We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, don't know where the negative reviews come from.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time, don't know where the negative reviews come from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just got back yesterday from a week stay (12/16-23). I am a member and I've been here before a couple times and have to admit I really don't know where the negative reviews come from. The resort was pretty full and yes, we were given a garden view room to start. We asked nicely at the desk if they could move us and the next day we were moved to a great ocean view room. The service was excellent all the way around. Food was very good and the wait staff wonderful. They have hired a lot of new staff, but they fall over themselves to help you. Playacar was blacked out because it was full and if a few hundred from Adventura dropped in they would be overwhelmed. Perfectly understandable. I don't understand how anyone could get a watered down drink, they make them to order with any top shelf liquor you ask for. Was my wife's birthday and they delivered a chocolate cake and bottle of champagne without me asking. All in all a nearly perfect week. The only thing that was mildly annoying was the chair situation at the pool. You really had to get there by 7:30am to secure primo chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Hauserr

On behalf of Aventura Palace, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comments and feedback about our resort. Feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities.

Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know that you had a wonderful and enjoyable experience here at Aventura Palace. And we would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    865
    303
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1722
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I tried contacting The Spa Palace before my trip to request a type of room and to state this was a birthday for my wife. I was ignored for about two weeks and finally received a response from their customer service apologizing for the lack of response and that their website had an error so that they were not receiving my e-mails and that they would do something special for my wife.
We booked a trip through United Vacations for a Sup Ocean View room with tickets to Xcaret. When we arrived we were given a good room but declined to give us the tickets to Xcaret saying that we would have to get them from somewhere else... we were sent from place to place and never got our tickets even though it was clearly written on our United Vacations Itinirary that it was included. We decided to forget about it and recoup our money from United Vacations. Two days into our vacation we were called and asked to stop by their service desk. They told me that they had contacted United Vacations but had not heard from them yet and for me to pick a restaurant so that they could make a special dinner for my wife's birthday...to not tell her because it was to be a surprise...well I didn't tell her and it was a surprise to me because there was no reservation when we arrived at the chosen restaurant!
We usually stay in resorts in Puerto Adventuras or Akumal and we'll continue to stay in these areas but we won't be back to the Ad Spa Palace because too many others in the area
- have a beach (the spa lagoons don't have sand but rather a white mud that oozes between your toes :(,
- have a lot more palapas and chairs... all are reserved by 8:00am at the Spa...
- have better selection of food
- have real theaters for the shows... the Spa packs people into their Disco, into a meeting room or outside with the good seats reserved for members
- have more activities
- have less of a member population... the spa seemed to be more than half for members…

By the way if you are talked into buying a membership because of their hard sell techniques, by Mexican law you have 5 days to back out no matter what you signed and what their contracts say...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear jdcg

Please accept our heartfelt apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay; this is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our Resort to our valued Customers. It is our obligation to make our customers feel as they deserve and this is why we regret that you did not feel our warm service and our special treatment which is customary to our Guests.

With respect to the resort credits there is no preference if you are or not a Member is all based on availability. Remember that if you go to another resort you will not get any credits and we have 7 restaurants in the property somthing else you will not find in any other resort.

Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and here in the Aventura Palace hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Aventura Spa. First off, let me start by saying that 80% of the negative comments are coming from "Palace Members". They really should have a seperate forum to vent their issues... aside from the constant moaning and complaining at the hotel, their somewhat skewed reviews can really taint the average travellers opinion of this place! There were a few occasions I almost told a member to stuff it as they attacked and belittled the staff over the most ridiculous things; sorry but just because you bought into a vacation club doesn't mean you get to act like you're William & Kate and you've just graced the resort and its occupants with your presence. On to the real review!

Check in couldn't have been more pleasant; very quick, and they were very accomodating with our room requests, a fruity drink was in hand within minutes. Our room was gorgeous, the standard rooms are a great size, the in room jacuzzi is an amazing perk! Bed was incredibly comfortable. We had room service the first night and it was delicious.

This resort is MASSIVE; if you have a mobility problem it might not be the best spot for you. A lot of walking to get anywhere, and a lot of stairs. We tried all of the restaurants both on the Spa and Cove side. Italian and Japanese (Spa) were amazing, really didn't enjoy our meal at the Gourmet Mexican (Spa), chicken was so overcooked and appetizer and dessert selections were terrible. Mundaca Steakhouse (Cove) was ok, had a long wait every night so don't go starving! All of the restaurants will do take out which was nice, on our last night we got back from Playa del Carmen really late and took a very large bag of sushi to our room. Buffets had a lot of variety, lots of fresh fruit, we preferred to have breakfast at the Japanese restaurant as it was open until 11. Fresh juices and smoothies were wonderful - try the juice bar at the indoor pool! Tuna at the Italian is to die for.

We knew about the beach situation, but didn't realize how much we missed it until we actually got there. The cove was ok, but not the same. Take advantage of the resort privelleges at the other Palace hotels/Hard Rock. Service was wonderful, all the staff were so nice, we can't say enough good things about how we were treated, it made it twice as annoying to watch the members acting like spoiled children towards them. We used all of our credits at the Spa, TO DIE FOR. Our first massage was teh couples massage and it was ok. Our second treatment were individual aromatherapy massages and the treatment itself was 10x better, plus slightly cheaper than a couples massage, we ended up having 3 each! Also used the credits to buy sunglasses, definitely a nice bonus.

Overall food was good, service and rooms were great. If you were a pool person you'd rate this a 5*; if the other restaurants had been as good as the Italian and Japenese I'd have rated this a 4.5. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Banker Barbie

On behalf of Aventura Palace, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comments and feedback about our resort. Feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities.

Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know that you had a wonderful and enjoyable experience here at Aventura Palace. And even though we have more than 7 restaurants we are still trying to offer even more choices for you and we are going to pass your advice to our Chef. And we would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had a great 9 days at this resort 12-21 Dec 2012.

The service was exceptional. Food excellent. Facility well maintained and plenty comfortable. Great a la carte restaurants. Italian, Greek, Japanese, Steak house and Mexican. Drinks are really good and you never wait long to get one brought to you. Th staff works their butts off and I for one really appreciated the effort. Good shows and entertainment. Spa stuff was really great and we used all of our $2000 resort credit getting the treatments. Temzecal was even better this time around.

Can't say enough. I would give this place a 9.5 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Thunderbox

On behalf of Aventura Palace, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comments and feedback about our resort. Feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities.

Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know that you had a wonderful and enjoyable experience here at Aventura Palace and we would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The problems started at the airport - a long wait for the transfer. The hotel is changing their transportation company so that should improve. The hotel was very full and so our rooms were not near each other as requested and it took two days to change the rooms which they did. There were numerous annoyances with spa appointments and in general. And then we met CARLOS SANCHEZ in the Public Relations department. He made special dinner reservations for us and even set up a special dinner by the executive chef which was spectacular!!! He was very interested in our opinions and fixed any problem quickly. That said, the property is very nice and the spa is great! The entertainment is very nice, especially the singer ROSY VALDEZ - FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same except for the presidential suites. The concierge upgrade does little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Marge M

We love that you had a great vacation after all. We apologize for the inconveniences that you had at the beginning. And we are glad that you enjoy our Spa and our property.
But the best of all is our service. We will share your comments with Carlos at public relations and Rosy with entertainment.

We are very happy about all the changes that we are going through because we know all of them are going to be for the best. Please come back very soon we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying we travel often and we rarely spend as much as we did for this vacation. The transition to Hard Rock is obviously creating a ton of problems here. There are many dissatisfied guests and we've seen some actually leave the resort to check in elsewhere. We purchased a vacation package last Christmas (palace premier) while attending a orientation at Moon Palace. Our expectations were high as was the cost for this 12 night stay. We were told Palace and Hard Rock were separating but that both would maintain the high standard we expected. By comparison, we stayed twice at Secrets Capri (last Christmas & 3 years ago). Secrets was superior on almost every level. Issue to date...4th day of 12: still no wifi in room despite multiple calls and visits to front desk. Wifi works just about everywhere but our room (3522). Our friends wifi works great in 3505. Our iPads are working everywhere else so our hardware is fine. Food here is mediocre at best - Secrets was easily better for lunch & breakfast options which are mostly buffet here at Palace. Service has been very spotty - sometimes great & sometimes poor. We were to receive oceanfront room as Palace Premiere members and that hasn't happened either. Initially we were given a horrible room at the back of the property with "garden views". They told us there were no ocean front or view rooms available as occupancy was "very high", despite our booking and been promised ocean front several months ago. This is a common complaint we have heard and read recently. We spent our first 45 minutes at the resort negotiating a better room which still isn't what we were promised when we booked. On the good side, their fitness facility is excellent and the equipment is good quality Life Fitness. Pools and grounds are nice but no beach to speak of - knew that when we booked but prefer pool to beach so not an issue for us. Bottom line after 3.5 days of 12 - wouldn't return to Adventura Spa Palace. Recommend Secrets Capri any day. This is no 5 star - I'd give it a 3.5* and my poor rating is due to not been up to our expectations and the management's inability to solve our issues.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Arrived on 17 Decemeber 2012. The van ride from the airport was an easy and pleasent drive. We entered the Aventura Spa Palace property and noticed there were no customers checking in. We assumed it would be quick. We stood for several minutes as 5 front desk personnel stared at us. No one welcomed us. Finally I asked if we could check in. I was helped by a new employee. We received our room and noticed it was in a building that was at the rear of the property. No problem, we went back to the front desk and asked if we could use our resort credits and upgrade our room to something closer with a view of the pool or ocean. The front desk lady told us she would ask her boss. His reply was no. No reason why just no. We also asked, because we are Palace Premier members about transfering to another resort and we would pay the difference like we had when we stayed at the Beach Palace in May 2012. Again the supervisor said no. No explaination. We asked about getting something to eat because it was 10:50am and we had not eaten. We were told to go to the El Greco Restraunt by the pool. No directions however we found it. It was closed. We walked back to reception and found the Oriental Resteraunt was open as the breakfast buffet. We asked the hostess if we could eat. No greeting, her only answer was 20 minutes. We are closing in 20 minutes. She sat us down however no server came. We finally decided to get our own coffee and food. I could go on however the service was sub standard. After eating we found our way back to the reception area. I talked to Ivan in Guest Services and asked why there was such a lack of service. I asked why we could not upgrade our room using our resort credits. I asked him why there was a VIP Palace Premier check in however we could not check in there. I asked why no one explained where anything was. Why we did not recieve a map of the property or any paperwork that would define eating times. I told him that we were not happy with the treatment since checking in 1 hour previously. I asked to be transfered to the Beach Palace and told him that we would pay the difference between the 2 resorts. It would be approximately $830.00 more. He said he would check. We ended up talking to several managers/supervisors. They repeatedly told us that the Aventura Spa Palace is no longer part of Palace Premier but belonged to Hard Rock so there was nothing to be done. I informed Jose the front desk manager that we booked this vacation through Palace Premier and that the signs out front say Aventura Spa Palace not Hard Rock. It appears we were caught in a battle between Hard Rock & Palace Premier. We told them that we wanted to transfer. The final answer was we have your money, if you want to transfer you will have to pay the full price. Guess what? We ended up paying $1833.00 to transfer to the Beach Palace.
They have a great price to get you to the Aventura Spa Palace, however the service is not there. The Front Desk Manager asked us to give him a couple of years to get his staff properly trained. He said if you come back in 2 years, you will see the results. Are you SERIOUS!!
We spend exactly 5 1/2 hours being treated like dirt. We were not rude, we did not raise our voice. We were very apologetic but firm in our decision not to be treated with distain. While we were waiting for an answer we were approached by 3 couples who were Palace Premier members. They had overheard our conversation and also wanted to transfer because of the rude service. We told them that when we finally received an answer they could also talk to guest services if they wanted to. We felt bad beacuse these 3 couples were alot older than us and I was ashamed that they also had been treated so badly.
People, if you have never been to a Palace Resort or an Iberostar, this resort could work for you because you have nothing to gauge the level of service. I do believe however that you will be cheated out of the level of service that you have come to know of Palace Resorts. It appears that we will have to take the Aventura Spa Palace Resort to court to recoup our money. This was not what we expected or wanted. We were looking forward to a relaxing week in the sun.
FYI: Dont plan on visiting Playacar Palace
They have suspended all "day passes" to the Playacar Palace until further notice. This is wrong. The day pass is suppose to be part of your package.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Scot1956

We appreciate your comments and your feedback; we understand your frustration our main problem was that we had an overbooking issue during the month of December still is unacceptable that you did not have the courtesy and treatment that you deserve. And please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay.

With respect why you were unable to upgrade your room using the resort credits is because the upgrade is based on availability and we were at 100% occupancy. And you are correct now we are two different companies one for Palace and one for HardRock we have complete cooperation between the two, but when you pay for one reservation at one hotel it is difficult to transfer that money to the other company so we are unable to just transfer you to the other hotel.
Your comments have been shared as well with key Staff in our organization, most importantly including our Management Team. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Prestigia so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.