We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were concerned about some of the negative comments...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We were concerned about some of the negative comments...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visited Aventura Spa 3 years ago and returned 10/23/12 - 11/3/12. After reading some of the negative comments we were a little nervous that things had changed from the wonderful experience we had 3 years ago. Absolutely NOTHING had changed - it was still the great place it was. I do believe that some people's expectations are unrealistic and probably people who are frequently hard to please. Here are some comments about our experience:

SERVICE STAFF : EVERY person you encounter from the housekeeping and grounds staff to the management and everyone inbetween is so friendly and goes out of the way to say "Hola" and smile. Servers in restaurants go out of their way to make sure you are happy with your meal.
SPA: Because everyone gets the $1,500 resort credit the spa services are somewhat difficult to book. Being flexible is the key. Spa services are amazing - we used almost all of our credit on spa services and had wraps, massages, Shiatsu, Marine bath and scrub - and we did the Temazcal "spiritual" treatment. What an unbelievable experience. Even my husband who was skeptical about it said he got quite a lot out of it. Rafael was so calming and sweet and really made the experience wonderful.
VACATION PLANNERS: SEBASTIAN IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!! I can't express how helpful Sebastian was with booking our spa appointments as well as Xcaret, Chef Dinner & Romantic dinner. He went above and beyond what we expected and followed through with every one of his promises and offers to do for us. Booking so many treatments was very time consuming but if you are patient - he gets the job done! The man is definitely management material!!!
ROOMS: Very clean and nice - not too small as some people have complained about. Everytime we called room service for something we needed they arrived within 10 minutes or less and each time there was a followup call asking if we'd gotten what we needed and did we need anything else.
FOOD: Buffets were fairly typical of buffet food - but both at breakfast and lunch there are cooked to order items so if buffet food isn't your thing you don't have to eat it! Many items on the buffet were great - but a few not as good. Salad bar was very fresh with many toppings. A la carte restaurants were very good - a few were Great! La Hacienda (cove side) had amazing food - and guacamole prepared tableside. Soups are fantastic! La Trattoria was also amazing - everything was so fresh and flavorful - again soups were great. The ambiance is really great too - like you're in a little Italian Cafe! The Romantic Dinner (use your resort credits) was lots of fun and we had it on top of Mundaca overlooking the ocean with a a full moon above it. There was heat lightning in the clouds - a great Nature show! Another great time was the Chef Dinner - probably one of our favorite things we did. (Also use your resort credit) - really interesting recipes with wine paired with the particular course. The omelette chefs at the breakfast buffets were really great - and there were so many fillings.
SHOWS: Shows were definitely top notch - the Magic show was really, really good. The Breakdance show was just incredible - we got to see it twice since we stayed for 11 days - the 2nd time we saw the show was just as exciting as the first!! What talented staff!!
SHUTTLE SERVICE: Several times we took the Shuttle to Playacar and then the members shuttle to Playacar Palace. If you want to lay on a beach this is where you spend the day - very nice - but much, much smaller than Aventura. The system runs well. One day we took the shuttle to Playacar and then the ferry to Cozumel and spent several hours at Cozumel Palace. It's even smaller than Playacar - but very lovely. The lunch buffet was definitely not typical buffet - it had build your own pizza and teppanyaki as well as cooked to order foods and if was all very fresh and tasted great.
To summarize, we weren't disappointed in the least with Aventura Spa - it was an awesome 11 days and we're going back in June for our anniversary!! A 4-star place to have your vacation!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Maureen W,

On behalf of every member of the Aventura Palace, I would like to take a minute to express our gratitude for this wonderful review posted by you in tripadvisor.com. We are really happy to know that you had an amazing stay in our beautiful resort and that you enjoyed the resort credits with our spa services and special activities. It is our wish to pamper our valued guests with this promotion. We are delighted to see that our staff provided you with the excellent service our dear guests deserve and have come to expect from us. Thank you for acknowledge us about the excellent service that Sebastian provided. I will pass on a copy of your review to him. He will be very happy and proud of the impression left on you.

We are very grateful to you for your preference when selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your anniversary; the entire staff will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    864
    302
    226
    169
See reviews for
220
1721
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I hate to read of the Bad times anyone has had, All i can say is at Marina EL CID was a dark uneasy place and food was held ransome for signing papers to timeshars .SHARKS EVERWHERE, ONCE they allowed us to eat it tasted like it came from a, vending machine. We felt unsafe and came to AVENTURA SPA PALACE RESORT.It was a night and day experience. We felt safe, respected and our food was awesome!Each and everyone was beyond helpful and gracious. They all sported smiles and went out O! f the way to keep us comfortable.wE WILL RETURN...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear mep56,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review of our beautiful resort.

We are glad to know that you have a wonderful and enjoyable stay at Aventura Palace. Thanks specially for recognizing the friendliness and politeness of our staff members; they are indeed our most precious resource. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. We will do our best to make your time a memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, AB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just got back from our honeymoon at ASP. I had done extensive research before booking. We are not members and this was our first time there...or any Palace resort. We are also used to 3 star but wanted to "splurge" for the honeymoon. Overall it was a great place, but a couple things to note: we are both close to 30 and were BY FAR the minority in the age groups. Most of the people staying here were 65+.... Not a bad thing but very unexpected and there was no one our age to hang out with. Also I thought I wouldn't be bothered by the fact that there was no beach. But I was. Yes you can use the lagoon to snorkel and kayak but its not the same...go to Playa del Carmen because the beach and water is amazing!! It is impossible to get chairs around any of the pools....people go out at 7am to drop off their towels and half the time they don't show up till 2pm or never!! It was brutal. The food was amazing...everywhere...ask for Mayan coffee! Also, the staff everywhere are so cheerful and smiling and always able to say hello. I hated seeing some of the guests talking down to staff...come on, people....the staff are able to get by in 3 languages and you can't even appreciate thT or learn some proper phrases in Spanish - they would appreciate it. The spa was great...if you can book apps. We waited for 2 hrs to make massage apps and I was not able to go until my last two days of vacation so we didn't even use half the credits. It was a nice place it maybe we will go back for our 25th anniversary when we will fit in with the rest of the clientele!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear madSTYLE28,

Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay with us.

Your honeymoon is one of the most unforgettable experiences in your life and we thank you for choosing Aventura Palace to stay in this joyous occasion. We strive to provide you with the best possible service that is why we thank you for pointing out what you consider both our strong and weak points. We have shared your comments about the opportunity areas where we need to improve with our Management Team in order to correct any detail that devalued your stay.

However, we are glad that you had an amazing time and thank you for acknowledge us about the excellent service that our staff members provided. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again in our beautiful resort.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My 80-year-old mom wanted to do something special together, and we chose Aventura Spa Palace for our trip. We are so glad we did! We were treated like queens during our entire stay. The food was very good and service everywhere was top-notch. We enjoyed all of our meals, with the only minor issue being slow service at the steak place (Mundacca). We stayed on the spa side and enjoyed several luxurious treatments with our resort credits. The therapists were excellent and the spa itself is so tranquil and beautiful. Be sure to go an hour early and take advantage of the hydrotherapy room. The ladies in there will help you every step of the way with a smile. Our room was very nice and we had no problems maintaining a comfortable cool temperature. Our only issue was the difficulty in getting wash cloths - for some reason, the maids (we had different ones every day it seemed) were determined to leave only bath towels for us, and we wanted wash cloths and hand towels. Even though we left our used cloths on the racks to indicate we would use them again, they always removed our wash cloths and hand towels. We called housekeeping and they were always quickly provided, but it seemed a little strange.

My mom is very healthy and we were pleased to be put into the French Horn building, which was midway between both sides of the resort. It was an easy walk to the lobby of either side from our room. We could enjoy delicious coffee and sweets on the Cove side, hope a shuttle and be in the lobby of the spa side in no time. We spent a lot of our time on the cove side since there were very few people there compared to the spa side and it was much easier to get a pool lounge. All of the lounges on the spa side were claimed by 7 a.m. most days.

We enjoyed meals at all of the restaurants, but have to remark on the excellent service we received from Julio in Ventanas restaurant. He went out of his way to joke with my mom and really made her feel special each time he saw her. We were thrilled that he was our waiter at the outdoor barbecue for the fire show, too. If I owned a restaurant I would be proud to have an employee like Julio!

We would love to return to Aventura and hope its changeover to Hard Rock doesn't take away the special pampering touches we enjoyed during our visit.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a lot of time at a pool bar, the Spa side is more active with the drinking crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear mcdonnald,

Wow, we are speechless with your great review; we are sure that many travelers will find it helpful.

We are delighted to know that our staff members treated you like queens. Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to see that you and your mom had a fabulous and enjoyable experience here at Aventura Palace. Thanks specially for recognizing the excellent service that Julio provided you. I will pass on a copy of your review to him. We have shared all your comments with our Management Team in order to take them into account.

We would be pleased to host you again in our beautiful resort to provide you with the great service that you deserve.

We thank you one more time and remain at your entire disposal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed alot of places and This is my favorite resort we have been the at least 5 times. The food is great the service is great the rooms are above average The beach is great Always hate to leave.

Room Tip: ask for pool view and usually get a great ocen view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Beachinmom209, Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful time; thank you for choosing us as your favorite resort.
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Aventura Spa Palace has changed as it is undergoing it's shift to a Hardrock. I am currently here, and am a Presidential Member of the Palace Resorts, thus have stayed in many different locations. When I had visited Aventura years ago, both sides were adults only and it had a much more elegant ambiance. However, the level of class has really gone down.

My biggest dissapointment is the quality of the food. For a Spa Resort, there should be healthy options yet I find mostly burgers/fries/pizza/pasta and other cheap foods. It does not appeal to a refined palate and I have been basically just eating the fruits and vegetables, which are great, but not what I expected to live off of on vacation. The breakfast would have to be the best since it consists of staple items, but the lunch and dinner foods are full of oil/butter. Also, they used to open up a wine bottle for you and leave it at your table, but now refuse to.

The spa experience was really great though, especially the hydrotherapy. The people working at the spa were kind and hospitable.

The shows are the same few shows Palace has been showing for years (Michael Jackson, Mexican show, Circus.. I think it's time for a change.)

What makes this resort, and any Palace, are the people working here. They are the most amazing diligent workers. Yet besides that, I am not pleased with my experience. It has become less sophisticated, catering to a new crowd with this shift to Hard Rock. I used to be wowed by the quality, but now feel like I'm at another all-inclusive where they are trying to cut costs. For example, the $1500 resort credit is a complete scam. They make everything 10 times the price, so you think you're getting an amazing deal but actually aren't getting much. PLUS they said we must pay 11% of any of the services!!! So I am PAYING for these supposedly 'free' spa services. So don't be fooled by the resort credit. And the prices of the items in the gift shop are marked up out of this world.


My advice to Aventura and all of the Palace's would be to focus on the QUALITY rather than quantity. What good is it to have tons of different options when they are all full of oil, cheap and bad-tasting? Also the rooms are quite small- get rid of the hot tubs and give us more space. I was forced to leave my suitcase on the floor of the closet since I had no where to put it up.

Room Tip: Request ocean view, we did and they still put us in a non-ocean view but we had them change us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Foodie_61714, Please allow us to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay; your opinion is very important for us, since we consider the best way we have to improve in all aspects is through the communication with our valued customers.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced; we sincerely regret not being able to fulfill all of your expectations this time concerning the food offered at our hotel. Here at Aventura Spa Palace we take pride in serving each and every guest with some of their greatest meals. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Spa; we also take great pride in our Staff and services offered. It is very unfortunate to us that you were unable to fully enjoy the use of your Resort Credits, allow me to assure you that your comments have been passed on to the Management Team to make sure proper changes are being made in order to ensure the highest level of customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived last Thursday and are still at the resort. When we arrived, they gave us the last building furthest away from everything. Not that big of a deal until you find you have a lot of walking to do since the property is so big. Next is service. It seems like every restaurant we have been to the service has been terrible. We have had to wait an hour or more just to get a waiter! This is not acceptable for a resort of this caliber. I have been to cheaper resorts with better service. On to housekeeping. They never leave us enough towels or toiletries and they don't clean our room until late afternoon. If we want to head back to our room in the afternoon we are unable to because they are cleaning it. I don't know why they are keeping towels and shampoo from us but this is also very annoying and not what I expect from aventura. It might just be me, but it seems the resorts that are getting converted to hard rock, or legendary has lapsed tremendously in service. They cannot say they are in the middle of converting as an excuse for bad service. We are still paying premium to stay there. I stayed at cancun palace this past June and it was terrible as well! It seems to me that hard rock is focused more on decor that service. This is not what i signed up for!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier V, Customer Service Manager at Aventura Spa Palace, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Stevew99, We thank you for being loyal guests to the All Inclusive Collection.
We apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced regarding the service provided by our staff. We would like you to know that we work very much in the training and supervision of each member in our team, to ensure our guests receive the best treatment and the warmness and hospitality. You can be sure that your remarks on this matter have been already shared with our General Management and Quality Director for training purposes. We are always looking for ways to deliver the best service possible and your observations are much appreciated.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel to show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.