We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday in Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Spa Palace

Save Saved
You added Aventura Spa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Spa Palace
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
A TripAdvisor Member
“Birthday in Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2003

I turned 50 in Cancun with 15 of my very best friends and I could not have had a better time if I had 'planned it myself'! We stayed at the Aventura Spa Palace on the Mayan Riviera. The hotel was wonderful and all the food, service and ammenities were above average. A truly beautiful, private setting (85 acres) nestled in the jungle of Mexico. I highly recommend this resort to anyone thinking of experiencing the peninsula of CANCUN!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    863
    302
    226
    170
See reviews for
220
1720
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2003

My husband and I had a fabulous time at ASP. This is the most beautiful and relaxing place I have ever visited. The spa was beyond anything I could imagine. Please book a Holistic Massage with Carmen and you will experience heaven for 50 minutes. We loved the food, room and staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2003

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and I would like to comment on the fact that, although it is widely advertised as an ADULT ONLY Spa Hotel, there were in fact over 100 children staying there during 3 days (30 September to 2 October) of our 14 day holiday. They were part of a Microsoft Convention.

The management of the hotel did not inform our tour operators prior to departure or indeed the guests at the hotel. The children just appeared as if from nowhere.

As we booked this purely for the fact that it was adult, couples only we were very disappointed and after complaining along with approximately 200 other guests we were given compensation.

Beware if you go there it may not be all you expect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2003

We just got back yesterday from ASP and the place is wonderful. We went with about 16 others to attend a wedding. The wedding itself was beautiful and we had a very relaxing vacation. Everyone on the staff is great. I'm sure because we were with a group, we got special treatment in some places, but I saw many tables of 2 really enjoying themselves too. The things people complain about in the reviews seem so petty.
Granted, I did think the pillows were bad, but my husband did not have any trouble sleeping. If I am at a hotel in Mexico I'm not going to imagine it will be as comfortable as my own bed. We had no complaints about the room, jacuzzi tub or them stocking the mini bar. One day we were out of water and I just called and was delivered more. The first day our shower did not drain well, so I also called and within half an hour someone was there to fix it. If you had a problem with your room they would gladly switch you. The place was only about 35-40% full so there were plenty of open rooms. The best food was by far La Hacienda (mexican restaurant). We ate there twice and had a great meal both times. There is no air conditioning in there and some friends complained it was way too hot but on the days we went it was not bad.
We did not like El Greco for dinner so we ate there once and that was it. We did enjoy Mo Mo Na Hana (sp?) too. We did tip alot. These people were constantly running around in the sun getting you drinks or whatever and they deserve a couple extra bucks. We brought $100 in ones and went through them. We got more because we felt the staff was so great they deserved it. In all, we would go back and it was the most relaxing vacation I've had in years.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2003

Since August of 2002 I have spent a total of four weeks at ASP.As an employee of the travel and tourism industry I would not waste my time or my money if ASP was not anything but the best.Having proffesional chefs cooking you the best meals and someone bringing food to your room when you've had to much sun during the day is a fabulous experience.The grounds are beautiful,the pools clean,the rooms are cozy,the lobby elegant,the drinks(especially those made by bartender Gabriel)are out of this world,the lagoons are serene and there are no words that could possibly describe the spa facilities.What I look forward to most of all is meeting the people there.I've met people from all over the world(Wales,Ireland,Spain and Canada)but the employees on the resort are fantastic.They go above the normal employee and client relationship and end up befriending you.If ASP was not as great as it is I would not be planning a 3 wk. vacation there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2003

We went to aventura spa palace in September 2003 , We had a wonderful time the resort is beautiful and very large.. which is a plus because if your going for romance you can find alot of privacy. The food is typical all inclusive food some good, some average , drinks galore , the pools are fabulous, there is no beach ,wasn't sure if I'd miss it or not , I didn't ,the lagoon is nice, the ocean is beautiful and there is a great breeze in the evening off the ocean. Didn't swim in the lagoon much ,didn't want to leave the pools they are so great!! I am an average person who likes to be pampered and have a great time and this vacation was great I can't wait to return with my husband! And you get to spend a week with no kids...anywhere! there spa is a must ..a must..
FABULOUS!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2003

I want to start by saying that before we left for this vacation I looked at the reviews on occasion to get a feel for the resort. I started to believe that this place had to be great, and the people who said the negatives were just those "hard to please people" that we all know and love ;-) After we began our vacation I began to wonder: Are we too those hard to please people? Okay - for the bad - We went expecting mediocre but didn't think we would be disappointed with those expectations but we were wrong. First off - Our bed was horrible, however other couples said their bed was soft/fine... let me tell you if they had the same bed there is no way anyone would call it soft - I do believe that the rooms have differences as you will again see later.
I read the reviews that they were hard - that was an understatement.
But in the hotels defense, I called and they actually have pillow tops that they can attach to your bed, so I was very happy with that response. Secondly, our Jacuzzi had brown water. Nasty dark tea coloring and when it emptied whatever this gunk was it was all over.
The maintenance man told us that was normal water, and when we talked to some couples we met, theirs was fine which again indicates differences in the rooms- now for the food - I will put it into perspective for you - We were not by any stretch expecting 5 star American Cuisine but when you get hamburger or Grade E meat that is labeled "Filet Mignon" you can't help but be disappointed however, the Salmon is wonderful. If you are a couple who enjoy good USDA Grade A meat you will find yourself going to restaurants outside of the hotel.
We were actually fine with this, as we got to see more of Playa that way - but the expense becomes an issue. For the good stuff - the staff- very friendly and we did enjoy the drinks. We had no problem with those at all! As a matter of fact, we used up that amenity to pay for the meals we missed. Just always ask for a double and they will do it no problem. Lets see - what else... well, we did not let the resort bring us down as we made our own fun and did enjoy the wonderful weather and the hotels surroundings (amazing) We will return to the area but we will probably rent a condo on beach or something. The resort is beautiful and there are lots to do but it is HUGE. In conclusion, I am sure we will get blasted for our review by those who give this an excellent review, and that is fine with us, as we believe reviews are to be personalized and we felt the need to share our experiences. Feel free to email me if you have any questions!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aventura Spa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Spa Palace

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aventura Spa Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your Aventura Spa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Spa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.