We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Fostoria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's been awhile since we stayed here but always go back just to snorkel off the beach....they charge for beach service maybe 10.00 per person includes chair and towel....it use to be a beautiful beach but hurricanes have done lots of damage...if your sitting at beach bar at high tide your in the water. Anyway it's a great low key snorkel spot...it's a ways out to the reef but water is very calm...stay on this side of reef....most of the time you will be the only one out there! I remember the Omni as very nice...ocean view room was great....they made us fresh salsa everyday...the ocean like bathwater...small hotel low key no mass crowds of the mega AI resorts...very relaxing!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    93
    16
    11
    15
See reviews for
67
142
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

First time to Puerto Aventuras. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff went out of their way to get to know our names. For dinner on our last night, they arranged a "special table" that was lighted with candles by the beach front. Rooms were clean. Enjoyed the layout with the shower that walked out to hot tub on porch. The hammock was a great addition to the ocean view balcony. The beach was eroded, but the water was clear and enjoyable. We were able to snorkel right off the beach. The entire atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on ocean side are more private but have less view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very low-key, 30 room delightful hotel. I appreciated their use of low-wattage bulbs and motion sensored lighting to conserve energy. The beach area is small due to past hurricanes, but it is lovely and quaint. Swimming in the ocean is a bit hard since the surf is only waist deep dozens of yards off shore, but we did find some snorkeling quite a ways out in the ocean. If you are not nervous about being so far from shore, you can snorkel right from the beach. The pool area is modern with clean lines and inviting pools. The water temperature was a bit too chilly for me, but my husband took advantage of having the pool to himself. Mornings in the restaurant were always a treat as the staff is super friendly and helpful. The coffee was hot and delicious. Being at the Omni in November was a good choice because the hotel was not 100% sold out making our experience quiet, relaxing and stress-free.

Room Tip: You will want an ocean view room as the other side of the hotel overlooks the harbor, shops and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Omni Puerto Aventuras Guests,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our resort. We are truly fortunate to have wonderful associates who truly work hard to provide warm, genuine hospitality to all our guests.
Our resort is unique, due to it´s small, intimate size of only 30 guestrooms and as you pointed out, we focus on being green minded in our approach to respecting the environment and the naturalness of the surrounding area.
We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back home again to "su casa" one day soon.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is our second trip to Puerto Aventuras and our first to stay at the Omni Hotel. This is the most peaceful hotel we have ever experienced. Our ocean front room included a fabric hammock with a view of the ocean that I found hard to leave.
While the beach has erroded somewhat, the crystal clear water and fabulous snorkeling right off the beach do make up for it. the pool side food is wonderful, especially the fish tacos!
The staff are very friendly and the surrounding area- complete with dolphin, sting ray and seal watching while sitting at outside cafes make this place our new favorite spot.

Room Tip: higher room, ocean side offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We won a 3-night stay at the Omni Puerto Aventuras at a school fundraising auction and decided to add 3 more nights on the last week of October to make it a wedding anniversary celebration. It was a leap of faith because you never really know if the website is accurate or not - never been there, no expectations - just wanted to get away for a week. We were so blown away by all the amazing surprises and perks of staying at this hotel that we are DEFINITELY GOING BACK!!!

1. Gorgeous white sand beach and coral reefs teeming with life - Imagine wading through warm calm waters and seeing tons of sea life swimming around you. I'm nursing a frozen shoulder so I couldn't go snorkeling, but it didn't matter - I just had to wade waist-deep and look down at the corals and colorful fish of different sizes and shapes. We even saw several thin long fish "running" on the surface of the water on their tails! My husband went snorkeling and had a blast! Sure, the beach was small but at that off-season time of year, it was big enough to secure everyone staying at the hotel a happy spot under the Mexican Riviera sun.

2. Swimming pools and wading bar - I'm not a pool person but it's nice to know there are alternatives to people who don't like having sand in their swimwear. The wading bar has two jacuzzis, one at each end, bar stools and some bar tables all in the water. And they know their food and drinks. We tried mostly everything in the menu and they were just delicious. The drinks (you've got to try their margaritas and pinacolada) are to die for.

3. Free breakfast - We live in the SF Bay Area, so that having poached eggs with all the bells and whistles and fresh fruit/juice, coffee and sweetbreads with stunning views, warm breeze and pelicans diving into the water for their morning chow is not our idea of a free breakfast.

4. Beautiful (and CLEAN) hotel - We got so spoiled here that it was so hard to get back to our usual routine in the US. Whoever designed the hotel did an outstanding job with all the details and function. The rooms are clean (plus you have your own hot tub in the privacy of your deck) so you can enjoy the evening either listening to the live band music somewhere in the restaurant stretch if you have a garden/street view, or relax as you look at the ocean if you have an ocean view. Our first booking was the street view and I really liked dancing by the deck, and we switched to the ocean view later on which my husband liked better, because he likes to relax and sleep more than I do.

5. The Stretch - The hotel is situated beside a dolphin cove where you can swim with dolphins, manta rays or feed manatees for half the price and double the time you get to do at Sea World. Around this cove are several Mexican and Italian restaurants all with outdoor seating. There are no wrong choices to make - we explored and so did our palates and ended up gaining a few pounds. Communication was a very pleasant experience. People spoke broken English and we spoke broken Spanish, but we had a great time. There are also a lot of stores for souvenirs where you can haggle using broken Spanish. We got jewelry dirt cheap as well as other items that you normally pay more at other local stores or in the US.

6. The Sweetest Staff - One of the most important considerations I have in rating a place is the service, because even if the hotel and its perks are the greatest, if I felt in any way dissatisfied with how I have been treated, I'll never go back. We just fell in love with the people here. They were warm and friendly, and are always alert to make sure you are taken care of. From manager to food to the cleaning staff, we give them all our thumbs up. What can I say but "thank you" to all the extra effort and care they showed in making our stay - and our anniversary- the best yet. From check-in to check-out, it was perfect.

Room Tip: If you like night life, choose the garden room and have free live music streaming in until 11 pm. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder,Co
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are looking for a great beach..skip this place..the beach is gone..gone..gone..the hotel put rocks in to keep the bar from ending up in the Caribbean..too bad ..this was once a beautiful place..no more..skip it..and go to an area that still has a beach..

Room Tip: skip the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Past Omni Puerto Aventuras Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here in this forum. The resort´s beach is smaller than it has been in recent times, but just to clarify there are still beach areas at the hotel.
There has been erosion and the ownership has been working with the local ecological authorities to enhance the beach and enlarge it.
As awlays, we will continue with this project and of course provide the excellence in service and accommodations that so many have commented on in this site.
We appreciate your feedback and hope when you are back in the area, that the Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort will be a place for you and your family to visit.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
OMni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Omni PA and we agree this was the most stress free place to be this time of year. It is the slower season in this part of Mexico which made for a wonderful stay. There is not much of a beach but the snorkling great. There is a dive shop on the grounds where you can rent snorkle equipment, schedule a dive lesson or even get your PADI certification. (see seperate review for Dive Adventures) The Staff in the resturant was fabulous. They leave you wanting for nothing and in our short stay became our newest friends. There is also a small sushi/taco stand that we found to be some of the best sushi we have had. Our room was clean and comfortable with a hammock on the balcony that I used daily and a whilrpool spa that we did not use. Other nice features of the area include resturants, shopping, a convenence store and a dolphin discovery all within a 1 to three minute walk. The Hotel is in a gated comunity with pleanty of security so we felt safe anywhere we went. As with any fair review there are a couple of down sides. There is no elevator in this three story hotel and the sidewalks outside of the hotel are uneven and rough. All in all we will go back if nothing more than to sit back and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Omni Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.