beach. We were disappointed with the way that this was handled, being Palace Premier members. We should have had access and were are not very happy about this. That was the only low spot of the trip.

There also seemed to be air conditioning problems. The rooms were a little warm, my swim suit cover up didn't dry hanging on the clothesline in 36 hours. The restaurants were warm as well, especially the last few days. It didn't stop us from eating too much however, just got a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hola funloversiowa,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing this heavenly place to spend your vacation.

It is wonderful to know that you had such a great time here, by delighting our assorted cuisine offer; kudos especially to La Hacienda & la Trattoria, as well as the nice surroundings, but above all the friendliness and politeness of our staff; they are indeed our most precious resource.

We have forwarded all your comments to our Management Team regarding the areas where we need to do it much better.

We are ready to host you again and spoil you as only you deserve. Please feel free to contact us in advance for any assistance.

Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

For the price this hotel charges, the service was really deficient. The technology for the room keys is very bad, almost every day I had to go to the front desk to reprogram it (and it’s not a small hotel, so it was a long daily walk). The food in the restaurants is not amazing and the variety in the buffet quiet deficient. But the worst is the service in the dinner. I once had to wait 1 hour from my arrival to my main dish, believe me, no pleasant. The good side is that it does have beautiful facilities. Still I highly advise NOT to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello Santiago_Posada_Vela, please accept my apologies for all the inconveniences that you may have experienced during you’re your stay.
We regret to learn about your perception in reference to the service received by our Staff and we would like to express our distress for what they considered a less than satisfactory experience.

We are going to work in our areas of opportunity to keep providing the service you have come to expect from Aventura Palace.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My significant other and i just came back (stayed Jan. 28 - Feb. 4/13) and really had a wonderful time. The spa was great! Between us we had 2 massages each and i had a water lily body wrap and facial.v The facial was the "best" i have ever experienced. The food was great, i think my favorite was simply the buffet and the italian restaurant. I loved the music at the italian rest. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms clean and well maintained. Awesome service, very friendly staff! I attended a couple of the 8 am yoga classes and was very appreciative of the view and sound of slapping waves against the rocks! U can be as busy as you want or as laid back as you want, the choice is yours. The $1500 resort credit cinched the deal for us paid $133 (11% tax fee) for 5 spa services and a mexican wine tasting evening. Can't beat that anywhere! The only thing that could have made it perfect was if the weather was beautiful every day. Out of the 6.5 days of vacation we had 4 days of hot sunny weather. One day, rain off and on (went into Playa del Carmen and did some shopping that day) and the other day kinda overcast. Both of us had a wonderful time and would definately recommend the Aventura Spa to friends and family and hopefully will return one day.

Room Tip: our room was on second floor with "partial" oceanview. So if a FULL oceanview is importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Sylvia s, thank you very much for sharing your experience with our readers. We always want to provide you with the best service, that is why we try to find a suitable staff and when we feel that we did we can continue to innovate services for you.
This time you enjoyed our warm service at the spa, which is one of the most famous places in our resort.

We definitely will be happy to host you again in our hotel.

Thank very much for your comments.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love the spa palace --this was our third time there. There is so much to do --the spa is incredible--went almost everyday--lots of tours if you like that--Golf off the resort- which my husband did several times--the resorts hooked him up with a tee time and other players and transportation to and from--and off he went--only 20 minutes away and he said the course was awesome.
The restrurants were all very good. Dress code for men in a few of them require long pants ( jeans are ok) leather sandals or shoes. Other than that pretty casual
or you can dress up if you like. Make sure and have a mayan coffee at the La Hacienda--excellent!!!
Weather has always been great everytime we've been to Mexico--always go in February.
One thing lacking at this resort is the beach--they are right on the water--but it is very rocky. They have made the best of it by creating a lagoon with a barrier from the ocean which you can swim, snorkel, and kayak in. If you want a real sandy beach they offer transportation to this Beach Club--which we did one day--it was great!!
Other great things---staff is awesome--I was impressed by the entertainment--sometimes the shows are a little tacky--We saw an amazing drum and fire show.
They also had a Mexican night with alot of authentic food, dancing and mexican culture. The entertainment by the pool is always good for a few laughs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Barbara K, we appreciate your comments. We are very happy to know that you spent a good time during your stay, we always want to preserve our culture that is why we offer you a Mexican night to meet our culture. There are many places to go with your resort credits, snorkeling, spa massages, golf tours, swimming with the dolphins, pyramids excursions, etc, like you said before it is a good way to take advantage from your resort credits.

Once again thank you for your comments and hope to see you again in your next vacations.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our experience was all positive. I guess there can always be something to complain about if you look, but why would you want to? It was just a really relaxing week with nice meals and drinks, a super relaxing spa and a slew of attentive staff. And palm trees,..palm trees are good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Karen C, We very much appreciate your kindly comments, and we are glad to know that your overall stay was as you expected.

Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and it will be a pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Prestigia so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;