We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disastrous arrival” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disastrous arrival”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

DO NOT PURCHASE A MEMBERSHIP AT THESE RESORTS. . Once they have your money they treat you like crap.

Made my reservation 7 months in advance, arrived with confirmation number and was told they had no reservation for me and no room. Hotel was filled to 100% capacity with people who responded to their promotions, but as a member I was told to wait a few hours while they found me a room. Then they tried to put me at the neighboring cove. Only after losing my temper at the front desk did they find me a room, after I made it clear I wasn't leaving and wasn't shutting up.

Later while talking to a concierge I looked at his computer screen had there was my reservation with the date I had made it 7 months before.

This is no way to start what is supposed to be a relaxing vacation. They are complete incompetents. Your only leverage as a customer is to take your business elsewhere, but once you are a member you lose that leverage and this company does not care about your satisfaction. So I am telling the rest of the world to TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear SpOkes,

Please accept our heartfelt apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay; especially concerning your reservation and the service provided by some of our staff. This is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our Resort to our valued Customers. It is our obligation to make our customers feel as they deserve and this is why we regret that you did not feel our warm service and our special treatment which is customary to our Guests.

Please be informed, we are in no way, taking your dissatisfaction lightly. We deeply regret to know your perception about our resort; your comments have been forwarded to the areas involved in order to implement strategies to provide better and timely information, more tools and resources for our guest and improved procedures for handling challenges in the future. We are confident, as a result of these actions; we will continue being reliable and customer responsive.

Hope you give us the opportunity to host you again to show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    865
    303
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1722
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As members of the Palace Resorts for over 10 years, we have been to Adventura in the past and quite enjoyed our stay. This resort used to be our first choice above many other Palace resorts up until its recent changes. It split into the Adventura Cove, and it has now changed again merging into Adventura Hard Rock. Unfortunately with these changes, the quality of this resort has PLUMMETED.
If any of you have been to Adventura in the past, I DISCOURAGE you to go there again! The changes have made the quality of this resort completely terrible and unacceptable. For all the first time visitors, who may not have known the amazing quality Adventura used to have, this may not be too bad. My ratings for this palace is 2 STARS, maybe 3 MAX, with me being generous. A sign that this resort is going down in the dumps is its MASSIVE 50% SALE THROUGH 2013. They must not even be close to their sales goals to put a steal of a deal like that. Coming back from our trip recently for Thanksgiving, we now know why. It’s because of its awful service and quality. Let me highlight some of the details of our experience for you.
• The Shuttle airport transfer from and to the resort has actually improved. We did not have to wait long at all. The staff and driver were professional and did not hassle us for tips like before. Note that Palace Resort/Hard Rock advertised that tips and taxes are included in all services. However, we still like to give extra tips when the service is exceptional.
• As VIP (black band) members of the resort, we had the privilege of a separate check-in area which was very nice. We did not have to wait in line. There was a nice sit down lounge for us with a waiter ready to take order for our drinks. Because we knew the routine, we booked our tours and spa services at the same time.
• As we interacted with staff members, we were surprised that many of them were very new, just working there from one day to a few months. Most of them commented that they were not sure if they would stay. That was the first sign something was a bit off. In the past, we usually ran into staff who have been with the resort for many years and were very happy with the management. Therefore, happy employees created great services. However on this trip, we often experienced the attitude of “don’t know, don’t care or I just work here”. We were highly disappointed with the poor quality of services we received from the staff.
• $1,500 hotel credit. Sounds great right? But recently they added something we all hate, 11% service fee(11% of any dollar used out of this $1,500). In the past, there is no 11% service fee added. It was truly free credit with your stay. The price is worth it for only tours and spa. It all used to be free with your hotel stay, so it was unfortunate that there was a fee added. The price was not worth it for wine and gifts, because those prices were inflated outrageously.
• The room is the same. However, there is no bath robe! Also, the bath towels were very frail and worn out. It is unbelievable that they actually use the old dilapidated towels, the kind that we use to clean our pets or wash our cars. Yes they gave us those towels for our bodies. When we complained, the manager said that they are aware of the age of the towels but everything is in “transition”. They are not allowed to use the new “Hard Rock” towels yet. Bad excuse if you ask me. There used to be plenty of towels. Now, the quantity is cut in half. This “transition” excuse they used explaining everything that’s wrong with their resort, is really going to hurt their business.
• About the facility. The elevator is filthy. There was a stain that was there the whole week of our stay. Obviously, no one cleans the elevator. Grass is not as green as it used to be. Shrubs and trees were not well trimmed. Many of them are half dead. Staff members told us that management has laid off many employees. The indoor pool was two feet short of water. When we questioned management, there was no explanation. Is it a way to cut cost? There is no staff to take care of the tennis and basketball court. When we called to ask for water and towel, we were told to walk back to the hotel to get it ourselves. What kind of service is that!? Definitely not the service of a 4-star hotel. All the nets at the three tennis courts were not setup to the right height. No center band. Weeds are grown around the court. Animal feces scattered around. The situation is pathetic for tennis players like us. Many of the golf cart drivers are so new (from 1 day to a few weeks) that they can hardly drive it. They bump into the shrub, curb side or have to go back and forth several times. Some of the golf carts ran out of electricity. One of the carts had a horrible screeching noise as if one of the wheel was about to fall off. It was scary.
• About the restaurants. What a disappointment. In short, the Cove provided better food than the Spa. At the Spa where we stayed, the breakfast and lunch buffet are the same for all seven days. Can you imagine, a 4-star resort use paper napkins, one thin paper napkin! Breakfast with a different kind of cook to order eggs, bacon, sausage but NO hash brown. Service is spotty. Obviously, there are not enough well trained staffs. They were very understaffed. Again, most of them are new and not happy. About the dinner, the food quality has gone downhill and long waits for our food after we were seated. After trying the Japanese, Italian and healthy restaurant, we decided to go to the Cove for dinner buffet. More choice and no wait.
• Night entertainment. There is a daily music band at the Spa, various shows and a disco at the Cove. This reminded us of a second class performance at a rundown casino in downtown Las Vegas with poor sound system. We heard that Hard Rock is well known for their entertainment. Well, at least there are options.
This trip is quite a disappointment for us. We felt that the resort management has short changed its members by changing their focus without checking with their members and cutting its services. Worse yet, they have the audacity to approach us to purchase a membership upgrade. Definitely not after that awful stay. Another bad part is prior to this trip we already paid for another trip at the same resort next June to celebrate our sons’ graduation with another family, a total of 10 people. Unfortunately, they won’t let us cancel the trip to get our money back. The best they would do is to give us credit and promise us that the service will be better because by that time they will almost be a full fledge “Hard Rock”, and no longer “in transition”. Note that being tired of their BS or excuse, I challenged them to move me to the Hard Rock Cancun (used to be Cancun Palace) for a few days because it is already “full fledge” Hard Rock this year. If the service is excellent as they claimed, I would consider buying an upgrade. Guess what, they told us that the hotel is overbooked. Again with another excuse. As we talked to many people during this trip, majority of them have complaints after complaints. When we talked to the person who is in charge of the transition project, his reply was he heard it all. Well, if he heard EVERYONE complaint, was anything going to be done about it? Regardless, the company will proceed with its plan. Things will be the way they are until the Hard Rock grand opening in next August. It was obvious that complaints will fall on deaf ear. Whatever management comments or apologetic responses that you read in Tripadvisor are pure lip service. In conclusion, DON’T GO THERE. DON’T BUY MEMBERSHIP. There are plenty of other all-inclusive resorts in the areas that cater to your needs and emphasize on customer service. We hope that what we experienced in this trip is temporary and transitional as Hard Rock management explained it.

Room Tip: Third Floor, a way from the pool to avoid music noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Jvu4,

Please accept our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay; this is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our Resort to our valued Customers. Thank you for sharing your concerns, when you feel we did not meet your expectations it is important for us to know. We regret to know your perception; please be informed that your comments have been forwarded to the areas involved in order to implement strategies to provide the excellent service our dear customers deserve and have come to expect from us. I am sending you a private message in order to take care of your concerns regarding your next stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have been working with the most professional and amazing woman, Dianely del Rosario Polanco Gamboa. She has handled our requests for many activities for a group of 4 people very efficiently and we can hardly wait to arrive at the Resort to start the FUN ! THANKS, Dianely ! We will do an additional review when our trip is complete :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica M, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Gail_Bristow,

Greetings from Aventura Palace!

Thank you for acknowledge us about the excellent service that Daniely Polanco provided. I will make certain to pass on a copy of this comment to her and personally thank Dianely for her great work and commitment.

We are waiting for you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I want to say the trip went without a hitch, but I can't. Check-in took too long, we never waited so long before at a Palace Resort and that is with being a member, too! So, have your bathing suit with you to change in the exercise facility to enjoy the sun and pool. Our room was not cleaned up until late in the day when we were ready to nap before dinner. You need to make you disappointment known! See the concierge more than once if you must, we did. Breakfast served in our room was hotter and tasted better than the restaurant buffet and the coffee was better, too. The restaurants are not the best, in fact, have gone down hill since our 1st visit 10 years ago, although the service was great. Our trip was over Thanksgiving weekend, the pool water was cold, the cove was much warmer. We swam with the dolphins...FUN! The Chef's Dinner was delicious! The spa services are wonderful. If you like a particular drink, the bartenders will do their best to make it or get it for you.

Room Tip: The concierge up graded rooms are tended to with more attention (if available). All of the rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ruth O,

Thank you for sharing your comments related your recent stay with us. We strive to provide you with the best possible service that is why we thank you for pointing out what you consider both our strong and weak points. We are very sorry that we could not fulfill all of your expectations this time with some of our services, especially the Check In process and the cleanliness on your room. On the other hand, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our different activities and the warm service provided by our staff members.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again. We will do our best to make your time a memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our fourth trip to Aventura Spa and as palace diamond members we left very disappointed.
The resort, the rooms and pool areas are being maintained to a very high level. The working staff does a remarkably excellent job, very friendly and efficient.
However the concierge staff and upper management appear to be on a state of disarray as they change this to a Hardrock facility. Having no robes in the spa was noticeable to anyone who had previously experienced this spa.
Hopefully once that changeover is complete, this will once again become a great spa vacation facility

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Kevin S,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your views and comments related to our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced; we sincerely regret not being able to fulfill all of your expectations. We would like you to know that we have already shared your comments with our Management team, in order to take the corresponding corrective measures. On the other hand, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the attentive service from our team.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel to show you the improvements.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We traveled here in October of 2012, and had a very fun time. It was a group of three couples in our late 20s, early 30s, and the energy was perfect for us. No kids, open bars, yet without the frat house feel of some other resorts. They were very accommodationg about getting our rooms close to one another. Just a great way to pass the time either at the swim-up bars, in the spas, or out on the multiple easy-access excursions. This place is walking distance from a swim-with-dolphins place, I mean come on! Can you say bucket list?! Oh, BRING WATER SHOES. This place has the coolest cove that you can snorkel and kayak in, but if you're anything like me, stepping on rocks freaks me out. It's mostly sand in the cove, but there are some rocky areas, and it just gave me that added security. You can tell that this place is still in transition with ownership, but it in no way compromised the courteous, fun-loving, and genuinely good people who are on staff here. We espeicially loved Felipe, the bartender at Cove Lobby bar. We stayed 6 nights, and found ourselves at his bar each night. I'll post a photo of him wow-ing a group with a little bit of fuego. Loved our experience! Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Our bed was SO stiff compared to the two others that our friends had in their rooms. We should have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Natasha S,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable vacation at our beautiful resort. Thank you for acknowledge us about the excellent service that Felipe provided. We will make certain to pass on a copy of this review to Felipe and thank him for his great work and commitment.

We in Aventura Palace hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again and provide you with the amazing treatment you deserve.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We traveled to the Aventura Spa a little under a year ago with a large group. I had never been to Mexico and the appeal of the $1500 room credit really made our decision easy. I researched the options for the Aventura spa and day excursions (through Trip Advisor) . I poured through the reviews on every website possible and I must say we just absolutely loved the resort. I recommend it to anyone and especially if they offer the credits, which I am not sure if they will continue once the turnover to Hard Rock is complete.

During our stay we utilized the resorts spa several times. We have 2 couples massages, including the hot stone massage. I also had a facial, mani & pedi. The staff was professional and friendly. We also utilized the resorts excursions and traveled to Isla Mujeres and Tulum. Now, although these were great and cheap Id recommend planning a whole day for each. Time was very limited and both places have enough to offer a whole day of exploring. The hotel can help you line up transportation, but the hotel trips are just a few hours - DEF NOT enough time.

We attempted to eat at every restaurant on the resort, only on one occasion did the restaurant not have what we wanted. The food was excellent! Our favorite - the Italian Restaurant! We also bought large "Bubba" cooler mugs and the bartenders at the pool never had a problem filling these up for us, or adding more liquor when we asked for stronger drinks!

Our room was set back in a courtyard so no ocean view, but that was okay with us. We were hardly in it anyway. Here are my pointers:

*Get to the pool early or wake up and put towels out. its full by 8-9am. Even though the staff will get more chairs there was never enough.
*Go into Playa del Carmen and go to the Playa Palace for beachfront. Even though Aventura is transferring to Hard Rock, we just walked out and said we were staying at their sister resort, the beach staff didn't even think twice and we had full service on the beach (and it is right next to Senor Frogs!).
*Tip. You don't have to but it is just nice. The staff is so helpful and friendly!
*Go see the moneys on the family side. The day we went it was pouring rain so we couldn't :(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Raeftch, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you chose us for your first trip to Mexico. We are pleased that you were able to make use of your Resort Credits in the Spa and on some Tours. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed them so much. It’s also great to know that you enjoyed our restaurants; the chefs work hard to create wonderful meals for all guests. Lastly, thank you for providing key tips for future guests, with this type of inside information, upcoming guests can really benefit from all Aventura Spa Palace and Playa Del Carmen has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Prestigia so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.