We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have Stayed Longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Jenison, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could Have Stayed Longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent a week at the Omni just last week. We found the room to be large and clean, enjoyed breakfast daily in the restaurant (the service was superb),and greatly enjoyed the resort and the area. There is nice access to other restaurants and shops 100 feet out of the front door and the variety was enjoyable but we had dinner at the Omni on our last night and found the meal to be superior to any other that we experienced - so worth a little extra money. The wait staff at the restaurant is friendly, helpful, and very accomodating.
We found the beach to be adequate but not large due to erosion. None the less, we never had a problem finding a chair in the shade of one of the thatched roofs. Swimming and snorkeling are enjoyable and immediately accessible directly from the hotel beach. We concurr with other reports that the prime rooms are on the third floor, sea side; which we were able to upgrade to for a modest fee. There are bigger, more luxurious resorts on the Riviera Maya but we found the Omni to be comfortable, quiet, and a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: Seaside and third floor provide the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBFER, Manager at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking your time to write such a positive review. This kind of comments help us to encourague our team, and to raise our servicie standars. I am glad that you have enjoyed our Resort attractive location and comfort

It will be a privilege for OMNI Puerto Aventuras to become you home away from home and to
welcome you back on many future occasions.

My best regards,

Daniel Mazzini
Hospitality Manager
OMNI Puerto Aventuras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    105
    18
    13
    15
See reviews for
83
162
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartwell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I live in Pto Aventuras and pay $1000 usd every year for a 6 month membership in the Omni Beach Club. No more. The beach is just about nonexistent . Every year the Omni makes promises that they are going to do something about beach restoration but it never happens. The menus in the dining room and beach bar have not changed in 6 yrs. prices are so high that after the 25%discount on food and drinks they are still higher than all other places in PA. With all the warnings about the dangers of sun exposure, the Omni does not have one single umbrella in the pool area. Only 5 or 6 rickety palapas remain on the "beach". Just like on a cruise ship, hotel guests put a towel on a chair at sunup and never use the chair they have "saved". No more beach club for us. They don't care if those of us who live here are happy or not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed here on our honeymoon and had an excellent time! The staff is VERY friendly and the rooms are huge. Make sure to get a room with a beach view as it is stunning and very quiet. Each room comes with a balcony and a hammock, so if you can get a 3rd floor beach view room, do it! The hotel is very small which is perfect if you are looking to get away and not deal with overcrowded resorts in Cancun. It's also right next to the marina where there are tons of shopping and restaurant options. The hotel will also deliver breakfast right to your room every morning at no additional charge (just tip the delivery person). All you have to do is ask! The only thing that could really be upgraded are the mattresses (could be a bit softer, but I don't like firm mattresses). If you like the beach, it is steps away from pool on both sides and there is great snorkeling directly in front of the hotel too.

Special thanks to the hotel manager Daniel, the bartender Miguel, and the Xenote restaurant staff for helping to make our stay memorable!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor with a beach view if possible. Better views and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The resort manager is excellent, and leads a staff that is dedicated to ensuring that the expectations of guests are met and surpassed! Upon arriving in Cancun and discovering that our luggage was lost, misplaced or had plans of its own... family of six, a wife that is anxious about flying, not the best start to a vacation. I called the hotel to inform them that our arrival time is delayed due to lost luggage and all that entails, filing forms, etc. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted by smiling faces and an welcoming environment. We were led to the front desk and introduced to the manager who greeted us with warm wet towels, refreshments for the kids, and for mom and dad shots of tequila and ice cold cervesas. Stress level now in remission. Our luggage arrived the following morning. The manager helped us arranged for activities that made this vacation fun filled and memorable. We know consider the manager and staff extended family.

Room Tip: beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed here over New Year, arriving in the afternoon we went to get some lunch at 2.30 only to be told the restaurant was closing. We then thought we'll get a bar snack at the pool bar but were told the kitchens were closed. We had one drink and then at 3pm to our shock were told the bar was closing. The lobby bar was not open at this point the pool & beach area were very busy to the point where we could not get a sun lounger nor a seat to even sit in. We headed up to our room and ordered room service. Several items on the menu were not available and we settled for 2 tuna sandwiches. I wish we hadn't bothered. They forgot to put any tuna on both sandwiches and all we got was a little bit of lettuce and lots of tomato which we found when opening the sandwich to look for a trace of tuna. My partner doesn't even eat tomato. In addition to this I had to open the door for the room service guy as he said he could not leave it in the hatch - I was just out the shower so a little inconvenient.

The rooms at the Omni are great and well appointed so for us it makes up for all the other disappointments. Jorge at reception is fabulous and really deserves a pat on the back for doing a great job. The bar staff were certainly not as friendly and hospitable as Jorge.

We've stayed here before and we'll stay here again because we love the hotel but..... the bar staff do need a refresher course in customer service and although New Year is one the hotels busiest times of year they should look at providing ample sunbeds/seating around the pool area. On New Years day we had the same problem at 9.30 in the morning, people had been down and reserved all the sunbeds with towels books, hats etc so we were out of luck again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with either an ocean view or a view of the dolphin pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBFER, Manager at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Derar Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions regarding your January stay at Omni Puerto Aventuras.

First and foremost allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. All your valuable comments about disappointing moments were shared with our Head Chef and F&B manager. These comments will certainly help us to improve our dedicated service and raise our standards.

Also, I was very pleased to read that Jorge stood out with an exemplary service, I have already congratulated him for such a great job done.

There is no doubt that positive comments are the great motivation for our team, however nothing is as encouraging as to know that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our resort and make sure that this future stay will be the most enjoyable and memorable one. We are looking forward to you future visits!


My best regards,

Daniel Mazzini
Hospitality Manager
OMNI Puerto Aventuras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's been awhile since we stayed here but always go back just to snorkel off the beach....they charge for beach service maybe 10.00 per person includes chair and towel....it use to be a beautiful beach but hurricanes have done lots of damage...if your sitting at beach bar at high tide your in the water. Anyway it's a great low key snorkel spot...it's a ways out to the reef but water is very calm...stay on this side of reef....most of the time you will be the only one out there! I remember the Omni as very nice...ocean view room was great....they made us fresh salsa everyday...the ocean like bathwater...small hotel low key no mass crowds of the mega AI resorts...very relaxing!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

First time to Puerto Aventuras. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff went out of their way to get to know our names. For dinner on our last night, they arranged a "special table" that was lighted with candles by the beach front. Rooms were clean. Enjoyed the layout with the shower that walked out to hot tub on porch. The hammock was a great addition to the ocean view balcony. The beach was eroded, but the water was clear and enjoyable. We were able to snorkel right off the beach. The entire atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on ocean side are more private but have less view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.