We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week overall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great week overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Late getting this out since we went in October. We really enjoyed this resort. Good activities with support for beach volleyball. Nice lagoon to kayak in. Food was good to average for an all inclusive. Never was hungry for anything but not blown away either. The real nice thing was using all the resort credits at the SPA. My wife was so relaxed it made our trip sooo fun! We brought another couple we us and the enjoyed it too. Drinks were okay but nothing special. Circus Show was pretty cool. Free long distance calls was very nice as well. Heard it is going to become a hard rock property and I wish it could stay the same.

Room Tip: Get a pedicure guys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi KentuckyKyMike, Thank you for wrote your comments and we are very happy to know that you had a good time. We focus on keeping our guest well entertained, we designed some shows to realize the beauty of your vacations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the Circus Show. We try to keep in touch our value guests with their family and you took advantage from the unlimited long distance calls, that´s great. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    874
    305
    225
    169
See reviews for
219
1,733
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyle, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well, we returned to Aventura Spa Palace, son to be a Hard Rock Hotel. We had heard all manner of reports of how bad it had become. First, it has not started conversion yet so is still a Palace Resort.
We stayed in a building far to the north which met we were very quiet and had nice long walks to things. We like that. The lagoon has many. More fish in it these days than before so much more fun snorkeling and kayaking. The staff was good but seemed to very tired from the full booked resort over the holidays. I'd say there were about 75% there nowadays not too crowded. Food was good but not Palace great. Checkin was VIP as expected and the vacation planner who setup our reservations(Ofelia) online didactic great job and had us all set. The vacation planner on site(Sebastian) added what we needed and made very good suggestions for what we might add. He was very cordial and more knowledgeable than many we've had in the past. The grounds were well maintained but I might ad that there is some wear and tear showing but suspect that with the redo to Hard Rock starting they might not spend on things that will change. We were shown the pending changes and want to come back and see it then. As Palace Premier VIP members, we are pleased with the resort and what is to come.
For those who have never been to a Palace, you don't know what a god thing you are missing! Come see.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Jbrecher, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We always recommend you many activities to do like the snorkel, kayak and other beach activities. We are happy to know that our staff provided with a good service and that you enjoyed the activities at the lagoon we look forward to welcome you in your next vacations to Aventura Palace. For us is very important your opinion, and as a VIP Member we are pleased to know that you spent a good time with us, once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in your next vacations.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited this hotel in Nov 2013. It is about an hour drive south of Cancun. I personally prefer hotels much closer to the airport. This hotel has been separated into 2 - one side is adult only, the other is family friendly. The hotel rooms are very similar to those at the other Palace Resorts - however since this hotel is being converted to a Hard Rock - this will change. The biggest difference with this hotel - is that there is NO BEACH. In its place, they have made small lagoons out of the volcanic rock which lines this coast. The lagoons are very pretty and wonderful to swim in. To make up for the lack of beach - they have created one - it worked for us. They also have an "open to the outdoors" indoor swimming pool - great if its raining or it you got too much sun. They gym at this hotel was small but nice, and the trainer gave awesome classes!! I was so impressed with the meals at this resort. The steakhouse was the best one - featuring the "SKIRT STEAK" or Arrachera - not a cut known to North Americans - try it - you will love it. It is the most tender steak there is. Everyone in our group was very happy with this meal. Getting reservations was a bit of a hassle. We played tennis every morning - the courts are quite far from the Adult section but they were in fantastic shape - just no monitor. At other palace resorts there was a monitor who provided cold water in coolers and towels. Breakfast and Lunch buffets never disappointed us. We also golfed up at Playcar - the hotel drives you up and brings you back - it was a great course - lots of fun. We also did the SPA - which the hotel is known for - but it was disappointing. The Spa in general felt like a conveyor belt - not the relaxing experience I had hoped for. Staff was lined up waiting to take you to a room - the massages were not the complete time - often shortened because there was someone else coming right in after you. The massages are free due to the resort credit - but the experience needs a whole lot of work! Grounds are lovely. Rooms are clean and nice with a hammock on the terrace. OUr room was the very last section so it was a hike back to the main lobby. All in all we enjoyed ourselves, but I prefer Moon Palace.

Room Tip: get one near the main lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello TraceyMH, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are thrill to hear that took advantage of our indoors swimming pool as indeed (like you said it´s perfect for rainy days). The steakhouse provides you many Mexican plates like the arrachera which is wonderful. We have several activities to do in our hotel, you took the golf tour at playacar, you had the chance and you tried some of special benefits that we provide you. We hope to see you again in Mexico in your next vacations. Thank you for your visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we booked this hotel, we were sort of afraid there will be a catch, but the day we arrive at Aventura Spa Palace, everything was perfect and it was more than what we expected. Specially, service was excellent and everyone was friendly. There are 7 restaurants in Avantura Spa, but some staffs are exceptionally great such as Victor Manuel and Jurge in Momo no Hana, and Richardo, head waiter in La Huerta. Also, Edgar in La Hacienda who made us some crazy fun Mayan coffee. We will defininterly come back to Aventura Spa Palace for our next trip.
PS: The staffs wash the road 24/7 except on rainy days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Hyekyung Y, thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are very happy to know that our staff provided you with the excellent service our dear guests deserve and have come to expect from us, we will let them your comments. We want to give you options to eat different things, like you said before we have 7 amazing restaurants to experience different flavors. Once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you again in your next vacations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a wonderful place to get-a-way with just a couple of small glitches. At check in they did not have our room ready, then tried to switch us from an ocean view to a garden view. After not accepting that, we were given a beautiful room with an ocean view...but on the edge of the adult only/family side of the resort. We took it and it was not an issue at all. The resort also had it's natural beach washed away in the last hurricane ~ but is supposedly being put back once the Hard Rock company takes over completely in the next 2 years. They did have a beach area - with a lovely little lagoon, you just don't get the waves breaking over you if that's what you want. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on ground floor and has a hammock on your small deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Julie R, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, We are sorry about the inconvenience that you experienced about your early check in; we always try to receive our valued guest with their accommodations ready as you may know sometimes this is not possible although we do everything in our power to comply with all of our guest requests and we are sorry we missed our mark this time. The lagoon is awesome; there are several activities to do like kayak, snorkel or just chill out, it´s great that you enjoyed those experiences. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again many more times in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Aventura spa palace is amazing!! The service is over the top! Location is beautiful! $1500 resort credit really do get you a lot!! Only complaint would be not enough Mexican music and after a few days the buffets feel a little blah, tasty but same all the time, a la carte restaurants were great! Our favourite was Momo No Hana!! Lots to see and do! Not much of a night life because most people disappear by around 10 or 11:00 but we were never bored there!! As for drinks, as for something 'special' or 'different' u won't be disappointed! Only had one drink I didn't love the whole time!!
Go before the official change to hard rock though cause they r going to be changing it too much at the end of the year and it is perfect the way it is now!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Banffbride_615, Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed our service. We always want to give surprises to our customers, that´s why we provide you the resort credits; you can spend it anywhere, getting tours, dinners, massages, and more. The Momo No Hana is one of the best restaurants that we have, we mix the Asian flavors with a hint of Mexico.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our service.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We read quite a few bad reviews before leaving for our trip Christmas week and were concerned. But our experience was great. The only negative might be that there was a little disorganization when booking our excursions, but no big deal. Service, spa, shows on property, room, restaurants were all good. If you eat early, you don't have to wait for a table. Especially enjoyed Cichin Itza; our guide Miguel was excellent. Enjoyed the "romantic dinner" by the water, but wear bug spray. I didn't and got lots of bites on my legs. We would go back.

Room Tip: We had a superior garden view room and were very happy with it being in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi GlassSpirit, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are sorry for any disinformation regarding the excursions, we always recommend you to go to the front desk to ask for previous information to take excursions to avoid any issue. We also recommend to take the Chichen Itzá tour, which is one of our 7 wonders of the worlds, there is a good way to meet our culture. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your romantic dinner; we always want to provide you some details to make your stay special.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.